petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Kennel Cab Soft-Sided Pet Carrier in Brown

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petmate Kennel Cab Soft-Sided Pet Carrier in Brown

Top or front loadingMesh panel sides for excellent ventilationAdjustable shoulder strapFaux-fur plush comfort pad
Average Customer Rating:
3.846 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
9 out of 13(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petmate Kennel Cab Soft-Sided Pet Carrier in Brown
Review 1 for Petmate Kennel Cab Soft-Sided Pet Carrier in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!!!!!

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
217Luna
from Santa Monica, CA
Plenty of space, ventilation, and visibility so I was happy I was able to see what she was doing at all times. I bought this for our San Diego visit and my kitten loved it. Till this day she loves taking naps and even keeps some of her toys with her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Kennel Cab Soft-Sided Pet Carrier in Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good for cats

PostedMay 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Desiree77
from Seattle WA
I bought 2 of these for my newly adopted cats. I loved the design and open mesh sides on both sides provide ample ventilation for your pet. They seem to be fairly sturdy and well made ... for a small dog, perhaps.
The reason I'm giving it such a low rating is because the mesh sides are woven too far apart. The minute I put both of my cats in the carriers they started clawing at it. I have no doubt that if I left them in there for longer then 10 minutes it took to get to the vet, one or both of them would have put a hole in them. Definitely not a good product for a cat, as it's advertised.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Kennel Cab Soft-Sided Pet Carrier in Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Petco Cat Carrier

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
LoBo04
from Sarasota, FL
The first time we used this carrier, we took our cat to the vet, just a 10 minute ride. When I went to the back of my SUV and opened the hatch, the top of the carrier was open and it was empty! The cat was in the front seat. Thankfully he wasn't still in the back as he could have jumped out of the car when I opened it. I put the carrier in the front with me on the way home and he had his head out of the top before I left the parking lot, even with the zipper pull strap tied so that it wouldn't open.
Any carrier that easy to escape from doesn't work. We are returning this carrier and exchanging it for a more secure one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Kennel Cab Soft-Sided Pet Carrier in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cats LOVE IT!!!

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jillybean76
from Georgia
Just after I removed this from the box, my cats were trying it out, with it just sitting on the floor, with the door turned under. They love to take naps in it. When one cats gets out, another is fast to take its spot for naptime. As far as travel, I have a houdini cat who didn't take very highly for entering from the front door, so I had to place him in from the top! As we were riding down the road, I was able to unzip the top a little bit and pet him for reassurance, but be careful, cause my cat just about pushed the zipper back and he would've been out in the car, yikes!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Kennel Cab Soft-Sided Pet Carrier in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice carrier

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Turquoise
from Central California
This is a very nice carrier with ample room for my long cat. It seems well constructed and I like that it has a shoulder strap. The door folds under nicely so the kennel can be left out for the cats to use whenever they like.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Kennel Cab Soft-Sided Pet Carrier in Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like it and my kitten likes it

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
ljb5966
from Chicago
My kitten likes it so much I leave it out and sometimes he uses it to snooze in. I could see if you have a large cat, it might not fit or would be a tight fit, but this not the type of carrier you would use for transporting for long distances. I also like it because I can buckle it in for safe transporting. You cannot do that with large hard carriers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Kennel Cab Soft-Sided Pet Carrier in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedOctober 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
ciaobella13
from Georgia
We took in a stray cat and had to get him to the vet. This carrier worked wonders! We were worried it would be too small because he's about 12 pounds, but we had no problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Kennel Cab Soft-Sided Pet Carrier in Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

soft side carriers

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
ecd4889
from Sacramento, CA
These were for my pups to go to the vet. I find they are very easy to use..put the dog in and zip. There are plenty of vents for air, and a shoulder strap to carry the dog to and from a car/vehicle. They were smaller than I thought they would be, but otherwise wonderful for chewing pups and they look good, too. I will keep these as one can use these for cats, too. I was pleasantly surprised with this product and definitely would recommend to anyone who needs to transport smaller animals.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Kennel Cab Soft-Sided Pet Carrier in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great item

PostedApril 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
nanaoffive
from middletown
this is a great cat carrier, very sturdy and roomy as I have a cat that weighs 14 lbs and his original one was way to small, it wasn't very roomy and this one also looks like a reuable bag wich is his fav. and maybe he wont be so scared when he goes to the vet. Great carrier for the money!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Kennel Cab Soft-Sided Pet Carrier in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase

PostedJanuary 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Zip2
I purchased this kennel cab as we were traveling 11 hours in an SUV w/5 adults, a baby & our 9-year-old westie. There was limited space for our pet, and I wanted to insure that she felt secure on our trip. She was very comfortable and secure in the kennel cab, and ultimately I was able to unzip the top and front flaps for her to have a little more "breathing room" (and she ultimately chose to stay within the kennel). I would highly recommend this kennel for travel with a pet 22 lbs or under.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Kennel Cab Soft-Sided Pet Carrier in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

our cats love it

PostedNovember 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
poko
They love to lay in this soft fluffy bag when we leave it out ... before a vet appointment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Kennel Cab Soft-Sided Pet Carrier in Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice cat carrier

PostedJuly 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
ShellFish
from Pennsylvania
I bought this cat carrier because I bought 3 ragdoll kittens and needed more carriers. I wanted to try it out before I bought another one. I think I will be getting another one so I have one carrier per cat. Not quite as roomy as my first carrier that I had from a previous cat but one of the nicest carriers I have seen.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Kennel Cab Soft-Sided Pet Carrier in Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not airline friendly

PostedJune 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
preed31
The top and bottom are not collapseable so it would not fit under your seat on an airplane.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.