petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Classic Kennel

Petco Classic Kennel

Portable dog kennels are easy to assemble – no tools requiredSpecially designed for your pet’s safety and comfortIdeal dog carrier for travel, crate training and moreSecure latching door and grateErgonomic handle on small sizes makes lifting and carrying easyVariety of sizes available to suit your pet’s needsMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.319 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(232 Reviews) 232
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 232 reviews
5 stars
146
4 stars
46
3 stars
20
2 stars
8
1 star
12
208 out of 232(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
73 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Classic Kennel
Review 1 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Airline Acceptable Crate For Shipping

PostedJuly 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Pensacola FL
We had a challenge finding an airline acceptable crate until PETCO helped and directed us to the one that met requirements for safety of live pet. Thanks for giving what we needed to ship and all worked out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Luv my Petco carrier

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Memphis, TN
This carrier is perfect for taking my kitty to the vet's office or anywhere else. It is sturdy enough for him--he weights just under 12 pounds and the carrier gives him plenty of room to stand up, shift positions, and turn around.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat Carrier

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Arizona
This is a nice sturdy cat carrier. I feel very comfortable using it for my cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good for travel

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from st michael ,AK
My two small pets traveled from maine to alaska with no issues in this crate. Its great for small pets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Perfect Kennel !

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Central Texas
Our two dogs absolutely love their new kennel ! Their old kennel was damaged during boarding, and we had to have a replacement kennel ASAP.
I searched on-line, and found Petco had exactly what I was looking for, the best price, and Free Delivery !
The new kennel arrived right on time and I was able to set it up in just a few minutes by myself. We put our big kennel pillow into the new kennel, and our two dogs immediately felt right at home. Their kennel is their 'comfort place,' and they love it !
Thanks Petco !
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good, basic crate

PostedJune 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from N. Calif.
We had an earlier version of this crate that lasted over 10 years. It was used a couple of times for traveling, but mostly as additional shelter inside a larger, outside shelter. On the new one, I like that it uses bolts and wing nuts. It went together Very easily- everything fit properly. Sturdy crate, but inexpensive enough that I don't feel guilty using it for extra shelter outside. I also like that it has large vent holes on the sides, but No vents on the back. All in all, a good, basic crate at a reasonable price. Hurray for made in USA!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedJune 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Kansas City, MO
I am very happy with this product. My Baxter Bo was getting a bit to big for his other kennel. And I was worrying everyday about him not be comfortable. Now he's got plenty of room in his new one. And hopefully won't out grow this one. AND I was super pleased with the deal I got!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beanie loves it

PostedJune 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from LaGrange, GA
This is a well constructed carrier/crate. Beanie likes it and started sleeping in it without being encouraged. There was a nice supply of extra screws and nuts to keep the upper and lower pieces together. This is something I have always wished for, but this crate came with them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Flimsy and too small

PostedJune 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
The carrier was too small for my cat. Had difficulty getting cat into the carrier and the plastic was flimsy. I recommend purchasing the carrier that opens up from the top.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to set up

PostedJune 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from CA
I have yet to use this product since we haven't brought our puppy home but it was very easy to set up!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product for the price

PostedJune 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from SC
Good dog kennel for the price. Arrived safe and sound in the box even without packaging cushions. Included extra screws for securing the top to the bottom. Overall pleased. Only reason for not giving it 5 stars is I wish it had holes on the back panel for ventilation and I wish it had a place for the car seatbelt to run through on the top like another brand I have does.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purrrrfect!

PostedMay 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
I purchased this kennel in an XS for my cat, who is a full grown Maine Coon, and it's the purrrfect size. There's enough room for him to be able to move around and lay down comfortably. It's super easy to put together and a good quality product. I'm also happy that it comes in a neutral color because not everyone wants to buy a bright blue or pink kennel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sadly disappointed :(

PostedMay 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Maine
I ordered this crate because my border collie was outgrowing her other crate. I wanted to go with plastic because she likes the "den" feeling and they tend to hold up better then the metal crates. I received the crate and it felt very flimsy. It was not the thick sturdy plastic like the vari-kennels. I was debating whether to return it or not and I opted to keep it (I wish I had returned it). Within the first 2 weeks the door started coming unlatched because the plastic was so flimsy the dog moved and the door came unhooked. After the first month, the entire door assembly broke. I ended up purchasing another crate that isn't flimsy cheap plastic and throwing this one in the attic. I usually love petco products and have never had an issue, but this crate is junk. Spend the extra $20-$30 and buy a decent crate not this one. NOT PLEASED!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT QUALITY AND WONDERFUL SERVICE

PostedMay 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Florence, Oregon
I'll continue usingP ETCO, for all my dog products! Prices are competitive, service is GOOD, & quality of merchandise is very nice! Jan &Poo's 0:-)Std.Poodle(s) owner
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kennel great; Shipping needs improvement

PostedMay 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Mountain Home, AR
Every time we order anything from Petco it comes in a flimsy thin cardboard box with no packing inside to protect the item, including when we ordered a soft mat for an outside dog house. This rime the box was very crushed and the tape almost torn all the way across the box. Fortunately, this kennel was not damaged.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good standard crate

PostedMay 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from TX
As well made as that "other brand," lots of fasteners to keep the halves together. Not "excellent" because there is no metal screen on the sides, so a determined dog could probably chew his way out through the vent holes in the plastic. For most uses, just fine, though. Great price, too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
This works great for my 60+lb lab. Sturdy and great value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very easy to put together

PostedApril 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from texas
I was a little intimidated when I first ordered this product because I had to put it together, but it was very easy to do so. I'm having some issues with the door latch, but nothing I can't overcome. The spring door latch sticks. also, I purchased this to transport my German shephard puppy back and forth to work and it works well, except it rattles a bit. All in all though I'm happy with the purchase
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bigger than I thought but good quality

PostedApril 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Fullerton
The crate is way larger than I'd expected. Need to exchange for a larger size. Love the color and the quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Dog Crate

PostedApril 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Hanson, MA
Product was shipped in a timely manner and was VERY easy to assemble. The latch on the door is easy to use with one hand
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>