petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Retractable Black Leash for Dogs

Petco Retractable Black Leash for Dogs

Gives you control and allows your pet freedomDurable, push button brake system lets you control the distanceComfortable soft grip handlesLightweight, compact design
Average Customer Rating:
2.353 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
9
7 out of 17(41%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Retractable Black Leash for Dogs
Review 1 for Petco Retractable Black Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Well!

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
ShermanAlbert
from Maine
This is a nice retractable leash for our 95 lb labrador retriever. He inevitably pulls too hard, and the leash breaks from inside the handheld part, or stops retracting, or stops locking, and we have to replace it every few months. Thankfully, its pretty reasonably priced and its okay with us to replace it every so often. We're only on our third in the last year, so each one has lasted us more than four months of pretty brutal use. I'd definitely recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Retractable Black Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

"large Dog" not for a large dog

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
NorthshoreGary
from Northshore Boston
On our first walk, the leash practically exploded when my Golden saw a squirrel.
She's only 75# and leash is rated at 110#'s.
Glad there's a satisfaction guarantee. I intend to go to my local Petrco a exchange it for a name brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Retractable Black Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

EPIC FAIL!

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
LoveIndy
from Columbus, Ohio
I bought the leash rated to 110 lbs for my 55 lb boxer.
Today at the park, he chased some geese and snapped the leash out of the retracting mechanism and went for a nice swim in hopes of finally killing one of his nemeses.
I've had the leash about 1 1/2 months and only in the last few days have been using it regularly for his walks. Max uses: 15-20
Epic FAIL.
Upon inspection of the leash portion, I see the loop is intact so the mechanism inside broke, not the leash. So the tensile strength of the cord is likely 110 lbs, but the mechanism seems far less than that.
Don't buy this product unless you like chasing your dog and being late to work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Retractable Black Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

dissatisfied

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
jordan1999
From the first walk with this leash, upon taking it out of the packaging, it would not retract strongly enough to keep my dog from getting tangled in it. I bought the one rated to 110 lbs for my 68 lb mixed breed, so it wasn't me buying the wrong leash. Also, it dips when it doesn't have tension, so it seems always to dip into his urine stream (ugh!). Not impressed!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Retractable Black Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke within a month

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
teachna
from Blandon, PA
I used this leash on my 11 lb. dachshund and it broke within the first few walks. It won't retract now. I bought the up to 44 lbs leash.
I will try to return it (don't have the receipt) to see if they will honor their "Quality Guarantee".
I will only buy Flexi retractable leashes from now on.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Retractable Black Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great price

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
caly59
from Sayville,NY
Good lease for a great price! Love this kind of leash for my dogs, let's them roam.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Retractable Black Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

JUNK

PostedApril 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
mamajof3
from fenton
My dog is under the weight and she went running and pulled right off breaking the inside of this leash and ran off!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Retractable Black Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

junk

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
cunfuzed
from forked river,nj
broke 3rd time i used it! won't retract i have a 60lb doberman and she broke this the 3rd time out don't waste your money on this piece of junk!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Retractable Black Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Returned same day

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lewda
from Plainfield, IL
I ordered this online because it seemed the price was cheap for a retractable leash and I figured I'd give it a shot despite some of the poor reviews. Well, as it turns out those poor reviews were true. I opened it up and immediately took my dog for a walk. Immediately, I knew this leash wasn't for me. When you touch the button, it locks automatically, which I hated. I wanted something where I could push the button down and hold it firm to keep my dog back until someone passed by and then release my thumb. This definitely has a poor lock system installed on it. I returned it to my PetCo store and spent an extra $15 on a flexi leash for better quality. I would highly recommend that you avoid this and spend the extra money for a high quality leash.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Retractable Black Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent for labs

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Briarson
from Cleveland, OH
I have had this leash for over a year for my Labrador. He is around 90 pounds now. The leash works great! I have never had any problems with the buttons. Sometimes it would not retract properly, but normally it was just twisted and with a couple seconds of effort, it was easily fixable. One problem I did have was after about a month of having it, my little "puller" would yank so hard on it that the plastic sides would start to come apart (splitting it in to two pieces). This was also easily fixable by using a really tough glue (like gorilla glue)...this was the trick! It now is strong as ever and can handle a 90 pound labrador with whatever pulling he desires to do! I would definitely recommend it, if you are willing to put a few dabs of glue to secure it if needed--cheap but worth it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Retractable Black Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

stopped working after only one month!!

PostedJuly 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
RemoraMom
from Managua
OK I have a young energetic dog so I thought a retractable leash would be great. In fact, she and I both loved it! Since she is young and strong, I went with the "up to 100lb" size even though she only weighs 44lb. The leash was great- for about a month. After that, for a couple of weeks it required having the button constantly held down, and then after that it stopped working (retracting) altogether. I am disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Retractable Black Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good leash but despised the locking mechanism

PostedMay 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
KuyaBri
from Kent, Washington
The large version of this leash served me and my Dalmatian well....for 2 months. This was my first retractable leash purchase for my first dog and I went with it mainly because it was the least expensive. Overall it worked fine but the main problem I had from the beginning was the way the brake locks on. I didn't know this when I bought it, but with most competing retractable leashes, you need to move a separate switch while holding down the brake button in order to lock the brake on. This one integrates that lock into the brake button so that pressing the brake button all the way down locks it on. This annoyed me many times, especially when following the manufacturer-recommended method for reeling in the leash. Then, after only 2 months, that locking mechanism broke, leaving me with a leash that still had a functioning brake but no way to lock that brake on. I went out and spent the extra money on a Flexi leash; hopefully that one lasts longer than this one did.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Retractable Black Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good experience

PostedMarch 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
ChipsMom
from Baltimore, MD
This retractable leash lasted my 14lb mutt a little under a year. I will say that I have an enthusiastic puller and he would constantly run until he was "snapped back" by the leash's limit. We got the leash when he was about 4 months old. He is now 13 months old and the retractable quality of it is lagging. I will need to go buy a new one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Retractable Black Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Broke the first week

PostedMarch 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Love4u080
from MA
I've never owned a retractable leash, so I decided to go with this one because of the price. It worked great the first 3 times, and then it broke after that. My puppy is a 10lb mini shnauzer and she ran and the leash extended all the way and just would not retract. It worked great at first, but I was expecting it to hold up for a little longer than a week.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Retractable Black Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value!

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
AshleyAndWeber
I have used retractables for many years. Most recently I had a Flexi, which worked fine but was getting old. I decided to try the Petco version as it looked like all the rest and was the best price. I have to say that it works as well and any retractable I have used in the past. I am very happy with my purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Retractable Black Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great leash!

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
TheCoach
I bought this retractable leash about two months ago at my local Petco. It has been working great with my Golden Lab. It is easy to use, functions great and I thought it was the best value in the store. Good quality leash
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Retractable Black Leash for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke the first time I used it

PostedMay 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tobydog
This retractable leash broke the very first time I used it. My dog went to the full extended length of the leash, and then it would never retract. I pushed all the buttons and followed the instructions, and it never retracted. I returned it to my local store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.