petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Prevue Hendryx Signature Series Wrought Iron Silverado Macaw Dometop Bird Cage in Silver

Prevue Hendryx Signature Series Wrought Iron Silverado Macaw Dometop Bird Cage in Silver

Extra large bird cage with ample interior spaceEasy to assemble and maintainRoomy dometop designDurable and attractive wrought iron - ideal for a macaw bird cageIncludes bowls, a perch and seed guardEasy-rolling casters make moving and small adjustments a breeze
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 8(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Prevue Hendryx Signature Series Wrought Iron Silverado Macaw Dometop Bird Cage in Silver
Review 1 for Prevue Hendryx Signature Series Wrought Iron Silverado Macaw Dometop Bird Cage in Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
rogin
from pasadena texas
this cage, i wasn't expecting this cage to be so big
and its perfect good for my scarlet macaw and for any big birds it has a lot of space and it has a lot of space to but toys, and over all its easy to but together and for cleaning its very easy as well its cage did send my expectations and so much more its a great cage and if i had 10 macaws i would buy ten more
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Prevue Hendryx Signature Series Wrought Iron Silverado Macaw Dometop Bird Cage in Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roomy, assemble

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Goldiebird
from Rockville, Md
This Cage is very tall and a lot room for Macaw.
Roomy enough to keep more than one macaw if needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Prevue Hendryx Signature Series Wrought Iron Silverado Macaw Dometop Bird Cage in Silver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best for Less

PostedAugust 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Best4Less
from Louisville, KY
If you have large macaws then you know how expensive they can be! As a bargain shopper, I am always out to find the most for my money, and when I came across this cage I couldnt pass it up. This cage is HUGE and one of the biggest I've seen w/o being deemed a double cage. Make sure you put this cage together in the room you want it because it will not go through a standard door frame. The caster wheels are very nice and easy to push around on my pergo flooring! It was truly remarkable that I received the cage within 4 days of placing my order, and it only took me 2 hours to put it together. Not too shabby and it could easily house more than one large macaw. The only down side to this cage is that the bars could easily be bent by a macaw, and are not the sturdiest for such strong creatures, but with lots of toys to keep them busy you should be OK. Best bargain on the market if you are looking for an extremely large, durable cage at a more than reasonable price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Prevue Hendryx Signature Series Wrought Iron Silverado Macaw Dometop Bird Cage in Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product size is great

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
July7
from Wisconsin
I was amazed first of how fast I received this product! 2 to 3 days I had this in my house! Then I was delighted to see how large this cage is after the simplicity of putting it together, the only reason you need another person is to help hold. I can easily fit 2-3 large macaws if needed and still have sufficeint room for them. Another feature that I appreciated was the extra flip lock on top of the door - I have had great escape artist in the past and this will stop that for sure! Lastly I loved that they sent a small touch up paint and brush to apply for any scratches. I was concern that my gray cage would have rub marks of silver after shipping. I only had 2 very small areas - the paint was great!!! Overall it is an excellent purchase, price, size, delivery time, ease of putting it together are all great benefits!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Prevue Hendryx Signature Series Wrought Iron Silverado Macaw Dometop Bird Cage in Silver
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay for the price

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
MikeandGracie
from Williamsburg, VA
The cage came with the hinges busted off the door. no big deal - I just bought new ones and attached them by drilling into the frame of the cage. It only comes with one perch, which is just a wooden dowel. Would be nice if it were real wood instead with a varied surface - much better for your bird's feet. More than one would have been nice as well. Many sections of the wire were bent as was the tray that goes underneath the grate in the bottom. Again, I had to rebend them back into the proper shape so they alligned for assembly. The bolts for this cage are a fairly soft metal - I almost stripped a few of them out just by trying to tighten them to a moderate level. The locking mechanism is amusing for those planning to use this cage for a macaw - it's just a spring loaded bar that you push to the left through a securing latch. There is a button on the outside of the cage that you push and the bar snaps to the right unlocking it. This is very easy for macaws - they just hook their beak through the bars and are free with the push of a button. It would be a good idea to get some locking caribeners or something of the like to secure the door. I would definitely recommend this cage for the owner of an african grey or an amazon - it's a huge cage that is perfect in size for a macaw and would be like heaven for a smaller parrot. However, I would not recommend this cage for macaws or cockatoos as they have very strong beaks and would easily be able to damage the bars. If I can bend them with one hand, they can definitely do the same with their mouths.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Prevue Hendryx Signature Series Wrought Iron Silverado Macaw Dometop Bird Cage in Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Huge Cage

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
UpMom1
from Rogers, AR
This cage is more than big enough for my Macaw. The good: it was easy to put together, a great size, it's on wheels, and I love the removable tray & grate. The not so good: it's too big to get through regular household doors (you need to take it apart to move it to another room), the screws to put the top 3 arch pieces together are too short & there is only one perch supplied with the cage (I bought some longer screws and more dowels to make additional perches at my local hardware store). Overall, I'm glad I purchased this cage and my bird loves it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Prevue Hendryx Signature Series Wrought Iron Silverado Macaw Dometop Bird Cage in Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sliverado Macaw Birdcage works great!

PostedDecember 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
cdthom
If you are looking for a big cage for your Macaw then you should be purchasing a Silverado Macaw Cage! It is huge, looks great and is a very nice quality home for a Macaw. My Blue & Gold Macaw loves it, it is strong enough that she can't break the bars, it is very easy to clean, and is looks just great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Prevue Hendryx Signature Series Wrought Iron Silverado Macaw Dometop Bird Cage in Silver
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

One of the worst cages I have ever purchased

PostedJune 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
kamnac
from Dubuque, IA
I have been rescuing avians for a number of years and have gone through a number of cages. This is by the worst designed cage I have ever purchased. It is my great sorrow that I have purchased these cages.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-15points
4of 23voted this as helpful.