petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for KONG Braidz Monkey Dog Toy

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

KONG Braidz Monkey Dog Toy

Squeak it, tug it and cuddle itMinimal stuffing for minimal messBraided body cleans and polishes teethQuality, non-toxic materials
Average Customer Rating:
3.111 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
2
11 out of 18(61%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for KONG Braidz Monkey Dog Toy
Review 1 for KONG Braidz Monkey Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Repeat Purchaser

PostedJune 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
We love this toy for our 2-year old, 50 lbs English Springer Spaniel. Our dog is a chewer and loves to play tug. My husband and I call toys like this "shreddables" because it will be "destuffed" quickly, So, yes, like the other reviewers have stated, our dog rips the head open and kills the squeaky within an hour, but he is so happy when he sees this toy that it's worth it. He continues to play with this toy for days and weeks after he destuffs the head and pulls off an arm or legs. The braided body lasts a long while and makes for fun tug and interactive play throughout the day. I like it mostly because it is a SOFT, durable chew, toss and tug toy that develops his jaw without damaging teeth. We purchase one every other month as part of our dog's favorites.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KONG Braidz Monkey Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Only the braid remains

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Norfolk, VA
Within 5 minutes, my dog ripped off the head, arms, legs, and tail. Now all that remains is the body/braid part. She still occasionally will toss it around. I assumed KONG products would last longer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KONG Braidz Monkey Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Monkey Around!

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New Hampshire
This toy was purchased as an Easter Gift for our small young dog, he absolutely looooooves it! It is one of his go to toys to interact with us or just play alone with! It also is well made and cute in appearance!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KONG Braidz Monkey Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't last

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
My schnauzer had the face ripped off and the squeaker out in 30 minutes. We ended up having to throw it away after it got ripped up. Don't buy if your dog is a chewer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KONG Braidz Monkey Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor Monkey

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Houston
Dogs seemed to be obsessed with pulling the stuffing out of everything, well mine does anyway, the body is still in tack, but the toy lasted about 2 weeks
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KONG Braidz Monkey Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kong Braidz is his favorite

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Palm Harbor, FL
My 9-month 15# Schnoodle still loves to chew and destroys everything fabric. This monkey, minus his tail, holds up well. It's great for throwing too. He used to drop those unstuffed toys at my feet to throw and I had to roll them up into a ball to do so. The monkey has some heft in its middle so it throws well. One of Rudy's all-time favorites.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KONG Braidz Monkey Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puppy love!

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Midwest, USA
Our 12 week old cockapoo puppy adores this chew toy. The braided body has been indestructible during her relentless teething chewing, plus we love that it also squeaks (the squeaker is in the head), which is fun when we play throw and retrieve with the pup. The only downside is the brown color, which we noticed was hard for her to see on carpet and wood floor when we first got it. Now, the more she grows the more she loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KONG Braidz Monkey Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

head is already off

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
from union, nj
the stuffing was already half devoured along with the head before I realized it - the squeaky toy was enclosed in a netting so my coton did not eat that too - took out what was left from the head and gave it back to him - i'd recommend it because the body is great for chewing and still in one piece - take the head off and it is a great chewing outlet - my dog is an agressive chewer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KONG Braidz Monkey Dog Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Tough Monkey

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Florida
I have an english bulldog and its taking him a little while to destroy the toy. Its a pretty strong toy, because he usually rips toys appart in less then 15 minutes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KONG Braidz Monkey Dog Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Smaller than I expected

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Bx.Ny
It's a great toy and My puppy loves it but I found it to be alot smaller than I expected :-( overall he enjoys it & that's what counts :-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KONG Braidz Monkey Dog Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

My 2 love these

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
from AZ
I have 2 boxers and they love these toys, I buy the large. They destroy the arms/legs/head within an hour but the braid lasts a long time so I continue to buy them. They love to rip all of the stuffing out and spread it all over the backyard then bite the squeeker until it stops working.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KONG Braidz Monkey Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Kong needs to do better

PostedFebruary 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Johnstown, PA
Even though I read all the bad comments about this, I thought it was too cute to pass up for my 4 month old corgi. Well...it was completely destroyed and thrown away within 2 days. Bad product for Kong.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KONG Braidz Monkey Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Purchase

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
I got this for my 8 week old Choc. Lab puppy and he loves this. WIth as much as he enjoys chewing I think this was a good choice. He loves to chew the braid in the middle. This toy keeps him busy for awhile. Have not yet had any problems with it being destroyed. I got the Medium size for him. I think you should get the size best for your size dog and shouldn't have problems. They come in 3 different sizes. Definitely a good buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KONG Braidz Monkey Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My puppy Loves it!

PostedNovember 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Long Island, NY
My puppy loves this, and we got him the large one. We actually went and got a scond one for the other house because he loves it so much. The only bad thing is that it has a squeeker in it, and at times our puppy drives people nuts with it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KONG Braidz Monkey Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

LESS THAN ONE HOUR!!!

PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Southern PBC, Fl
It took less than hour to destroy this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KONG Braidz Monkey Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cute

PostedJuly 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
I have a 25 pound pug mix and thought he would like this toy because of the braid in the middle being easy to grab. He likes the toy, but doesn't love it as much as I thought he would. Decent toy for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KONG Braidz Monkey Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun!

PostedJanuary 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
My shihpoo LOVES this toy! She went beserk when I took it out of the box. Very strong material, as she likes to play tug of war with it. The body is tightly braided material, great for pups to knaw on!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KONG Braidz Monkey Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Shredded in 10 Minutes!

PostedJanuary 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
If your dog is a heavy chewer, this toy is not for you. My 6 month Standard Poodle pup chewed the head open and began ripping out the stuffing within 5 minutes of giving it to him. Disappointing, but cute toy otherwise.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.