petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Prevue Hendryx Signature Series Deluxe Parrot Cage with Playtop Area Wrought Iron Bird Cage in Black

Prevue Hendryx Signature Series Deluxe Parrot Cage with Playtop Area Wrought Iron Bird Cage in Black

2 in 1 front door opens down (landing style) or swings out (traditional)Roomy exterior playtopPull out bottom grill & drawer for easy cleaningIncludes cage stand with easy-rolling casters
Average Customer Rating:
3.889 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Prevue Hendryx Signature Series Deluxe Parrot Cage with Playtop Area Wrought Iron Bird Cage in Black
Review 1 for Prevue Hendryx Signature Series Deluxe Parrot Cage with Playtop Area Wrought Iron Bird Cage in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The parrot cage

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
117wcs
from Plains, PA
This cage is massive. Very impressive and spacious. Came as directed in record time. Hard to put together and many pieces were bent. (As package states they may be) It took two people to put together and with the top, three of us. But when all finished, it is well worth the effort. It is beautiful. My two cockatoos love exploring it and trying to find ways to escape. The two deep cups are an added plus, I order five more for my other cages.
You want happy parrots, get it. It is well worth the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Prevue Hendryx Signature Series Deluxe Parrot Cage with Playtop Area Wrought Iron Bird Cage in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but very frusterating

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
cthulhucometh
from Little Rock, Ar
The overall cage is good but is a real PAIN IN THE BUTT to put together. The screws for the lock won't even work, I'll have to go to a hardware store to get the right screws. For those wondering, it does have a second "landing" style door below the play stand. You do need two people to put it together. Also the instructions are very hazy at best. The actual cage is a good build as far as I can tell, just be prepared for the installing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Prevue Hendryx Signature Series Deluxe Parrot Cage with Playtop Area Wrought Iron Bird Cage in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Cage

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
TreasureTahoe
from Reno, NV
We were so hesitant to purchase this cage based upon the reviews and the lack of a door for the left side, however it was on sale and our three conures where going to hurt each other if we didn't increase their space. We ordered the cage and it was delivered seven days later, free shipping. The installation took two people a little over an hour. Setting up the toys, perches and food takes even longer. It is a little hard to reach some areas. The cage is very large! And to our delightful surprise, there is now a door on the left side of the cage. There are a total of three entry points. The area under the play area is perfect for setting up the beds. I wish the manufacturer would had made more options for where to put the food, but one can always purchase food bowls. The construction is good and sturdy. It is held together with bolts. A few parts were bent, but we had no problem bending them back into place.
The cage is a great buy and a incredible price. We are very happy with it. Thank you Petco!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Prevue Hendryx Signature Series Deluxe Parrot Cage with Playtop Area Wrought Iron Bird Cage in Black
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor design

PostedApril 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
planejane
from East Tennessee
I bought the combo delux cage which is essentiall 2 cages in one. Great idea, but the only access door, aside from the 2 food cup access dooors, is on the high dome side and is placed so low that I have to kneel on the floor in able to reach in and get my Amazon from his top perch. Having no door at all on the lower playtop side makes it difficult if not impossible to easily clean that side. I do think the overall quality of of the cage is quite good.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Prevue Hendryx Signature Series Deluxe Parrot Cage with Playtop Area Wrought Iron Bird Cage in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love It!

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
GuapoNewHome
from Erie,PA
Took a little while to put together, but directions where clear and everything included. Our Conure loves it just as much as we do... It is probably a little too roomy for her, but how much room is too much for a bird.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Prevue Hendryx Signature Series Deluxe Parrot Cage with Playtop Area Wrought Iron Bird Cage in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This is the worst cage I have ever purchased

PostedAugust 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
LShelly
I had a corner cage for my African Grey, and I decided to get him something with more room. I liked the looks of this cage and the reviews were great.
The cage itself wasn't that hard to assemble, but the metal is cheap and bends out of shape easily. The bottom that goes aboive the tray would not slide in because of the cheap construction, After some frustrating tears I got some pliers to expand the track and coated it with olive oil to get the botton rack in.
The door is too small and it is very hard to put toys and perches inside, unless you are a contortionist.
So far my bird spends all his time trying to escape from this cage. I don't blame him. We both hate it.
DON'T waste your money on this cage. You will be sorry.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Prevue Hendryx Signature Series Deluxe Parrot Cage with Playtop Area Wrought Iron Bird Cage in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it!!!

PostedJuly 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jamster187
from Dobson, NC
when I first put it together it was great but I soon found out that I was missing some of the bird perches so that was a delay but I emailed Customer service and they said they will ship them from the manufacturer so wonderful!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Prevue Hendryx Signature Series Deluxe Parrot Cage with Playtop Area Wrought Iron Bird Cage in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love This Cage

PostedFebruary 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
michelle19769
We purchased this cage online for our Cockatoo and she loves it. We needed a cage that would give her the room she wanted as well as the ease of assembly and access. This cage has all of that. With a play top and two different levels she explores everyday like when we first assembled it.
The easy assembly and play top make it a perfect cage for larger birds what need a little something different.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Prevue Hendryx Signature Series Deluxe Parrot Cage with Playtop Area Wrought Iron Bird Cage in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this cage!

PostedFebruary 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Maswa
from Santa Barbara, Ca
This cage is easy to assemble and easy to clean. I love the separate doors for food and water dishes. It allows easy access for anyone taking care of her while I'm away. It is really large so be sure and get extra ladders and perches to take advantage of all the space. My bird loves it! The added play area is a big plus. The only down side is a cover for this size cage is really expensive, so I just use a queen size flat sheet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.