petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Easy Step-In Red Comfort Harness for Dogs

Petco Easy Step-In Red Comfort Harness for Dogs

Simple easy step-in designSimply lay the harness flat, place right & left paws in & snap onLight padding in the nylon for a comfortable fitAdjustable for a custom fit on your dog or room to grow for your puppyFeatures heavy duty stitching and metal d-rings
Average Customer Rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
0
17 out of 20(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Easy Step-In Red Comfort Harness for Dogs
Review 1 for Petco Easy Step-In Red Comfort Harness for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

amazing

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from whittier, ca
Using on a med/lrg american pitbull terrier. Doesnt irritate him like the hard nylon harness. So far the material seems strong
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Easy Step-In Red Comfort Harness for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Item Okay, But . . ..

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bethesda, MD
This item is okay, but the clip is extremely difficult to open. Could just be mine, but the fact still remains. I will exchange it for another to see if it improves.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Easy Step-In Red Comfort Harness for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nice Ornamental Harness.

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pacific coast, central
I was pretty disappointed to realize AFTER getting the harness home and putting it on the dogs, that this is not they type of harness that will help with issues like pulling or a smaller person walking multiple large dogs. It lacks the responsiveness of a front ring harness, and having the rings in the middle back doesn't allow you to direct the leash around the outer side of the dogs neck, so you loose some of the outside shoulder control that another type of harness would offer.
The clips go on the dogs BACK, and there is no ring in the front to attach a leash at the CHEST as you would to bring around a dog that pulls. I had to look up this new harness (bringing me here for pictures) to figure out how to get the harness ON because I was so determined that the ring should be in the front rather than buckling over the back - giving the harness the same degree of control and effectiveness as a collar - only more expensive.
The only thing I could see this harness being better than a collar in is for a dog that slips collars off. It's going to do very little for pulling because the rings are in the wrong place.. After looking it up, I'm pretty disappointed. I don't feel like driving all the way back to petco to return the harnesses (2 - for my bullys) and probably end up spending more to get the front attachment harnesses that we need so I'll probably try to attach the leashes to the nylon or find a way to put a ring OVER the harness in the front so it can be used the way a harness is meant to function - to help a smaller person keep ahold of more dog than their weight would normally allow or to train a large dog without having to pull on the leash.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Easy Step-In Red Comfort Harness for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sturdy Harness

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hawthorne, CA
Good quality but very hard to open. It is perfect size for my 12 week old puppy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Easy Step-In Red Comfort Harness for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

pretty but no match for a puppy

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from oh
Bought the harness this afternoon, walked the dog once and she seemed unaffected by the change in harness. The fit was great after some very easy adjustments. Unfortunately, with ten minutes on her own, she managed to chew through this harness. To be fair, it is the second one this week, but how disappointing for such a string looking harness.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Easy Step-In Red Comfort Harness for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Clip too small

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
This was so easy to slip on the dogs, and they stayed in them nicely. But the little black clip at the top was really difficult for either of us to engage or squeeze to open. And I have small hands. Because of that, I wouldn't recommend.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Easy Step-In Red Comfort Harness for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
Great product, easy to get on and off our yorkie. We thought it would fit him a little better, per the measurements, as sometimes he can slip his foot out of the loop. He will grow into it, and seems it is comfortable for him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Easy Step-In Red Comfort Harness for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Harness

PostedMay 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
Our dog has back problems and his vet said we should walk him with a harness on. This harness is easy to use and good quality. It will last his lifetime.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Easy Step-In Red Comfort Harness for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

too large

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from indy
Returned as this harness was too large and bulky for a 7 lb dog. Otherwise it was made well and service was good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Easy Step-In Red Comfort Harness for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product works well...

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New Iberia LA
It's made well, easy to put on & my dog likes it!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Easy Step-In Red Comfort Harness for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great look, great use

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from NYC,NY
I bought the first one in-store in a medium for my english bulldog. It fit him well since he was a puppy but now thats he's 6 months old it is getting a bit snug. I bought the one in black in a large. The material is nice and feels comfortable. The color selection is also a plus!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Easy Step-In Red Comfort Harness for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy-to-use-harness that withstands the weather!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Howell, NJ
I have bought several harnesses for my loveable mutt Maggie. This one is the best! We both prefer the step-in design. Other harnesses you have to wrangle over the dog's head. Still looks great after time spent in the woods, on the beach and playing in the neighborhood with her favorite friends Casey and Katherine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Easy Step-In Red Comfort Harness for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use!

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
I bought this online for my mom's lab puppy and until I finally saw it, I didn't realize how easy it was, hence the name it's given!! It really helps when you're trying to harness a wiggly puppy and I'm sure it's even easier to put on a dog standing still, lol!! Definitely recommended!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Easy Step-In Red Comfort Harness for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pawsome

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
I bought this product for my chihuahua not to long ago and i love it so much!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Easy Step-In Red Comfort Harness for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dog harnass

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Benicia, CA
I was careful to order the size my dog should fit into; medium based on chart of chest size. I was disappointed when I tried it on her because even after adjusting to the smallest possible fit, it did not fit her well. The size chart is misleading. This type of hard harness may work well for bigger dogs, but I would not recommend it for medium to small dogs. It is too stiff and unwielding. She could not walk comfortably in the harnass; it kept slipping around her torso.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Easy Step-In Red Comfort Harness for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great harness for the price

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Tucson, AZ
I have 2 of these and they work great for my Boston's very easy to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Easy Step-In Red Comfort Harness for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Harness - Great Value

PostedJune 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Austin TX
We recently adopted a 2 yr old Dachshund, Stompor. He hasn't been very well socialized (quickly improving though) and when we'd take him on walks he would lunge at people and other dogs. Because he's so small, we were concerned about pulling him back by a leash connected to a collar. This harness is the perfect solution! If he starts to go after other dogs or people, we can restrain him without worrying about putting too much pressure on his little neck and making him uncomfortable. It fits well, and he seems to enjoy it. From the moment we started to use it, we've found that he pulls less too! This harness is awesome
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Easy Step-In Red Comfort Harness for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use

PostedMarch 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Purchased a Small for my dog who weighs around 16-18lbs (with normal chest width) and it fits fine. He already has other step-in harnesses, but I wanted to give the comfort version a try. The comfort harness functions the same, but the difference is that it is padded and the clasp is metal and plastic. (The plastic side inserts into the metal side.) When I used the clasp for the first time, it was difinitely not as easy to open and close as an all-plastic clasp. Took a little more strength. I decided to repeatedly open and close it numerous times until it finally loosened up. Now it has about the same ease as using an all-plastic clasp.
Can't speak to the comfort of the harness and have only used it for a couple weeks, but it looks well made. I am only giving this one 5 stars because I was able to loosen up the clasp.
Step-in harnesses are the best if you want to avoid strain/choking on your dog's neck.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Easy Step-In Red Comfort Harness for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great harness

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
The harness are just perfect for a small dog but I have a small longhaired chihuahua and she need the Li'l Pals xs harness. This is just too big are the little ones. Fits the Yorkie just perfect. I love the convience of being able to step into the harness with little or trouble. Buy it you will love it too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Easy Step-In Red Comfort Harness for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good harness

PostedNovember 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
I've purchased the medium and was pleased before I got my rescue dog groomed. Without his hair we need a small.
The harness is easy to put on. I like that there are tags with L and R on it. The harness is nicely padded.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.