petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Desert Cave Reptile Hideaway

Petco Desert Cave Reptile Hideaway

Natural looking desert rock denDecorative reptile cave made of non-porous and dishwater-safe resinDesigned for easy climbingStunning rock reptile den creates a safe and comfortable hideaway for your pet herpWill surely blend in with other decorative reptile cage accessoriesMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 out of 12(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Petco Desert Cave Reptile Hideaway
Review 1 for Petco Desert Cave Reptile Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

no problems

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from yelm
It looks natural my gecko hide in there waiting for the unlucky cricket he also takes naps and like to bask on top a must have for a leopard gecko owner
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Desert Cave Reptile Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Dragon Loves It

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Roanoke, VA
My dragon loves the new rock formation. He sits on it constantly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Desert Cave Reptile Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
My Leopard gecko absolutely loves this! He can hid and sleep under it, and he also loves basking on top of it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Desert Cave Reptile Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas, NV
My lepord gecko Buddy used to love this but he got sick and died. Now I use this for my hamster Pam she sleeps in here all the time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Desert Cave Reptile Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for young Beardies or small reptiles

PostedJuly 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Boise, ID
This is a great hide for young beardies. I bought the large hide for my baby bearded dragon, but now she is to big for it. She still likes to sit on it on the cool side of the tank.
It makes a great piece for any type of reptile tank. It looks natural and very pretty.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Desert Cave Reptile Hideaway
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great For Bearded Dragons

PostedApril 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Auburn, ME
I have both sizes of this product, both the small and the large. I use them with my bearded dragons. The small was fine as a hide when they were younger, but is now too small for them to fit comfortably inside. It is kept mostly buried in substrate as a basking spot, and as a decor piece. It is kept Buried because it will other wise become a cricket hideaway and refuge. The large size is still big enough for one of my dragons, but is too small to comfortable fit the larger of the two. Finding a hide big enough for an adult bearded dragon can be hard, but unfortunately this isn't it. These are great for a juvenile - but in my experience a full size adult will only use the top.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Desert Cave Reptile Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful investment

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Iowa
Product is exactly as it appears. Our adult gecko fits perfectly inside as well as on top of this hideaway.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Desert Cave Reptile Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Snake dessert cave

PostedNovember 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Monroe,LA
He loves it and stays in it most of the time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Desert Cave Reptile Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like it

PostedAugust 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
My gecko loves this home he is always climbing it and sleepin under it so no problems here
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Desert Cave Reptile Hideaway
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too big in 10G, Rear gap small

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Temp: 75-80 degrees F
Humidity: 70-85%
Substrate: Eco Earth
Inhabitants: two PP hermit crabs (medium size).
I probably deserve a slap on the wrist for purchasing it for my hermit crabs as its clearly labeled for reptiles. However, I wanted a larger hiding place that could comfortably fit my two PP hermit crabs. Lastly, I liked the overall appearance and the prospect of having the hermit crabs happily climbing over it.
My new hermit crabs prefer staying in the cave practically all day and usually most of the night. To an extent, I am disappointed but I sense they are less stressed and more comfortable being in there. At times I find them "mingling" inside; other times one is burrowed and the other is observing the outside from within. My crabs like to hoard their food inside and eat it there.
The smaller opening is too small for my hermit crabs' shells to fit but it's large enough to tease them to squeeze their way through it on occasion. My medium sized hermit crab wisely gives up on the tight gap after a minute. Unfortunately the slightly smaller one almost fits so he'll go at it for quite a while and waste a lot of energy fruitlessly. I'm considering to stuff a sponge or substrate into the smaller opening.
I might revert to a couple of those "hermit huts" since they don't consume my entire 10G tank the way this one does. However, my crabs like this so I might keep it for a while.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Desert Cave Reptile Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedApril 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, Ca
My leopard Gecko, Connie, loves this cute lil desert hideaway home! She likes to sit on top when the heater pad is really hot. Overall, great product! I definitely suggest you get this for your lizard!
~Madeleine and Connie :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Desert Cave Reptile Hideaway
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not as expected

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
i was disappointed in this product...it was not as i expected (not as high as described), plus they arrived broken &/or chipped. it would work for other uses/critters than what i have.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.