petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove

Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove

The Booda Clean Step Cat Litter Box combines all the best features into one stylish cat litter box99% odor free cat litter box50% bigger than your average cat litter boxClean-step ramp keeps the cat litter in the box, not on your floor
Average Customer Rating:
3.981 / 5
4
 / 
5
(270 Reviews) 270
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 270 reviews
5 stars
154
4 stars
47
3 stars
13
2 stars
22
1 star
34
207 out of 270(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Review 1 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent box!

PostedDecember 24, 2005
Customer Avatar
3 Cat Family
from Missouri
We have tried many different boxes for our 3 cats. This one is by far our favorite and the cats seem to really like it as well. Very easy to clean, just pop off the top. Hard lid keeps our youngest cat from bugging the older cats when they are inside.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+22points
38of 54voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedNovember 29, 2005
Customer Avatar
(No name)
from Alaska
I loved this litter box! I have 2 large cats and they have had no problem with the size of the box. While the stairs make take up some room, it really prevents the spread of litter. I don't have anything in front of the litter box and I have not yet notic
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+23points
29of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

con

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Eklipze
from Austin, TX
It looks really nice but the lid doesn't stay on, my cats scratch the lid and it falls off every time they use.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's great

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous465
My cat is very picky about enclosed boxes, but she seems to not mind this one. The stairs in it also work great with catching the litter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Booda cat box

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
kittycustodian
from midwest
I have had 2 of these boxes, and had found that having plain covered boxes without the steps were easier to clean. My cats tracked litter everywhere with these, not to mention that they are much bigger than a conventional box. I didn’t see an advantage to this design.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Buy This

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
BassTex51
from Bastrop, Texas
I had hoped that the Booda Box would help with my litter smell problems, ( we do clean the box several times a day), but since the box arrived broken to where the filter in the top would not stay put, it is a dud. Now I have a new litter tub, ( the cats don't like the box when top in on, but enjoy the top alone as a play house), that smells as bad as the old one. Go and look further for another box folks, this one does not work as advertised.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not great for male cats!!

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
marinefrau
from Virginia
I bought this for my male cat, in hope that he would feel more secure since he is very shy when using the litter box. At first it worked great and then I started noticing that I could smell the box within a few days. I clean his box once a week, so I know it isn't over flowed with feces. When my cat uses the bathroom, his urine tends to leak near the crease from the top and bottom pieces that go together. Its a pain, especially when you constantly have guests over. If you have a female cat, then this is great. But for male cats, this isnt the best option. Youll end up mopping up urine from behind this box once a week when you go to clean it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
JUDE24
from Ithaca, NY
This is a terrific litter box. I have 4 cats using it and there is no odor and no mess. From the first day, they walked right in and used it. I would recommend it, especially to those with multiple cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Furballs3
from Kingsport, TN
This litter box is great for keeping litter off the floor. I use rabbit food for cat litter. It stays on the steps as the kitties come out of dome. We have 3 cats, now our great dane cannot stare at them while they are in the litter box. They are more at ease. I love it and so do they. I just ordered another one for them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

great idea in theory

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
mpound
from illinois
This would be a great idea if this was a perfect world in which cats behaved how we want them to. The thing I dislike the most about this litter box is the fact that there's no way to hold down the 'roof'. My cats like to run and jump on everything, the litter box included. When they do the 'roof' gets all askew and the entrance becomes inaccessible. It should have come with clamps or something. If you have old, non energetic cats this won't be a problem. They also leap directly from the litter box part thru the opening, completely bypassing the steps, so I still get litter all over the floor. I think the partition wall should be a bit higher so this isn't an exit option. I don't think it's any better than any other litter box, it just looks neater.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good, but..

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
743892
from LaCrosse, WI
When I saw this litter box I knew I had to get it. I finally got it for my kitten and the only thing that I can complain about is the size. The size of the actual box where you put the litter is really awkward and it's hard to find liners that will actually fit. That's really the only issue, and the filters don't last very long either and you only get one when you buy the box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cats liked it at first, but 1 fatal flaw

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Catluvr88
from Texas
The first few days I got this litter box my cats loved it. But you see, my large male cat doesn't always aim low, and sometimes ends up urinating on the walls of the box. For most boxes I've tried this isn't an issue, because the liquid runs down the walls and still ends up at the bottom of the pan. However, with this box the connection between the lid and the pan creates a crevice which traps some of the urine. So now the bathroom that I keep the litter box in constantly smells (I've never had this problem before), which also bothers my cat, who constantly is trying to cover the box to hide the smell.
So don't get this box if your cat occasionally aims high!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
JazzyJul24
from Alamosa, CO
Dome is great to keep dogs out of the liter pan. Keeps the smell down and keeps the liter in the pan no all over the floor. I am very pleased with the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This litter box is a piece.

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
teeracy
from Tampa, FL
Since the day I bought this litter box the lid never fit the box correctly creating an issue of when my cats used it their urine would hit the wall and then leak out of the side onto the floor. The lid doesn't lock on to the base what so ever. And today the area where the filter is fell off and is unable to be reattached because the flimsy plastic pieces broke off that keep the filter attached.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

keeps house clean and decent-smelling

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
toocats
2 cats, 2 booda domes, no stinky cat smells and minimal litter tracking. placed these facing a wall and window, on top of litter mats. while some litter does still escape (hardwood floors, whatchagonnado?), it's manageable with a daily sweep. the filters work well and are replaceable. visitors tend to comment that the house doesn't smell like cats at all. the boxes look kind of cool, too.
the only thing that could be better is that you have to really make sure the tops are on just right. because of the odd shape, it's easy to miss one side or knock part of it off and not realize it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sissy528
from 19945
This features everything it said it would. Excellent litter box
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Booda Box

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jmnikolich
from Clearwater FL
The filter portion of the box doesn't stay latched so I am repeatedly taping it and being that this is the 'smell filter', it's been challenging. My cats seem to like it though and it looks pretty discreet.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Way more hassle than it's worth!

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
bugstersmom
from Tigard, OR
I got this box because of the stairs and the supposed stop to litter tracking. The stairs are impossible to clean without a vacuum, the filter falls out of the top all the time and the top of the box doesn't seal properly so urine leaks out onto the wall and drips down under the box on to my floor. Horrid design and way too big on top of it. Looks like a giant eyesore no matter what you try to do!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

mama of FIVE

PostedMay 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
shoshilove
from Long Beach, CA
First off I want to say I've tried several different kinds of litter boxes: the expensive automatic ones (really, it makes you do more work than it claims!!), the plain square box, the sifter version, etc. I've tossed all of those away because it did not meet my 5 kitties potty needs! Now I have only ONE of these Booda box so far and OH my goodness, it can last me two days tops without scooping/cleaning! Now I normally do not leave it without cleaning in less than a day, but during those rare cases when I feel well, a bit tired and lazy from a long day, I don't have to worry about the smell and the box being too clogged up. The box has so much space that it allows me to "forget about it". I'm definitely getting a second one for the kitty room!
Note: you must be wondering how one litter box is possible for 5 cats... believe me, it works, or I'm just blessed with civil felines [4 girls, 1 boy] and all my rescued kitties are on the small side (except one). They also get quarterly deworms so there isn't anything wrong with their bowels! They are all healthy and spoiled! ^_^
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pleased

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
parteepink
from New Orleans
I got this litter box mainly because my dog was eating out of the old one. She cannot get to the litter in this one so it works out. It also doesn't get litter all over the floor. My cat seems to like it. The only problem I have with it, is that the top doesn's seem to snap on. It just kinda sits on top. I am not sure if that is how it is suppose to be or not. I can't pick it up by the handle on the top to move it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>