petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Eco Complete Planted Black Aquarium Substrate

Eco Complete Planted Black Aquarium Substrate

Contains all the mineral nutrients required to help nourish aquatic plants Helps increase plant growth without the nuisance of algaeWith no added dyes, paints or chemical coatings unlike most synthetic aquarium rocksEnhances the vibrant colors of aquarium plantsNatural looking fish tank rock substrate that is long-lasting Contains essential live bacteria
Average Customer Rating:
4.91 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 67 reviews
5 stars
63
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
65 out of 67(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 55 Answers
Customer Reviews for Eco Complete Planted Black Aquarium Substrate
Review 1 for Eco Complete Planted Black Aquarium Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Fixxxer
from Tx
Think I made the right choice as a beginner. From I read this will hold in nutrients a lot better and that is what I needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Eco Complete Planted Black Aquarium Substrate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

What I expected, but...

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shorty86
from White Mountains, NH
I have used this product in the past, and needed more for my tank since I didn't have the recommend 3" in my aquarium. I purchased this item here, since it was the best buy I could possible find, anything local was out of the question unless I wanted to spend double at the local pet store. I like this substrate because it comes mixed with all the conditioners to help cycle your tank. I believe it is pre-washed as well, but don't let this think there will be no clouding in your tank when you put it in. It clouded my tank immediately, but the majority of the sediment settled within an hour. The water was clear within 8 hours of the addition, with my filter running. I did have to clean my filter motor after about 30 minutes because the sediment did clog it, but this was hardly an issue and my filter needed maintenance anyway. It is a nice dark substrate, I will probably continue to use this brand through the life of my aquarium. I hope that the substrate does help with the health and quality of my plants by providing the nutrients that they need, but it is really too early to tell.
The only problem I encountered with my order was that upon receiving my package, the 20 pound bag had been shipped in a thin flimsy box which had ripped and opened in two places. Thankfully there was no damage to the bag upon receiving it, but it didn't look good when I picked it up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Eco Complete Planted Black Aquarium Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Plant Substrate

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
SaltedPeanut
from Bolingbrook, IL
I have this substrate in 3 tanks now (100g, 20L, and now a 5g). I have used ecocomplete in high light tanks with CO2 injection as well as low light aquariums. The substrate has worked well with all of the aquatic plants I've acquired throughout the years.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Eco Complete Planted Black Aquarium Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice substrate

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
aggiesengineer
This substrate helps reduce my angelfish stress due to it color and natural look. The live bacteria actually make the water to be clear in just a few days after my new tank is set. Thank you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Eco Complete Planted Black Aquarium Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Eco Complete Substrate

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
KoolChair
from Wisconsin
Good price, quality product, acceptable shipping. I am happy. :P
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Eco Complete Planted Black Aquarium Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Eco complete

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
DoC666
from Jamaica, NY.
Awesome substrate need perfect light n CO2 anything will thrive
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Eco Complete Planted Black Aquarium Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Plants Love It

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
indynicolas
from Broad Ripple, IN
I use this in all my planted tanks simply because plants love it. The only downside to it is the extra pruning I have to do because of the amazing growth.
Petcos price on this is hard to beat, especially when it goes on sale, and the free shipping on it really adds to the value. However, the UPS guy would probably appreciate it it stores would honor the online price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Eco Complete Planted Black Aquarium Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Eco Complete

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
KRS07650
from New Jersey
By far the best affordable planting substrate for the freshwater aquarium. I have used everything from ADA, Florite, to Custom Mixes. I know my Plants from Gardens To the Ocean, and I have grown alot.
Eco Complete, is just that, Complete! Bacteria, Frets. Rooting Plants has never been eaasier. even the hardest like Dwarf Baby Tears. I do use ADA substrate Additives, Penac-P, Penac-W, Tourmline-BC, Bacter 100, and Super Clear. Just cuz I have them.
But the Show Tank Picture has only Eco Complete!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Eco Complete Planted Black Aquarium Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stuff

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
BigDogisCool
from MI
I like this stuff a lot. I use it in all my planted and none planted aquariums.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Eco Complete Planted Black Aquarium Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works like it says

PostedMay 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Fishboxjunkie
from Texas
I purchased Eco complete and added it to a already cycled tank that has cichlids in it you can raise your ph by adding holey rocks or lace. Make sure to drain the liquid out. I keep the liquid in a jug it is active bacteria and will help you in a new tank or an old one if you need it. Before adding Eco complete my plants where dying and where not happy at all. It's been a month and they are all getting new growth and are happy. Will purchase it again if I need it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Eco Complete Planted Black Aquarium Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Aquaman05
from Massachusetts
If a freshwater planted aquarium is what you want, this is the substrate to get. With the right light combo, you will have an amazing aquascape with little effort. Petco has made sure to have the best price around when it comes to the Eco Complete substrate. Highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Eco Complete Planted Black Aquarium Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best substrate so far

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
osausa
from crystal river, fl
Great product, comes with live bacteria which allows you to start live plants in a much quicker and successful way. Definately I would recommend this product to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Eco Complete Planted Black Aquarium Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top of the line substrate

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Zynthesis
from Gainesville FL
Eco Complete is a top of the line substrate that is ready out of the bag. I used Eco Complete in all my tanks. It's natural and great for planted aquariums. The substrate also doesn't have sharp edges and helps the health of cory cats. It's ready out of the bag and also comes with beneficial bacteria for the tank. Just pour bag contents into your tank and add water. Run normal filtration and your water will be clear in hours. The silt will settle within 24 hours.
Great Product and the price on petco is worth it with the free shipping and any other deals they got going on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Eco Complete Planted Black Aquarium Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great looking gravel

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
scoutingdad
from Illinois
Well its not really gravel, its substrate and it probably won't work with undergravel filters. Once in it has a natural looking dark color. Its absolutely great for growing plants, as long as you have enough light. I will not buy anything else for my aquariums. There is a little clouding of the water, which settles within 24 hours with filtration.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Eco Complete Planted Black Aquarium Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its the only one to use

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
RIDGE
from LAS VEGAS, NV
I don't normally write reviews, but as I am ready to buy this again, I decided to. All of my tanks are planted and this is the only substrate I use in over 8 tanks and two sumps. A great value and a great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Eco Complete Planted Black Aquarium Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific!

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
in7love7
from Lafayette, IN
I used 40lbs of this over 20 lbs of Miracle Gro Organic Choice and this substrate is amazing. It caps my soil and is fine enough to keep my Limnophila Aquatica rooted in place. HC works well in this substrate for me as well. No problems with floating plants. All of my plants are striving. I've had 5" of growth in 6 days with my Limnophila and Bacopa Monnieri plants. My HC is rooting beautifully and spreading with substrate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Eco Complete Planted Black Aquarium Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for plants

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
brokenarrowjbe
from ocala, Fl
Really did the trick for aquarium start up and shortening cycle time. Highly recommend for planted tanks with fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Eco Complete Planted Black Aquarium Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple to use looks great

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jancc
from Bradenton, Fl
Read alot of good reviews for this product so when I was ready to set up a 10 gal here in Fl. for the winter months I could not find it. With petcos price I went ahead and ordered and had within aweek. Poured the whole contents in the tank, filled with water and started filter. The next day I added afew plants and afew fish to cycle. After aweek I can see plant growth already. Love the black color with the reddish brown particles mixed in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Eco Complete Planted Black Aquarium Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than Flourite

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fuzz12
from Illinois
Doesn't cloud up the water. Doesn't have to be rinsed. Not messy. Too soon to say how well it works for plants.
5 bags to get 3" in a tank with a 48"x13" footprint (624 square inches)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Eco Complete Planted Black Aquarium Substrate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Dissapointed

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
TOA51
from Columbus, Ohio
I have to say I was dissapointed with this product. I feel like it did not deliver as promised . I found it a little light when planting in it, so even small fish can up root everything you put in it. But I guess my biggest complaint is when buying black substrate, you don't expect red flakes you get in this. I had to buy black gravel to cover it so I would get the effect I wanted. Next time, I'll just buy the black gravel.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>