petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs

Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs

Prong training collars help you control even the most stubborn dogThey're electronically welded for maximum strengthNickel and chrome plated, resistant against rust, tarnish, or breakageSwivel ring to prevent the leash from becoming tangled
Average Customer Rating:
4.171 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 70 reviews
5 stars
42
4 stars
11
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
4
57 out of 70(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Review 1 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ok for the price

PostedAugust 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from killeen, tx
Rated for dogs up to 110 pounds. Mine is between 60 and 70 pounds and the collar just fit around his neck, which made it too tight. also collar is very difficult to open and close. will have to buy extra links to be usable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Prong Collar is a great training tool

PostedAugust 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New York
I bought my prong collar for a 4 month old pit bull puppy, who pulled on the leash so bad that he was always chocking himself. The Petco trainer from the puppy class we were taking, recommended it, so we tried it. He behaved like a completely different dog with this collar on. So well behaved. It has to be used properly so you don't injury your dog. It is not a collar you can just leave on all the time. It's great for walks and training. You can not tie a dog out with this on. But when used correctly it is a great tool for training. I highly recommend this collar. I think it works best for medium to Ex Large dogs. It is not recommended for very small dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Hard to remove/add links

PostedAugust 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Utah
We ordered 2 collars for our dogs training. They arrived on the date they were supposed to. I needed to remove a few links and that is were the trouble began. The angle of the prongs made it almost impossible to remove, I need to get help to open and remove a link and it was just as near impossible to reattach the remaining links. I did end up returning both to the store for this reason. If you have strong hands and still need help and pliers these are not the collars for you. I do want to say the return was easy and smooth and they was another product in store that we did end up using. Bottom line even if this collar does not suit your needs go in store if you can the clerks are really helpful to find a solution for you.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definitely Happy

PostedJuly 31, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Senoia, GA
I, along with many other people are against the "choke" collar. This is not like that at all and I found it to be very helpful. I have two Goldens that love to go for walks but because they always pull me hard I can't ever take them. I decided to purchase this "pinch" collar...it works beautiful. It just gives them a reminder not to pull and they walk without pulling me now. IT DOESN'T HURT THEM.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

be careful of size

PostedJune 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from california
My rottweiller has a larger neck than most dogs so the collar size does not correspond. I ordered a large collar for my 90 pound dog but clearly need the next size.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works like a charm

PostedMay 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New Orleans, LA
I was told by multiple people to use this collar. Even though I only had trouble in the early morning walks with my Australian Kelpie, I felt like she still needed that extra training. This product does wonders. I still keep the leash somewhat loose and just let it clinch up when she starts to veer off. She immediately goes back into formation. Love this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Collar -- doesn't choke!

PostedApril 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Massachusetts
I always thought these collars were cruel, but after both of our dogs pulling on walks when they saw a squirrel or another dog and gagging themselves we looked into this collar. The prongs make it so that they can still breathe when they pull because it's not one band compressing their windpipes. They are so well behaved now and when they do pull for whatever reason they can still breathe easily! Great collar BUT you must know how to use it. These are strong and not meant to be used carelessly. Make a correction and then let the leash go slack. You can't just hang on their necks with these things.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Training Tool

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Wichita, KS
This collar is a dream for our high energy, 1 year old lab! I've recommended this collar to friends who also have energetic doggies. A great tool for them and for you to enjoy your walks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works like a charm

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Winchester , CA
I had bought several collars for my American Pitbull Terrier who is 10 months old, and he pulled on everything. This collar was my last resort, as I didn't like the fact that it had prongs, but, this was by far my best purchase to date. The minute I put this on my boy walking and running with him was so manageable. This collar does not hurt him at all, and he is more attentive on his walks with me now. Great Product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dayum

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
My GSD has... had, two problems: barking at other dogs and pulling on the leash on walks. The leash pulling is history. She now walks by my side because she knows that if she goes ahead of me, she's gonna get it! The barking and wanting to eat other dogs is still a process but it's getting better. Now she just looks at them but if they come close, she will still pounce but with one pop on the colllar she'll behave. So it's not preventing it but it is stopping it. For now. I say one more week and then I can celebrate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This collar

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Selma,CA
this collar helps control my dog a lot, love it! She was a puller but now is not pulling so much by the help of the collar.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Florida
Prong collars work wonders for my dogs! They aren't for everybody...but they are perfect for my dogs & family!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

prong collar

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Harrisburg, PA
I had to return this collar because it doesn't work on my dog who has a small head and long neck, much like that of a greyhound. The collar won't stay up around the ears and jawline where it belongs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

it was amazing my dog walked with it on like an angel

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from katy tx
It was as I thought amazing it worked like a charm my dog walked like an Angel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Collar

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Williamstown MA
Initial Concerns about an aggressive diminished when product arrived at the house. High quality product with solid construction. Adjustable with link changes, you need strong fingers. Response of pet was immediate and serious. Comfortable on pet for training sessions, a true training aid for hyper pet, measure appropriately for size before ordering product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but hard to open!

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago
The only complaint I have is that it's SO hard to unhook the prongs to put on and off. It says to squeeze them together, but I must be really weak cause it's really hard! Other than that, it's worked fairly well with our dog pulling on the leash. It still happens a little, but not nearly as bad as before.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does What it is Designed to Do

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Baton Rouge, LA
It works well. The dog I bought this for does a lot better on his walk than he did with the head collar. I don't have to do much correcting.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product with immediate results

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Antioch
I bought this for my crossbreed German Shepherd / Pit Bull dog. He's a great, intelligent dog but training him to avoid pulling me seemed almost impossible. I tried using the regular leash and stopping him whever he pulls, and making sure I lead at my pace when I walk out of the apartment and was making no progress. I bought this product and used it for less than a minute and he's like walking a completely different dog. He rarely tries to pull me anymore, and walks adjacent to me the entire time with a loose leash. I strongly recommend this product if you have a large dog with this problem, but do the research to make sure you are using it properly first. Using a prong collar improperly can hurt your dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Extra Large not really extra large

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Sterling Heights, MI
I purchased a extra large training collar for a large dog with a big head. The collar is not big enough to put over his head. It is also difficult to open the links and then put it back together. It is well made with strong links but functionally not easily workable for a large dog. So watch out when it says extra large - not really :(
I would recommend this to a friend!
-9points
4of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

different attitude

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from coral springs fl.
I ve raised rottweilers and always thought these types of collars were cruel and harmful but I now have a new 3.5 month rottweiler puppy who was totally out of control.i bought this collar today and after 30 minutes with him wearing it his whole attitude changed.totally shocked and impressed.it works greater than I expected.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
11of 16voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>