petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Prevue Hendryx Large Black Flight Bird Cage

Prevue Hendryx Large Black Flight Bird Cage

Designed for multiples of small birdsTwo large hinged front doorsPull-out grille & drawer for easy cleaningBottom shelf for storing food, treats and toys
Average Customer Rating:
4.732 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(97 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 97 reviews
5 stars
79
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
95 out of 97(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 89 Answers
Customer Reviews for Prevue Hendryx Large Black Flight Bird Cage
Review 1 for Prevue Hendryx Large Black Flight Bird Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Cage for the money..... just do not wet it

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
meNmybirds
from SoCal
Cage size is great, bar spacing is perfect. I am able to move the cage in and out of the house daily myself. The birds.... all 8 parakeets LOVE the space. The new babies have room to fly. Only down fall is that I mist my birds almost every afternoon, and the bolts towards the bottom have rusted and the litter pan fell out. It just hit the floor. I almost lost all the birds. I did call a couple pet stores near me and they named the cage before I even told them. I am guessing this is not the first time its happened. If you don't wet your birds, You will LOVE this cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Prevue Hendryx Large Black Flight Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

***Awesome Product & Price***

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Birdlover63
from Washington
I ordered this cage for my Finches, I love it and so do they. I'ts easy to put together and a breeze to clean, they have lots of room, several doors and dishes. Please order better perches when ordering this cage, dowels are not good for their feet. It's on sale now so order it now :-) 3/5/14
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Prevue Hendryx Large Black Flight Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good value

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
hobo123
from Virginia
the cage was easy to put together but you do need another person to help hold it together while it's being secured. Very nice cage for the cost and plenty of room for my 2 cockatiels.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Prevue Hendryx Large Black Flight Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This cage is an excellent purchase!

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Henney
Great size for a great price. It is like a mansion for my two parakeets. They LOVE it and so do I!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Prevue Hendryx Large Black Flight Bird Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Prevue Hendryx Large Black Flight Bird Cage

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
CLLNSW
Not much fun to put together unless you have help but worth it when you see how happy the birds are with the room to fly. Missing the two rods that hold the two access doors in the front. I am glad I got this Flight Bird Cage
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Prevue Hendryx Large Black Flight Bird Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Deal

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
luvmybird
from Kansas
I really do love this cage...However! I have to use Zip Ties to hold it steady. This is the second cage I bought and each one had a broken weld. But thankfully it was on the bottom shelf. really no big deal. I used to work in a factory where I did this kind of spot welding and used the Break Press to bend wire and these were also press welded..I can tell some stuff was off and I had to re bend the top latch..No biggie. It does have the side doors which you will have to use the Zip Ties or your birds will get out..Just FYI.. But overall, I do like these cages. I have 2 Conures and they each have their own cage and they love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Prevue Hendryx Large Black Flight Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flight cage

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
cheramie61
from dallas, texas
The product got here very fast and all the parts were in the box. The instructions were easy to follow. The cage took some time putting together because you had to hold a couple of sides at the same time, and wires that fit into other pieces would pop out. Patience is needed. I solved this by tying edges together to hold in place while I put the other side into slots. The cage is a nice size and I look forward to getting more birds. I would recommend NOT putting the wheels on until finished. I prefer to leave mine off. Good product, lots of room for the birds, speedy delivery, good price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Prevue Hendryx Large Black Flight Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great size for sugar gliders

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sadie123
from St. Louis, MO
This cage is a great size to house sugar gliders. It is much larger and a lot nicer than I expected. The wheels are actually metal - not plastic, like the product picture shows. It definitely takes two people to put it together, but it wasn't as hard as other reviews make it seem. My only downfall is that the six side doors do not latch shut. This probably wouldnt be a problem with birds, but a sugar glider could definitely escape. Its nothing a few zip ties can't fix. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Prevue Hendryx Large Black Flight Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really large cage

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
birdlover1994
from Phoenix, AZ
It is hard to find a large cage for under 200.00. This cage is excellent for the price. It is very large, and my green cheek conure loves it. The wheels are actually very nice, as well, so it's easy to move and clean and roll out on the back porch so the niblett can get some air.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Prevue Hendryx Large Black Flight Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bird Cage

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
dmccoy1959
from waterloo,IN
Good quality cage arrived before shipping date. Would recommend to anyone
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Prevue Hendryx Large Black Flight Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great cage for arboreal small mammals

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
ig88
from Jax, FL
This cage was easy to build and my rescued squirrel loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Prevue Hendryx Large Black Flight Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best deal around!

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
goodbuys
from Denver, CO
After reading reviews about struggles to get this cage together, I had second thoughts about buying it. But it was such a good price, and the perfect size, I had to chance it. I'm so glad I did.
Within a week, it was here, so great shipping time.
Then to put it together, by myself....
Take an extra 30 minutes to separate your parts and read through the instructions. It's worth every minute. Once you are sure of what parts are sides, backs, fronts, top, and bottom, it's a piece of cake.
If you are working by yourself, follow the instructions step-by-step, but put your sides and backs together first before you get started. It will give you a clearer picture of just how it goes together. Once wheels are on, don't put it together standing up....lay it backside down (nice carpeted surface helps). Then it's a matter of sliding sides & back into place and screwing the parts together per instructions. Once the top is in place, screwed loosely, stand it up to put the 2 front parts on. Then retighten all screws.
Compared to some of the kids toys I've put together, it's easy, easy, easy.
And what a nice cage! My bird just loves the extra room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Prevue Hendryx Large Black Flight Bird Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

EASY TO CLEAN AND SERVICE

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
POPS1
from RAMONA CA
PUT IT TOGEATHER IN ABOUT 1 HOUR. HAD TO DRILL FOUR HOLES. BIRD LIKES IT
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Prevue Hendryx Large Black Flight Bird Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Finished product is very nice

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
NannyAnn
from Florence, AL
The only complaint I have with this product was the directions to put it together. The pieces themselves were not labeled and several of them were similar in appearance enough that you had to struggle somewhat to identify the right one. Even with two people putting it together there were a couple of steps that almost needed a third person. I am very satisfied with the finished product though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Prevue Hendryx Large Black Flight Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Lovebirds

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
jhouserules
from Mission, TX
I have a Momma Lovebird and her grown baby that is apparently also a female (the dad flew the coop as it were and is flying free somewhere in South Texas). I bought this cage from the website and was pleasantly pleased with how large it was. My husband had to help assemble it because I think it really takes 4 hands to do it.... My Lovebirds are quite happy with their huge new space, and are still exploring. The baby is, I've decided, afraid of the height but has been slowly getting up the nerve to venture out a bit more....
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Prevue Hendryx Large Black Flight Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenny74
from Illinois
I purchased this cage in February as a much needed upgrade for my three parakeets. The assembly was relatively straightforward although I did need some assistance toward the end because some holes didn't line up. The final product is sturdy, the finish is very nice and my birds have more than ample space to fly around. One of the four food/water cups was cracked but two of them are more than sufficient for the three birds. Obviously this is a shipping defect rather than a manufacturing defect. Nice wooden perches were included but I use mostly other types of perches plus they were way too big for parakeet feet.
Although the dimensions were provided this cage is much larger than I envisioned from the image here. I love that it is on wheels and extremely easy to move for cleaning purposes. This cage has no mechanism to contain seeds/feathers so the floor gets quite messy around the cage. Overall I'm very pleased with the quality of the cage and the birds love it too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Prevue Hendryx Large Black Flight Bird Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pleased

PostedApril 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
brownr
from North Carolina
My Husband put this cage together and had no .trouble. I have priced this size cage at many local pet stores and on line this was the best price and I was very pleased at the size and how sturdy it is. I just wish it was easier to get the feeders and water in the cage and snap them in place. Over all great product and great price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Prevue Hendryx Large Black Flight Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

large and portable

PostedApril 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
LUVBIRDMommy
from land of oz
This cage was easy to assemble, came in a timely fashion, and wasn't missing half its parts. In fact it came with more extras than I exspected. I can role
them out on the porch on hot days and I won't have to worry about any animals getting inside because the cage is made of iron. It was very cost effective, too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Prevue Hendryx Large Black Flight Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My conure loves it!

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Birdlover1109
I got this cage for my fancy green-cheeked conure. So far he's enjoying it which makes me happy=)...It was easy to build; only took like 25-30mins to assemble. The price was good, paid $119 all together... it was on sale lol! =)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Prevue Hendryx Large Black Flight Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cage

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
wtupack
from detroit mi
excellent flight cage for the money. fast shipping.instructions not very good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>