petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SeaView Aquarium Background Mounting Solution

SeaView Aquarium Background Mounting Solution

Seals aquarium background for a flawless, illuminated viewEasy to apply & removeWorks on glass or acrylic tanksNon-toxic formula prevents condensation
Average Customer Rating:
3.32 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
8
14 out of 25(56%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for SeaView Aquarium Background Mounting Solution
Review 1 for SeaView Aquarium Background Mounting Solution
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works as expected

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
This stuff works as advertised. I used it on a 48"x19" background and I still have about 1/4 tube left. I found that if you pour it on and spread it with your finger (the side of your finger like a squeegee, not the tip) it spreads pretty easily. It doesn't need to be sloppy wet, but make sure the background is entirely covered. Once you have the whole background covered and on the tank, a stiff ruler works very well. Just make sure you have the background and tank very clean. I had to pick dog hairs off of mine :)
Once it's on and the air bubbles are all smoothed out the background looks fantastic on the tank. It took me about a half hour from start to finish.
This stuff is a little greasy/oily. Be careful what you get it on and it'll take a couple hand washes to get it all off. When you're done, GENTLY clean up with a paper towel so as not to dislodge the background you just put on.
Attached picture is after application. Will definitely use again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SeaView Aquarium Background Mounting Solution
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent Background Mounting Solution

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
I had mixed results with this product. It did make the background more clear, but it was messy, leaked over the edges while scraping the bubbles out (lucky I put cardboard down), and at the end of it all I had to still put tape around the edges to keep them secure.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SeaView Aquarium Background Mounting Solution
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Avoid

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from GA
This never dries as it appears to be an oil-based product so it's like attaching the background with cooking oil. Eventually it works it's way to the bottom edge of the tank and large bubbles appear where this oily substance released. It does not seal around the edges even when first applied so tape is still required, otherwise, within a few days the background slips and/or begins to peel away no matter the amount of burnishing into place.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SeaView Aquarium Background Mounting Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedMay 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Baton Rouge, La
Don't listen to anyone that says this doesn't work. I've used it multiple times for changing backgrounds on my 55 gallon and on my 10 gallon. I suggest you make room on a coffee table, make sure there is no dirt or anything on the background, then start with a small puddle of solution. Using your fingertips spread it across the entire background pouring more if necessary. Take the background and line up 2 the bottom or top. I recommend leaving it long and then trimming the excess from the sides with a razor blade for a nice clean look. Use a credit card or something similar to smooth it out starting from the center and working the edges to get the bubbles out. It's not really that hard. Keep a paper towel in hand in case any solution squeezes out. After all the bubbles are gone trim the sides and enjoy. It stays on with no tape for as long as you need it. It never changes in it's appearance and it really makes the background pop. It also gets rid of the mirror you tend to see from the side of the tank when looking through at the background. Instead of a mirror finish you see your background as bright and clear as if you just unrolled it. When ready to change or flip your double sided background just peel the background away (it's really easy), wipe most of the old solution off the background, give the glass a quick wipe, and pour more on the new background and start over. 10 out of 5 stars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SeaView Aquarium Background Mounting Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for viewing, not for mounting

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Riverside, CA
Actually, I can't exactly say whether it would continue to stick on it's own or not, since after reading other reviews I decided to opt for a back-up plan.
But if you want something to really make your background "POP", become beautifully vibrant, and super clear, then this is your product.
First of all, be liberal in application. I used a BUNCH of this stuff and spread it with a dry dish sponge. Then, it takes a while, but with my petco card I was able to get allll the airbubbles out except for at the very top and bottom. And that's only because I used tape in those spots (because other people said it starts to peel away).
I am VERY happy with this product and will definitely continue to use it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SeaView Aquarium Background Mounting Solution
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst product I have ever used!!!!!

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Plano TX
Worst product I have ever used. Purchased 3 tubes for to do two tanks. Not a glue, never dries, looked great at first but after one week ran to the bottom leaving large bubbles that would not go away no matter how much smoothing. This stuff is like silicon tire shine. It even caused the double sided picture to seperate and the outside picture to curl up!
I would have been much better off using auto window tint film glue. That stuff is clear, dries and doesn't run. Now the only way to fix this is to complely tear apart my tanks and replace the backgound!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SeaView Aquarium Background Mounting Solution
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

terrible

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Wilmington NC
I've had aquariums for years. What a mess. I followed the instructions and applied to my 75 gallon tank. There were so many bubbles. I tried for at least an hour to remove them with a squeegee, credit card, my hand etc. I tried to pull it back and reapply. I added more solution. I tried everything. I took the backing off and had to clean up the mess on the back of the tank and clean it off the backing. This took another hour before I was back to where I started. Also any dust that gets on it is almost impossible to remove. Horrible product. I am returning what's left to the store and hope to get my money back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SeaView Aquarium Background Mounting Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
I have used this twice, and it has always worked wonderfully. The backgrounds are clear as can be!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SeaView Aquarium Background Mounting Solution
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No good!

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Orlando Area
I've got a 45 gal corner fish tank.I had to buy 2 of these bottles to do both sides. After putting 4 backgrounds and 4 bottles of this stuff, I'll never buy it again. It wears off to fast, creates air bubbles and just plain doesn't work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SeaView Aquarium Background Mounting Solution
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Looks good but...

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Tacoma
This stuff really make a background 'pop'. It does look real good but... its a pain to work with. your background has to be 100% perfect in order for it to look good. The slightest curl and you have an air bubble or blemish that looks worse then if you would have just taped the thing on. It needs to be just slightly more sticky. I was not very happy with its application but it did look nice where it had no air bubbles.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SeaView Aquarium Background Mounting Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works if you are smart about it

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Lincoln, NE
I dont know why others complain about airbubble so much. I got it 100% perfect the first time. It is not supposd to be a glue. The air bubbles come out EASILY if you have some hard scraper thing like a credit card or something.
Mine has been crystal clear and bright for 3 years, no drying or peeling, no slipping. I did however decide to remove my old background. Guess what, the 'oily' substance comes off with a damp towel.
Its cheap and effective if you actually try hard.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SeaView Aquarium Background Mounting Solution
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What a nightmare!

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from South County, MO
What a nightmare. This product is a liquid not a gel or a glue. The product runs everywhere. If you don't get the perfect amount on it, it seeps out under the background. Getting air bubbles out is almost impossible.
On my acrylic aquarium the background over time has slid off. The product never dries and remains an oil forever on your tank. I've tried to remove it from the aquarium and can't get it off for anything. So now I have a half taped on, half air bubble, half nothing background. It looks AWFUL. I would never recommend this to anyone. Difficult to use, unpredictable results, and messy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SeaView Aquarium Background Mounting Solution
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Unhappy

PostedApril 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New Orleans, LA
Makes my very expensive saltwater tank look cheap.
The solution is oily and it is impossible to smooth the bubbles out. I wish I could get my money back!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SeaView Aquarium Background Mounting Solution
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

questionable performance

PostedApril 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Antonio
Solution applies easily, and does make background much brighter. But, after couple months, background began curling up on all 4 sides, solution apparently "dried" out. Tore tank down, left background on, and applied the good ol' tape around all edges. Still have the improved bright look, but unhappy that solution didn't perform better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SeaView Aquarium Background Mounting Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
putting this on the background of our fishtank was like telling night from day its an excelent problem if the directions are followed correctly
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SeaView Aquarium Background Mounting Solution
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product will only dissapoint

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Park City, Utah
I purchased an aquarium and wanted to attach a sea blue background. I tried tape, with the hope I could save some money, but it didn't want to stay on. So instead, I bought this aquarium background sealant. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT! It wasn't glue-like at all. It was like an oil, like olive oil or something, and even though I had followed the instructions and done everything to the absolute best of my ability, it didn't come out looking perfect like in the pictures. Please don't waste your time and money on this product - you will likely be as annoyed as I was.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SeaView Aquarium Background Mounting Solution
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Looks great, if you like air bubbles

PostedDecember 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
from NorCal
I used this product twice with the same result.
Air bubbles !!! They're impossible to get out...
Background definitely looks more vivid and brighter with the seaview solution , but I'm very disappointed with the final results after three bottles. ( air bubbles )
It can also be a very oily mess if you use too much.
Good luck...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SeaView Aquarium Background Mounting Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My aquarium is beautiful!

PostedOctober 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
from IN
The background really shows up well using this product and I get so many compliments on my aquarium!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SeaView Aquarium Background Mounting Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is it!!

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
from MIAMI, FL
Before buying the product i did a lot of reseach and read all the reviews. I wasn't sure at first if it was really going to work but i gave it a world it's not that expensive anyways. Now i can assure you, no reading in the world will even give you a clue of how good your background will look after using this product. Just read the product description, everything is %100 true it does exactly what it has to do. On a side note, used as much of the product as you can to avoid bubbles.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SeaView Aquarium Background Mounting Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
from VA
Makes the background a lot brighter and shinier.. would definitely recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>