petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 50 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain

Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 50 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain

Veterinarian and trainer recommendedAdds oxygen, filters water, cools naturally, reduces bacteria, and encourages your pet to drinkTwo free replaceable charcoal filters for removing impuritiesAC adaptor plugs into standard household outletSilent, free flowing filtered water
Average Customer Rating:
3.733 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
7
30 out of 45(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 50 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Review 1 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 50 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to put together

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
my2guys
from Slidell,La.
It was very easy to put together (approx. 5minutes). easy to maintain.Filter is easy to get to and change.
Makes no noise. But most of all my Cat and small Dog love it.I would highly recommend this product for your pets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 50 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well, Easy to Fill

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
3CatsNYC
from New York, NY
My cats love drinking from this fountain. It has a good flow rate, and is easy to fill and clean. It has two downsides though. First - When I first plugged it in, it was whisper quiet, but I'm finding now that it makes a bit of noise. Cleaning cat hair out of the pump intake valve helps a bit, but not completely. Second - it does not hold much water, and must be filled frequently (about every 2nd day).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 50 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Weak pump

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Browfam
from Minnesota
I purchased this product in March of 2013. In September of the same year the pump stopped working. I didn't expect it to burn out this fast but it shows the quality of the product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 50 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointed

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
chrissieB
from florida
I read a lot of reviews online before making a purchase and this fountain seemed to have everything I was looking for. The water is silent and free flowing because it is more of a trickle. The filter stops most of the flow and gets slimy very quickly - within a couple of days. I use only filtered water but I was having to take it apart every two days to clean it and the cat wasn't even drinking from it! She still prefers the table fountain, total waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 50 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Disappointed

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
MomofPoms
from Buffalo, NY
When this first arrived I was so happy. I thought I was doing such a wonderful thing for my pets. I changed the water daily rinsing the bowl, not even thinking about checking the pump area. Well, I should have since even though I rinsed it out, mold was forming around the pump. I packed it up and it is now sitting in the basement. I will NEVER use this product again. I do not have time to disassemble the product DAILY in order to ensure there is no mold growing. I have had many filtered water products for humans and never did that happen (and I did not clean them out daily and replace the filtered water).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 50 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Morghus
from Indiana
I bought this fountain over a year ago and I love it, most importantly, so does my cat. Filters are inexpensive, and are carried in the store. I have seen negative reviews on this product but they are baseless. The parts CAN be difficult to put together if you don't have the power cord in the exact right spot (it is compact) coming out of the assembly, but the parts do fit together. Another bonus is that if/when the pump goes out (lets face it, cats are fuzzy and you will get hair in there) the pump can be bought separately and replaced. Recommend for anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 50 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Difficult to put back together

PostedApril 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sergiohs
from wantage nj
Thi water fountain is plastic. It has the same motor as a few other fountains I've owned. The worst part is when you clean it, it is so difficul to put back together. If itdoesn not snap togethr just right, the waterdoesn't flow, etc. I've had this for some time now & I still don't get the fit. Not user friendly, or it is poorly designed. Something is wrong with the motor. No longer able to clean it to make it run better so, time for a beter one!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 50 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
crazeecatlady
from mentor
I am astonished! First, that I actually bought such an extravagant thing, and second, how much more water my cat Harley now drinks! After he had 2 serious UTI's (costing me over $300), I searched reviews, sites, and suggestioins, and decided on this one--it is quiet, easy to clean, and not obtrusive--and, best of all, my "scaredy-cat" started using it immediately. Thanks Petmate and Petco.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 50 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing! Gets my Senior Cat to Drink

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
mommyof4pets
from Allentown, PA
My cat is 18-1/2. He has kidney disease and gets medicine which means he must drink a lot. The water in his regular bowl no longer interested him. We found him drinking out of OUR cups, toilet bowls, the bathtub, shower, etc. I thought the moving, circulating water would fascinate him and it did! I set it up (very easily), he came right over, stuck his face in it (literally), and drank! He's used it several times all night and he loves it! I highly recommend as I know this is helping him get his water intake.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 50 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 50 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Saddened
from Newalla okla
The product water flow isn't strong enough to encouraging drink.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 50 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This water bowl is great.

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
toyger2010
from Barnesville, Oh
My toyger loves this water bowl. I have to fill it up everyday. She drinks plenty of water now because of the freshflow.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 50 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product for a Good Price

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
KendallAnimalFarm
A vet recommended I get a flowing water fountain for my pets to help encourage their water intake. I chose this one because of it's low price and simplicity (I didn't want to spend a ton of money in case my pets hated it). I have had this fountain for a couple of years now, with 2 cats and 1 dog using it and it still works great. We move a lot for work, so I have used this fountain with a variety of water types. The only time I had problems was at one place that had really hard well water and that just meant that I had to clean it more frequently, including the motor (which is really easy to get apart). I have a variety of bottle brushes in different sizes that makes cleaning the fountain very quick and easy though. Now I use distilled water in it (due to one cat's urinary tract issues, not issues with the fountain) and that helps to keep it cleaner much longer without hard-to-remove build up when I do clean it. For the relativley low price (compared to some of the fancier models), this fountain has been a real workhorse for me and shows no sign of slowing down. It was a great investment, well worth the money to improve my pets' health.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 50 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lifesaver!!!

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Happyshopper232
from Chicago, IL
My cat wouldn't stop drinking out of the sink, so I would leave it running all day for fear of her becoming dehydrated...this caused problems with the sink, so I needed a solution. This little guy did the trick! I was nervous as I had read reviews of it leaking and making noise, but I have never experienced any problems with my water fountain. My cat no longer drinks out of the sink, she always gets fresh water and I feel so much better!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 50 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

50 oz Petmate Fountain

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
EIsis
from Hamilton, NJ
Quite easy to assemble, which so many of these items are not. I have it set up on the porch for my strays.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 50 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
ParentofCat
from Huntington Beach, CA
I have had two fountains that lasted 4 years each(Not this company brand of course) . The only reason I wanted to change to this one was due to the mineral deposits and also due to the issues with having a hard time cleaning in the smaller crevices of the machine. I decided to try Petmateand I have to say it is terrible. First the water barely trickles out and the back part that is supposed to click down into the groves provided doesn't stay. It's as if you're assembling it inproperly because the groves don't catch on hold very well. Now lets get to why I posted this in the first place. It died! I always keep it full, change out the water and 3 days ago it just died. The motor doesn't work and I've had this machine less than 8 months. So do not waste your time. I will go back to ( pervious company)fountains and buy some pipe cleaners to do a better job at cleaning. I'm actually frustrated that I threw the old one out when I could have cleaned it and had it working. For the last few days I tried giving my cat bowls of water but he keeps tipping them over or turning them over completely. I almost resorted to bottle feeding him even though he's a grown cat. I just don't want him to miss drinking water like he did prior to fountain purchasing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 50 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not this one

PostedApril 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Notafan
from Seattle
I have always had fountains for my cats and this one is not user friendly. I went cheap and that is what this is. Every time I clean it I have to struggle to get it put back together so that the water flows down the slide.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 50 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Its ok

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Syracuse, NY
My cat likes to drink out of the faucet. For her I wouldve rather bought a fountain that made a gurggling noise like one of the ones that pours as opposed to flows. Not only do I think it would encourage her to drink from it more but on the one I got, hair and dust gets stuck to the "slide" almost every day
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 50 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good starter unit

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
panaru
from Stockton, Ca
3 cats 1 w urinary crystal probs. 2 like to drink from the tub and play w water...but get this it's filtered and incourages water intake even with wet food eaters. I would like to upgrade to a chrome one i saw in the store tho bc plastic allergies happen in older cats. With limited cash and not knowing if they'd use it i'm happy with this one for awhile.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 50 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great answer

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Caroll
from Berks County, PA
Our cat wanted to drink from the spiquot. The pet fountain was the perfect answer. He gets flowing, fresh water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 50 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

fair

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
sfct
from cheshire, ct
The slide does not "snap" on as directed when the filter holder is in place. Without the filter holder, it does. Right now I have it assembled with the slide in place but not snapped in place. It's pumping, but the water flow is not optimal, and I can't be sure if all the water is passing through the filter. This product needs a redesign.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>