petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Classic Kennel

Petco Classic Kennel

Portable dog kennels are easy to assemble – no tools requiredSpecially designed for your pet’s safety and comfortIdeal dog carrier for travel, crate training and moreSecure latching door and grateErgonomic handle on small sizes makes lifting and carrying easyVariety of sizes available to suit your pet’s needsMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.311 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(206 Reviews) 206
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 206 reviews
5 stars
128
4 stars
42
3 stars
18
2 stars
8
1 star
10
185 out of 206(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
68 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Classic Kennel
Review 1 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Airline approved carrier works great

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Alabama
I needed a carrier to ship a puppy out of state, and this is a great carrier at a fair price. I would highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog crate

PostedMarch 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from TX
This is a well made crate, highly recommend.. Perfect size for my slightly taller 8 pound toy poodle.
She is comfortable standing..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from denver,colorado
I wish it came with dividers especially when you ahve a puppy of a large breed and your using the kennel for a long time. Other than that I cant complain its good
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value!

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Oxford, IN
Was very pleased when opened the box. Incredible value! Sturdy crate with metal bolts for fastening, not just cheap plastic connectors. Have a Lab/Shepard mix that will fit quite comfortably in here.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from So. Cal
Kennel is nice, it's big, sterdy- so far. I bought this for puppies for them to grow into. I am hoping to use these as outside dog houses as well as kennels when I need them. So far pretty good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small Pet Kennel

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from VA
I have a toy maltese and he loves his kennel. It is small,cozy,dark and private enough for him
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It was ok

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Miami,FL
It did not come with a handle. That's my only complaint.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ok for my cat

PostedMarch 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Irving, Tx
I've looked at so many reviews for cat carriers. I think the general concensus is that cats feel more secure in a a hard sided carrier. We got this in the extra small size for our 12 lb. cat she fits fine. We have a standard cat carrier from the pet store which looks a bit fancier than this one but it was also three times the cost and was a few inches smaller. Since we have a second cat I wanted to get two carriers in case we had to "bug out" due to natural disaster (you never know). I don't plan on traveling much with my cats except to the vet and to be boarded for vacations. So, I decided that the deluxe carriers were an unnecessary extravagance. I decided to order this one since I had a coupon and would essentially get this thing for free if i got my cart total over $75. Anyway, the top and bottom of this thing are held together with thumb screws, which means you can take it apart to reduce the storage dimensions, or to place the cat inside via top entry, however, it would take some time to do so. My cats go into their carriers willingly so top entry is not a feature I needed. I have little $10 sherpa material pads to cushion the bottom and I put a square of fleece blanket in there in case they want to burrow under something. I always thought a round carrier would be more comfortable for them but then again, I don't drive a Lexus so why should my cats get a lexus type carrier? They get the "kia version" because all my money is going to quality pet food and preventive veterinary care.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good kennel

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Juneau, AK
I ordered the kennel to be shipped to my friend in Arkansas who is bringing my puppy up soon. The kennel arrived in a timely manner, but, was missing the hardware (ie wingnut fasteners). Good thing I ordered the airlines travel kit because it came with some hardware. I reread the features about the kennel and it stated 'wingnut fasteners', so I read that to believe the hardware was included.....
I think the staff might want to be sure it is included before other kennels are shipped out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bed time dog crate

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Oakley, CA
I purchased this dog crate as my dog is expected to be 50 pounds and the medium size crate will serve him well. The animal rescue crate trained him as a puppy and we have stuck with that upon returning home with him. Purchased two standard sized pillows with pillow protectors they fit perfectly inside our dog kennel, keeps him cozy and comfy all night long. Great price, great value no complaints here!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I bought this for my cat. It was way to big. I also received it damaged.

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Pennsylvania
This size carrier was too large for my cat. When I returned it to the store. I then received the extra extra small carier. That carrier was extremely small for my cat. Not sure what size I will eventually get. But I will not get it from petco. I will look for something cheaper and more to size.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Kennel

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from South Dakota
First kennel came damaged, but Petco sent me a replacement. Great product and Great Service.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy and Large

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Embarrass, MN
This is a great kennel by far! Strong enough to support our 10 year old climbing on top and roomy enough for our lab and 9 year old! Very nice kennel!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect size

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas, Nv
The square shape allows for maximum room for my cat to turn around. The cat kennels I have looked at only allowed the cat to lay down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what we wanted/ordered

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis, MO
We were looking for a large crate and it came and was exactly like it looked and said. We were able to get it put together in no time, and the pups are liking it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Crate

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fresno, CA
Very good product! The crate is a good size for a medium dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Dog kennel

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Conway sc
Ok a little hard to open and lock but does the trick.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Exchange Policy

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Luis Obispo CA
I mistakenly ordered a cage that was too big. My local store was quick, courteous and helpful with an exchange to a smaller size.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pittsford, NY
As an owner/handler of sheltie show dogs, I have purchased half a dozen of these crates, and find them to be of very good quality, especially for the price. They have held up well on numerous trips, including airline shipping of dogs. My only complaint would be that the handle needs to be attached in a more sturdy fashion. I would not trust lifting a crate by the handle with a medium size dog or larger.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality crate is not made of tough plastic.

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
Poorly packaged arrived damaged.. It's made of cheap plastic molding easily cracks. Door does not fit right because the plastic molding has excess plastic and makes locking door a tough task.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>