petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for TropiClean Fresh Breath Clean Teeth Gel for Dogs

TropiClean Fresh Breath Clean Teeth Gel for Dogs

Cleans dog teeth without brushingRemoves plaque and tartar and also helps to freshen dog breathHelps maintain healthy gumsEasy-to-use gel serves to remedy bad breath in dogs as well as reduce plaque and tartar
Average Customer Rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
23 out of 27(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for TropiClean Fresh Breath Clean Teeth Gel for Dogs
Review 1 for TropiClean Fresh Breath Clean Teeth Gel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Effective and smells good

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Broady
from Chandler, AZ
I have 2 dogs, one is a pitbull that loves to chew, the other is a dachshund mix that does not. The pitbull has lovely white teeth and her breath hardly stinks, poor little guy on the other hand has the breath of death and terrible tartar build-up. I use this gel on both but have definitely noticed a marked improvement for the little one. Once dark brown tartar on the canines and back incisors is now a pale yellow. We don't even have to use a brush! Just apply the gel directly on the teeth and they will sit there and lick at it like peanut butter for a brief moment. If done daily I'm sure I can get his teeth to look like my pit's but I'm not too good with following through with this. Either way, I've seen the effects of having too much tartar build up and rank breath on dachshunds and want my little guy to avoid having his teeth pulled from being too rotten. This definitely worked for me and gave both my dogs pleasant minty breath. $20 is pretty steep for that seemingly little bottle of gel but you really don't use too much for an application and it beats veterinarian/dentist bills for a dog which I imagine are as expensive as a human's minus the insurance. Not to mention it also makes for a joyful experience because I apply the gel while they are on their back and give belly rubs whereas I had to fight the little one when I originally tried the old toothbrush/dog toothpaste method. They see the gel and actually come to me!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for TropiClean Fresh Breath Clean Teeth Gel for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Non effective product

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
apocolyps3
from Mesa, AZ
Following the instructions for this gel, I did not notice any improvements to my Schnauzer's teeth.
In fact, a side symptoms of gel is an increase of vomiting. Every time I apply this gel, my dog starts to heave his stomach content within 10mins of application.
3 times is a row is enough for me....
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for TropiClean Fresh Breath Clean Teeth Gel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
GllntKnight
from Canterbury CT
Works well to keep teeth clean Have used it before
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for TropiClean Fresh Breath Clean Teeth Gel for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My dogs love it

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Elizbeth
from Moca, Puerto Rico
I find this product excellent and easy to use. The smell is great. i have 4 dogs of different ages and all of them like it since the first time. It's a great buy and I recommend it to any one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for TropiClean Fresh Breath Clean Teeth Gel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works for my yorkie! :)

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barbiesmom
from Louisville, KY
My yorkie had horrid breath and her teeth were looking rough. I've only been using the tropiclean fresh breath gel for a week and I already see a difference in her teeth and gums. I love it!
She on the other hand, would run from the bottle, but I started squeezing some on my finger and applying it that way .... Much easier. She's not as freaked out and she sits still for me to apply it.
Def worth the money :)
I haven't used the water additive yet, but I've heard from A LOT of people that come in the pet store I work at say it works!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for TropiClean Fresh Breath Clean Teeth Gel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful product

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ray750
from Ocklawaha, Fl
I have a PomPoo (Pomarian poodle mix...small) and they have problems as a breed with their teeth. Since I have been using this product, however, his teeth are clean and white and his breath is better too. Plus he actually seem to like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for TropiClean Fresh Breath Clean Teeth Gel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the best product

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
luv2bclean
from Las Vegas, NV
My dog's teeth had very dark, greenish black tartar. I was about to make an appointment with Vet for a deep cleaning. But I don't like the idea that they have to put them down to do so. I heard about this Tropi-Clean. It has made a HUGE difference & mostly all the tartar is GONE. She doesn't mind that taste either, she smells minty fresh & WOW no more dark tartar. No brushing needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for TropiClean Fresh Breath Clean Teeth Gel for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work for me.

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Grace5
from Pearl City, HI
I have a 2 year old Maltese with pretty bad tartar build up. The product didn't eliminate any of the tartar as claimed. Pretty disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for TropiClean Fresh Breath Clean Teeth Gel for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tooth gel

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jen35
from SC
Noticed definate improvement in teeth, but not breath.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for TropiClean Fresh Breath Clean Teeth Gel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tropiclean Fresh Breath Clean Teeth Gel for Dogs

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
cheyenne67
from Houston texas
I have used several brands of teeth aids for my dog this product is by far the best cleaning agent for his teeth ever I recommend this product to every person I know or see that has a pet dog or cat . This is an awesome product and wouldn't use anything else for my dog ever.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for TropiClean Fresh Breath Clean Teeth Gel for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works slowly

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
TinathePom
My pom hates it and runs away whenever she sees the bottle. I use my hands to apply. That part is relatively easy. I've been using it twice a day for 7 days. There is improvement in the plaque but it's a really slow process.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for TropiClean Fresh Breath Clean Teeth Gel for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

TropiClean Gel 4 ounce size

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
notdumb
from Ft. Myers Fl.
I paid $20.00 plus tax for this same product., a 4 oz. bottle.
It helped my dogs teeth somewhat, but I was really overcharged.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for TropiClean Fresh Breath Clean Teeth Gel for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works pretty good

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
KelsDogLeia
from San Fernando, CA
As far as the product working, I have seen less tartar on my dogs teeth. However, my dog runs from me every time she sees the bottle. She obviously hates it. I got smart and just put some on my finger and then would rub it in so she wouldn't see the bottle. Some notes, you need to do this everyday for a month and then every 2 weeks for maintenance. It's better than putting your dog to sleep for deep cleaning.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for TropiClean Fresh Breath Clean Teeth Gel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy & Effective

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
GlitterMama
from Pennsylvania
with advanced gum disease, our rescue would bite us when we tried to brush her teeth. This product is really helping as it is easy to apply without hurting the delicate gums.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for TropiClean Fresh Breath Clean Teeth Gel for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better than brushing!

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Yomiko
from Milwaukee, WI
I fought to brush our kitten's teeth, and no matter what I did, it was painful (for me!). When I took him to Petco for his first nail trimming, he bit the lady doing it, so while we were discussing the fact he doesn't like grooming, I brought up tooth care and she recommended this. Of course, he's not a big fan of the flavor, but it's working! Clean teeth, better smelling breath, and NO PAIN for me! We'll see what the vet thinks tomorrow after just 4 days usage...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for TropiClean Fresh Breath Clean Teeth Gel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

TropiClean Fresh Breath Clean Teeth Gel for pets

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
2belan
from Grand Marais, MN
I purchased this a week or so ago. We have 2 shih tzus. They are prone to dental problems--we have been using this every day. The plaque and tartar is almost gone. I realize we need to take them to the vet for check-ups. The cost of the dental cleaning and if they need teeth removed is UNREAL!! I will continue to use this and order more when this runs out!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for TropiClean Fresh Breath Clean Teeth Gel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING

PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Animals4Life
from Cleveland TN
I work as a bather in a groom shop and we constantly use this toothpaste. It gives us instant results in the breathe and is an amazing product. I'd highly recommend this to anyone. It does all the work for you, you just apply to the gum line and the saliva does all the work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for TropiClean Fresh Breath Clean Teeth Gel for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Constant Salivating after 1 month

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debb360
from Portland, OR
We feed a partial canned food diet to our dog and were advised by our vet to brush her teeth a couple times a week. For months we'd used a natural dog toothpaste, but decided to give this Tropiclean gel a try. I used it as directed on the box and after 1 month's time I noticed our dog salivating. I thought nothing of it at first, but then noticed it was happening ALL THE TIME... I immediately stopped using the gel, returned it for a refund, and purchased the tried-but-true, natural dog toothpaste. Absolutely no salivating whatsoever since the change. Be forewarned, your dog may develop this same side effect after using Tropiclean gel a few weeks.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
9of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for TropiClean Fresh Breath Clean Teeth Gel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Product Is Amazing!

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
PFrench
from Crofton, MD
My husband and I didn't have big expectations for this product but thought it was worth a try. We resued a female Rotti from a shelter and she had terrible oral hygiene- garbage breath, severe plaque, brown gums- yet we loved her! This product has given her fresh breath, truly white teeth and healthy pink gums- a very small price to pay for a product that works great!! We plan to continue using twice a week for preventative/maintenance purposes. Wonderful Product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for TropiClean Fresh Breath Clean Teeth Gel for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Yuk!

PostedJuly 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
StarManning
from Rhode Island
I have 2 cats and both of them hate it they act like its torture trying to give it to them. I don't think It has a taste that cats like seems like it's more for dogs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>