petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med AquaSun T-5 HO Double Light Linear Fluorescent Hood

Zoo Med AquaSun T-5 HO Double Light Linear Fluorescent Hood

Made specifically for Zoo Med HO (high output) T-5 bulbs (sold separately)Includes two built-in on/off switches for independent lamp controlDual lamp capacity for custom lighting blendsClear splash guard for lamp protectionInternal reflector maximizes lumen outputMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.292 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
21 out of 24(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med AquaSun T-5 HO Double Light Linear Fluorescent Hood
Review 1 for Zoo Med AquaSun T-5 HO Double Light Linear Fluorescent Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good two light fixture

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Denver, CO
Overall: Good lighting fixture with some good accessories
Pros: 1. Comes with rails for easy access to tank
2. Comes with Components required to Hang.
Cons: Power Cable could be slightly longer
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med AquaSun T-5 HO Double Light Linear Fluorescent Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great light - select proper bulbs

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Fairfax, VA
Let me start with the most important thing:
- You CANNOT use this light with a glass hood. The claps are such that they grasp your aquarium from inside and outside.
Beyond that, this is a GREAT light. Please make sure to select the proper lightbulbs for your purposes (i.e. plants, freshwater or saltwater fish, corals, etc.)
The one advantage this "Clamping" mechanism has is that it tilts up, so you can reach further back into you aquarium without knocking it off ot the sides.
If you don't need a hood, I highly recommend this light.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med AquaSun T-5 HO Double Light Linear Fluorescent Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Whoa.

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from DFW, Texas
Pros: Appearance, functionality, quality, price, standard T5 ballast, separate switch for each light, placement flexibility
Cons: tightening brackets
I hands-down love this fixture. It's relatively cheap, good quality, flexible, and functional. Also, here's a secret: I didn't order the T5 tubes online because I've never had good experiences ordering long lights online (from anyone). Turns out, NOBODY in my immediate area sells the "ZooMed" T5 HO lights in store. There is a solution! You know those super expensive, ridiculously nice Coralife fixtures? Well, the bulbs are top-quality and are fortunately roughly the same price as the Zoo-Med lights. I bought the 24" fixture that specifies 22" bulbs, The Coralife '24" 'bulbs fit perfectly- the package says 24" because that's the size of the Coralife fixture they fit. They're standard sizes, which ZooMed fortunately goes by. I'm not even using the 24w bulbs because the 14w are plenty strong, and my plants are loving the heck out of them.
My ONLY thumbs down about this fixture concerns the brackets that actually sit on the aquarium- Not sure if it's my older tank or something weird ZooMed did, but the screws that are supposed to secure the fixture to the actual tank are very short. In fact, they don't even come close to the glass so I'm not sure what the point is, but the fixture seems to be solid enough just sitting on the sides. I never planned on trying to suspend it from the ceiling, so I can't comment on that.
Overall, EXTREMELY pleased. Get this fixture! Especially while it's on sale!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med AquaSun T-5 HO Double Light Linear Fluorescent Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product worked extremely well

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Madison TN
I had a saltwater aquarium fish only system then one fish got ich then it wiped out my tank so i was able to start over. which i was very glad to cause i wanted coral so i went to petco told a employer, and they helped me right away they said this light should be good for you. i got the light hooked it up my fish tank looked amazing with my new light then the next week i went up there i got a mushroom and some polyps, and they grew like crazy. this light worked very well and it was cheap and easy to use and get. i was verry happy when i bought this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med AquaSun T-5 HO Double Light Linear Fluorescent Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great T5 HO for the price

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Malden, MA
It's been over a week and I've seen major growth in my swords and crypt wendtii. I took the advice of other reviewers and picked up my lamps from my local Petco. I'm using the Flora Sun and Ultra Sun mix. After reading reviews I was bracing my self for my hood to be damaged but it wasn't it was packed in a box with inflatable packing. The only thing I found weird was that Fedex passed off my package to the USPS which add two days to the delivery.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med AquaSun T-5 HO Double Light Linear Fluorescent Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Conover, Nc
This light is great, i have had it for one week and my plants are already growing fast. makes my tank look very modern a sleek. And i had an issue due to my on fault and their customer service shipped a new one to me in a week, awesome all around fixture, price, quality, and customer service.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med AquaSun T-5 HO Double Light Linear Fluorescent Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

T5 light hood

PostedJune 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Maryland
This is a good item, only bad thing is if you have a filter on the back its hard to open. T5 lights are great!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med AquaSun T-5 HO Double Light Linear Fluorescent Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice light

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from portola,ca
Great light--super easy setup out of the box. Super good price for those budget minded who cannot afford all the new technology like led and other fancy lights. Don't know the real outcome of led anyway.
Runs a tiny bit hot, but with no glass, it does not matter. Fits my tank PERFECTLY to a T-56gal show.
I didn't have to hang it, so I don't know about that part. Two switches--awesome.
One plug--awesome.
Overall, I am very happy.
Mine is a fish only reef, no invertebrates.
I have been dying to take the top glass off anyway, so no comment on that.
Impressed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med AquaSun T-5 HO Double Light Linear Fluorescent Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good value!

PostedJanuary 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New England
Fixture is sleek and everything that it should be. The included wire cables work to suspend the fixture, but the cable and clamp system makes it complicated if you plan to adjust the height. I swapped mine for some simple hanging-plant chains to allow for easy, incremental adjustments.
As others have mentioned, it would really be nice if it had 2 cords and not just two switches. The good news is that all of the parts are off-the-shelf, and it can be easily adapted. If you have some basic electrical knowledge, you can add another cord for independent control of each lamp. Also, as another clever user has done, there is ample room to add additional T5 fixtures or anything else. I am planning to add some moonlight LED's and it looks like it's going to be a breeze.
Don't get me wrong, this is a great light as it is, but the possibilities are endless if you're the type to tinker with it. If I had paid $200 for it, I would have deducted a star for the cable suspension system and the lack of a 2nd cord. For the money, I don't think it can be beat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med AquaSun T-5 HO Double Light Linear Fluorescent Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome light

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Texas
Bought this light cause of price and high output bulbs. I had a glass top so I hung it using the provided cables. I used the coral sun, ocean sun bulbs and very happy with my purchase! Everything looks so vivid, can't imagine spending more when you get such a bang for your buck with this one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med AquaSun T-5 HO Double Light Linear Fluorescent Hood
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good light but not for a glass top aquarium

PostedJune 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Texas
The light is very nice and ZooMed has several bulbs to choose from. I have a 55 gallon tank with a glass top to prevent fish from jumping out. How this thing sits you can not have a glass top and must have an open aquarium, because the hinged sides slip over the aquarium preventing a glass top from sitting correctly. If you have an open top aquarium I recommend it, but if you have a closed or glass top then no. You can mount it from the ceiling but that is a pain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
16of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med AquaSun T-5 HO Double Light Linear Fluorescent Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Light for plant terrarium. Nice.

PostedApril 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Massachusetts
Bought this unit to light a tropical terrarium (no animals), and put two kinds of bulbs in the fixture. Have been very pleased. The plants are growing nicely, and the unit throws enough light without heating the plants. The fixture did stop lighting one of the tubes (it's the fixture and not the bulb), but Petco sent a new one at no charge. Haven't owned it long enough to comment on longevity.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med AquaSun T-5 HO Double Light Linear Fluorescent Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Exellent

PostedApril 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Racine,WI
Do not try and fit this under a canopy...or just make sure to double measure. Its a little larger then I realized when I got done mounting it. But you cant beat it for the cost any where in the field for how high of output it produces. I had to move my plants away from the surface because they were receiving too much light.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med AquaSun T-5 HO Double Light Linear Fluorescent Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good:)

PostedFebruary 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
I love the two switches! Its very handy. I suggest getting zoo med 10,000k light and a 420 actnic light to go with it. Cons are when I got this item it was broken. It makes you thing wether you should order online or not. But, its a really good deal online. I would recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zoo Med AquaSun T-5 HO Double Light Linear Fluorescent Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aquasun T5 HO 36" Lamp

PostedJanuary 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Tyngsboro, MA
Excellent Lamp! Mounted easily, pivots up to give good access to the tank and bulbs, has an easily removable lens for cleaning, and is quite. The tank has never looked so good. Best Buy for the $.
Negatives: 3 out of 4 bulbs ordered were broken in shipping. Had to go to a Petco store to get the bulbs (+$7 ea). Have decided not to order bulbs on line ever again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zoo Med AquaSun T-5 HO Double Light Linear Fluorescent Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Value, Amazing Performance

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Flower Mound, TX
I bought this T5 light kit to upgrade my stock lighting that came with my 20 gallon. Since my tank has all live plants I wanted more watts so that my plants would thrive. As soon as I installed the lighting my plants showed a huge improvement and started pearling.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zoo Med AquaSun T-5 HO Double Light Linear Fluorescent Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Beautiful...

PostedOctober 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
This is a pretty solid light fixture and a quick fix(temporary fix for me) for anyone who needs to replace a broken light fixture on a tight budget. The one power cord is nice for me because I have limited space on my GFCI strip, However; If you want a 24hr cycle on a timer this is NOT for you. The ballast does make a slight humming noise from time to time, but it's not the end of the world. My fish and corals look beautiful. I wouldn't use this for SPS corals though or anything extremely high with lighting needs. I'm happy, and the combination of Ocean sun 10,000K and Coral Sun 420nm actinic is absolutely stunning. Also; the mounting legs are alright, but be careful when lifting the fixture.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zoo Med AquaSun T-5 HO Double Light Linear Fluorescent Hood
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fair

PostedSeptember 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Petoskey, Michigan
Light works great but one of the ballast puts out a humming sound. I am hoping it goes away with time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zoo Med AquaSun T-5 HO Double Light Linear Fluorescent Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Light, Great Price!

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
For my first saltwater tank, I wanted a reasonably-priced light that performed well and looked great. This is it. My coralline algae is doing great under the 10K and actinic bulbs, and I am loving the way everything looks. Definitely recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Zoo Med AquaSun T-5 HO Double Light Linear Fluorescent Hood
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not what expected

PostedJuly 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis, MO
I bought this in-store thinking I had scored a bargian fixture for my 75gal planted tank I'm putting together.
When I got home I found that one of the mounting brackets were broken, but also that the design of the brackets would prevent it being tank-mounted on a tank with a glass top. The brackets only fit around both sides of the glass. You'd be forced to hang-mount the light, which I did not want to do.
But not only that, while the fixture has dual switches for each lamp - it only has ONE power cord making the dual switches nearly pointless.
I returned the light the next day, and my search continues. Dissapointing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>