petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Classic Kennel

Petco Classic Kennel

Portable dog kennels are easy to assemble – no tools requiredSpecially designed for your pet’s safety and comfortIdeal dog carrier for travel, crate training and moreSecure latching door and grateErgonomic handle on small sizes makes lifting and carrying easyVariety of sizes available to suit your pet’s needsMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.298 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(191 Reviews) 191
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 191 reviews
5 stars
118
4 stars
39
3 stars
17
2 stars
7
1 star
10
171 out of 191(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
62 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Classic Kennel
Review 1 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Crate

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fresno, CA
Very good product! The crate is a good size for a medium dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Dog kennel

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Conway sc
Ok a little hard to open and lock but does the trick.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Exchange Policy

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Luis Obispo CA
I mistakenly ordered a cage that was too big. My local store was quick, courteous and helpful with an exchange to a smaller size.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pittsford, NY
As an owner/handler of sheltie show dogs, I have purchased half a dozen of these crates, and find them to be of very good quality, especially for the price. They have held up well on numerous trips, including airline shipping of dogs. My only complaint would be that the handle needs to be attached in a more sturdy fashion. I would not trust lifting a crate by the handle with a medium size dog or larger.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality crate is not made of tough plastic.

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
Poorly packaged arrived damaged.. It's made of cheap plastic molding easily cracks. Door does not fit right because the plastic molding has excess plastic and makes locking door a tough task.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Classic kennel in three sizes

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento, CA
I bought the crates in three sizes for my dog family. They were easy to assemble and are sturdy. For the price, they are large Nd a hreat buy. On the lsize small and medium crates the mechanisms to shut/lock and open the door are a bit clunky and don't fall easily into place.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

POOR QUALITY

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NORTH PORT, FL
We had this delivered 2 days ago, and my airedale terrier already busted out of it. She managed to break the lock, and crush through the metal bars. I know she's strong but isn't that what these kennels are for... to restrain a dog?!?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its a carrier

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, NY
The size to weight ratio I would not put my 10lb dog in this size. This is for a puppy that is very small. Easy to assemble and carry. Door opens well but secure when closed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

XS is pretty big for kittens

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Malden, MA
Was expecting something smaller, especially with the XS label. I was purchasing to use as the carrier to pick up my new kitten. VERY large for a tiny kitten, but I guess he'll grow into it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Carrier for my Rabbit

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ogden, UT
My Rabbit Jasper loves the carrier, its perfect for him I got it xxsmall because I travel with him a lot. But I love the Carrier and so does Jasper my Rabbit. He loves to jump on top of it and I also put his bedding inside and his food to make travel easier for him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Carrier

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
It was much larger than perceived but overall it serves the purpose.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great carrier

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Easy set up of carrier. Very durable. I got it for a cat that is only 9 pounds so that she can have plenty of room for moving around when in there. It's a great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

classic kennel

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from IL
This is the 2nd Classic Kennel i have purchased. The first one i had for many years but it needed some parts so i decided on the new updated model.I am very pleased with the kennel and the customer service provided by Petco
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not strong enough for dog with isolation issues

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Delaware
My 32 pound adult dog does not like to be left alone but unfortunately must be alone some part of the day. We had this crate for about 40 days. She slowly chewed the plastic off the side. It got to the point where she chewed enough to break chunks of plastic off. I found blood on the cage and her teeth/gums were injured. I had to return it. I think it would be strong enough for a dog that doesn't have separation issues though. Petco has a great return policy thankfully.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Craftsmanship

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tyler, TX
Bought the carrier to transport a stray dog about 6 months ago and then put it in the lawn supply shed where it had no direct contact with water at all. This past weekend I adopted a dog from a local rescue and got it out to clean and use and all the nuts are rusted over and won't unscrew so I can clean it properly! Very frustrating! Other than that it works well I suppose.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Crate

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Saranac Lk , NY
Sturdy and roomy for my 13 lb little dog, it is working well, and will have it for a long time. Was a good value
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nothing Fancy, But...

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Texas
These carriers are nothing fancy, and I've no idea if they'll stand up to the wear and tear of transporting dogs or puppies that weigh 10-15-20 lbs, but for what I needed they're great. I needed transport & holding carriers for my Serama chickens, so I ordered 2 of these because the price was right. They were on sale, AND I had a 20% discount code. I'd recommend them to my fellow bantam fanciers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Met expectations

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Nampa, idaho
I have several Petmate kennels and could not find the same style so I ordered Petco kennel. It weights less and the plastic feels thinner. Hope it holds up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sturdy pet carrier

PostedApril 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
perfect for trips to the vet - can take on airplanes
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Classic Kennel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Issue with online order

PostedApril 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fort Lee, NJ
Ordered this online - received quickly but parts needed to put item together were NOT usable. The pieces were not made well and do NOT fit. So it makes the kennel useless. Their answer was maybe I could find pieces at a local store. Ordered ONLINE to avoid going to store for own reasons.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>