petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs

Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs

Prong training collars help you control even the most stubborn dogThey're electronically welded for maximum strengthNickel and chrome plated, resistant against rust, tarnish, or breakageSwivel ring to prevent the leash from becoming tangled
Average Customer Rating:
4.094 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
5 stars
32
4 stars
6
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
4
43 out of 53(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Review 1 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product with immediate results

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
L1nc0ln
from Antioch
I bought this for my crossbreed German Shepherd / Pit Bull dog. He's a great, intelligent dog but training him to avoid pulling me seemed almost impossible. I tried using the regular leash and stopping him whever he pulls, and making sure I lead at my pace when I walk out of the apartment and was making no progress. I bought this product and used it for less than a minute and he's like walking a completely different dog. He rarely tries to pull me anymore, and walks adjacent to me the entire time with a loose leash. I strongly recommend this product if you have a large dog with this problem, but do the research to make sure you are using it properly first. Using a prong collar improperly can hurt your dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Extra Large not really extra large

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Dogmomma1861
from Sterling Heights, MI
I purchased a extra large training collar for a large dog with a big head. The collar is not big enough to put over his head. It is also difficult to open the links and then put it back together. It is well made with strong links but functionally not easily workable for a large dog. So watch out when it says extra large - not really :(
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

different attitude

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
stormchaser1964
from coral springs fl.
I ve raised rottweilers and always thought these types of collars were cruel and harmful but I now have a new 3.5 month rottweiler puppy who was totally out of control.i bought this collar today and after 30 minutes with him wearing it his whole attitude changed.totally shocked and impressed.it works greater than I expected.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not Cruel at All!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
SilverUnicorn
from Hartselle, AL
I had my reservations about using a product that I had previously considered "cruel". But then I adopted an escape artist who could get out of any collar or harness within seconds (and they were tight enough that I started to really question if we weren't making them too tight). This has solved so many problems for us. She loves when I get it out because she knows she's going for a run. I love that she absolutely cannot get out of it. I spent a lot of time checking her for any signs of injury when we first started using it because she was still trying to pull, but there were no marks at all and she's never shown signs of it causing her pain. It's been such a useful tool with her, I only wish I had given it a chance sooner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ok product, but wrong fit

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Terp2130
This product is very difficult to get on and off your dog. The links are very inflexible, and pinching them together like you are supposed to is extremely difficult. Also, if you try to fit it correctly on your dog (should sit snug right behind the ears) this product does not fit the right size. I got a medium for my 45 lb dog and had to take all but 3 of the links out to get it to fit. By then it wasn't quite as effective.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tricky, but it works

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Dave15
We purchased the prong collar for our dog (60 lb. yellow lab) who was not very enjoyable to walk. He pulled constantly. This collar has made walking him easier. While he still tugs a little, he really doesn't pull and he much easier to control. We've now gone on some longer walks that was far too frustrating to do prior to the prong collar. However, the collar takes a little getting used to as far as getting it on and off. It looks like a jumble of metal and you have to make sure you open it from the right link, or getting it back together is really hard. I took bright orange nail polish and marked the opening and closing links and that has helped quite a bit. For $15 more you can get an easier open/close collar, but we didn't want to spend that much more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Does the trick, but cheap materials

PostedApril 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
OscarsMomma
from Waukesha, WI
I use this collar for my white Boxer puppy, and it is turning his neck a grayish color. It does the trick for training him to walk better on a leash, but the metal used to make it must be cheap.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works!

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
themamaa
from Oslo, MN
I have a boxer cross. She believes that she can take me for walks, not the other way. This collar has been able to help me control her so I am not being dragged and she is no longer lunging at anyone to see who they are and if they will pet her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dog Neck Sizes Are Completely Wrong !!!

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
1HugeDogOwner
from Allen, TX
I have a 2 1/2 year old English Mastiff which I would consider to be an Extra Large Dog and You only have a neck size of 21 or 22 inches ???!!
My Dog's Neck at the upper part (the skinniest) is 27"!! My dog would die of asphyxiation prior to going for a walk just trying to put that 21" "Extra Large" collar on. Apparently from reading other reviews your other collars are also sized way too small.
Nobody is going to buy your product when you have large collars listed for medium dogs etc and people are constantly going to have to return your product and be forced to buy a similar product from another store other than PetCo.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5 furry paws up!

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
ttop
from Mountain View, CA
I bought this training collar 2 weeks ago for my 2 yo yellow lab grand pup. Yup, its my furry grandchild! Anyway, he has been using the easy walk harness (I believe that is what it was called) and it wasn't doing the trick when I walked him. He just didn't mind his g-ma and constantly yanked me along and jumping to play on others (do any grandchildren really mind? lol). The minute this went around his neck he was a different dog!! You don't have to pull or yank, they instinctively just behave! If a slight tug is needed it must be gentle so as to not do harm to the throat. I was told this isn't for dogs under 1 yr. Cheryl at the in-store location was very helpful. I can't recommend this more if you are having training issues.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More Humane Than Choke Collars

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
FurryFreak
from Tulsa, OK
I was hesitant about purchasing this collar for my dogs because of reviews and stories. But after research and finding out the reason behind most bad reviews and stories is because of it being missused, I purchased the collar. It has helped greatly in the improvement of my dogs behavior and walking. Plus they are more humane than the choker collars. The prong collors only lightly pinch (not pierce) the skin like a mother dog lightly biting the pup saying "no, calm down". Whereas the choke collar tightens and presses against their throat/wind pipe and cuts off air. I work in a pet retail store and have recommended this to many customers that have dogs, from the little & medium dogs up to big Bernese Mountain dogs, and all have come back raving about how this item has helped them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Training Prong Collar with Links

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Limma
from Hockessin, DE
The directions are incomplete for this product. I understand how most of the links connect, one prong slides in, then the other you squeeze a little to get into the whole of the other; the instructions do not tell you how to put the link together at the end to connect the collar. The prongs go the other way, so it's impossible to connect them. This is frustrating and a waste of time and money because now I have to go back to the store to have them figure it out (again). This is not my first pet link collar. Putting this together, I believe, is some sort of magic trick. Petco, please add more pictures and instructions into instructions!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product has a tendency to come apart

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Charlie567
from California
I bought this product to help with my dog pulling on walks. He is a 2 year old 65lb lab mix and being a smaller sized woman I would have no control over him. This product works great in teaching him not to pull. I have had it for about six months and he never pulls and walks right next to me. HOWEVER, a few nights ago I was on a walk with my dog and a woman with another dog was walking by. Her dog was growling at mine and so I went to pull my dog out of the way so they could pass us and his prong collar came apart and he went straight to the other dog. They got into a huge fight. Luckily neither were injured but it was extremely frightening for both parties. After I examined the collar I realized nothing had broken and that it had just come unhinged in a random spot. I am writing this review to make sure everyone is aware this does happen!! I am lucky nothing worse happened. I looked up this issue online and found tones of incidents of this happening. I now pare the prong collar with a choker collar and hook both of them into one leash. Make sure if you purchase this product you have a back up plan.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Prong Collar Improves our walks with our dog.

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
hersheybarb
from Orland Park, IL
The Prong Collar has made such a difference when we walk our pit bull. She consistently would pull but with the prong collar a little tug & she is back walking where she is supposed to. The collar looks intimidating but she is comfortable with it & it is such a help!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Training tool

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
little3
from United States
Bought the prong collar for a class - works well but is a bit difficult to get on and off.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Links

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Melinda28
The links are very very hard to remove if you need to shorten the collar. I also felt it was very difficult to get on my dog and hook into place. I ended up buying a different one from another store that had a release latch.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Collar Ever !!!!

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
VF123
from Elgin,il
I have a 70 pound 5 month old puppy who almost yanked my arm off while we were walking and he spotted a plastic bag being carried by the wind. I have tried training classes, various dog training collars and Harrnesses on my puppy and nothing would make him stop pulling. I thought this collar was cruel and it was my last option, so i decided to use my last option.... and WOW! I saw the difference the first time I put it on my puppy and we went for a walk. This collar is amazing. My puppy's tail was wagging and we had the best walk and I look foward to many more pleasant walks together. I highly recommend this collar, it will NOT harm your dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+24points
25of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great product

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Buckwalter
from Grants Pass, OR
This collar got our airedale's attention immediately. We are having some productive training sessions and plan to use this collar regularly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kgrend
from Grayslake,IL
I never believed the prong collar would work as well as it did. They always looked cruel. But these collars are amazing for training. I never had such well trained dogs before using the prong collar.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Training Chain Prong Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

bonzeyes collar

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
shepardsareawsome
from idaho
i use this when i am training bonzeye he lisens when its in him
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>