petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray

Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray

Spray directly on pets, bedding, pillows, carpets and rugsAll naturalUnique blend of peppermint oil and clove oil extractGreat for both cats & dogsAbsolutely no pyrethrins or cedar oil
Average Customer Rating:
3.722 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
13 out of 18(72%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Review 1 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smells Fantastic

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mastic, NY
I love the smell of this product and the best part is that can be used around the house and on your dog. Im not sure if its working though because my dog is still scratching but its def less often. So i will continue to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly Recommended

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
This product works great! I had a flea infestation in my garage to the point that when I walked across the floor my ankles would be covered in fleas. Spraying the product on myself, I could watch the fleas drop to the floor and die almost instantly. It took care of the entire infestation. I've also found it kills biting flies that are attracted to dogs coats when hot. It's safe on fabric, pets and smells great, too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Worth The Money

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Burlington, WI
I bought this product because it is a natural product with no dangerous chemicals and you do not have to remove your pets from the room being sprayed. It did not work at all. I saw no difference even after 24 hours. I bought 2 bottles and returned one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vet's Best Flea and Tick Home Spray

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Portsmouth,Ohio
I have 9 INDOOR cats. This summer we were infested wit h fleas in the house which I was either carrying in on my shoes from the yard or coming in thru the screens I spent hours at nite with a flea comb getting them off the cats.. I tried everything on the market including friend's suggestions to get rid of them. The cats and I were miserable. I could not even walk thru my home without grabbing them off my ankles and drowning them in alcohol. I ordered Vet's Best and there are no fleas in my carpets, and sprayed it on a brush to comb thru my cats. Finally, I found something that works and is safe for my pets. It is peppermint and clove oils, all natural and makes your home smell great. Very happy customer, plus it's safe for my babies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Long Island, NY
I'm not sure why so many people are using this product on their pets and then complaining that it doesn't work when it is specifically labeled "Home Spray". Yes, it is safe to use on your pet however, I like to think of it as a sort of repellant. When I spray it on my dog, it is only when I am bringing her outside to ward away pests. Similarly to how humans use mosquito repellants when they go outside. Anyway, I sprayed this all over my home after finding fleas on my pup and it seems to be controlling the situation well in regards to possible infestations in furniture, rugs, etc.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Temperory Only

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Mandeville, LA
It kills the adult fleas, buts that's it. You would have to use this every two to six hours every day to have any real affect. Not worth the money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth A Try

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
Works ok, it irritates the fleas and brings them to the surface of my dogs hair. Be sure to use with a flea and tick comb to get the fleas that surface. The aroma is excellent however, smells great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great! Very safe!

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from maxfield, me
I have used this product on both of my cats and my dog. It kills the fleas on contact. and it is not very toxic. Much safer than those one spot products. This product will not rid your house of a flea infestation. You need serious chemicals, like raid's flea spray in the purple can for that. But, for spraying directly on my bed and on my pets, I use this, and it really works. It's great to put on your hands or a flea comb and rub on the animals too. But an FYI- you can get it for half the price on amazn. Not sure why petco charges so much for it. pity really.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Just ticked the fleas off!

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
I bought this product on a Saturday because I saw fleas on my lab (she's already on Frontline Plus). Sprayed my entire house, couch/carpet/beds everything. It seemed to work for a few hours. The next day I noticed more fleas. Treated the whole house again. This time I spayed it ON my dog, rubbed it in. I went thought the whole bottle in two days and all it did was make my house smell nice and cost me about $30.00.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

somewhat works

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from greensburgh, PA
i have tried everything to get rid of fleas and ticks of my border collie lab mix. this product keeps the ticks off of him. at one point i pulled 15 ticks of him... since i started putting vets best on him i havent had any tick problems. as for fleas i dont think it works well in that department. its always worth a shot tho. and its natural so no chemicals are being put into your animal. also this stuff kills those big bumble bee almost instantly. every animal is different so i do recommend trying it atleast once... ive seen it only works for only 24 hours but i dont put in all the time and he still got no ticks..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
from yonkers, new york
My cats are indoor pets, but a friend accidentally left my patio doors open and they escaped for a couple of hours. A month later we had a flea infestation in the house. It was so bad we did have to use an exterminating service but that was as much toxic chemical as I wanted to expose anyone to. I found this product and it was amazing. It literally kills fleas on contact. I sprayed it on my hands and then rubbed my cats down with it. I also sprayed my rugs, their beds and any areas the cats hung out. Because it kills the eggs and fleas, it worked wonders. And the smell is pleasant, unlike the chemical sprays which didn't kill the fleas as quickly. This is a great product that does what it claims to do safely and pleasantly which isn't a word that comes to mind when fleas have invaded your home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Limited Benefits

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Jonesboro, AR
I bought this product mainly because the warnings on the other, (comparatively very small) chemical-based sprays were somewhat frightening. This Vets Best Spray does say it kills flea eggs, so I thought I would give the natural alternative a whirl. I dont have a tick issue with my 4 cats and 1 dog, so I cant speak on that--but as far as fleas are concerned, I am so far unimpressed. The spray provides a minimal, seemingly very temporary control of my moderate flea problem and the scent is kind of annoying (more cloves than peppermint). Even combined with topical spot treatments on my pets, I am still finding fleas.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

only works for 24 hours

PostedSeptember 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
from southeastern pa
This product has no label information about how long it lasts for. I called the company and they told me it lasts for 24 hours. 24 HOURS!!!! It does smell good and it's all natural, but I think the only thing it's good for is applying to your animal on a daily basis. If you are treating any kind of flea breakout in your home DO NOT BUY THIS. It is far too expensive for a product that doesn't last more than 1 day.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

did the job, smells great!

PostedJanuary 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
it seems to have taken control of the flea problem, and smells nice, fresh and non-offensive. doesn't bother my highly sensitive allergies during the winter when i'm most highly susceptible to attacks. my animals aren't fond of it while it's being sprayed, but they don't mind it afterwards, and ti's much more acceptable to me than the chemical smelling ones or ether based ones i've used in the past.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best cure I've found

PostedSeptember 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Works very well. Killed fleas on contact in my pet's sleeping areas. I will continue to use this product as long as i own a pet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's good for some things

PostedJune 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Houston
I bought the large spray. I used it on my dog and cat and their bedding area. There is no doubt that this spray kills on contact. However, I do not believe it kills the eggs. I also know for a fact that it will not kill without contact. I sprayed my dog liberally and rubbed it in everywhere, but was still able to find fleas on him later on in the day. I basically had to comb through him and spray individual fleas.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best

PostedApril 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Corona, CA
No Chemicals! Did exactley as promised! Have and would suggest this product to my closest friends
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vet's Best Flea & Tick Pet & Home Spray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Non-toxic arsenal for ticks, fleas and mosquitos!

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
We live in a heavily wooded area and I absolutely hate using any topical treatments because my dog is a cancer survivor... So yes -sometimes we will find a tick or two on our dogs or near their sleeping quarters. I am so happy with this product for several reasons. Not only does it kill fleas, flea eggs, ticks, mosquitoes on contact, it prevents them from attaching on to our 6 dogs (plus 3 cats!) in the first place! How? Because these critters LOATHE the smell of clove and peppermint COMBINED. Is there another non-toxic product that you can use safely around your home and use directly on your pets? I don't think so... and I have looked everywhere. Make sure you read the instructions carefully and I promise you will be thrilled. Thank you, thank you to Vet's Best! We are a fan for life!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.