petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Classic Kennel

Petco Classic Kennel

Portable dog kennels are easy to assemble – no tools requiredSpecially designed for your pet’s safety and comfortIdeal dog carrier for travel, crate training and moreSecure latching door and grateErgonomic handle on small sizes makes lifting and carrying easyVariety of sizes available to suit your pet’s needsMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.309 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(220 Reviews) 220
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 220 reviews
5 stars
137
4 stars
44
3 stars
20
2 stars
8
1 star
11
197 out of 220(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
70 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Classic Kennel
Review 1 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sadly disappointed :(

PostedMay 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Maine
I ordered this crate because my border collie was outgrowing her other crate. I wanted to go with plastic because she likes the "den" feeling and they tend to hold up better then the metal crates. I received the crate and it felt very flimsy. It was not the thick sturdy plastic like the vari-kennels. I was debating whether to return it or not and I opted to keep it (I wish I had returned it). Within the first 2 weeks the door started coming unlatched because the plastic was so flimsy the dog moved and the door came unhooked. After the first month, the entire door assembly broke. I ended up purchasing another crate that isn't flimsy cheap plastic and throwing this one in the attic. I usually love petco products and have never had an issue, but this crate is junk. Spend the extra $20-$30 and buy a decent crate not this one. NOT PLEASED!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT QUALITY AND WONDERFUL SERVICE

PostedMay 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Florence, Oregon
I'll continue usingP ETCO, for all my dog products! Prices are competitive, service is GOOD, & quality of merchandise is very nice! Jan &Poo's 0:-)Std.Poodle(s) owner
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kennel great; Shipping needs improvement

PostedMay 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Mountain Home, AR
Every time we order anything from Petco it comes in a flimsy thin cardboard box with no packing inside to protect the item, including when we ordered a soft mat for an outside dog house. This rime the box was very crushed and the tape almost torn all the way across the box. Fortunately, this kennel was not damaged.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good standard crate

PostedMay 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from TX
As well made as that "other brand," lots of fasteners to keep the halves together. Not "excellent" because there is no metal screen on the sides, so a determined dog could probably chew his way out through the vent holes in the plastic. For most uses, just fine, though. Great price, too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
This works great for my 60+lb lab. Sturdy and great value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very easy to put together

PostedApril 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from texas
I was a little intimidated when I first ordered this product because I had to put it together, but it was very easy to do so. I'm having some issues with the door latch, but nothing I can't overcome. The spring door latch sticks. also, I purchased this to transport my German shephard puppy back and forth to work and it works well, except it rattles a bit. All in all though I'm happy with the purchase
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bigger than I thought but good quality

PostedApril 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Fullerton
The crate is way larger than I'd expected. Need to exchange for a larger size. Love the color and the quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Dog Crate

PostedApril 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Hanson, MA
Product was shipped in a timely manner and was VERY easy to assemble. The latch on the door is easy to use with one hand
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kennel

PostedApril 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Nebraska
Good price. Haven't used it yet, but looks sturdy enough to carry my 17 pound cat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!!

PostedApril 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Florida
We just recently bought this kennel for our Goldendoodle puppy. It's the perfect size for him while we are at work all day. It's also very easy to assemble. I would definitely recommend this kennel to others with large dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great kennel

PostedApril 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Loveland, CO
Finally, a dog kennel big enough so the dog can stretch out if he wants to and that doesn't break the bank. I see so many kennels costing 2, 3, or even 4 times as much. It is plastic and the dog goes in. They all work the same. Get this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Inexpensive and cheap

PostedApril 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Nashville Tn
I purchased 4 of these crates, when they came in, one was completely cracked on one side- petco did replace with proof. They are light weight but flimsy. I purchased when they were 40% off, and I couldn't imagine paying full price when there are much higher quality out there for the same price. They served their purpose for me although I had to go to the hardware store to purchase metal nuts to be able to ship animals by plane.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This kennel is perfect.

PostedApril 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Great Falls, MT
This kennel is perfect for my snorkie. He has enough room to move during transport, and it fits in the well of my van for a safe ride.
I am a very happy customer with PetCo and the service my family and pets have received. We will not shop any where else for our supplies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product is larger than I expected.

PostedApril 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, TX
I was looking for a crate for traveling for my mid-sized dog and wanted to be sure it was large enough for her to be comfortable. I have had this type crate in the past for a smaller dog and was pleased with it. The only complaint I have is that I didn't realize when ordering the large size that it does not have a handle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Airline approved carrier works great

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Alabama
I needed a carrier to ship a puppy out of state, and this is a great carrier at a fair price. I would highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog crate

PostedMarch 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from TX
This is a well made crate, highly recommend.. Perfect size for my slightly taller 8 pound toy poodle.
She is comfortable standing..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from denver,colorado
I wish it came with dividers especially when you ahve a puppy of a large breed and your using the kennel for a long time. Other than that I cant complain its good
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value!

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Oxford, IN
Was very pleased when opened the box. Incredible value! Sturdy crate with metal bolts for fastening, not just cheap plastic connectors. Have a Lab/Shepard mix that will fit quite comfortably in here.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from So. Cal
Kennel is nice, it's big, sterdy- so far. I bought this for puppies for them to grow into. I am hoping to use these as outside dog houses as well as kennels when I need them. So far pretty good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small Pet Kennel

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from VA
I have a toy maltese and he loves his kennel. It is small,cozy,dark and private enough for him
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>