petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zilla Under Tank Reptile Heaters

Zilla Under Tank Reptile Heaters

Helps reptiles thermo-regulateEasy-to-use adhesive mounting for optimal heat transferEnergy efficient external heat source
Average Customer Rating:
2.6 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
4 out of 10(40%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zilla Under Tank Reptile Heaters
Review 1 for Zilla Under Tank Reptile Heaters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for plastic.

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
hermitcrabnewbie
from Mankato, MN
I bought this for use with my new hermit crab terrarium for my kids, but it can't be used with plastic tanks. Maybe I should have know this but it is nowhere on the website description and all over the set up instruction once I had purchased it. Urg!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zilla Under Tank Reptile Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great heater

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
neraksmom
from Milliken, Co
keeps my 50 gallon warm enough for leopard geckos!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zilla Under Tank Reptile Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Doesn't stick, but it does the job

PostedMay 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hermitcrabingrid
from Nj
I got this to heat my 50 gallon crabitat, so I ordered the largest size. When I went to attach it to the tank it wouldn't stick. I was very angry. Luckily I had duct tape :)
It does do the job, my crabitat is 80 degrees nd much safer then a heat lamp.
The humidity is doing great too!
I suggest covering the back of the UTH with tin foil to trap heat and to put it b the sde/back of your tank above the substrate.
Here's a pic of my crab enjoying his warm tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zilla Under Tank Reptile Heaters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not like

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
wqzccq
we have a small tank the the product is bulky and needs a large surface area.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zilla Under Tank Reptile Heaters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I paid too much for this.

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
jedama
First of all, it does not stick to anything to save its life. Second, I've had it for a little over 3 months and it doesn't get near as hot as it used to. If you want something that's worth your money, don't get this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zilla Under Tank Reptile Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shummie
from CT
The product heats fine. The temperature reaches the requirement easily for my corn snake.
I don't put the heating pads on the bottom because if they fell off or weren't sticking properly it would be difficult to tell and I can't just lift my 40L tank easily. SO, I took the advice from a snake forum of sticking two in an L shape on the hot side of the terrarium (I have one vertical on the back glass and one horizontal on the side of the glass, both towards the bottom).
***Note: to get them to stay you have to use duct tape around all edges (normal tape won't work). Doesn't look pretty, but they have not fallen off in the past year, so it's effective.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zilla Under Tank Reptile Heaters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

A little frustraited

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Seraonyx
from Pocatello, Idaho
The heat pad works great, its just that the glue on the pad that holds it up to the bottom of the terrarium. I have tried many different ways of getting it to stay, alas nothing has worked.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zilla Under Tank Reptile Heaters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dissapointed

PostedSeptember 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Eknick
from T-Town California
The heating system works but the adhesive would not stick to my tank, no matter what I do.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zilla Under Tank Reptile Heaters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedJanuary 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
tanklovechad
I spent 35 dollars on a heat pad and it quit working after 22 days. DO NOT waste your time or money on this product
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-18points
7of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zilla Under Tank Reptile Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedMay 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Roho
from Marietta, Georgia
Sticks well to bottom of the tank, provides good heat, is not dangerous or does not burn out. I would recommend them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+34points
35of 36voted this as helpful.