petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fluval Underwater Filter

Fluval Underwater Filter

3 way flow control for output flexibiltyFlip-Top for quick and easy maintenanceIncludes 2 foam pad cartridges, 2 carbon sponge pad cartridges and Biomax nodes3 stage filtration for superior water quality
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Fluval Underwater Filter
Review 1 for Fluval Underwater Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Excellent Filter (But Good Luck Finding Affordable Replacement Media)

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Dalton. GA
This is my 3rd attempt at this so I will make it short because it may get rejected also.
Sound : 5 Stars- This filter is very quiet. I have this in a 55 Gallon beside a 10 Gallon with a "Waterfall" type filter that trickles water and all I hear when I walk in the room is the trickling sound.
Performance: 3 Stars - I feel that this filter is overrated. The flow does not seem to match what the pump is rated at. Even with clean media, it is slow to clean the 55 Gallon tank. Also, this will put a current in your tank obviously, so make sure your fish should enjoy one. Some species will not. On either of the 3 settings this filter will cause strong disturbance on the surface of the water, even fully submerged. If you are using the Venturi valve to run an airline to the tank for aeration, you can only use the upper or lower spout. You cannot use the long spray bar(the coolest feature) when using the filter for aeration also. So, if you plan to use the bar to return the water ( I do) you will have to invest in other forms of aeration. My original plan was to run 2 of these in my 55 Gallon tank. I have since abandoned that and I will explain why next.
Convenience: 1 Star- This is the sole reason I did not buy another one and will not continue to use this for much longer. The U3 and U4 series Fluval filters are Online Exclusives. Okay. However, Petco.com does not carry the Foam Pads or Cartridges for this filter. I suggest you do some research online to get a fair cost and maintenance estimate before buying this product. This leads me to the next category.
Long Term Cost: 1 Star- I can't name retailers apparently, so let me say this you will have to shop elsewhere for foam pads and cartridges for this filter. Chances are there will be added shipping costs. Expect a complete replaceable media change to cost around 15-20 dollars each time unless you run across a deal to buy them in bulk. It is recommended the pads be changed every 2-3 months and the cartridges monthly. The bio media shouldn't be changed and I highly recommend you check into proper cleaning methods or you will be in for many future algae blooms and clouded tanks.
Conclusion: As much as I love the aesthetic appeal and ultra-quietness of this filter the difficulty in finding replacement "parts" and the long term cost has led me to abandon further interest. My recommendation is to save your money and put it towards a canister filter. They are many variety of them available and you can often find them on sale at reasonable prices.
Additional Considerations: It is my STRONG opinion that this filter is in the process of being "phased out" so if you are planning on it being in use for a long time invest in something that is carried in store and has been available for a couple of years and avoid new-to-market products until they have been well reviewed by customers.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fluval Underwater Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good.

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
The filter is a breeze to set up and maintain, as with all Fluval products I have used. My only suggestion for the manufacturer would be to provide better directional control for the outflow. If the filter is placed on the bottom of the tank, the outflow creates a fountain in the tank. Lots of noise and splash. Strong current is great for stirring up tank sediments.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fluval Underwater Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
I love this Filter its quiet,it does not vibrate loud or makes noise like other brands, it gives you 3 options of water flow they work perfect for my 4 Betta fish. Im using Fluval U2 30gal wich works perfect on my 15 gallon fish tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fluval Underwater Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!!

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lehigh Valley PA
I would highly recommend this filter.
I am 4 years new to the hobby & have spent hours upon hours researching filters and media and what not. I saw these and thought I would give them a try.
I have two 55 gallon tanks and a 20 gallon tank set up.
One 55 gallon is tropical and has a canister filter.
The other is a 55 gallon over stocked goldy tank. I mention the over stocked because these filters are awesome!! I have 5 gold fish ranging from 4" - 8 or 9", 4 golden loaches all about 6"-8", a high fin pleco now about 8" - 9", and a few guppies.
I purchased two of the U3's for the gold fish tank. I am thinking about upgrading to a 75 - 90 gallon, I just have to figure out the schematics of the whole conversion first. Anyway, I have been researching filters because I had a pond strength UV Sterilizer, and two HOB's rated at 75 gallons. Being over stocked, the water was always cloudy & greenish. Anyone who knows about gold fish know they need constant water quality control. The hob's were very noisy and a little hard to maintain. I'm not thrilled with the canister filter I have set up in the tropical tank. After doing research I found these. They have been the best purchase ever. I was going to go with two U4's but after seeing them rated on youtube went with the U3's.
I removed the UV sterilizer, and replaced the HOB's with these, within 4 hours the water was the clearest I have ever seen it. I now know what "polished" water looks like.
They are extremely quite, I've noticed the water is not evaporating from the tank as quickly, they seem to really filter the water. I have a heavily planted tank and none of the flow settings have bothered them. I love being able to change the flow settings, I can agitate the water on the bottom & kick up the muck, use the spray bar for a more even flow, and the top just to give the fish a rest.
I have a black background so they blend in nicely. Again, I am very impressed and will definitely purchase the U4's when I upgrade!!
Nothing was broken and everything worked fine right out of the box. (Media storage on the u3 is bit small)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fluval Underwater Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Efficient and quiet filter

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oklahoma City, OK
I bought this for my bow front 26 gal tall aquarium because I was having difficulty controlling ammonia and nitrates and cloudiness in my aquarium. I only had 8 fish, feeding them once a day. I tried ammonia chips, everything. Nothing worked. Once I put this filter in, the water cleared up within 24 hours. It is noticeable because it is an internal filter and rather large, but it is quiet. There are 3 filters in there and they are packed quite snugly in the unit. I broke a piece off one of the filter baskets when I first got it (dropped it) and found out that the Hagen customer service is wonderful. They are sending a replacement part to me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fluval Underwater Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wanted to like it, came with broken parts

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Houston,TX
Got the filter after 2 month research. Someone said sometime you will get a broken one. Yes, I did get a broken one. the blade of propeller was in 3 pieces already.
so I went to local Petco asked them exchange, the answer is "no where to find this locally". but they refund my item very nicely.
instead I got a Aquaclear 50.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fluval Underwater Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fluval U3

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Universal City, Texas
An amazing product, I have it on my 20 gallon tank, Yes its over kill but "bigger the better" I have tetra and catfish that produce alot of Waist. and they LOVE the current. You can ajust the levels and aim the outflow anywhere on your tank. I have had it for 2 days and my tank is crystal clear.
I seriously recommend this filter to anyone with a 20 gallon tank that LOVES to overstock lol.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fluval Underwater Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strong current flow!

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Tallahassee,FL
The U3 is listed as for a much larger tank than what I have (20 gal. long) but I absolutely love the fact that it generates this strong current throughout the tank that allows my turtle the chance to actually swim harder. The downside to that comes with floating plants, as they can get stuck on the intake sides and clog up the filter, other than making sure to keep floating plants attached securely to the sides of the tank this filter is amazing. I've had it for about 2 weeks now and so far so good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fluval Underwater Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great!

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
from orland park, IL
it is a great filter for my two turtles and for a reasonable price. it probably won't work for a lot of turtles but it will work for 2 or 3.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.