petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate

Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate

Midwest dog crates have a strong & secure corner drop pin designTough, easy to clean ABS plastic pan with independent pan-stopSafe & secure slide bolt latchesLarge dog crates designed specifically to fit the largest of dogsIdeal for extra large breed dogs over 125 lbs
Average Customer Rating:
4.438 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(89 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 89 reviews
5 stars
56
4 stars
23
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
3
85 out of 89(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Review 1 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ginormous crate

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Danesaregreat
from Creve Coeur IL
The crate is wonderful. It is huge!!! The box was broken open but everything inside was fine. I got a great price on this product too. $130.00. I don't know how often Petco does this but you made my day. I will definitely recommend this product to all my Dane friends.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ginormous, for sure! Need an extra hand

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
oncomom
from Schwenksville, PA
This is a ginormous crate! My Great Dane pup is starting to love his den. The size is more than adequate & I do not feel guilty that he has to stay the night in it. I would. The shipment weighed 88 awkward lbs & required a few extra hands to construct (with some frustration & I'm not 100% sure it is together as recommended). It would be great if it came with a divider for puppy training.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ginormus Dog Crate

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
LoriMichael
from Akron, OH
The crate is very sturdy and relatively easy to put together. Helps with two people. Shipping needs to be address as the box was beat up and we were lucky nothing was bent. This is the same problem I read about in other reviews before I purchase the crate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seems like a decent crate

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
UnaDane
from Western Kentucky
I hope you have a strong pliers because you're going to need it to straighten out all the bent pieces of metal. I doubt they got bent from shipping. I am guessing they aren't stored at the warehouse in a very gentle manner. Other than that, it seems to be a pretty sturdy crate, and of course it is humongeous!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Largest crate I knew of fits our needs

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mama2Mastiffs
from Michigan
I purchased this item years ago for our first English Mastiff~ We gave that one to another mastiff family once our dog no longer used a crate~I knew it was what I wanted again for our 2nd English Mastiff. It arrived quickly and with help we carried it inside and put it together rather easily since I knew how to assemble it already. The front and back panels took some muscle to get the drop-pins to go through and line up due to some bending of the loops~ For what we need and wanted, this item was the only thing I knew that would fit. 2 doors is a HUGE plus and our dog has plenty of room to stand/sit/lay due to the size of the crate. The plastic pan came with crate so we did not have to buy that separately. This was the best price I saw and would buy it again and have recommended it to others.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

weak crate

PostedMay 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
emh1234
from Dayton, OH
Every corner was so bent upon arrival, it could not be assembled.Tray was cracked also. Metal is very thin, especially considering how gigantic the crate is, making it very rickety. We were able to use pliars to bend back to make usable, damaging the coating. The door latches can be nosed open by dog with ease, requiring ties to keep close. Ultimately the packaging was not supportive, nor heavy enough. The corners could have used reinforced foam or ANYTHING, as the box was destroyed due to the weight of the cage. PETCO did handle the damages professionally, so they redeemed themselves with their thorough customer service.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Giant Crate

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
MastiffMom88
Product was just as expected and easy to assemble. However, I suppose the size and weight of the box and crate caused the pan to crack on the corner. I suggest using stronger boxes or corner supports. Now I have to spend extra money on a crate pan I paid for to be intact and complete.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to assemble

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
NCSUGirl
from NC
This crate was relatively easy for me to assemble by myself. However, it is somewhat flimsy, especially for a crate meant for large dogs. The wire seems to be the same gauge as what is used for smaller crates. I may reinforce this crate with wire or zip ties to make less flimsy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definitely "ginormous"

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
reaper482
from Maryland
We have a Great Dane who is almost one year old. She was already outgrowing the xlarge cage we got for her as a puppy. This should definitely last for her entire adult life. It was easy to put together and can be moved with two people. The two doors allow you to place it just about anywhere.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for my Saint Bernard

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sleggen
from Annandale, MN
This crate is the perfect size for my St. Bernard. She is only 7 months, and still has plenty of growing to do. She loves being able to stand up and move around in the crate. She can sit comfortably and and stretch out while laying down. It wasn't terribly difficult to get together by myself. It has been used about 3 months and has remained sturdy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Huge kennel

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rachelleigh84
from North Carolina
Love the kennel size plenty of room for my adult Dane and dobie. Not impressed with the condition of it when it arrived damaged but I had no choice but to keep it cause I needed it now not impressed with ups
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Large Size

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
2large
from Kernersville, NC
I wasn't sure when I purchased this product it would fit our 11 month old Great Dane. But when we put it together it was bigger then her. Them name is right it is ginormous. The two door feature is the best feature of the crate. I would highly recommend this product to anyone with a very large dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"Ginormus" means "Ginormus"

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Teach2
from Jersey Shore,PA
When it says "Ginormus" it is just that! I love that it is so big for my Bernese Mountain Dog. Now he has room to stand up and move around in his crate:) I was happy with the quick delivery and easy directions to assemble.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ginormous

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
crna1
from NC
Very large, only crate big enough for my great dane. Sturdy, well made. The only problem I had was putting it together, instructions could be better. But, I called their support number, got right through and they helped me complete the build. Get one for your giant breed dog.
One caveat, have to lay out pieces to put together, so have some extra space over the size of the crate to build it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sure is big!

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jewels621
from Hartford, wi
My husband was able to assemble it alone. The tray corner was broken/chipped when it arrived, but it doesn't affect the usability, so we didn't seek replacement. The door latches don't seem particularly strong or secure...if our Great Dane really wanted to get out, I'm guessing she might be able to with some work! Certainly big enough for her at 7 months old and 80 lbs - right now probably 3 of her could fit in there, so I'm hoping it will be fine with her as a full grown Dane.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ginormus is just right

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
LuvJumboPup
from Colorado Springs, CO
Our Irish Wolfhound Sheepdog mix is enjoying the extra head and leg room in his new kennel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great service

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
krayzeeme73
from Newport News, VA
The crate is definitely Ginormous, sturdy, and big enough for my great dane! I love the 2 door feature as well. It was a blessing to not only get free shipping from Petco, but to have that big, heavy box delivered to my doorstep was so helpful!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GINOURMOUS crate

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
KaylasGma
from Central Florida
It's name says it all! Our Dane pup LOVES her crate. Sturdy, well built and easy to assemble. I am a 50+ female that put it together alone. Will say that it would have been easier with 2 people and you have to have a lot of space to lay it out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Huge

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Thedogz
from Texas
The crate is great, my dogs are about 50 lbs. I work with a rescue group and house fosters. They don't all want to be in a crate so the really big crate is not like being secluded in a cramped cage but more like a safety area. They can stand up and stretch, or roll into a ball inside without it feeling confining. Buyer beware... this crate is really really big, so you'll need dedicated space to house it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Midwest Solution Series "Ginormus" Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good sized crate

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
giantdogluvr
from Prosper, TX
This crate arrived flat packed in individual panels - there are no hinges on this crate which surprised me. Once it is constructed it cannot be collapsed for easy relocation between rooms - it will not fit through our doors once constructed.
It took 2 of us some time to figure out the instructions - they are not very good and after some trial and error we finally got this thing put together. It is held together with 4 corner stakes which require some manipulation (pliers and hammer) to make them fit over the other panels….
All said this is a fairly sturdy crate, which is a good size for out Great Pyrenees.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>