petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Spray for Pets

Vet's Best Flea & Tick Spray for Pets

Kills fleas, ticks and mosquitoes on contactPeppermint oil and clove extractAll natural formula is safe and effectiveGreat for both cats and dogs
Average Customer Rating:
3.2 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
7 out of 10(70%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Spray for Pets
Review 1 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Spray for Pets
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

does not work

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Moreno Valley,ca
Purchased this spray to prevent my dogs from getting ticks, they got them anyway. I sprayed them beforehand and throughout our trip. They got a bunch of ticks, I even directly sprayed the tick and it walked through the liquid and tried to get away. Spray doesn't work..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Spray for Pets
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Flees swim in it with no ill effect

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Oregon
This stuff does not work at all. I used it on both my cats and, not only was it really hard to breathe when I was using it, but my asthmatic cat started wheezing from the fumes. To add insult to injury, I dropped a few flees in the stuff after combing them off my cats and the flees didn't die at all! They just swam around in the puddle until they eventually jumped out.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Spray for Pets
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works with some limitations

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Palm Bay FL
What I like about this line of products is that they are all natural, no pesticides to harm the pets. My two cats are indoor guys, but we like to go outside for fresh air and sunshine. Unfortunately, these products are effective only when used, not residual. Also not a good bargain if you have long haired cats, as I do. The spray leaves their coat with a residue, but doesn't repel fleas. The shampoo is great for the coat, but again, doesn't repel, and may stain white fur slightly. I also found that the shampoo will kill most but not all fleas, even with a 10+minute soak time--I finally had to buy a pesticide-containing shampoo to kill all fleas at once. I will use the Vet's Best in between bathing the cats with regular flea killing shampoos. Hate to do that, but it seems to be the best solution at the moment, since I don't want to use the direct application pesticide drops and collars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Spray for Pets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Shelbyville, KY
This product is safe for the cats and does seem to offer some immediate relief (we found dead fleas!). The smell is of peppermint and cloves. The oil makes the cat's coat nice. Does require daily usage for a few days to take care of the fleas.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Spray for Pets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works like a charm!

PostedSeptember 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Mass.
I purchased this product becuase after applying flea meds to my dog he still had fleas. I wanted something all natural since I had just applied flea medication. My dog was constantly itching and I could easily see the fleas on him, after appying and rubbing the mist in (which kind of lathers) I noticed any visible fleas were dead. You can also apply as needed, and it works for both cats and dogs, all natural!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Spray for Pets
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

meh

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
from LI, NY
This stuff doesn't seem to repel ticks very well, even with heavy application. You can spray it on a flat surface, and a tick will walk right across it. They might prefer to avoid it, but it certainly doesn't stop them. And it definitely doesn't kill them on contact, I completely soaked a tick in it, the tick curled up at first, but then after a minute it got up and continued walking along. It's pretty much useless for ticks here on LI, maybe we just have mutant super ticks. This spray does however seem to work fairly well for mosquitoes and gnats, and it smells cool too. So if you need an environmentally sensitive spray to keep the mosquitoes and flies off your dog, this stuff should work, so for that I would recommend it. I haven't used it for fleas, so I don't know how well it would work there, just that does pretty poorly on ticks, which is our main concern to spray for.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Spray for Pets
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedJuly 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
from St Louis, MO
I was so very excited to find this product & to read the great reviews. After purchasing, I was unsure how often to apply it to my cat & dog, since the directions on the bottle were not clear. Should I do it every day? Every week? At any rate, the biggest disappointed came when I found a flea on my dog after using this for about a month. So, unfortunately, it's back to using pharmaceuticals for my pets :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Spray for Pets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happily Surprised!

PostedMarch 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Spring, TX
We have four boston terriers and we recently noticed they had a few fleas when we bathed them recently. After tons of research, Vets Best seemed to be the most natural product I can find in my area. All of our boys have sensitive skin so I have to be very careful of the products I use on them. I was absolutely amazed how well this product works and my boys had no negative reactions! I personally enjoy the smell of the product, though it is potent at first, it does not stay strong for long. I also like that the liquid has a slight lathering effect when you rub it into their coat so you can see the areas you are covering. And even though there is a slight lather, the product dries very quickly, maybe a min or two, and you couldn't tell they had been sprayed. Their coats had no residue feeling and they were very soft. I am very satisfied with the product and I have since started using other Vets Best products!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Spray for Pets
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Loved it!

PostedNovember 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
What attracted it to me was the fact it was natural. I am really into Green living, and apply it to my Yorkipoo, Wickett. We travel a lot to wooded areas and he loves to come along with us.
At first I didn't care much for the smell, it was a bit overpowering, but it grew on me. It comes in handy when he starts to get a little shaggy and harder to find ticks. But evey time we use it, there is not one on him. The one time I forgot, he had two ticks, and I felt horrible. But this is definately a keeper.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Spray for Pets
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Impressed!

PostedAugust 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Mass
After realizing some other sprays just didn't cut it. I purchased this and after 1 use i was impressed it killed the fleas on the spot! I have to say the smell was a bit overwhelming at first but i don't mind the clove or peppermint. Later i researched the product and the fact that its made with both of these oils and i learned something new! its safer to use and all natural, I am glad i purchased this and would definitely recommend this!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.