petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for VIP Products Tuffy's Red Paw Ring Dog Toy

VIP Products Tuffy's Red Paw Ring Dog Toy

Extremely tuff each toy has seven rows of stitching and four layers of materialSoft edges won't hurt gumsFloats for added funGreat for interactive play with one or multiple dogsMachine washable for longstanding use
Average Customer Rating:
2.895 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
9
10 out of 19(53%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for VIP Products Tuffy's Red Paw Ring Dog Toy
Review 1 for VIP Products Tuffy's Red Paw Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Falls apart :(

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
dogmomma18
from Durham, NC
My 1.5 yr old German shepherd/beagle mix got through this toy within 20 minutes of having it :( Definitely not worth it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for VIP Products Tuffy's Red Paw Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth trying

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Silina
from Long Island, NY
I have 7 month old beagle/french bulldog. He tore this toy apart in a matter of days. He found a part in the seam which wasn't reinforced and took it from there. Once he had the stitching ripped it was only a matter of a day before the toy was completely destroyed. Still looking for a toy he can chew on but not tear apart.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for VIP Products Tuffy's Red Paw Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth it

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
LauraR67
from Cincinnati,OH
I have a 5 year old Lab who has chewed through every cheap toy I have ever bought him. I thought I would "splurge" on a $15 toy rated a "9" in toughness. He chewed through to the stuffing within 15 minutes. The label says once they reach the white stuffing to throw the toy away.
I realise it's.not supposed to be a "chew toy" but he loved it so much. I have given him giant rawhide bones and nylabones and he doesn't like them. He likes squeaky toys. I guess he just can't have them.
Very disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for VIP Products Tuffy's Red Paw Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT for HEAVY CHEWERS

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
tlhg
from VA
My 11-month-old Golden Retriever destroyed it within 24 hours. A lot of money for little return. Would not recommend!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for VIP Products Tuffy's Red Paw Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Durable Material, but Big Weakness: The Seam

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
GoldenDreams
from virginia
The fabric and outer edge are very durable, but my dog found the weakness of this toy in just 7 minutes: the outer seam where the end is sewn down isn't reinforced well, and once she found it, it didn't take long for her to pull the edging off. Didn't live up to the "tough" name.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for VIP Products Tuffy's Red Paw Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this toy

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
guidedogmom
from Granada Hills, CA
My lab and Golden are very tough on toys but this one is the best I have found for them. Holds up to many hours of playing tug.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for VIP Products Tuffy's Red Paw Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

VIP Products Tuffy's Red Paw Ring Dog Toy

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
ShibaInus
from Prescott, Arizona
Best soft dog toys made. This is the second of this brand that I have purchased and I have ordered a third in the line offered. The toys last and last with no sign of wear and my dog just loves them more than any other toy. Easy to clean, very well made, top quality. I highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for VIP Products Tuffy's Red Paw Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good For PitBull...

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
JillyBean89
I bought this for my Pitbull when I realized she was a chewer/ripper on her toys. It lasted for a long time and it helped me to make the decision to buy more Tuffy's brand. These are really durable and if taken away, the toy can't be worn out faster.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for VIP Products Tuffy's Red Paw Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great if your dog is not a power chewer

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
3dogs1house
from Powder Springs, GA
I have 2 lab mixes who are power chewers. One of them cannot play with plastic toys so I bought this for him hoping he would not easily destroy it. It took him 2 days to make a hole large enough to pull out the stuffing. He still playes with this toy but I'm sure eventually he will eat enough holes into that it won't be recognizable. I expected a bit more durability based on the packaging.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for VIP Products Tuffy's Red Paw Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not as Advertised

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
jmyren
from Euless, TX
I bought this toy for my 7mth old American Bulldog since it claimed to be indestructible. No joke, within 5 minutes of giving it to her she had the seams ripped out and stuffing everywhere. The so called "7 layers of stitching" was no match for my puppy. Very disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for VIP Products Tuffy's Red Paw Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best soft toy I've found!

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
DivineMoments
from The Coast of NJ
My Border Collie/Sheltie mix has destroyed every soft toy I've given him in 5 minutes flat. This toy has lasted all day! He did manage to fringe three small areas of the trim, but that's not bad at all.. He hasn't been able to eat it or rip it! Finally, a soft toy I don't have to watch him like a hawk with. It's amazingly tough! (Doing the Snoopy Dance!)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for VIP Products Tuffy's Red Paw Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

To Good To Be True

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
LuvMy4LeggedChild
After reading the reviews for this toy I was pretty excited to find another toy for my Am Staff that would be very durable since he chews all his toys, but yet has his favorites. Two days into playing with his new Tuffy Toy that he received for Christmas, it ripped way to easily and all the white stuffing came out. I do not recommend this toy for it is not as good quality as it states.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for VIP Products Tuffy's Red Paw Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No match for my pup.

PostedNovember 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
luvmyrescue
from Lapeer, Michigan
After reading the reviews and speaking with a sales associate, I thought this would be a great toy for my 6 month old pup. She went through the seven layers of stitching less than 24 hours. We will not be buying any more Tuffy toys.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for VIP Products Tuffy's Red Paw Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
cleone
from cambridge MA
I have a Yorkie who has chewed through every single toy (including Kong products) that I have bought in the last 3 years except this one. At first I was disappointed in this toy because it is very light weight & difficult to throw far in a traditional frisbee fashion. But then I discovered I could wet it down & it would fly much further and even better it is tons of fun to roll it on edge(feels a little like bowling). My dog loves chasing it on the run & snatching it before it falls!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for VIP Products Tuffy's Red Paw Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pleasently surprised

PostedJune 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
LuvMyLabz
from Farmington,ME
This is the first plush toy that our 2 labs have yet to destroy. They love playing tug-of-war with it. Its so hard to find good quality toys that can handle tough chewers. Will definatly purchase from this line of toys again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for VIP Products Tuffy's Red Paw Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lasts longer than most

PostedMarch 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
YJourney
from Oak Harbor, WA
My dog goes through chew toys really quickly- within hours. But this ring seemed a little more durable and, sure enough, it is. It's my dogs favorite toy and we've had it for over 6 months. Granted, it's not in pristeen condition anymore, but it's sewn so that even if the dog gets the stuffing out of part of it, the rest is still in tact.
It's great for tugging and throwing. You can also wash it easily and it can float in the water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for VIP Products Tuffy's Red Paw Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love tuffy toys

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
tuffys
I have heavy chewers and these toys last the longest!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for VIP Products Tuffy's Red Paw Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best I've found

PostedNovember 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
andreastu
from Columbus, OH
My two new dogs had gone through a 25 year accumulation of dog toys in a couple months, They destroyed everything they got ahold of. One is a two year old beagle, the other is a one year old beagle/jack russell mix. Both are rescues and super chewers. I found these red paw ring toys and thought I'd give them a try. Over six months later and both of the rings are still fine! It's a miracle. I did try the football shaped toy from this same product line and it only lasted a few days, but these rings are truly tough.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for VIP Products Tuffy's Red Paw Ring Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do Not Recommend

PostedAugust 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
2LabsMom
Both of my 3 year old Labs had this toy destroyed in less than 24 hours - stuffing and squeeker strewn across the back lawn. I was supervising both dogs at the time, but after the third bout of tug-o-war, I heard the rip!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.