petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Classic Kennel

Petco Classic Kennel

Portable dog kennels are easy to assemble – no tools requiredSpecially designed for your pet’s safety and comfortIdeal dog carrier for travel, crate training and moreSecure latching door and grateErgonomic handle on small sizes makes lifting and carrying easyVariety of sizes available to suit your pet’s needsMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.335 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(179 Reviews) 179
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 179 reviews
5 stars
113
4 stars
36
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
8
161 out of 179(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
58 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Classic Kennel
Review 1 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

classic kennel

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
resptech
from IL
This is the 2nd Classic Kennel i have purchased. The first one i had for many years but it needed some parts so i decided on the new updated model.I am very pleased with the kennel and the customer service provided by Petco
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not strong enough for dog with isolation issues

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
ZappBrannigan
from Delaware
My 32 pound adult dog does not like to be left alone but unfortunately must be alone some part of the day. We had this crate for about 40 days. She slowly chewed the plastic off the side. It got to the point where she chewed enough to break chunks of plastic off. I found blood on the cage and her teeth/gums were injured. I had to return it. I think it would be strong enough for a dog that doesn't have separation issues though. Petco has a great return policy thankfully.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Craftsmanship

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Biggest1brat
from Tyler, TX
Bought the carrier to transport a stray dog about 6 months ago and then put it in the lawn supply shed where it had no direct contact with water at all. This past weekend I adopted a dog from a local rescue and got it out to clean and use and all the nuts are rusted over and won't unscrew so I can clean it properly! Very frustrating! Other than that it works well I suppose.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Crate

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ansophia
from Saranac Lk , NY
Sturdy and roomy for my 13 lb little dog, it is working well, and will have it for a long time. Was a good value
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nothing Fancy, But...

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
SeramaMama
from Texas
These carriers are nothing fancy, and I've no idea if they'll stand up to the wear and tear of transporting dogs or puppies that weigh 10-15-20 lbs, but for what I needed they're great. I needed transport & holding carriers for my Serama chickens, so I ordered 2 of these because the price was right. They were on sale, AND I had a 20% discount code. I'd recommend them to my fellow bantam fanciers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Met expectations

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
reddobie
from Nampa, idaho
I have several Petmate kennels and could not find the same style so I ordered Petco kennel. It weights less and the plastic feels thinner. Hope it holds up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sturdy pet carrier

PostedApril 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
meeyra
perfect for trips to the vet - can take on airplanes
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Issue with online order

PostedApril 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Freddymoma
from Fort Lee, NJ
Ordered this online - received quickly but parts needed to put item together were NOT usable. The pieces were not made well and do NOT fit. So it makes the kennel useless. Their answer was maybe I could find pieces at a local store. Ordered ONLINE to avoid going to store for own reasons.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's a crate

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
SomeOtherGuy
I've owned many many many crates in the past 40 years, including the typical injection molded clamshell ones like this model. The material keeps getting thinner and thinner. I suppose one day, it will be so thin, we'll just use the cardboard box they ship in because it will be stronger than the crate itself. On the plus side, the crate came with enough hardware to actually clamp the 2 pieces together without scrambling in the junk drawer for parts. However, strangely, 6 of the 14 holes didn't line up... I don't mean that they are near misses that didn't QUITE line up, but rather, they weren't even drilled within 2" of the correct place. The 8 holes that did line up seem sufficient for home use, but not sure how that pans out if you use for airlines. I may have to drill out those holes before using for air transport.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT KENNEL

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
BigDog2
from Meadow Vista, CA
Fast Delivery, Assembles Easily, Very Strong, and my dog loves it. A win win all around.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect size kennel for my dog

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
CobbersMom
from Central PA
I have an Aussie Terrier who weighs about 20lbs. The Petco kennel he was using for sleep has been discontinued (26" high) and this was the closest size. I needed something around the 26-28" height for him to ride in, in the car. This kennel is perfect. He can stand and turn around before lying down and not much else -- good for sleeping and car riding. Sturdy, so easy to put together. Really good product, especially when on sale.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shipper

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Oregonians
from Florence OR
Purchased this kennel to ship a puppy to Louisiana. Fit was perfect, stoutness was great. Would purchase this kennel for anything. It is perfect for what we wanted, a safe, comfortable journey for our puppy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great!

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Teeknee
from New Jersey
We really like this product. The price is great when comparing it to other sites. It was super easy to put together (I didn't even have to read the directions it was so easy! ;) ) It's very durable and sturdy. And I love that the little slots are at the top of the carrier and not on the bottom as well, because we have cats and I don't want them bothering our new little puppy when he is trying to sleep. Love it :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A good size, but disappointing hardware

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
RobertINVA
from Richmond, VA
My pit bull was forced to stoop in the small container, so I upgraded her to the medium. The size is right for her, but I was disappointed with the hasp that locks to door. The plastic cover to the mechanism broke on the first day, and the lower pin has difficulty hitting its hole without some effort lining it up. I was very happy with the performance of the small size, but this upgrade to the medium has been lackluster.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just the right size

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
qc2b
I have a 12 pound cat, 1 year old. He fits well in the kennel, and we anticipate his easier travel to the vet or to our daughter's house when we are out of town. We were using a computer box for awhile with holes in it for air and seeing out. That replaced another cardboard box sold as a pet carrier. It didn't hold up at all!
We keep the kennel in sight all the time, and I find the cat taking naps in it already.
We are very happy with the kennel, not so expensive, and it does the job.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PET CARRIER

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
DC3SMOKEJUMPER
from OGDEN, UTAH
Very well constructed...a major asset considering if you're cat is as destructive with carriers as ours is. However...she's very confortable in it. It's bigger functionally than we expected....in fact, much bigger. Again..a major asset. Well constructed. Easy to assemble. We leave it in the dining room so she can get used to it...a balnket inside...so she's sleeping in it (sometimes)...point being...we want her to like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Classic Kennel

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jaii
from Greensboro, NC
arrived quickly - easy to assemble - sized as indicated - and very reasonably priced (and fits my dog as indicated) - best feature is the door release is comfortable to use, and has no removable parts - the one we're replacing used a different approach with little rubber caps; the caps fell off quickly and the door was difficult and uncomfortable to release thereafter with exposed metal nubs; the Petco appears to be a big improvement
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good value

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
ProductReviewer
from Sunny Florida
The only thing I don't like about this crate is that the door latch doesn't automatically line up with the holes in the plastic so that you have to fiddle with it a little in order to lock it. It's not a big deal, but if it wasn't for that I'd give it a 5 paw rating.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality - Weak

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
MomOfKody
from MSP
We trained our dog to be happy in his kennel, and he even reached the point of going in and lying down on his own, but on his first time alone in his kennel for just a few hours, he bust out by pulling the door inward with his teeth. The metal door was badly bent and the plastic holding the door in place also broke. Our dog is not huge - about a 40 pound lab/spaniel mix. If he can break it that easily, I can only imagine what a big dog would do to it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bigger then I thought

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
tlwpets
from wa
I was looking for a roomy carrier for my 2 cats. They will be spending up to 5 days traveling cross country in it. I thought I would hang on to it and use it for vet visits etc. Now I have a carrier that I can use for both my cats and my small (10 pound) dog, Great value.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>