petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs

Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs

Prong training collars help you control even the most stubborn dogThey're electronically welded for maximum strengthNickel and chrome plated, resistant against rust, tarnish, or breakageSwivel ring to prevent the leash from becoming tangled
Average Customer Rating:
4.212 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 66 reviews
5 stars
41
4 stars
10
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
4
55 out of 66(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Review 1 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

be careful of size

PostedJune 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from california
My rottweiller has a larger neck than most dogs so the collar size does not correspond. I ordered a large collar for my 90 pound dog but clearly need the next size.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works like a charm

PostedMay 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New Orleans, LA
I was told by multiple people to use this collar. Even though I only had trouble in the early morning walks with my Australian Kelpie, I felt like she still needed that extra training. This product does wonders. I still keep the leash somewhat loose and just let it clinch up when she starts to veer off. She immediately goes back into formation. Love this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Collar -- doesn't choke!

PostedApril 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Massachusetts
I always thought these collars were cruel, but after both of our dogs pulling on walks when they saw a squirrel or another dog and gagging themselves we looked into this collar. The prongs make it so that they can still breathe when they pull because it's not one band compressing their windpipes. They are so well behaved now and when they do pull for whatever reason they can still breathe easily! Great collar BUT you must know how to use it. These are strong and not meant to be used carelessly. Make a correction and then let the leash go slack. You can't just hang on their necks with these things.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Training Tool

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Wichita, KS
This collar is a dream for our high energy, 1 year old lab! I've recommended this collar to friends who also have energetic doggies. A great tool for them and for you to enjoy your walks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works like a charm

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Winchester , CA
I had bought several collars for my American Pitbull Terrier who is 10 months old, and he pulled on everything. This collar was my last resort, as I didn't like the fact that it had prongs, but, this was by far my best purchase to date. The minute I put this on my boy walking and running with him was so manageable. This collar does not hurt him at all, and he is more attentive on his walks with me now. Great Product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
11of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dayum

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
My GSD has... had, two problems: barking at other dogs and pulling on the leash on walks. The leash pulling is history. She now walks by my side because she knows that if she goes ahead of me, she's gonna get it! The barking and wanting to eat other dogs is still a process but it's getting better. Now she just looks at them but if they come close, she will still pounce but with one pop on the colllar she'll behave. So it's not preventing it but it is stopping it. For now. I say one more week and then I can celebrate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This collar

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Selma,CA
this collar helps control my dog a lot, love it! She was a puller but now is not pulling so much by the help of the collar.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Florida
Prong collars work wonders for my dogs! They aren't for everybody...but they are perfect for my dogs & family!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

prong collar

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Harrisburg, PA
I had to return this collar because it doesn't work on my dog who has a small head and long neck, much like that of a greyhound. The collar won't stay up around the ears and jawline where it belongs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

it was amazing my dog walked with it on like an angel

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from katy tx
It was as I thought amazing it worked like a charm my dog walked like an Angel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Collar

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Williamstown MA
Initial Concerns about an aggressive diminished when product arrived at the house. High quality product with solid construction. Adjustable with link changes, you need strong fingers. Response of pet was immediate and serious. Comfortable on pet for training sessions, a true training aid for hyper pet, measure appropriately for size before ordering product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but hard to open!

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago
The only complaint I have is that it's SO hard to unhook the prongs to put on and off. It says to squeeze them together, but I must be really weak cause it's really hard! Other than that, it's worked fairly well with our dog pulling on the leash. It still happens a little, but not nearly as bad as before.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does What it is Designed to Do

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Baton Rouge, LA
It works well. The dog I bought this for does a lot better on his walk than he did with the head collar. I don't have to do much correcting.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product with immediate results

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Antioch
I bought this for my crossbreed German Shepherd / Pit Bull dog. He's a great, intelligent dog but training him to avoid pulling me seemed almost impossible. I tried using the regular leash and stopping him whever he pulls, and making sure I lead at my pace when I walk out of the apartment and was making no progress. I bought this product and used it for less than a minute and he's like walking a completely different dog. He rarely tries to pull me anymore, and walks adjacent to me the entire time with a loose leash. I strongly recommend this product if you have a large dog with this problem, but do the research to make sure you are using it properly first. Using a prong collar improperly can hurt your dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Extra Large not really extra large

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Sterling Heights, MI
I purchased a extra large training collar for a large dog with a big head. The collar is not big enough to put over his head. It is also difficult to open the links and then put it back together. It is well made with strong links but functionally not easily workable for a large dog. So watch out when it says extra large - not really :(
I would recommend this to a friend!
-9points
4of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

different attitude

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from coral springs fl.
I ve raised rottweilers and always thought these types of collars were cruel and harmful but I now have a new 3.5 month rottweiler puppy who was totally out of control.i bought this collar today and after 30 minutes with him wearing it his whole attitude changed.totally shocked and impressed.it works greater than I expected.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not Cruel at All!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hartselle, AL
I had my reservations about using a product that I had previously considered "cruel". But then I adopted an escape artist who could get out of any collar or harness within seconds (and they were tight enough that I started to really question if we weren't making them too tight). This has solved so many problems for us. She loves when I get it out because she knows she's going for a run. I love that she absolutely cannot get out of it. I spent a lot of time checking her for any signs of injury when we first started using it because she was still trying to pull, but there were no marks at all and she's never shown signs of it causing her pain. It's been such a useful tool with her, I only wish I had given it a chance sooner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ok product, but wrong fit

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
This product is very difficult to get on and off your dog. The links are very inflexible, and pinching them together like you are supposed to is extremely difficult. Also, if you try to fit it correctly on your dog (should sit snug right behind the ears) this product does not fit the right size. I got a medium for my 45 lb dog and had to take all but 3 of the links out to get it to fit. By then it wasn't quite as effective.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tricky, but it works

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
We purchased the prong collar for our dog (60 lb. yellow lab) who was not very enjoyable to walk. He pulled constantly. This collar has made walking him easier. While he still tugs a little, he really doesn't pull and he much easier to control. We've now gone on some longer walks that was far too frustrating to do prior to the prong collar. However, the collar takes a little getting used to as far as getting it on and off. It looks like a jumble of metal and you have to make sure you open it from the right link, or getting it back together is really hard. I took bright orange nail polish and marked the opening and closing links and that has helped quite a bit. For $15 more you can get an easier open/close collar, but we didn't want to spend that much more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Does the trick, but cheap materials

PostedApril 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Waukesha, WI
I use this collar for my white Boxer puppy, and it is turning his neck a grayish color. It does the trick for training him to walk better on a leash, but the metal used to make it must be cheap.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>