petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gamma Skamper Ramp Pool Ramp for Pets

Gamma Skamper Ramp Pool Ramp for Pets

Helps prevent pets from drowningSafe for vinyl-lined pools, docks, stock tanks, bulkheads & water troughsWill not yellow, become scummy, grow barnacles, or mildew when left in waterEasy snap together assembly
Average Customer Rating:
2.125 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
0
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
2 out of 8(25%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Gamma Skamper Ramp Pool Ramp for Pets
Review 1 for Gamma Skamper Ramp Pool Ramp for Pets
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

It works but....

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
The ramp works and our Golden Retriever figured out how it worked right away. The problem is that the surface is hard plastic and the dogs can't get any grip. I will be tie wrapping some indoor outdoor carpet to the top surface before trying this again on the boat.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Gamma Skamper Ramp Pool Ramp for Pets
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Money wasted

PostedMay 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Florida
Do not waste your money on this ramp. I ordered the "super" one for large dogs. It is very flimsy, narrow, and slick when wet. I can't imagine any dog actually being able to use it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Gamma Skamper Ramp Pool Ramp for Pets
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Scamper Ramp

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Glendale AZ
It works, but it's not a miracle in the making. Our 20-30 lb dogs can use it and sure beats them NOT being able to pull themselves over the edge of the pool. We have a lagoon style pool w/out steps. If your dog is determined enough, it works. It's a great "aid" that they can use, but face it... it IS plastic and floats on the surface. You Do have to TRAIN your dog to use it, they don't figure it out themselves. It's certainly better than nothing. I do think the price is pretty high for what it is.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Gamma Skamper Ramp Pool Ramp for Pets
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedSeptember 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Very disappointed in fact returned item.
Really does not work. We brought the largest one but no good for an average size dog even.
Floats, instead of being weighted down one end to go in the water more and as soon as the dog steps on very unstable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Gamma Skamper Ramp Pool Ramp for Pets
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

didn't work at all

PostedSeptember 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Fort Pierce, FL.
This product might work with a dog larger than a Yorkie weighing less than 5 lbs. My little dog just was not heavy or strong enough to push the ramp down, to be able to get on it. He tried to do it but ended up just going under water. We tried it a few times and saw it just was not going to work for him. If there were some way to ancor the end down, under water, it may have worked.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Gamma Skamper Ramp Pool Ramp for Pets
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Flimsy, Cheap, Hard to Mount

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Florida
The product is very hard to mount and the directions are not helpful at all. It says that it is good for pets up to 200 lbs, but my 85 lb retreiver has trouble with it, the cheap plastic just bends under his weight and he strains using it. The ramp is not really wide enough for bigger dogs either, this "super skamper" should be twice as wide as well as twice as long. Go back to the drawing board.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Gamma Skamper Ramp Pool Ramp for Pets
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not for vinyl inground pools

PostedJuly 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ramp didn't work for us...the ramp presses itself against the pool wall for stability. The vinyl must have a strong backing to withstand the pressure. Even so, I think the pressure /friction due to a heavy dog in and out on the ramp experienced by the vinyl wall would eventually damage the pool wall. I am returning the item today.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Gamma Skamper Ramp Pool Ramp for Pets
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth it

PostedJune 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Getting my dog used to it is taking a while but overall a great buy. Easy to set up, move if need to, adjust, etc.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-6points
2of 10voted this as helpful.