petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate

Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate

Midwest dog crates have a strong & secure corner drop pin designTough, easy to clean ABS plastic pan with independent pan-stopSafe & secure slide bolt latchesLarge dog crates designed specifically to fit the largest of dogsIdeal for extra large breed dogs over 125 lbs
Average Customer Rating:
4.463 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(136 Reviews) 136
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 136 reviews
5 stars
89
4 stars
32
3 stars
9
2 stars
1
1 star
5
127 out of 136(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 69 Answers
Customer Reviews for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Review 1 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just what I needed, best ever

PostedMay 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Victorville ca,
I had purchased in store the largest crate available xxl . Brought it home and my 9 mo. Old greate dane bubbles couldn't stand up in it realizing this wasn't gonna work. I went on line with other pet stores and no one carried ones that was suited for great danes but..... petco did !! So pleased with this purchase it's build very good , strong and huge . And what a bargain I stronly recommend this crate for all you xtra large breed owners. Thanks pet co !!! I rate this product a 10
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent crate for our spastic dog

PostedApril 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from NC
I first bought this kennel because it was extremely on sale back in August 2014. Our black lab at the time had chewed through his plastic one that I had bought him was he was a puppy so we had to get something he could not chew the bottom off of. This kennel has a metal bottom that is attached to the cage which was what we needed. An added bonus is that I believe the crate mat is rubber and not plastic! But so far the cage has withstood the test of our black lab. We also decided to get the bigger crate to save money if we got another dog, which we ended up doing. We didn't want to buy another crate if we bought another dog. Both labs fit in the cage comfortably and do well in there together. I can still even fit a water bowl with both of them in there to. I joke with my husband that he will sleep in the dog kennel if he miss-behaves but he always tells me he would have more room in the kennel than in his own bed! Our dogs sleep with us on a queen so we have become masters at weird sleeping positions. But, this kennel offers lots of space and head room, perfect for any dog or dogs that you are looking to use it for!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

crate for dane

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from charlotte, nc
Perfect for our 9 month old great Dane that weighs 130 lbs. I expect it will still be perfect when he is 200 lbs. My two weimaraners go in there and share it easily when the dane isn't in there. Perfect size. Wouldn't want it any bigger.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

No Instructions

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from St. Martinville, LA
I was disappointed there were no instructions on how to assemble the cage. It took my husband and I several hours to figure it out after we discovered there were pins holding it together!! After getting it together it is not very stable but we only need it for 6 weeks cause our dog had surgery. So it is perfect for that purpose.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must Have for Danes

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Saint Augustine, Fl
My local rescue loaned me two extra large crates for my new 10 month old Dane pups, but they are still growing and the Ginormus is the perfect size so that they can stand comfortably and hold their head up as well. It was sad before, too small for them. We call them "stables" now instead of "kennels" .lol
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great purchase!

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Washington, PA
This is the most sturdy well put together crate I have ever bought. My Great Dane has no problem fitting inside, in fact she has lots of room. I am very pleased with my purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hard to assemble

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
This is a huge kennel that I ordered for my Great Dane. I guess it's my fault for not looking at the details of the kennel before I purchased it, but it was very difficult to assemble. It was unlike my others that can be folded down fairly quickly with hinges holding the sides together. Instead, this one had metal pins that have to be slid into place which was no easy task. Everything had to line up so the pin would go through about 16 loops. Even lining them up, it took a bit of banging to make it fit. And once you get it together, you better have it where you want it to stay because it's not going through a standard size door. I would not recommend this kennel based on the assembly process alone. The kennel is nice once it's assembled.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

definitely a large crate!

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from tx
What a crate! 54" long, 36" wide and 46" tall. Appears to be well built. Goes together easily. Definitely takes up some room. UPS delivered it and the box looked like it had been thrown down several flights of stairs. I was surprised there was no damage to the product. All in all, this looks like it will work fine for my rapidly growing mastiff puppy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Biggest Crate I've ever seen

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
This crate is perfect for my Great Dane. She loves it. It came a bit beat up from the shipping, however it was superficial. Very happy with purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly as described

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
Purchased this kennel because our Gernan Shepherd was unable to stand up straight in the next size down. He loves it and is able to move around more freely and able to stand up. It is "Ginormus" as described. My husband was able to assemble it in less than 1o minutes. Instructions were easy to follow. Only problem we had was finding a bed that was a reasonable price that fit the bottom.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
This crate is ideal for my Great Dane. He really likes it. The only issue I have is you can't find a bed that fits in it. They seem to all be too small. I bought the one that says it will fit, but it doesn't. Also, the crate would work better if the door could swing up and on top when open that way you won't have to deal with the door swinging into the way
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Clean Carpet Once Again

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Troy, OH
My Great Pyr had picked up a bad habit of thieving things off the bathroom counter while we slept, some that upset his stomach enough that he would have to purge in the middle of the night. We'd tried closing the door but since the linoleum was his favorite place to sleep, we wound up with a dog who would wander around and whine because his "bed" was gone. We'd tried a kennel when he was younger, but his howling and whining had prompted us to bring him out of it in an attempt to get some rest. When the kennel arrived it was bent and the packaging was slightly damaged, but nothing I couldn't fix with a pair of pliers. I will say that putting it together is MUCH easier with two people. I had to enlist my children's help after multiple attempts on my own resulted in it falling down as I was trying to snap the next piece in. It's more than big enough for him to stretch out and lay down in and now he even voluntarily goes in when we tell him it's time for bed. I was worried about a bigger kennel giving him room to potty inside (which my vet had warned me about) but he's had the kennel for over a month now without any accidents.For anyone whose dog is a midnight thief or has issues with potty training, I definitely suggest this kennel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disastisfied

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
I ordered this crate and it arrived at my residence damaged. Contacted petco to make them aware. It took a couple of phone calls to get the problem resolved. Recevied the second crate and it was in worse shape then the first one. I finally got my money back and still no crate. I will NEVER order from petco AGAIN!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bedroom for all dogs

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ridgecrest, CA
I have a lab/pit/mastiff mix, a chi/corgi mix, a reindeer Chihuahua, and a Yorkie, and they all love to sleep together in one kennel. I previously owned one that was too small for all 4 of my dogs to fit in together due to the latest addition of the lab/pit/mastiff mix puppy. Now all four can lay very comfortably and sleep very happily together
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Bad condition

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
The cage was delivered to my house and left on the driveway. The cage is not very difficult to set up once you separate the pieces and start putting it back together. Unfortunately, the cage arrived bent and scratched. Some areas were bent and broke which caused sharp edges. Not thrilled with the quality. Be prepared to get one pliers to bend back. However, the cage is huge. My 1 year old Great Dane loves his extra space. It could fit two of him in there. Great size. Bad quality.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Giant Size

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rapid City, SD
This crate is a must if you own a Great Dane. My Dane is able to stand up, sit up, and walk around comfortably in it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Size is perfect

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cranston RI
This crate was just what I was hoping it to be. My German Shepherd who is about 80 lb already at 8 months old outgrew his crate. This new one is very roomy he can stand and walk around in it, I feel so much better when I leave him alone. I know he is comfortable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This crate is huge!

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fair Grove, MO
This crate is well-built and the assembly instructions are easy to follow. The only caution I can give you is make sure you need a crate this big because it is enormous! I like the fact that our Great Pyrenees/Kangal mix has a lot of room but this thing eats up some real estate in the house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Huge Cage for Huge Dog

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Altus, OK
Thor is a 130 lb, 9 month old Leonberger, and he loves his new cage. His previous cage was considered XL, but it just wasn't tall or wide enough. This cage is tall enough for the most gigantic breeds, and its drop pin construction allow set-up in a snap. I'm impressed!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Midwest Ginormous Dog Crate

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Grayslake, IL
If you have a giant breed dog, like our Danes, this crate is a must. Excellent quality at a great price. While there were no assembly instructions provided in the package it went together easily if you've had crates similar to this before. The black powder coat finish is first rate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>