petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Ferret Collar with Bell

Petco Ferret Collar with Bell

Adjustable collar fits any ferret comfortablySoft yet durable nylon web constuctionAssorted colors each with matching bell
Average Customer Rating:
3.783 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
2
18 out of 23(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Ferret Collar with Bell
Review 1 for Petco Ferret Collar with Bell
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedJanuary 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
PaulieBoy
from San Francisco, CA
I have 3 ferrets. Got three collars, one guy is older than the other two. The young ones removed the collars and hid them. The older one is still wearing his. I'm getting two more. When they're bigger, hopefully they won't be able to take them off.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Ferret Collar with Bell
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ok for a short amount of time

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
suka92
i bought this because i let my ferret roam the house and i needed a way to find her and the collar was amazing for a while but within a month she scratched the nylon and made it to tight even at its loosest setting so i have to get a new one about once a month
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Ferret Collar with Bell
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

waste of effort and money

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
BarkingWesties
from TX
My female ferret was out of this collar less than five minutes after I put it on her...enough said.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Ferret Collar with Bell
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works for young kittens too

PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sugaholic
Yeah, it's a Ferret collar, but I was in a bind and couldn't find a small enough collar for a one month old kitten. Saw this at the store and grabbed it, and it worked fairly well for a month and a half, but she ended up scratching at it and screwing up the nylon so that it got really tight. And by now she's big enough to use a real kitten collar.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Ferret Collar with Bell
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wont stay on

PostedSeptember 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
doglover919
from St. George, UT
When I put these on my ferrets they stay on for all of 5 seconds before they are able to wiggle out of them.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Ferret Collar with Bell
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

OK

PostedSeptember 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
VRGUAYARA
from W Babylon, NY
i LIKED THE COLLAR THE BAD THING IS YOU CANT CHOOSE THE COLOR AND MY FERRET IS ABLE TO TAKE IT OFF EVENTUALLY. BUT ITS GOOD FOR WHEN I LEAVE HIM LOOSE SO I KNOW WERE HE IS.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Ferret Collar with Bell
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good quality but ferret easily took it off.

PostedJune 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Merrie
It can adjust to a very small size which I find very important because the last collar I had didn't do that. But the thing with my ferret is that she slips it off the first 30 seconds and now it's lost. JUST LIKE THE LAST ONE.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Ferret Collar with Bell
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality collar!

PostedJanuary 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
angeltod
I've been familiar with ferrets for over 15 years and have seen some very sad instances of lost or hurt fuzzies when humans aren't so aware. My crew is only allowed loose in a large secured room (no free-reign as I have children as well who don't understand the consequences yet of what could happen). When in their room they do not have to wear the collars, however, if they leave for any reason on go the collars - they have come to learn (quickly too!) that that jingly sound means going bye-bye! (see pic of one of my kits dragging their collar to the door - they are ready to go!) Collars and harnesses go on before we leave the safety of the playroom. Many years ago (before kids) my cew of 5 were free-reign but all wore their collars. All animals hate a new collar (you would too) - my cat hid behind the toilet for 2 days when her rabies tag was redesigned and made a different sound. Give them a day or two and they'll get used to it. Now for best fit, make snug then SHOVE over their head. Some determined buggers will use furniture to scrape it back off but if you persist they'll give up. It's a game of who is more stubborn. The bell will help prevent you from accidently stepping on someone underfoot and is good for locating a wayward fuzzy. You can also get a label maker and write a name and phone number on the collar - seal completely all the way around with tape for looks and security. Wise investment all the way around. Does fit loosely on very young kits - kits pictured left are 6 weeks old but as kits grow to full size within just a few months waiting is not a problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Ferret Collar with Bell
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nah

PostedMay 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tobyboo
from G-burg, MD
My ferret absolutely hates this collar...
everytime i try to put it on him he runs away
and when i do manage to get it on, he hates the bell
and he'll bite at it and fight with it while its on his neck.
he ended up hiding it under the sofa, then under his bedding in his cage after we found it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Ferret Collar with Bell
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It'll do

PostedMay 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
m8r5k
from Corvallis, OR
The quality is much better than some of the other ferret collars, but my ferret outgrew it very quickly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Ferret Collar with Bell
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK...

PostedFebruary 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
2preppy4urodentlover
This product is OK but my ferrets really didn't like it. They keep it on but the bell sound kind of freaks them out! They get really jumpy and scared when they have them on. I really prefer harnesses over collars. Even though it didn't work out for me it's only four dollars so what do you have to loose! It might work out for you! One recommendation to the company that makes these is to make different sizes for different kinds of rodents!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Ferret Collar with Bell
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good Product

PostedDecember 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
luvmyferret
from Chicago,IL
I read a lot of reviews saying that this product was not good for ferrets but it really worked on mine. I bought it because I was going to my parent's house for a week and since my house is huge, I got worried about losing my Sherlock. I thought he would surely wiggle himself out of it but surprisingly he keeps it on even when it is really loose. He has toys with bells on them so I guess he must like the sound. Every pet has a different personality, don't be afraid to try something new.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Ferret Collar with Bell
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Thing

PostedAugust 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Smallfry
I just got this collar today for my guinea pig Twinkie. I had a hard time putting it on and sizing it. He can slip out of it sometimes but I hope he will get used to it. I tried putting it around his neck but he didn't like it there. He kept trying to bite it but I think he's just not used to it. I hope it works out in at least a week.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Ferret Collar with Bell
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK

PostedJune 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
ny4life
I HAD JUST BOUGHT THIS. I CAN TELL YOU THAT UR RABBIT WILL HATE IT. MY RABBIT TOMMY HATES IT. IT TOOK ME 2 HOURS TO PUT IT ON HIM. HE WOULD NOT LET ME TOUCH HIM IF HE SAW THAT IN MY HAND. FINLLY I GOT ON HIM. I THINK THAT HE WILL LIKE IT LATER.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Ferret Collar with Bell
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is ok

PostedFebruary 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
GreenCrayon
from Westminster, MD
I bought 2 of these collers for my 2 new baby ferrets, they are about 8 weeks old. I like the sturdyness of them but they dont fit on my ferrets, i put them as small as they will go and my ferrest still slip right through them. Im hopeing they grow into them as they get older, the matching harness as well. The only thing i would like to see with this product is that they make a smaller size one and they get a little more color varriety.
Overall a good product though, but dont expect to use it right away if you get babys.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Ferret Collar with Bell
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedJuly 2, 2006
Customer Avatar
PissedOffCupcake
from Miami, FL
My ferret loves to play tug of war with her collar and loves to chew on it. The only complaint I have is that it's too big to put around her little neck! If they made this product a little smaller I'd be more satisfied, but she'll hopefully grow into it, either way, it didn't go to a waste!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Ferret Collar with Bell
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprisingly excelent

PostedJune 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
Animal Freak
from Provo, UT
This is a fine-quality bell collar! I had it for my pet rabbit and it was so easy to track her. Plus, the collar was very sturdy. I am getting a ferret this afternoon and have already bought one of those collars for it. I reccomend it to anyone with a small animal that could fit in the collar. Sure, at first the animal doesn't like it, but they usually seem to not mind it after a week or so.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Ferret Collar with Bell
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ferret Collar

PostedMay 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
monet
from Bowling Green, Kentucky
The ferret collar is a good product and I think that it looked good on my ferret. My ferret really doesn't like collars around her neck so she looses them and she lost this product, but I would recommend this product to everyone with a ferret maybe others will have better luck with their ferret keeping the collar on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Ferret Collar with Bell
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedMay 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
Jacqueline
from Hialeah, FL
This Item Has helped me find my lost curiouse TJ(ferret)And The colors let me Identify which is which. I buy the green red and blue, all three. The bell is a clever way to hear out for TJ, and the bright color seperates him from my bear rug. TJ somehow gets out of the coller but it is easy to put it on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Ferret Collar with Bell
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is the perfect collar

PostedMay 3, 2006
Customer Avatar
A ferret lover
from Bronx,NY
The ferret frenzy bell collars are perfect for ferrets.Ferrets are always trying to hide and they are very curious,so I decided to buy this product because of the name "ferret......bell...." and when I received the product at home I was so sastified.Whenever Birgilio(my ferret) hides i juss follow the sound of the bell.My son steped on the ferret one time and now he dosen't because he knows where is the ferret.I just love this product, it gives me alot of satisfaction.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>