petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate

Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate

Midwest dog crates have a strong & secure corner drop pin designTough, easy to clean ABS plastic pan with independent pan-stopSafe & secure slide bolt latchesLarge dog crates designed specifically to fit the largest of dogsIdeal for extra large breed dogs over 125 lbs
Average Customer Rating:
4.436 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 94 reviews
5 stars
58
4 stars
26
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
3
90 out of 94(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Review 1 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for large dogs

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Txhuff
from Tx
Sturdy, easily cleaned, and secure. Easily and quickly put together with two people, although due to huge size it would be a bear to assemble alone. Bars are closely spaced to prevent large heads or paws from being trapped, and close enough to prevent chewing. Two locking mechanisms on each door prevent the door from being forced open by jumping or pushing. Bottom tray extends fully across bottom so is not accessible for chewing on edges, and appears to be impervious to digging. Very pleased at relatively low price. Might add, this crate is large and will not fit in car, but does fit in truck bed to prevent jumping. If used this way definitely needs sun shield to reduce heat. All in all, excellent crate for the money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Makes a great bird cage

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
360Degrees
from Oklahoma
I bought this crate to remodel it into a cage for my guinea fowl babies (keets). I lined the inside of the panels with wire mesh and it works like a charm. Keeps the predators out and the keets are thriving.
The crate was shipped promptly and was fairly easy to assemble, even after my modifications with the wire mesh.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Crate

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jen1972
from San Antonio,TX
This product was better then I could have imaged. The shipping could have been a little faster, but the product itself is great quality and works great with our great dane.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the queslity of this product

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
BrknDanes
from Illinois
Well built, and sturdy, Perfect for my great danes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pick up in store, don't ship!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Siren72912
from Michigan
Great large cage. Had another smaller Midwest solutions so I knew this would be good too! You cannot fold this one up like the other ones, but I think that's a given due to the scale.
I had this shipped to my house and it wasn't handled carefully. The box was falling apart by the time I got it which isn't a big deal, except some of the corners of the cage got mangled. So I had to hammer out some of those kinks and straighten out some of the corners with pliers so I could assemble it. Not a big deal but if you can pick it up in a store I'm sure you would save yourself that time and frustration.
Overall it's a great big cage that serves it's purpose!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ginormous crate

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Danesaregreat
from Creve Coeur IL
The crate is wonderful. It is huge!!! The box was broken open but everything inside was fine. I got a great price on this product too. $130.00. I don't know how often Petco does this but you made my day. I will definitely recommend this product to all my Dane friends.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ginormous, for sure! Need an extra hand

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
oncomom
from Schwenksville, PA
This is a ginormous crate! My Great Dane pup is starting to love his den. The size is more than adequate & I do not feel guilty that he has to stay the night in it. I would. The shipment weighed 88 awkward lbs & required a few extra hands to construct (with some frustration & I'm not 100% sure it is together as recommended). It would be great if it came with a divider for puppy training.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ginormus Dog Crate

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
LoriMichael
from Akron, OH
The crate is very sturdy and relatively easy to put together. Helps with two people. Shipping needs to be address as the box was beat up and we were lucky nothing was bent. This is the same problem I read about in other reviews before I purchase the crate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seems like a decent crate

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
UnaDane
from Western Kentucky
I hope you have a strong pliers because you're going to need it to straighten out all the bent pieces of metal. I doubt they got bent from shipping. I am guessing they aren't stored at the warehouse in a very gentle manner. Other than that, it seems to be a pretty sturdy crate, and of course it is humongeous!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Largest crate I knew of fits our needs

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mama2Mastiffs
from Michigan
I purchased this item years ago for our first English Mastiff~ We gave that one to another mastiff family once our dog no longer used a crate~I knew it was what I wanted again for our 2nd English Mastiff. It arrived quickly and with help we carried it inside and put it together rather easily since I knew how to assemble it already. The front and back panels took some muscle to get the drop-pins to go through and line up due to some bending of the loops~ For what we need and wanted, this item was the only thing I knew that would fit. 2 doors is a HUGE plus and our dog has plenty of room to stand/sit/lay due to the size of the crate. The plastic pan came with crate so we did not have to buy that separately. This was the best price I saw and would buy it again and have recommended it to others.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

weak crate

PostedMay 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
emh1234
from Dayton, OH
Every corner was so bent upon arrival, it could not be assembled.Tray was cracked also. Metal is very thin, especially considering how gigantic the crate is, making it very rickety. We were able to use pliars to bend back to make usable, damaging the coating. The door latches can be nosed open by dog with ease, requiring ties to keep close. Ultimately the packaging was not supportive, nor heavy enough. The corners could have used reinforced foam or ANYTHING, as the box was destroyed due to the weight of the cage. PETCO did handle the damages professionally, so they redeemed themselves with their thorough customer service.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Giant Crate

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
MastiffMom88
Product was just as expected and easy to assemble. However, I suppose the size and weight of the box and crate caused the pan to crack on the corner. I suggest using stronger boxes or corner supports. Now I have to spend extra money on a crate pan I paid for to be intact and complete.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to assemble

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
NCSUGirl
from NC
This crate was relatively easy for me to assemble by myself. However, it is somewhat flimsy, especially for a crate meant for large dogs. The wire seems to be the same gauge as what is used for smaller crates. I may reinforce this crate with wire or zip ties to make less flimsy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definitely "ginormous"

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
reaper482
from Maryland
We have a Great Dane who is almost one year old. She was already outgrowing the xlarge cage we got for her as a puppy. This should definitely last for her entire adult life. It was easy to put together and can be moved with two people. The two doors allow you to place it just about anywhere.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for my Saint Bernard

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sleggen
from Annandale, MN
This crate is the perfect size for my St. Bernard. She is only 7 months, and still has plenty of growing to do. She loves being able to stand up and move around in the crate. She can sit comfortably and and stretch out while laying down. It wasn't terribly difficult to get together by myself. It has been used about 3 months and has remained sturdy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Huge kennel

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rachelleigh84
from North Carolina
Love the kennel size plenty of room for my adult Dane and dobie. Not impressed with the condition of it when it arrived damaged but I had no choice but to keep it cause I needed it now not impressed with ups
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Large Size

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
2large
from Kernersville, NC
I wasn't sure when I purchased this product it would fit our 11 month old Great Dane. But when we put it together it was bigger then her. Them name is right it is ginormous. The two door feature is the best feature of the crate. I would highly recommend this product to anyone with a very large dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"Ginormus" means "Ginormus"

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Teach2
from Jersey Shore,PA
When it says "Ginormus" it is just that! I love that it is so big for my Bernese Mountain Dog. Now he has room to stand up and move around in his crate:) I was happy with the quick delivery and easy directions to assemble.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ginormous

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
crna1
from NC
Very large, only crate big enough for my great dane. Sturdy, well made. The only problem I had was putting it together, instructions could be better. But, I called their support number, got right through and they helped me complete the build. Get one for your giant breed dog.
One caveat, have to lay out pieces to put together, so have some extra space over the size of the crate to build it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sure is big!

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jewels621
from Hartford, wi
My husband was able to assemble it alone. The tray corner was broken/chipped when it arrived, but it doesn't affect the usability, so we didn't seek replacement. The door latches don't seem particularly strong or secure...if our Great Dane really wanted to get out, I'm guessing she might be able to with some work! Certainly big enough for her at 7 months old and 80 lbs - right now probably 3 of her could fit in there, so I'm hoping it will be fine with her as a full grown Dane.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>