petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for API MelaFix for Aquariums

API MelaFix for Aquariums

Heals open wounds and abrasionsIdeal for use in both freshwater and saltwaterSafe for reef aquariums and live plantsContains tea tree extract that promotes healingMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
16 out of 18(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for API MelaFix for Aquariums
Review 1 for API MelaFix for Aquariums
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Basic medication

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Powhatan, VA
its a basic med, more relies on a good diet and water changes
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for API MelaFix for Aquariums
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but fogs water

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Florida
I had noticed my platy had fin and tail rot, so I found this product. Overall, after a few days, my platy showed signs of healing. The product has a nice aroma, however, once I started using this product my water quality became slightly foggy, but I don't completely mind it since it's doing the job.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for API MelaFix for Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best product for aggressive fish

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
My 6 month old oscar gets into a lot of trouble sometimes and occasionally loses some skin chasing around our plecostomus. This week he obtained a large gash on the front of his head and I did not know if he would be able to recover fast on his own. I started using melafix one day ago and now the wound is about half the size it originally was. This is a miracle product for fish that get into occasional disagreements with other fish :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for API MelaFix for Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not sure if I trust this product

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from NJ
In short, I purchased this product due to an issue with my clownfish. He was already experiencing trouble breathing and clamped fins. I added this product following exact directions. Within minutes the fish fell to the bottom, now unable to move, even more trouble breathing. The other fish in the tank who was 100% healthy, now also showing trouble breathing. Hiding under live rock and not looking to happy. The sick fish died 1 hour into the product being in the tank. I do not trust this product. Needless to say, I am sure my poor clownfish may not have made it. However, this product clearly had negative effects on a perfectly healthy fish. Who I now have to watch closely.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
1of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for API MelaFix for Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great! :)

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from florida
i was worried because i saw that my two freshwater angles had cloudy eyes and there fins were rotting one of my angles had almost lost all there fins so i looked online and saw that this could help so i went in to my local petco and got this i took it home and poured some in my tank, i have used it for three days now and the cloudy eyes are were gone since the first two hours and i can see improvement in the fins to. the only thing i don''t like is that you have to take out the carbon filter in your tank but it is still a good product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for API MelaFix for Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stuff

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from RI
I love this stuff, it's more of an herbal rather then an actual drug. I have a small bristle nose in my medical tank with my sick Venus chiclid who lost an eye in a recent skuffle. I can't recommend melafix enough 5 paws!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for API MelaFix for Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Tacoma
This is one of the must haves I think every fish owner should keep in his fish medicine cabinet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for API MelaFix for Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So useful!

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
I bought this after reading so many positive reviews, and I have to add mine. I've used this herbal remedy several times in my 33-gallon freshwater aquarium, whenever the fish seem to be swimming oddly or when fins start to look a little shredded. Of course, I do a partial water change first, then take out the carbon, then add the MelaFix. It smells good, which is amazing for any aquarium product. It doesn't cloud the water or turn it a funky color--also amazing. And the fish really seem to respond well in a very short time. I keep a bottle on hand at all times now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for API MelaFix for Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved my Betta

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA
A little while ago, I left my Betta with a friend for a few weeks while I moved and got some things sorted out. They swore to me that they'd do all of the water changes and such, but when I got him back to find he had the worst case of Pop-eye I had ever seen, they admitted they had skipped the last 2 weeks.
I initially used this stuff because it was the only stuff I had lying around, but in hind sight it probably saved his life.
As soon as I got him home I did a 70% water change, lowered the water level from 10 gallons to 5 gallons (he was having a problem getting to the top to breathe), and then followed the dosage instructions on the back of the bottle.
Within 24 hours I noticed a change in my Betta's attitude (he was moving more, eating again, so on), and within 48 Hours the swelling was going away. 7 days of treatment and he was right as rain! I kept up dosages for another week after I did a 40% water change, and then i carried on with normal 25-35% water changes every week.
I now swear by this stuff and have an extra bottle as back up and for friends who might have issues with their fish.
I can't promise that this will save your fish, but I can tell you that it certainly will help to some degree,
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for API MelaFix for Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality Med.

PostedMarch 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Idaho
I used this with Pimafix on one of my Koi that had developed a slight case of Saprolengia fungus. I seperated the infected fish into another tank and after 3 days of treatment, the fungus seamed to be feeding off the Melafix and Pimafix, growing in size and reproducing on other parts of my fish. I did a 75% water change and used a different product that eliminated the fungus with 24 hours. I do not recommend this product as it will cause your fish to loose their appetite and does not kill fungus as fast as other comercially known products.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
1of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for API MelaFix for Aquariums
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Worked

PostedJanuary 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Richmond, VA
I used this in conjunction with Pima Fix and it worked some on my male betta and not at all on my female betta. I guess it depends on the fish and their reaction to the medication.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for API MelaFix for Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA
This product is great if you are adding new fish to your tank. Use it for 3 days. Also, if any of my fish are showing any signs of stress, I start adding it to the water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for API MelaFix for Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Metafix works with Pimafix

PostedOctober 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
I have only used this product in combination with the Pimafix and it works very well. I appreciate the natural ingredients and the safety for the fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for API MelaFix for Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good stuff

PostedAugust 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Huntingdon Vy, PA
This product always work for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for API MelaFix for Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedAugust 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Camarillo
Excellent product for what it is intended for. I would say that if you do not get results from this product, you are most likely dealing with a different diagnosis and should do further research for your fish. NOTE: Healthy fish will respond faster to this (and any) medication. If you have a fish friend that is not responding or healing as fast as others, they may have a more serious underlying weakness. Three words.... "Watch, watch, watch" and inspect them daily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for API MelaFix for Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Glad I found this!

PostedJuly 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Hawaii
My 9yr old clown loaches developed fin rot and this was the best treatment ever! I've lost some fish with other products before and was hesitant using something new. I read about Melafix and how good results most have gotten plus the comments were from fish pros. So I decided to try it and glad I did. It has a strong smell and some slight foaming but after the 7th treatment you do a 20% water change and the water turns back normal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for API MelaFix for Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works

PostedJune 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Florida
I got a bottle of this because my black Mollies were getting cloudy eyes. I medicated them for the seven days like it said and they recovered beautifully. It didn't hurt my tadpoles either. It has a very strong smell but that's to be expected of medicine. I highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for API MelaFix for Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miracle Potion!

PostedNovember 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
I do a lot of research on my pet products before I purchase them, and so I chose this product based on previous reviews when my goldfish started to look a bit on the sickly side. It got so bad, he would sit in a corner of his tank at the bottom and the only indication that he was alive was the fact that he was sitting right-side-up. I gave him a dose of medicine, and by the next morning he was actually swimming around again. Things seemed to take a turn for the worse though... his eyes were filling with blood, he had a sore on his side probably from running into something because he obviously could no longer see, he wasn't eating, and he seemed to have no control of his balance or orientation. I thought for sure I was going to lose him but I kept giving him the medicine- it says for sick fish continue dosage for 7 days. By day 5 there was little improvement, but I didn't give up. And now I'm happy to say after 7 days he is completely normal, he's eating, and his eyes are clearing up. I will continue to reduce his dosage and ween him off until I'm sure he is okay. The cap has no sort of dosage cup, so you either have to get one or eyeball it. But I love this stuff! So for any skeptical users... I thought for sure my fish was at the end of his rope, but he is now healthy and happy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.