petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain in Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain in Black

Purifying cat water fountain and dog water fountainCharcoal filter reduces impurities in waterOverall design reduces bacteriaNaturally cools and oxygenates waterSilent, free flowing waterComes with reservoir ideal for multi-pet households
Average Customer Rating:
3.927 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
7
31 out of 41(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain in Black
Review 1 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NO.

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Richmond, VA
I've had my water fountain for less than six months and it just doesn't work anymore. I've taken it apart and scrubbed every inch of it multiple times and the water will flow for about a week before it becomes another scummy mess. The filters provided don't seem to prevent anything and we have been putting filtered water in the bowl since we have been having these issues and without avail I'm having to take it apart and scrub. Needless to say today is the day that it's going in the trash and I'm online right now deciding on another one. I think I may be getting my just dessert and cheeping out for this one because it was on sale and had relatively good reviews - I will not make this mistake again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain in Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not as expected

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New York
The water holding device is very small and overall the whole fountain is smaller than I thought it would be. Also, the water just trickles down the spout and is hardly noticeable. I expected more of a fountain effect.
My cats do like the running water but for the money the whole item was rather a disappointment.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain in Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Difficult to clean

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
It was fairly quiet and the pump never stopped working. However, cleaning it was trouble. It breaks apart into 5 pieces, some of which have deep, sharp corners VERY difficult to clean. I'm switching to a different product because it's just too inconvenient. Filters are cheap though!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain in Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cat loves it, but...

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Idaho
I've had this fountain for almost two years.
The Good: My cat loves the idea of getting fresh water so much, he doesn't lick it from the bowl, he licks right where the water comes out as it's being pumped. He was never afraid of it. It's quiet until it runs low on water, in which case you get the gurgling noise others have mentioned. Even then, he's more curious than terrified. Another bonus is that even when my cat has a cone he can drink out of it. The original pump is just now starting to have problems, and will probably need to be replaced in the next month or two. Two years? Not bad.
The Bad: There is a lot of hard buildup on the fountain, which is virtually impossible to clean without harming the plastic. Additionally, it has to be cleaned often, about once a week. Even after that short amount of time, I feel grimy buildup throughout the fountain and on both sides of the filter. The filters themselves are also relatively expensive compared to the price of the product.
What would make it better? This fountain would be better if it could survive more abrasive cleaning, had less-expensive filters and *possibly* a more robust pump, though I'm reasonably satisfied with how long this one has lasted.
Would I recommend it? Yes. My cat loves it. It's a reasonably inexpensive fountain, and overall a very satisfactory experience for my cat, despite being a bit of a pain for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Bay Area, CA
I've always loved these water fountains for my cats! I originally had this in white and then recently got the black one. It looks great in my house and it works perfectly!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cat loves it, I love it

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from wa
whisper quiet. easy to clean, my cat loves it, provides her with clean cool water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fresh cool water

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Utah County,Utah_
Works great, can buy a replacement pump when need. Dog and cats seem to like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product.

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta
I make additions of water most days to keep the level topped up for my 4 thirsty pets. Product is quiet and easy to set up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain in Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not working

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
So I just got a cat, and I set this fountain up for her and it is not working at all. The pump is not pumping water.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Gets Really Filthy, and Fast!

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Wasilla, AK
A friend gave me this product. It worked well at first, but within a couple weeks a film built up, and did so pretty quickly every time you clean it. Some of the narrower nooks and crannies are difficult to get clean, which let the film regrow even faster! For that fuss, i can just put down a regular bowl of water every day for my cat.
Additionally, if the reservoir went empty, the pump started slurping the water REALLY loud. Invariably, this happened at night, just after I drifted off to sleep.
You may also run into the experience I had at first - my cat discovered how fun it was to watch the bubbles rise in the reservoir, and would paw the water onto the floor just to make it bubble!
I've discontinued use of this and gone back to a normal bowl.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the smartest purchases

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Jose,CA
I've always only ever given her bottled water but I always feel like i'd wasted because after one or two drinks there would be food crumbs or a stray hair in her water and i'd toss it. This machine was a great deal, smart purchase, easy to assemble, and works perfectly. I doesn't vibrate or move, isn't loud, and Pippa drank from it as soon as it was assembled. I recommend washing before assembling as I always do but overall EXCELLENT PURCHASE.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Improved version

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Ankeny, IA
Recently purchased a replacement for an older version of the same model. The first one I had quit after about a year. I had not been overly impressed with the quality of my original fountain. It made a great deal of noise after a couple of months and then quit altogether. However, my cats loved it. After reading the reviews I came to the conclusion that they all probably had problems. Since my cats had already given this one the ok I decided to go with the same model. This one seems to be better made. They have added a strainer inside the bowl, which makes for easier cleaning and less clogs in the pump. They have also increased the size of the intake area on the pump itself. It is quieter then my first one was even when new. The resevior is also bigger. I saw a couple of reviews complaining that the pump on the new version does not have a rate adjuster. I like this version better. The flow is great.
My cats are very happy to have their fountain back and I am happy with the easier cleaning and quieter operation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

get's as dirty as a fish tank!

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
from hewlett ny
I purchased this product cause my cat only drinks fresh water, if it's not fresh she will drink from the toilet!.
This product works great for about a day, and by the next morning you will see the flow be reduced to a trickle since the charcoal filter is basically clogging the path of the water flow. Remove it and you'll see the difference. There's also a plastic mesh at the bottom where it sucks up the water through a fish tank pump and pumps it back out the top. This will look like it's covered in Algae within a week. I called Petmate, and they told me that weekly you must remove the pump and clean the parts, and every few days you should clean the bowl and all the plastic parts etc. So, if I'm gonna be cleaning this thing this much every few days, I may as well just give the cat Fresh Water in a Standard SS bowl twice a day, much easier.
Oh, another thing, if you don't keep the unit filled to the top with water, it will sound like a little kid slurping up the last drop of milk shake from his straw until you do.
I just unplugged it, and it's going in the trash since I threw out the box and can no longer return it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just Wonderful

PostedJune 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Central Coast california
Still useing my old one ( 15 years now )
Got new one cause of sale the site had.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Clean I would drink from it!

PostedMay 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
from MD
I LOVE this pet fountain!
I originally got the LeBistro 2.75 gallon Watering system as I have two dogs (Doberman mix and Cavalier King Charles) and was constantly filling their bowls (3-4 times a day!). I hated this thing because it was always dirty so I was constantly cleaning it out! This meant spilling tons of water on the floor just to clean the basin. Big pain. And it was heavy! And the dogs avoided it cause it didn't stay cool and was gross.
This water fountain is fantastic! It keeps the water cool and clean and my pets are drinking SO much more water!
My one complaint is that I have to fill up the little reservoir every day, sometimes twice. I really don't mind this though because I can actually see how much water they are drinking!
I was concerned when I purchased my fountain because it was a fountain. My dogs HATE the hose. Have never gotten a drink from the hose or even a water bottle so I was worried that the running water would deter them. It hasn't! It is SO quiet and the little motor makes almost no noise! I am so pleased with this product I would buy it again in a heart beat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is pretty good

PostedMay 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Spring City, PA
I feel alot better giving my kitties filtered water and they seem to like it more. Which was the whole point b/c my one cat has reaccuring UTI's and I think this is helping her to want to drink more water. I would recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love, love, love

PostedMarch 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Portland, Oregon
When I first opened this I like the nice black design and the easy set-up. But when i plugged it in I got to thinking my kitty would be afraid of it as she has never drank out of something that made a little noise. It turns out she immediately liked it, drank out of it and even took a nap next to it. I think she has started drinking more water (which will certainly help keep her healthy!) than she used to. Maybe because her water is fresh and cool??? I don't know but I am thrilled with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This feline water bowl works great.

PostedFebruary 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Butler, PA
This item works well. I like the filter system, it seems to catch alot of the junk that my 2 cats are always dirtying up the water with. All in all, it's an affordable fountain that looks sleek and works well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well, but needs maintenance

PostedFebruary 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
To everyone citing that they had pump problems, please take heed: you actually have to disassemble the fountain and take apart the pump and CLEAN IT every so often. The pump is designed to stop pumping when it becomes clogged, and if your dog has a beard like mine does, food will stick to it when he eats, and become dislodged in the fountain when he drinks from it. This is to be expected. If your pump starts to make gurgling noises or stops working altogether, it's time to clean the darn thing. It all comes apart very easily and snaps right back together again afterwards.
Depending on your breed of pet, what you feed him, and where you live, you may need to change the filter more often. Mine is a Lhasa Apso; he has a beard, I feed him wet dog food, and we live in NYC so he's constantly sniffing around in street filth, so with all the junk that sticks to his beard, I need to change my filter once every 6 weeks instead of 12, and I need to take it apart and clean the gunk out of the pump about every 2 weeks.
I hope that helps!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain in Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pros and Cons

PostedDecember 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
I used to have an older white model that my cat really liked using to drink water. I also had a bowl of stationary water nearby for him, but he gravitated to the moving water most of the time. Now that I got a new, black model, he's not so happy. Maybe he can't see the water as easily. I don't know. Or maybe it doesn't smell right, but he's drinking from the stationary water now more often. So, the fountain works well, but not sure black was the right choice for the cat, though I like the black color better than the white.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>