petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for The Pet Loo Indoor Yard Training System for Dogs & Cats

The Pet Loo Indoor Yard Training System for Dogs & Cats

The Pet Loo is your backyard potty in a boxIndoor lawn toilet will contain your pet's waste in one designated area and will ensure peace of mindConvenient, simple and an environmentally friendly way to allow your pet to potty without relying on youHygienic catchment tray is easily removed and waste can be poured down the toilet with no spillagePet Loo Wee Care cleaner (sold separately) is specifically designed to easily sanitize synthetic grassIdeal for apartments, townhouses, nursing homes, cold climates, grass free yards and more
Average Customer Rating:
3.45 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
3
13 out of 20(65%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Pet Loo Indoor Yard Training System for Dogs & Cats
Review 1 for The Pet Loo Indoor Yard Training System for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It work

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Long Island NY
I made the right choice first i wasn't sure about the product because the size of my dog she is a beautiful 1 year 6 months old lab and she love it and my lawn is getting beautiful and clean since petco delivered, we use it out door for summer and indoor for winter and rainy days, easy to clean just flush it in the toilet, I personally wash the potty porch twice a week so we can use it indoor.It work
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Pet Loo Indoor Yard Training System for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta
I put this on my balcony for my dogs due to a move to an apartment. They seem to like it however are not used to it yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Pet Loo Indoor Yard Training System for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great concept but major misstep

PostedMay 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from LV, NV
I have used items like the Pet Park but never easy to drain. Went through about 5 after carpet wore down and saw this product. To just be able to pull out a little drawer and pour out seemed like a dream.
The biggest issue is that, as the dog steps on, the carpet slides off. I tried the comment suggestion "purchase velcro circles" to hold in place. The adhesive just pulls up because of the smooth surface. I finally decided to buy a glue gun and just glue it in place. First attempt using glue in just the corners failed (the platform isn't a level surface, so a dog standing on it makes the corners pull inward.) Our final solution was to run the glue around the outer edge of the carpet.
We will need to remove and re-glue the carpet every so often but it is better than kissing the $170 we paid for the large one goodbye. I could see a few ways to redesign how it is held down and possibly create a deeper liquid trench while preserving a flat grated standing surface. But overall, this product is only functional if you are prepared to make adjustments to make it work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Pet Loo Indoor Yard Training System for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

smelly grass

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
from los Angeles
smells bad, my baby is smart and trained fast, but grass slips off unit. scary for her at first. But mostly disappointed about smell, my whole house began to smell of dog's urine.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Pet Loo Indoor Yard Training System for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Life Saver

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Fayetteville NC
I baught this for my Chihuahua Whippet mix and its a lifesaver! We live on the 2nd floor apartment with my 2 year old little girl. This makes it so nice to be able to let him onto the balcony to potty during the day (as we go for walks in the evening). Not to mention its PERFECT for day errands and overnight trips when he has to stay home.
It does take some training! The pups aren't going to go for it right away as it is different. However with training, patience, and diligence it will be the best purchase!
The only reason I gave 4 rather than 5 stars is because the plastic it's made of could be just a touch stronger and it would be nice if the top could somehow lock to the base. That's just a matter of convieniance rather than function though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Pet Loo Indoor Yard Training System for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Convinient

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Chicago
I just washed this for the first time, not the weekly wash. Since my puppy just started using it today. And no spills, no leaks, it's amazing! I can't wait for my pup to keep on using this!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Pet Loo Indoor Yard Training System for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Is my sheltie too old?

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Kansas City, MO
My 9-year old sheltie hates it, won't have anything to do with it. I'm still trying to train her because we're moving soon and need for her to learn to use the Pet Loo. She's usually pretty smart and loves to be rewarded with treats. She will potty on command outside most of the time but not on the Pet Loo. Any suggestions?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
32of 57voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Pet Loo Indoor Yard Training System for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My dog refused to use this.

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Laguna Niguel, CA
My dog would not use this because it was too high (6 inches). I could not get her to step up onto it. She is a 10 lb malti poo. Has been used to using a pad that is flat on the ground.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
20of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Pet Loo Indoor Yard Training System for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Like the idea of the Pet Loo

PostedApril 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I was really looking forward to receiving this product as I live on the 4th floor of an apartment building and it gets old going up and down the stairs to take my young dog out, especially at night when I'm in my pajamas.
I was disappointed that the grass did not stay or is not attached to the pet loo base, it's just loose which my dog takes as an opportunity to take if off and try to chew on.
He has used 3 times but not enough to make my life any easier and hasn't really taken to it, but I think it's more of a training issue, but when he's on it he just wants to scratch it and chew on it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+24points
29of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Pet Loo Indoor Yard Training System for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

pet loo

PostedMay 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
I found the pet loo convienient and a good environmently safe and friendly tool. I have 2 puppies and they both took to it right away. The only complaint is that it does smell of urine after a short time. I am not sure if that is because I have 2 dogs soiling it at the sametime. I followed the directions to wash with warm water every night. What I have been doing is spraying off the grass portion every other day and washing the plastic part. Also I placed some baking soda underneath and used a small plastic trash liner with some kitty litter to get rid of some of the smell. If anyone else has any suggestions how I could reduce the smell it would be most appreciated cause the device itself is awesome.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+30points
30of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Pet Loo Indoor Yard Training System for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Idea, Poor Execution

PostedMay 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
The initial concept of this product is excellent, but the actual design needs some alterations.
My two small dogs did very well in learning how to use this and it was relatively easy to train them. The problem was that after they began to use it, the grassy portion would stay wet with urine, even after just 1 days' use. When I would rinse it off with water, it still wouldn't drain correctly, and my dogs didn't want to use it because their feet would be soaked. Even worse, when they would use it, they would track water/urine all over the house. In addition, this grass seems to maintain an odor. No matter how much I rinsed it, sprayed it down, or cleaned it, it continued to smell. Also, it would take forever to dry (also, the only way to rinse it off during the winter months is to wash it in the shower, which is very unsanitary).
Altogether, this product needs to be altered so that it can drain better, and needs to be treated with an antimicrobial agent so it doesn't stink or stay wet.
If you don't mind those few issues, it would be a good fit...otherwise, I wouldn't buy it again. I ended up returning it to the store--and thankfully, Petco made it a very easy return.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Pet Loo Indoor Yard Training System for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet Loo

PostedMay 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
this is really a great product. We initially bought a much cheaper product that didn't do well. The construction of this product is much better and much easier to clean. You get what you pay for!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Pet Loo Indoor Yard Training System for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

great xcept smell

PostedMay 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
This is a great money saving device - i have two small dogs that use urine pads while I am at work during the day - not buying those saves $ 50 per month -the only problem I seem to be having is the smell - we empty the urine cup everyday - and the smell is terrible - we deoderize as recommended - but I need to figure out how to make this work - one of my dogs took to it right away - the other needed a bit of training - overall good design
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Pet Loo Indoor Yard Training System for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

a big waste of money

PostedMarch 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Portland, Oregon
I purchased the pet loo and an extra green pad so I could keep up with keeping the pet loo clean and free of odor. I tried everything. I scrubbed it top and back, scrubbed the pan the green things sit on, and aired it all out, on the deck outdoors. My husband even took the pads to the carwash and cleaned them with hot water and soap and a spray washer. After letting them completely dry, I placed one on the pan, and it still stunk! I used the sprays that are recommended to use to keep the mat odor free, but nothing worked; Not soap and water, baking soda, ammonia, or bleach on the pan. My dog weighs only 13 pounds, and the loo was the largest one sold. I would have thought it would accomodate the amount of waste a small dog would generate. I wasted nearly $200. I wouldn't take one now if it were given to me. I ended up tossing the entire system in the garbage can when the house began stinking of dog urine and feces.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
16of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Pet Loo Indoor Yard Training System for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm buying a second one for "Grandma's House"

PostedFebruary 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Laurel, MD
Although Blanca resisted using the Pet Loo for over a week, this was the best purchase ever. My Blanca is very particular about where she relieves herself and when she does it must be grass. I ordered training sod from another site but I didn't get it until after she started going on the artificial grass that comes with the Pet Loo. If your dog is already trained to go on grass, you should buy training sod and then switch to the artificial grass.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Pet Loo Indoor Yard Training System for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Was doubtful ,but now extremely pleased!

PostedFebruary 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Sellersburg, IN
Bought this for my new Westie puppy because of all the snow outside with the hopes that it would solve the problem of letting him out to do his business. In only his 2nd day he has got the hang of it and is already consistently using his "toilet". There may be accidents down the road at times but this product has been great. Would recommend the replacement grass...that's what I'm ordering now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Pet Loo Indoor Yard Training System for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Pet Loo is loser

PostedFebruary 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
There are no directions on how to get my dog interested in trying the Loo. He is scared to death when I place him on the grass and request his cooperation. The plastic container slides on the floor if the dog tries to get on. It needs something on the bottom to prevent sliding and some directions on how to get my dog interested. I am ready to give up on house training and return the LOO.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Pet Loo Indoor Yard Training System for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet Loo 33" x 33"

PostedDecember 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Florida
We use on our covered, screened in porch. Works great, our Coton took to it quickly. Alllows us to avoid taking the dog out in the rain. Easy to clean. Get extra grass to let one dry while using the other. Our dog is small and I wouldn't go smaller than the 33"x33".
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Pet Loo Indoor Yard Training System for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely wonderful!

PostedDecember 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
from northern Utah
My dogs love using the Pet Loo now even though they were used to using washable piddle pads. I just got tired of always washing them and with 5 Havanese (I have the original size Pet Loo), that got to be a bit much! Even the puppies use it as soon as they are able to climb up onto it. My dogs use doggy doors to go outside, but sometimes I don't want them to go out there when the grass is wet or covered with snow, so I have the Pet Loo on my covered deck off of my kitchen. They go out the doggy door and use it more than they will go downstairs to go outside. Training them to use it was a cinch. I just put a piddle pad on it at first and once they started getting on the Pet Loo to use that piddle pad, I moved it over and exposed the synthetic grass. Once one missed the piddle pad, the others used the same spot. It is so convenient--no more washing piddle pads for hours (we couldn't use the disposable ones because Havanese are paper shredding machines). I recommend it to everyone. So much better than using a litter box!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Pet Loo Indoor Yard Training System for Dogs & Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet Loo

PostedDecember 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Newport Beach, CA
The Pet Loo saved my carpet and lots of clean up. The only challenge I faced was stopping the dog from grabbing the fake sod and trying to tear it apart. It would be nice if there was some way to fasten the grass down. Otherwise very helpful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.