petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for AvoDerm Natural Small Breed Adult Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Formula Dry Dog Food

AvoDerm Natural Small Breed Adult Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Formula Dry Dog Food

DHA enriched for eye & brain developmentDigestive enzymesOptimal nutrition in small bite size kibbleIdeal for dogs with sensitivities to other protein sourcesResealable bag for freshness
Average Customer Rating:
4.368 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 out of 19(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for AvoDerm Natural Small Breed Adult Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
Review 1 for AvoDerm Natural Small Breed Adult Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My Dog loves this food

PostedAugust 31, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I really love this food, I saw a major improvement on my dog. I have a Shih Tzu who is very sensitive and allergic to mostly anything but ever since I made the switch to avoderm I have seen a difference, she hasn't had any allergies. The only downside is that you no longer have this product in stores, please bring it back. Sometimes its a hazzle ordering online, specially because you're charging $6 for shipping, that's insane.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for AvoDerm Natural Small Breed Adult Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Avoderm dry dog food

PostedJuly 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
I ordered this online when there was a free shipping deal, only because my local Petco shops have stopped carrying it. My dogs love it and I didn't want to switch.
Petco, BRING IT BACK, PLEASE!!! It's just not always convenient to have to order online.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for AvoDerm Natural Small Breed Adult Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is AMAZING!

PostedApril 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
My dog loves this. A relative told me she about it and I'm so glad she did!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for AvoDerm Natural Small Breed Adult Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good but...

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I bought this food when I was transitioning my dog out of his original food. When I was mixing the old with new, he ate it up. Now that it's all new food, he won't really eat...he just nibbles here and there threw out the day. It seemed like a good brand and he didn't get sick or anything, he digests just fine. Guess it'll take some getting used to. But the avocado oil has definitely kicked in, his coat is a lot shiner and softer!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for AvoDerm Natural Small Breed Adult Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chihuahua Approved

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Little Rock, AR
My Tipsi loves it! Helped her dry skin!! Thanks!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for AvoDerm Natural Small Breed Adult Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
My dachsies have been eating a beef flavored Avoderm but we recently changed to this flavor and they LOVE it!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for AvoDerm Natural Small Breed Adult Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Richmond, VA
My two dogs will not touch it. I have added grilled chicken to it and bacon grease (which makes it unhealthy) and they will not eat one morsel. Total waste of money!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for AvoDerm Natural Small Breed Adult Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SUPER FOOD

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Plano TX
Best product ever! My dog has sensitive skin and digestive sensitivity. He's been on this for 3 years and is doing GREAT. Both my dogs are terriers with short stiff hair. Since they've been on Avoderm their fur is much softer and shinier. People comment all the time on their softness. They have lots of energy and love this stuff
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for AvoDerm Natural Small Breed Adult Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from California
I have a Jack Russel mix and she had terrible skin problems....she was constantly scratching. She had cortisone shots, but they only worked for a certain length of time. I started giving her this food 3 years ago and she doesn't itch anymore and she doesn't have to have cortisone shots either!! At first she didn't like the food so I put VitaGravy in it (the one for skin & coat). You can find it at Petco also. She LOVED it! Now I can give her the food with OR without the VitaGravy. I could not be happier and I don't know what I would do if they ever stopped selling this food. The heavy duty bag is GREAT too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for AvoDerm Natural Small Breed Adult Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE THIS FOOD

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Staten Island, NY
My dogs have weak stomachs and after trying almost all the expensive brands, this food kept them full, didn't upset their stomach and made their coats shiny. The best part is that its affordable and super convenient that I can order the bigger bags here with Petco!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for AvoDerm Natural Small Breed Adult Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the tummy & skin

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Carlos, CA
I started using Avoderm several years ago because one of my dogs had a skin condition. She's been wonderful since! It also seems to be pretty easy on the digestive system. I had originally been using a different Avoderm "flavor," but recently swtiched to the small bites as they are smaller dogs and they're a bit older -- they seem to enjoy it more, the pieces aren't quite as big.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for AvoDerm Natural Small Breed Adult Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GOOD

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Gardena
MY dogg loves it he has been eating for about a year he loves it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for AvoDerm Natural Small Breed Adult Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fussy won't eat it

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Attleborough, MA
My Cavachon STILL isn't impressed by the flavor. He sniffed, turned and walked away. And I always mix in REAL cooked chicken for extra flavor. I'm STILL looking for a brand he'll enjoy eating. There HAS to be one, right? My German Shepherd ate some of it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for AvoDerm Natural Small Breed Adult Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Spanky Likes It!!

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Louisiana
I have a finicky mini pin who has been spoiled by my feeding him "people food" and refused to eat any of the dozens of dog foods I bought and threw away. But this one has proven the exception - he really loves it. And I love the small size of the kibble because he can eat it without choking (he eats too fast). My complaint is that I bought the smallest size bag to try it and it WAS NOT RESEALABLE.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for AvoDerm Natural Small Breed Adult Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

small bites, small bag...

PostedJune 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Des Moines, IA
Ok first let me just say this is a quality food which has really been beneficial to my three 12 to 20 lb small breeds. However... I must ask the project specialist who thinks small dogs equal small eaters (hence small bag...) Look I burn through these bags in a week or two (if I stretch it a bit) my dogs may be little but they are high energy and voracious consumers.
Please give us a larger bag? That's really the only reason I didn't give this food 5 stars, basically the size of the packaging.
Note, I do prefer the heavy plastic bags such as what this comes in. Seems to keep food fresher longer. So hopefully that won't change if we do see a larger sack.
Thank you
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for AvoDerm Natural Small Breed Adult Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gabby Loves It!

PostedJanuary 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Central Oregon
My little doxie mix is very picky, finding a healthy food for her that she will actually eat is difficult. She really likes it, eats less and her skin and coat are gorgeous. I highly recommend AvoDerm.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for AvoDerm Natural Small Breed Adult Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent size for smaller breed

PostedNovember 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
I have a min pin puppy and have been looking for small size natural food kibbles. This is the smallest kibble I 've seen and it is great for small breed puppy. My puppy swallow kibbles very fast, but he has not had any digestive problem thanks to this kibble.
I use this for training purpose and since it is very small, eventhough I give a lot to my puppy, the total amount is not tha much. Even my older dog loves this kibble,so I can give her this for training without worrying about overfeeding.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for AvoDerm Natural Small Breed Adult Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good purchase

PostedJanuary 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
This is a hard to find dog food in most stores. This was one of the few all natural foods I found just for small dogs. I have 2 min. schnauzers and they like the food and it has been great for their digestion. Would recommend a trial for small dog owners
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for AvoDerm Natural Small Breed Adult Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Formula Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedNovember 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
My Manchesters love the food so I recomment it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.