petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmers

Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmers

Dual application system: hang-on tank mount or sump hook-up installationIncludes needle wheel pump with air inlet silencerHigh-grade acrylic construction with easy-twist collection cup for quick and effortless cleaningBubble-production diffuser filters and prevents the flow of micro-bubbles from the protein skimmer into the aquariumIncludes everything you need, no additional equipment required
Average Customer Rating:
4.56 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
23 out of 25(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmers
Review 1 for Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedMay 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Roach
from FL
Works like a charm. Collects tons of fish waste. Very satisfies
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Skimmer

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
reefrider
from Gainesville, Georgia
Excellent skimmer. The break in process is very important. After 3-4 days it will settle down. Micro bubbles will decrease greatly from out put. Works best when intake pump is 2-3 inches from top of water. I installed mine in the sump. I love the drain plug on collection cup!! Just attach tubing and run to a milk jug with no fear of overflowing. Directions could of been a little more clear on certain things like water levels for sump etc. Overall best skimmer for the money. Skims like a champ in my 40 gallon breeder mixed reef with 20 gallon sump/refugium.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Coralife Super Skimmer

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Seattle2013
from Seattle, WA
Great deal! I will shop again and look for bargains.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Pretty Good

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dizzymman
from Southern California
Was kinda confusing to put together because the directions are for a different model or perhaps same model but just older one. Other than that works OK. Just give it time to break in and start working with your water chemistry. Follow the steps to break in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
reefteaser
from Singer Island, FL
Never used a protein skimmer before, but this one was easy to set up and started pulling nasty brown stuff out of the water in a few hours. I was dissappointed when I opened the box because my pump was broken, but one phone call to the manufacturer's support line and a new pump was on the way. I got it four days later. Had a problem with a circulation pump from these folks before and had the same, no hassle replacement. Set the pump up at 4 inches under the water line as the tech reccomended and it worked terrific!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Coralife Super Skimmer

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
MiamiBeach
from South Beach
I have been using this skimmer for years! I LOVE IT!
I Highly recommend this skimmer for any level of fish keeping.
I have a 300 gallon predator tank with a 2 ft Shark, 5 LARGE Angels, Puffers, Clowns & Many Large Tangs & Triggers.
Replacement pumps can be found online sold separately.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Coralife Super Skimmer

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
TriBarr
from St. Louis
I ordered the skimmer off of the other recommendations on the site. It performed exactly as others indicated. After about a 3-4 day break in time the skimmer started kicking out the product. I would recommend especially for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to setup/ very efficient and quiet

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
reeferman
from Boston MA
I received the coralife super skimmer via fedex within 3 day of purchase. Very easy to set up and i was shocked that the skimmer is quieter than my filters so you dont even know its there. Began collecting within hours and collection cup was full within a week or so.My water has never looked better!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great skimmer

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
jrhnd
from north dakota
Once I figured out how to use it, it works with no problems. The instructions are very vague and I had to find videos to see what it is suppose to do but all turned out well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Made to be

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
eddieg12
from Huntington park, Ca
I am new to a reef tank, for the last 4 monthes i have been reviewing all those differnt protein skimmers,as soon that I saw the Coralife skimmer I knew it was ment to be, this product is amazing, very easy to set up, in less than 1 hour it was set up and running, if you could only see my fishes and corals with a big smile, they are really loving it. Thank you for having great products.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

quality product great waranty

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fish2much
from Lee's Summit, MO
This skimer runs quiet, no leaks, no way to overflow like other similar products. Great customer service as one part came broken and was quickly replaced in 2 days by the manifacturer. It does produce micro bubbles into the water even with the new deflector cup part. This still causes some cloudy water quality. Overall it is much better than other skimmers I have used.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Coralife Super Skimmer

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Niknok
from Honolulu, HI
I bought this Coralife Super Skimmer with pump at Petco website when they had a sale for my 55 gallon saltwater fish tank. This skimmer is expensive that's why I had to wait when they got the special sale but worth the money because this skimmer works. I used it on my bottom sump tank with a wet/dry refugium filter. This skimmer will removed dissolved organic compounds from aquarium water and you'll have to empty the collection cup once in a while to avoid it from over flowing. I will definitely recommend this product because of high performance and good quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Skimmer!!

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fishie1234
from Carbondale, IL
I purchased this skimmer from petco.com, and received it in about three days from checkout. Upon receiving the skimmer, I assembled it out of the box. Assembly was a breeze with detailed manufacturer instructions. I then placed the skimmer onto my aquarium and powered it on. After setting the water level to the appropriate height using the control knob on the skimmer, I let it go to work. In past experiences, it took a couple days of break in time to get a worthwhile skimmate produced. However, I was tremendously pleased that within an hour the Coralife was producing a good foam. Within a day it was creating a dark, thick skimmate that is indicative of a properly functioning skimmer. This skimmer is by far one of the best on the market, especially for the price. You won't be disappointed!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good product

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Manuel732
from Belleville,NJ
I have this skimmer on my 75 gallon
Tank and it does a fantastic job ..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great skimmer

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
country
from Brooklyn new york
This skimmer is one of the best, if not the best on the market. Consider it an investment for your aquarium. Its easy to set up and works beautifully and quietly..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmers
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Buy a different skimmer

PostedMay 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fishman2
from Appleton, WI
This is the fourth skimmer (1 Seaclone, 2 Prizm's)I've purchased and by far the worst. I just set up a 125 gal. tank and purchesed the Coralife 125G. The instructions while simplistict are for an ealier model and leave out any reference to the Venturi Air-Inlet. This is easily rectified by examing the picture on the box. The big problem is the skimmer leaks from the water level adjustment Dial. While this leak is only drops after a day or two there's half a gallon of water on my floor. I thought I had this stopped twice it comes back within an hour. The only good thing is the skimmer runs quite. I'm going to seek a replacement to see if that one is leak free, will up date at that time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Big and Bulky

PostedApril 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
DinChicago
from Chicago, IL
This is an excellent protein skimmer if you have a large tank or a sump system. I tried using it on a 37G tank. The problem is, the glass tank has a plastic support half way across the tank, to hold the front and back together when full. By the time you add a HOT filter, UV filter, external filter intake/output and heater, there is not much space for the Corallife's intake and return. The pump's control valve is in the water so it's hard to turn to adjust the skimmer. I would give this skimmer a 5/5 for large tanks but it does not integrate well into smaller tanks.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
SaltyBoy
from NJ
Lots of micro-bubbles at first, that's OK. After 2 weeks of "breaking in" skimming wet and dry. Brown ugly gook is being removed from my reef tank every day. LOVE this item, 65G. Coralife also VERY helpful to assist you with any questions. Well made. Durable. LET IT BREAK IN, you will see and smell the results!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Got a monkey wrench

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
jjamontan
from QueenCreek
This Skimmer works well, took about three days to break in and stop all if the micro bubbles, just like other reviews have said. The only problem I have seen so far is that to remove the collection cup to clean it out you have got to use some serious force.
After cleaning out the cup and putting the cup back on you have got to tighten with some extreme force again or it will leak all over your floor. And every time I go to take it off for cleaning (every other day) I wish I had a monkey wrench big enough to make the job easy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does a great job!

PostedMarch 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Juney
from Pt Pleasant, New Jersey
I have it on a 24 gal Nano Cube, a little big for this tank but does a great job.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>