petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Potty Patch - As Seen on TV

Potty Patch - As Seen on TV

Indoor potty for dogs to use when they need itPerfect for patios or indoor useEasy to clean indoor dog pottyIdeal for training new puppies
Average Customer Rating:
3.358 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(109 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 109 reviews
5 stars
43
4 stars
19
3 stars
9
2 stars
10
1 star
28
67 out of 109(61%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 49 Answers
Customer Reviews for Potty Patch - As Seen on TV
Review 1 for Potty Patch - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

PostedJanuary 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
it took about 1 day or 2 and now my chihuahua uses it all the time
love it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+66points
109of 152voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Potty Patch - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Potty Patch

PostedJune 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas, NV
I purchased one a while back for a small dog I had - and that is about all it's good for, a very tiny dog. And if you have more than one pup, you're out of luck - because if yours are like mine, they travel together and potty together, so no room for both. I ended up making my own. And as others have mentioned, quality of this one is not so great.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Potty Patch - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fairly Good Potty Training

PostedJune 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Portland, OR
Our chiweenee uses this fairly regularly when no one to take him outside when he needs to go. It does get a bit smelly if not cleaned regularly(I wash it once a week with Dawn, which keeps the smell reduced). It took a little while to get our chiweenie to start using it. We've had him since he was 9 weeks old, and he's now 22 months old. We bought this when he was about 11 weeks old. Suggest buying a spare replacement patch, so you can wash one and let it hang to dry while the other one is on the tray.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Potty Patch - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Functional with regular cleaning

PostedMarch 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis, MO
This product works well as it is intended to do, but I have found that it retains odors terribly. Living in a second floor apartment, I rinse it with water frequently and that helps but it really doesn't stop smelling up my deck until I scrub it with soap and water. If you have a hose, it might clean up easier without the elbow grease, but without one it does take effort to keep it clean and odor-free.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Potty Patch - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Worth the Price

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from La Verne, CA
It is a good idea, but pretty cheesy made. I will keep it and see if the dogs will use it, but would not recommend it to anyone. There are probably better ones out there.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Potty Patch - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works PERFECTLY!

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from El Segundo, CA
My doggie doesn't have the kuxury of a doggie door, so I invested in this in hopes that she would use it (and I wouldn't have to worry if I stayed away from the house too long). She used it as soon as we got it! No more accidents. I put baking soda in the tray to neutralize the urine odor and there is not a pungent smell when she goes. Easy clean up. Hose it off. That's it! BEST doggie prop I have!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Potty Patch - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Happy

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Iowa Park, Tx.
It would be better with a puppy not a grown dog .Wish I had a heads-up before I bought it . My little dog will not even go near it , she still sits and whines at the door or holds it untill she makes herself sick.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
6of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Potty Patch - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

better than puppy pads

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from ATL
A bit small, my 6lb dog sometimes misses the target but functions well when used correctly and better than having puppy pads that need changing every time the dog pees and less unsightly than puppy pads. Training the dog then intending to move the patch out to the balcony.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Potty Patch - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Potty Patch-As Seen on TV

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Great product but if you live in A Windy City like Chicago make sure you place bricks or large stones on the green turf because one night the wind gusts took the grass right off of our 32nd story balcony!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Potty Patch - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Potty patch

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Boston, ma
This was recommended to me by a Freind and I'm surprised the quality is not better. Surprisingly my 4 lb dachshund has no trouble using the patch. I'm interested to see how sustainable the patch will be over time. I do appreciate that replacement parts are available but hopefully these items are not needed frequently:
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Potty Patch - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for small places

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco, CA
Easy to clean, great for our small apartment. It took a few days for the dog to utilize it, but we actually put her on the leash and walked her on the pad so she knows it was okay. Because we have wood floors, I had to put a towel underneath it from slipping around. But overall, light, durable and a great alternative to paper pads which can be costly and messy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
12of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Potty Patch - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not functional

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
This comes with 2 bases, so if the urine is in the middle, it leaks to the floor. Also, the turf does not have the correct drainage, so the urine can pool at the top and the dog will obviously not want to go there again. It is not functional to carry outside and clean since the turf is in 1 piece and the base is in 3 pieces (2 bases and 1 small connector).
I did use another patch that comes with 1 base and has drainage that was useful.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
13of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Potty Patch - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This thing works!

PostedJune 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lomita, CA
It took about 2 weeks of training, but now my dog uses it independently. I live in a townhouse. I don't have a backyard, only a balcony/patio. My dog uses her dog door to go in/out to use the potty patch independently. It is a life safer!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Potty Patch - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent product, bit cheaply made

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, NY
I ordered this and it shipped in its commercial display packaging. That was a mistake. One edge of it was cracked. It still works, but I didn't notice until after putting it to use, and you can't really return it after the dog's done his business.
Our dog has taken to it pretty well, and should make it easier in the winter to not have to go for a walk in the snow. The grass pieces do come out but they're non toxic. Even if I have to replace the grass once a year, it's a good deal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Potty Patch - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not Bad

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Vermont
I have an elderly chihuahua who sleeps in a giant crate at night and when we're not home. I used to put disposable pads in the back half of the crate, but I decided to give this a try. The first few nights, she peed on her blanket and avoided the Potty Patch, but after a few days she got the hang of it. The Patch is a little awkward to carry to the bathroom to dump the urine out in the toilet (I feel like it's going to tip and spill), but that's really the only downside. I think this will save $ in the long-run, and it keeps odor down too because I don't have used pads in my trash.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Potty Patch - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love This Item

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Alabama
I bought the small one at a local Petco store and my puppy uses it all the time. I wash it out in the shower since we keep it in our master bathroom. Lucy went right to it immediately. She will be 24 pounds when grown so I just ordered the larger one to replace the smaller one. On a cold and wet day or night, this potty pad is better than sliced bread. I highly recommend it to everyone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
22of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Potty Patch - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

potty patch

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from marlborough
I have nine puppy and i love the potty patch they all seem to go on it. and save me so much money you will love it to.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Potty Patch - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

potty patch

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from chicago
I have a small dog and cannot go outside much in very cold weather. I put near front door on ceramic tile and she uses it with no problem. I started by putting things on it that she sniffed at while outdoors earlier in the season. (I recommend) Easy to clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Potty Patch - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great use!

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Irvine, CA
I was at Petco to buy Potty Pads for my 2 dogs but then I saw this right next to the pads. At first I was hesitant to buy it cause its not cheap but WOW! No more carpet stains, paper towels, spray bottles and cleaning everyday! First 5 hours they were not sure what to do but after they had to go so they did right on top of the grass. It takes time but worth the wait! It is better to put a used (peed) pad on top of the grass for them to know what to do and where.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Potty Patch - As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

:(

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
We bought our puppy (shih tzu) this potty patch for winter time and she will not use it. We try to take her on it but she prefers the grass or snow. I wouldn't buy it if you are going to place it outside like we did. I think it is meant for the inside for dogs who cannot go outside. :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>