petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray

Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray

Spray directly on pets, bedding, pillows, carpets and rugsAll naturalUnique blend of peppermint oil and clove oil extractGreat for both cats & dogsAbsolutely no pyrethrins or cedar oil
Average Customer Rating:
3.692 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
9 out of 13(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Review 1 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Temperory Only

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Fantozzi
from Mandeville, LA
It kills the adult fleas, buts that's it. You would have to use this every two to six hours every day to have any real affect. Not worth the money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth A Try

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
FC3SC
from Los Angeles, CA
Works ok, it irritates the fleas and brings them to the surface of my dogs hair. Be sure to use with a flea and tick comb to get the fleas that surface. The aroma is excellent however, smells great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great! Very safe!

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
GryphonE
from maxfield, me
I have used this product on both of my cats and my dog. It kills the fleas on contact. and it is not very toxic. Much safer than those one spot products. This product will not rid your house of a flea infestation. You need serious chemicals, like raid's flea spray in the purple can for that. But, for spraying directly on my bed and on my pets, I use this, and it really works. It's great to put on your hands or a flea comb and rub on the animals too. But an FYI- you can get it for half the price on amazn. Not sure why petco charges so much for it. pity really.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Just ticked the fleas off!

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
1itchyPup
from San Diego
I bought this product on a Saturday because I saw fleas on my lab (she's already on Frontline Plus). Sprayed my entire house, couch/carpet/beds everything. It seemed to work for a few hours. The next day I noticed more fleas. Treated the whole house again. This time I spayed it ON my dog, rubbed it in. I went thought the whole bottle in two days and all it did was make my house smell nice and cost me about $30.00.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

somewhat works

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
mxgrl158
from greensburgh, PA
i have tried everything to get rid of fleas and ticks of my border collie lab mix. this product keeps the ticks off of him. at one point i pulled 15 ticks of him... since i started putting vets best on him i havent had any tick problems. as for fleas i dont think it works well in that department. its always worth a shot tho. and its natural so no chemicals are being put into your animal. also this stuff kills those big bumble bee almost instantly. every animal is different so i do recommend trying it atleast once... ive seen it only works for only 24 hours but i dont put in all the time and he still got no ticks..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
lostinnoyo
from yonkers, new york
My cats are indoor pets, but a friend accidentally left my patio doors open and they escaped for a couple of hours. A month later we had a flea infestation in the house. It was so bad we did have to use an exterminating service but that was as much toxic chemical as I wanted to expose anyone to. I found this product and it was amazing. It literally kills fleas on contact. I sprayed it on my hands and then rubbed my cats down with it. I also sprayed my rugs, their beds and any areas the cats hung out. Because it kills the eggs and fleas, it worked wonders. And the smell is pleasant, unlike the chemical sprays which didn't kill the fleas as quickly. This is a great product that does what it claims to do safely and pleasantly which isn't a word that comes to mind when fleas have invaded your home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Limited Benefits

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Liza214
from Jonesboro, AR
I bought this product mainly because the warnings on the other, (comparatively very small) chemical-based sprays were somewhat frightening. This Vets Best Spray does say it kills flea eggs, so I thought I would give the natural alternative a whirl. I dont have a tick issue with my 4 cats and 1 dog, so I cant speak on that--but as far as fleas are concerned, I am so far unimpressed. The spray provides a minimal, seemingly very temporary control of my moderate flea problem and the scent is kind of annoying (more cloves than peppermint). Even combined with topical spot treatments on my pets, I am still finding fleas.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

only works for 24 hours

PostedSeptember 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
beagleowner2011
from southeastern pa
This product has no label information about how long it lasts for. I called the company and they told me it lasts for 24 hours. 24 HOURS!!!! It does smell good and it's all natural, but I think the only thing it's good for is applying to your animal on a daily basis. If you are treating any kind of flea breakout in your home DO NOT BUY THIS. It is far too expensive for a product that doesn't last more than 1 day.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

did the job, smells great!

PostedJanuary 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
MrsBarton
it seems to have taken control of the flea problem, and smells nice, fresh and non-offensive. doesn't bother my highly sensitive allergies during the winter when i'm most highly susceptible to attacks. my animals aren't fond of it while it's being sprayed, but they don't mind it afterwards, and ti's much more acceptable to me than the chemical smelling ones or ether based ones i've used in the past.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best cure I've found

PostedSeptember 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
vondc04
Works very well. Killed fleas on contact in my pet's sleeping areas. I will continue to use this product as long as i own a pet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's good for some things

PostedJune 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
roses
from Houston
I bought the large spray. I used it on my dog and cat and their bedding area. There is no doubt that this spray kills on contact. However, I do not believe it kills the eggs. I also know for a fact that it will not kill without contact. I sprayed my dog liberally and rubbed it in everywhere, but was still able to find fleas on him later on in the day. I basically had to comb through him and spray individual fleas.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best

PostedApril 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
tvcorona
from Corona, CA
No Chemicals! Did exactley as promised! Have and would suggest this product to my closest friends
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Non-toxic arsenal for ticks, fleas and mosquitos!

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
DoggieGuru
We live in a heavily wooded area and I absolutely hate using any topical treatments because my dog is a cancer survivor... So yes -sometimes we will find a tick or two on our dogs or near their sleeping quarters. I am so happy with this product for several reasons. Not only does it kill fleas, flea eggs, ticks, mosquitoes on contact, it prevents them from attaching on to our 6 dogs (plus 3 cats!) in the first place! How? Because these critters LOATHE the smell of clove and peppermint COMBINED. Is there another non-toxic product that you can use safely around your home and use directly on your pets? I don't think so... and I have looked everywhere. Make sure you read the instructions carefully and I promise you will be thrilled. Thank you, thank you to Vet's Best! We are a fan for life!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.