petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Red Leather Chain Leash for Dogs

Petco Red Leather Chain Leash for Dogs

Chain leashes are the perfect companion to a chain or prong training collarThey're electronically welded for maximum strengthNickel and chrome plated for durabilityResistant against rust, tarnish, or breakageA great deterrent for dogs that like to chew their leash
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 out of 14(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Petco Red Leather Chain Leash for Dogs
Review 1 for Petco Red Leather Chain Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome for dogs that destroy everything!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Woodburn, OR
My pitbull puppy is only 7 months old and has so far destroyed 3 regular nylon leashes, so I decided I needed something that could withstand his urge to chew. Picked up this leash and it's been great, no complaints
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Red Leather Chain Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Springfield, IL
My lab/pit mix is a wonderful dog but loves to chew and went through atleast 10 nylon leashes. This leash works perfectly
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Red Leather Chain Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new leash

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Irving TX
Just went to the Irving Petco and obtained a new chain leash. I had chewed all my old leashes. How I get to go to the park everyday . Great product.......
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Red Leather Chain Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Leash

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Western New York
I bought the chain leash for my five-month-old Airedale puppy, who is an avid leash-chewer. The chain leash has helped with the chewing problem, though not entirely: she is very determined. The red leather handle is attractive, but also very desirable as a chewable item. I fear the handle will suffer over the long term. Hopefully she will have progressed beyond leash chewing before it becomes unusable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Red Leather Chain Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

red leather chain leash for dogs

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
from pittsburgh, pa
we rescue and train great danes, and in the course of that, more than a few leashes have been broken. this chain is strong enough to manage even the largest of our dogs. my only complaint is that it is available only in a four foot length, and i would prefer a six foot length.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Red Leather Chain Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Leash Biters

PostedAugust 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
I bought this because my 9 week old puppy was chewing and literally destroyed his leash. This chain leash was perfect and he does not try to bite at all anymore! Fixed the problem right away. I highly recommend it to anyone with a leash biter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Red Leather Chain Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chain Leash

PostedJune 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
from California
Great leash, especially for dogs who chew their leash. The 4mm I got is rater heavy, something I need to get used to.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Red Leather Chain Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT FOR DOGS WHO CHEW NYLON LEASHES

PostedMay 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
I just adopted a German Shepherd who gets excited about walks. She'll grab her leash and my other dog's leash and chew threw them before I have a chance to get to her. She's ruined a few nylon leashes in a short period so I went looking for a chain leash. They are expensive but I found this one on Petco's site that was a reasonable price and looked nice.I have been really pleased. This is not a heavy chain leash nor is it too lightweight. It seems to be just right. I have to watch that she doesn't chew the leather handle but that seems pretty strong. I am very pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Red Leather Chain Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase

PostedDecember 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
The chain leash has solved all the problems with my dog chewing through leather and cloth leashes. I love it and my dog has responded to it quickly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Red Leather Chain Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

chain leash w/ leather handle

PostedNovember 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
My only complaint is that the chain could be longer. Otherwise it is great for my Houdini wantabe who chews through the nylon leashes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Red Leather Chain Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Next please...

PostedAugust 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
3 month old lab STILL chewing on the leash!! Thought the chain would deter him but no such luck
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Red Leather Chain Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

unchewable leash

PostedJuly 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
We purchased this leash because our min-pin is very rough on nylon leashes...he chews them apart. The chain on this leash is basically indestructible. I'm not sure about the leather hand strap, though. Our dog may just be able to destroy that too. And the hand strap is a little stiff and uncomfortable to hold (I have arthritis). Basically, however, a good buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Red Leather Chain Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for the price

PostedApril 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
My rottie did stop chewing the leash when I started using the chain leash which was mission accomplished. Wished it came in a longer length. I ended up attaching the leather leash to the end of the chain leash for a perfect length. It was well worth the money and corrected the problem I was having. Lucy doesn't like to chew on metal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Red Leather Chain Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best leash ever

PostedFebruary 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Greenville, SC
My dog bites his leash a lot then we got this all better
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.