petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove

Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove

The Booda Clean Step Cat Litter Box combines all the best features into one stylish cat litter box99% odor free cat litter box50% bigger than your average cat litter boxClean-step ramp keeps the cat litter in the box, not on your floor
Average Customer Rating:
3.949 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(316 Reviews) 316
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 316 reviews
5 stars
173
4 stars
60
3 stars
18
2 stars
24
1 star
41
241 out of 316(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Review 1 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent box!

PostedDecember 24, 2005
Customer Avatar
from Missouri
We have tried many different boxes for our 3 cats. This one is by far our favorite and the cats seem to really like it as well. Very easy to clean, just pop off the top. Hard lid keeps our youngest cat from bugging the older cats when they are inside.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+29points
60of 91voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedNovember 29, 2005
Customer Avatar
from Alaska
I loved this litter box! I have 2 large cats and they have had no problem with the size of the box. While the stairs make take up some room, it really prevents the spread of litter. I don't have anything in front of the litter box and I have not yet notic
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+51points
62of 73voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Still get sand outside the box

PostedAugust 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Southern California
The main marketing point of this litter box is that the sand stays inside. Well, I have as much sand on the floor with this box as I did with a traditional rectangular, covered box. There is no real advantage to this product over other litter boxes, in my experience with it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Booda clean step litter box is great

PostedAugust 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Azle, Texas
I hardly have any litter on the floor now and I don't smell it so much either. The cats adapted to the new box immediately. Glad I got it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome product

PostedAugust 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Bay Area, Ca
This litter box is great! Since babies my cats have been used to using an open litter box. However, every cat owner knows that open litter boxes have that horrible odor and are just not pretty to look at. I was looking on Petco.com and found this product, and it is awesome! My cats are super messy in the litter box and this product fixes that problem! My cats were a little hesitant to this dome box, the curious one took to the box very fast, but my other cat didn't. I had to push him in the door a little for him to realize it was his bathroom; but he took to it right after. Overall a great product that catches most if not all of the litter and keeps the smell in the litter box with the filter feature on top. This liter box also has a place to attach a plastic door to keep the mess in even more. So happy I found this product!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for all cats!

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
I bought this litter box about a year ago and have loved it ever since! It's VERY spacious and you don't have to clean it that often if you have one cat. It fits soooo much litter.
The steps keep most of the litter inside this box which is a plus too. Now that I have 2 cats, I usually scoop twice a week and clean it out fully every 2-3 weeks. It can go longer if need be.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for messy cats

PostedJuly 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Lynnwood, WA
I don't like stepping on litter grains coming out of the shower, and this box solves that problem. It's also good for a roommate situation where you can't have the box in the shared bathroom. The only disadvantage is that the round sides of the pan are not as easy to clean with a flat edged scoop.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No Stink

PostedJune 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from NY
Finally, finally, finally! I have gotten rid of the litter box reek! Some litter still gets out onto the floor, but my cat is an infamous mess maker. Much less than before though. This product is better than I anticipated.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Box

PostedMay 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Florida
I have two 12 week old kittens. They are litter box trained and are very good at using the box. My problem was that they would throw all of the contents of the box when trying to cover everything up. This new litter box is great and there is not more mess. It is huge and would easily fit a full grown cat. I only gave it four stars due to the air freshener. It does not have a cover on it and the kittens were easily able to take it out and play with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for us

PostedApril 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from California
I purchased this for my two medium size adult cats. I wanted a litter box that would help reduce the amount of litter coming out of the box onto my floor when the cats were done using it. This looked like a great solution. When I recieved the litter box it was a lot smaller than I anticipated and the lid did not snap on so it was very flimsy and difficult to keep the lid on. My cats used it but I ended up ordering a new litter box because this one was too small & flimsy. Probably good for one small to medium size cat. I do have to say it did reduce the amount of litter out of the box onto the floor but you still have to clean it up off the steps which was kind of a pain.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PERFECT!!

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Morgantown, WV
We just adopted a one year siamese/ragdoll mix cat from Petco. I had heard so many great things about this litter box. The guy helping us also had wonderful things to say. We purchased this and our little princess LOVES it. It's nice and big and the charcoal filter helps keep down the smell. She also loves that it's covered! The steps really help cut down on the amount of litter that appears outside the box. We use the Jonny Cat litter box liners and the Arm & Hammer Double Duty cat litter. I've never smelled the litter and our little girl loves her litter box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Arlington TX
My Prissy Missy & I love, love, love this litter box great privacy for her, much cleaner surrounding due to the litter wicking stairs & adding overhead filter at little expense just makes this litter box perfect for us! Easy to scoop & easy to clean. Just excellent!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Only okay

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from TX
It's rather big, though I should have read the description for that. What I didn't like about it is that the top comes off the base very easily, it doesn't seem to "lock" on. I was hoping that due to the shape it would be "dog proof", but my dog was able to just knock the top off of it. It's not a bad litter box but it's just not for me. Maybe if you have more space than I, and aren't concerned about the lid falling off.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product!

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from ct
I am loving this littler box so far. My cats love the top and the stairs are great for getting extra litter out of their feet and not on my floor. The roof and filter do an amazing job of keeping the smells in the box as well. I would highly recommend this box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great litterbox - liner doesn't fit right.

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, TX
This litter box is great. We have a 6 month old kitten that likes to kick litter around. This box helps most of it inside (there is a little that gets out). My husband likes that the smells aren't that noticeable. This litter box will easily hold 24 pounds of litter.
We used the liner that came with the litterbox when we first set it up, but it doesn't fit very well (kind of sad since it was shipped from the manufacturer). My kitten kept playing with the bulky part of the liner and proceeded to tear large holes in it. We are giving it a try with no liner.
Another unfortunate part is that the latch that is supposed to secure the plastic piece that holds the filter may not work. If you purchase at the store check it out before you buy - and if you buy online check that before you start using the litterbox. I bought 2 online and returned 1 to the store because the latch didn't work. I bought another one online (much better pricing) and it is fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect fit!

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Stevens Point, WI
This was a perfect fit. My cat has severe issues when it comes to her privacy in the litter box. If she sees anyone, she'll stop and not go for an hour or more. We have two cats and we seem to always get litter on the ground around the box. This was our first covered box, and I couldn't be happier. The litter stays in, except a teeny bit, and she gets the privacy she needs. I'm on my way for a second one for the other floor of the house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Clovis, Ca
Love the litter box it keeps the odors away and litter mostly inside just wish they offered a liner that fit better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
I wanted to add an extra box upstairs to help out my cat suffering with a UTI but I always dread the mess around the box. I put the box in my bedroom closet on a litter tracking mat and it contains the odor and 90% of the litter that leaves the box so I'm satisfied with that. I got a little Bissell pet hair eraser vacuum to get whatever ends up on the floor. It takes about 30 seconds to clean up. My kitty is not using the box 12 times a night anymore but I think it will be fine to leave the box in my room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good In Some Respects

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Henryetta, OK
I initially bought this because my husband just got a dog who likes to eat cat poo, and our previous, un-covered cat box was obviously no help.
The catbox is certainly big enough for more than one cat (which is good, since I have 2). And the hood keeps the new dog out. The steps definitely help to clean litter off of kitty feet. I also haven't smelled much, thanks to the included air filter.
My only issue is that it's a little difficult to clean the litter off the steps themselves, especially if the litter is even a little damp. It's not like you can tip the box. (It's too bad you can't remove the steps and reattach them.) I have a small hand-held brush and dustpan, and it still is difficult. The lip at the bottom of the steps, while definitely keeping the litter on the steps from going any further, also makes it difficult to clean those last few pieces.
All in all, it's a good product. I would have given a 4 (I never give a "perfect" score), but the step litter issue held me back. If a little more time picking the last bit of litter from the step/lip doesn't bother you, I'd say it's a 4.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Booda Clean Step Litter Box in Pearl Dove
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Extremely Small Litter Box

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Farmington Hills, MI
Huge on the outside - but a really small section where the litters goes. Thankfully, they gave a free liner for the unit - because it's going back to the store. For an average size cat - they can hardly turnaround around and the urine goes on the sides instead of in the litter - just not enough room. Great for not tracking litter - but I'd rather have litter tracks than uncovered urine since it goes on the side of box.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>