petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Canned Cat Food

Blue Buffalo Wilderness Canned Cat Food

High-protein formula inspired by wild cat dietsMade with natural ingredients your cat will love95% of the protein comes from real meatGrain-free canned cat foodBlue Buffalo cat food contains no poultry by-product meals, artificial preservatives, corn, wheat, or soy
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
24 out of 30(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Canned Cat Food
Review 1 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats love it,I'm happy

PostedAugust 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Adelanto,Ca
I got two cases, one chicken and one turkey, and they were delivered quickly. I took my cats off the gluten filled food and started feeding them Blue about two years ago and they've been thriving ever since. One of my guys had chronic runs for almost three years and nothing helped until I got him off that gluten stuff and on to Blue. He's ten and acts like a nutty kitten now. I give each cat about a tablespoon of food in the morning and they have stabilized their weight, too. They get a measured amount of the Blue dry food in the evening. Their coats look super glossy and they seem to be healthy. I'm sticking with the Blue!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blue Buffalo

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Nebraska
This cat food is great. I have a bengal and she has a very sensitive stomach. The ingredients are very healthy for cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My cat loves it

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn NY
My cat loves the chicken flavor and will scream bloody murder until he gets some. He gets about a big table spoon once or twice a day as a treat. Some of the others like turkey and salmon, not so much. He'll eat it eventually but will wait to see if something better is coming first. Also with some of the other flavors he throws up sometimes. Its to expensive to buy here on the website, I buy it in the store only when it's on sale.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Product is great if you buy it at the store

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
Product I the store is fresh and healthy and my cats love it
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cats LOVE this cat food!

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Nevada
They really eat it up!!!! they wait for me in the morning and wake me up to get their breakfast of Blue Buffalo Salmon! They like the smaller cans better than the larger ones...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nutritious

PostedJune 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from nc
My cats love it. it actually saved my older cat from withering away.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from miami beach
my cat is very finicky and she loves this food I'm very glad I found the right one!
most important is grain free and my baby 's coat is even healthier now that she is eating Blue.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Difference in can sizes, but 3oz is approved

PostedJune 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Berkeley, CA
For some reason, the 5.5oz size of the chicken is drastically different from the 3oz can of chicken. The larger is gummy & sticky, and my cats don't like it. The 3oz, however, is a great texture and my cats gobble it up. (I did a side-by-side comparison - the 5.5oz cans were untouched while there was nothing left in the 3oz can bowls.) I have no idea why they're different - QC needs to check on this - but I'd recommend the 3oz one. Sadly, of course, it's more expensive to buy 2- 3oz than 1 5.5oz, so hopefully they will fix this soon.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Cats LOVE it !

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Apopka, FL
Blue Buffalo Wilderness wet food has the BEST smell of any cat food I have ever used. Better food with quality ingredients makes a big difference ! My cats love the taste and eat less than other wet foods. I am a true Blue Believer !
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My sensitive stomach kitty loves it

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Allentown, PA
I admit I was a bit skeptical but my 17 year old man with a very sensitive tummy seems to do very well on this food. He eats VERy well (pushes his sister out of the way a lot) and seems to keep it down (a joy to me)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent for IBD cats, poor quality assurance

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from D.C.
My cat was diagnosed with IBD a year ago and I've gone through different brands that offered novel meat proteins--duck, rabbit, etc. When her symptoms returned the very helpful Petco store manager guessed that pea protein now increased by manufacturers in dog and cat good may be the culprit. We found Blue Buffalo wilderness canned had no peas and my cat is stable again. The only problem is that after a pack of cans I ordered online is delivered, I have to weed out the cans that are so dented that seal integrity and safety are a concern. Unclear who is responsible (manufacturer, Petco, delivery) but even excellent food is no good if the packaging is compromised, so 4/5 points.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Healthy

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Jesup, IA
The oldest cat gets 2 types... one is chicken and the other turkey. It is alternated during the week and gets each flavor once a week.
About 40% more in cost, but it is good to give him a no-grain meal more often.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Cat

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Walpole, MA
When my cat got older she became diabetic and lost weight. I was told to change her diet to a more healther brand of cat food. I tried Blue Buffalo Wilderness Cat Food after a friends recommendation. It has no cornmeal, by products or fillers, no artificial flavors. My cat loves it and she is now so much more healthier and active then before.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats didn't like

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from House of 9 cats
This is a excellent nutritionally sound food but my cats did not like it. I recomment buying a few to try as it is expensive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cats didn't like it

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
My cats didn't like this particular canned cat food however they liked the Blue Buffalo grain free dry food so not sure why... but cats can be finicky!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

They love it!

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Arizona
As a breeder of Abyssinian cats this is the only food I use for my cats. Their skin and coats are beautiful. So nice to have it fully digested and avoid the "presents" on the carpet from upset tummies!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good for sensitive stomachs

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Coronado, CA
This food has worked for a cat with frequent hairball emesis and lackluster hair growth. I add a spoon of baby food squash to this wet food and it made a world of difference. She eagerly eats the food and the shine and fullness of her coat has returned. The best part, I haven't had to clean up a hairball since.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for cats with sensitivities

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Alabama
My precious maine coon named Meatloaf developed sudden severe symptoms a couple years ago.
The vet diagnosed her with miliadermatitis, which is an allergy that causes skin rashes, skin lesions, and loss of hair.
However, I was unable to afford the testing to narrow down the exact cause of allergy. ($300+)
So she began getting steroid shots to reduce her symptoms, but after 2 years of doing this, she has gained a resistance.
Recently, she became so incredibly ill that we sincerely thought she was going to die, or that we were going to have to put her down. I began to research her symptoms, and I read on blue buffalo's website about food allergies. She had every single symptom of severe food allergy.
After MUCH trial and error and a couple hundred bucks for vet bills and prescription foods, we have decided her allergy is GRAIN of some sort.
So I began buying her blue buffalo grain free (wilderness, indoor, and kitten) canned and dry food.
She has completely transformed into a beautiful, healthy, happy cat. No more rashes, no more scratching til she bleeds, no more vomiting nor diarrhea!!!!! Her hair isn't falling out, she has stopped urinating all over the house. This food probably saved her life.
She now eats blue buffalo canned food along with her prescription z/d food.
I would like to state that her least favorite flavor is turkey. She will NOT eat any of the turkey flavored foods.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Better than cheap brand products

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
Warning: I'm a crazy ingredient-freak. My fussy cat quite liked this however I only purchased once as a few of the ingredients did not appeal to me. Dicalcium Phosphate (seriously?), Potatoes (cheap carb filler) and Carrageenan (controversial thickening agent). I hear Turkey is a water-y meat too, and not protein rich enough even as a main meat, but the broth kinda makes up for it. Most pet-parents buying food this price should not be worrying about ingredients.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food, but high in fat

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from St Louis, MO
I like this product because it's grain free and has no by-products. It will give your cat a glossy coat that doesn't shed as much.
However, it has too much fat for my overweight cat, so I had to switch to a different grain-free brand. I do recommend Wilderness for cats that are a healthy weight.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>