petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Classic Kennel

Petco Classic Kennel

Portable dog kennels easy to assemble, no tools requiredIdeal dog carrier to take your pet with you on vacations, vet visits, grooming appointments, pet shows, and more!Meets USDA requirements for shipping live animalsEasily converts to a cozy pet shelter or bedTop handles included with xx-small to small sizesComes in an attractive dark gray color
Average Customer Rating:
4.368 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(171 Reviews) 171
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 171 reviews
5 stars
110
4 stars
35
3 stars
13
2 stars
5
1 star
8
155 out of 171(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
56 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Classic Kennel
Review 1 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's a crate

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
SomeOtherGuy
I've owned many many many crates in the past 40 years, including the typical injection molded clamshell ones like this model. The material keeps getting thinner and thinner. I suppose one day, it will be so thin, we'll just use the cardboard box they ship in because it will be stronger than the crate itself. On the plus side, the crate came with enough hardware to actually clamp the 2 pieces together without scrambling in the junk drawer for parts. However, strangely, 6 of the 14 holes didn't line up... I don't mean that they are near misses that didn't QUITE line up, but rather, they weren't even drilled within 2" of the correct place. The 8 holes that did line up seem sufficient for home use, but not sure how that pans out if you use for airlines. I may have to drill out those holes before using for air transport.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT KENNEL

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
BigDog2
from Meadow Vista, CA
Fast Delivery, Assembles Easily, Very Strong, and my dog loves it. A win win all around.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect size kennel for my dog

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
CobbersMom
from Central PA
I have an Aussie Terrier who weighs about 20lbs. The Petco kennel he was using for sleep has been discontinued (26" high) and this was the closest size. I needed something around the 26-28" height for him to ride in, in the car. This kennel is perfect. He can stand and turn around before lying down and not much else -- good for sleeping and car riding. Sturdy, so easy to put together. Really good product, especially when on sale.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shipper

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Oregonians
from Florence OR
Purchased this kennel to ship a puppy to Louisiana. Fit was perfect, stoutness was great. Would purchase this kennel for anything. It is perfect for what we wanted, a safe, comfortable journey for our puppy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great!

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Teeknee
from New Jersey
We really like this product. The price is great when comparing it to other sites. It was super easy to put together (I didn't even have to read the directions it was so easy! ;) ) It's very durable and sturdy. And I love that the little slots are at the top of the carrier and not on the bottom as well, because we have cats and I don't want them bothering our new little puppy when he is trying to sleep. Love it :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A good size, but disappointing hardware

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
RobertINVA
from Richmond, VA
My pit bull was forced to stoop in the small container, so I upgraded her to the medium. The size is right for her, but I was disappointed with the hasp that locks to door. The plastic cover to the mechanism broke on the first day, and the lower pin has difficulty hitting its hole without some effort lining it up. I was very happy with the performance of the small size, but this upgrade to the medium has been lackluster.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just the right size

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
qc2b
I have a 12 pound cat, 1 year old. He fits well in the kennel, and we anticipate his easier travel to the vet or to our daughter's house when we are out of town. We were using a computer box for awhile with holes in it for air and seeing out. That replaced another cardboard box sold as a pet carrier. It didn't hold up at all!
We keep the kennel in sight all the time, and I find the cat taking naps in it already.
We are very happy with the kennel, not so expensive, and it does the job.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PET CARRIER

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
DC3SMOKEJUMPER
from OGDEN, UTAH
Very well constructed...a major asset considering if you're cat is as destructive with carriers as ours is. However...she's very confortable in it. It's bigger functionally than we expected....in fact, much bigger. Again..a major asset. Well constructed. Easy to assemble. We leave it in the dining room so she can get used to it...a balnket inside...so she's sleeping in it (sometimes)...point being...we want her to like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Classic Kennel

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jaii
from Greensboro, NC
arrived quickly - easy to assemble - sized as indicated - and very reasonably priced (and fits my dog as indicated) - best feature is the door release is comfortable to use, and has no removable parts - the one we're replacing used a different approach with little rubber caps; the caps fell off quickly and the door was difficult and uncomfortable to release thereafter with exposed metal nubs; the Petco appears to be a big improvement
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good value

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
ProductReviewer
from Sunny Florida
The only thing I don't like about this crate is that the door latch doesn't automatically line up with the holes in the plastic so that you have to fiddle with it a little in order to lock it. It's not a big deal, but if it wasn't for that I'd give it a 5 paw rating.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality - Weak

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
MomOfKody
from MSP
We trained our dog to be happy in his kennel, and he even reached the point of going in and lying down on his own, but on his first time alone in his kennel for just a few hours, he bust out by pulling the door inward with his teeth. The metal door was badly bent and the plastic holding the door in place also broke. Our dog is not huge - about a 40 pound lab/spaniel mix. If he can break it that easily, I can only imagine what a big dog would do to it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bigger then I thought

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
tlwpets
from wa
I was looking for a roomy carrier for my 2 cats. They will be spending up to 5 days traveling cross country in it. I thought I would hang on to it and use it for vet visits etc. Now I have a carrier that I can use for both my cats and my small (10 pound) dog, Great value.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Classic Kennel

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Oldranchrhodies
from Los Gatos CA
The gold standard for kennel use, air travel and all other applications.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does just what it's supposed to do

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
LeeSoFL
from Wellington FL
Easy to assemble, not too heavy to carry around. It fits well into both our cars, a small hybrid and a large sedan.
I would have liked some sort of loop to hook a seat belt through.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Crate

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Logicaudi
from San Diego CA
It is a little bigger than I thought, I got the medium one for my beagle, but it seems nice and sturdy. He loves to sleep in it - well he loves to sleep anywhere :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just bought two of these

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
NancyJo
from Greenville SC
Bought them for two reasons
1-Made in USA
2-They seemed better made than some of the competition which had only 4 screws holding them together. This one is more like the old vari-kennel I remember (only without the wire windows) - but at a lesser price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kitty Crates

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
JohnnyUpstater
from Saratoga NY
These are a great value. I bought them for my cats, they are almost too big for just the cats, but I always transport them with their blankets/beds for comfort, so they work perfectly. Can't beat the price either.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of Money

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Raiyyn
from Crosby, TX
It took my 80 lb Lab Mix all of 5 days to rip the bottom of the door area off making this kennel completely useless. Weak construction. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small pet carrier

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
WLocklear59
from Laurinburg, NC
We just adopted a kitty from our local shelter, so we needed to purchase a carrier for vet visits. This is an excellent carrier & is big enough to put her bed in, so she will be comfy en route to her visit with the vet. Thanks for an excellent product & was extremely easy to put together. Would recommend to everyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product and shipping

PostedOctober 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
MrsCFewell
from RAF Mildenhall, USAF
This product is exactly what we needed. It meets all of the airline requirements to get our pets back to the USA. Thank you so much for working with the military and their families!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>