petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dogit Fresh & Clear Large Dog Fountain

Dogit Fresh & Clear Large Dog Fountain

Promotes pet healthPurifying, replaceable filter for cleaner waterRe-circulating flow eliminates stale, stagnant waterIntegrated splash guard reduces water spillage360 degree rotating dome allows controlled flowPets can drink from elevated basin or directly from domeLarge 355 fl. oz. capacity reduces need for refillingEnergy efficient, low-voltage pump
Average Customer Rating:
4.05 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
14 out of 20(70%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Dogit Fresh & Clear Large Dog Fountain
Review 1 for Dogit Fresh & Clear Large Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Item!

PostedFebruary 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas, NV
Not only our Dobie loves it but the cat & kitten do as well. It is not heavy & I filled it w/a pitcher & purified water from our PUR filter system. So far it's great. You know when the water is getting low when it stops bubbling at the top. Then I just add more PUR water from a pitcher. So far I'd highly recommed this item.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
12of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dogit Fresh & Clear Large Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dogs love it

PostedJanuary 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hi, this is my second fountain, the first one I had was the drinkwell and the motor leaked on that one very quickly. This one is a much better design and my dogs love it. I basically cannot leak and they can drink from the top, or the side, which is nice because I have 3 dogs and they are all different sizes. It is a bit difficult to clean, but that is OK. Love it anyway. Highly recommend this product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dogit Fresh & Clear Large Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The very best fountain

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tucson, AZ
I originally purchased this fountain over 6 years ago and it has been working perfect. My husband recently dropped the container holding the water and it shattered. I looked at replacing it with other fountains, but no others compare to this. I was so happy to find that Petco carried it because I couldn't find it anywhere else. It really is the best fountain out there.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dogit Fresh & Clear Large Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a good product

PostedMay 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Beaumont, TX
Within 3 days a crack developed in the base.since the plastic is so thin, and water is draining all over the floor. I would not recommend the purchase to others. This is the third Dogit fountain I have purchased over the years but the quality seems to have diminished.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dogit Fresh & Clear Large Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mastiffs love it!

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Elluicott city, MD
Don't know that I would purchase again. The Mastiffs get it so slobbered up that it needs cleaning every other day. On the other hand they can empty a large bucket in a day. It's worst aspect IMOP is it takes a long time to fil and is heavy to turn over when full. It is amusing- they do love the fountain- never lick the side. Mixed feelings but it would be excellent for 2 less slobbery dogs ;>)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dogit Fresh & Clear Large Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Tampa, FL
I got this for my boxer, he loves it. It gives him fresh water that is cool and it high enough that he doesn't have to bend over far. I would definitely recommend this to anyone with a tall dog, and a hot place where they get dehydrated quickly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dogit Fresh & Clear Large Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good product

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Glendale AZ
this is my second unit
first one is 3 years old and still working very well
I have a tendency to let it run out of water but that has not seemed to cause any obvious damage
would recommend this unit to anyone needing a large amount of water available daily
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dogit Fresh & Clear Large Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Totally bummed

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
My husband thought I was nuts when I wanted to buy a waterer for our 2 large dogs and cat. First we bought the Dogit Fresh & Clear Large Dog Fountain, brought it home and my husband wondered what would happen if the electricity went out...well it overflowed everywhere. We went back to the store and bought the Drinkwell Big Dog, no overflow and the animals love it!! Take a bit of scrubbing but not worse than doing dishes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dogit Fresh & Clear Large Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Its big

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
I brought this for my dog and he didn't want anything to do with it. It's so big and takes up a lot of space.. I agree cleaning it takes a while- its not hard to disassemble but its so large that its hard to wash in the sink. I had to return it- I could not get my dog to drink from it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dogit Fresh & Clear Large Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not great...

PostedNovember 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Portland, OR
Cleaning the fountain takes a lot of time to disassemble and reassemble. Reassembly to get everything lined up so the water flows properly is difficult. After a week of use by a one small dog, it smelled like an old aquarium. Not the 'fresh' water I was hoping for. Hagen's customer service was lackluster. I'm giving mine to goodwill.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dogit Fresh & Clear Large Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greatest Product

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Antioch, CA
We have had our Dogit for 4 yrs.and have been so very satisfied. We have 2 Cavaliers and couldn't keep up on the water. They absolutely love it and it has been wonderful. Of course our grandchildren love to play in it. Our only problem is it is heavy when you fill the holding tank with water. We are both disabled and it makes it a little rough. That is the only drawback. Other than that the 4 of us (mommy, daddy and 2 doggies) love it! Definitely ready to buy a new one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dogit Fresh & Clear Large Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this fountain

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Pennsylvania
This is the second Dog it waterer I have bought. My girls love it and it is not very hard to clean. The whole thing comes apart and I clean it and change the filters on the first of the month along with the flea and hearworm treatments. Keep the water clean and fresh and acutally, my first one died after 3 years of continuous use. Will replace this one if something happenes to it too. Excellent product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dogit Fresh & Clear Large Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedMarch 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Fairfax, VA
My 2 month old puppy took to it immediately, drinks from it constantly. 2 Year old was "skeptical" at first, but is slowly taking to it. YOU ONLY NEED TO PUT TAP WATER IN. It's better for your dog anyway. I leave the screw-in bubbler on the top out cause it makes to much noise for me, puppy likes it either way. Would definitely recommend, especially with short nosed large mouth breeds like mine who like to rinse their mouths out when they drink! lol.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dogit Fresh & Clear Large Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

lg dog fountain

PostedJanuary 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dogs don't seem to like it much but I have it in the basement because my two labs have a bad habit of slopping water all over the wood floors. I bought it because my yellow lab who is 4 yrs. old has a very bad habit of dunking her whole head in water bucket to drink. Cats like it though. I guess I will try it up at the cabin this spring and will know if it was a good buy at that time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dogit Fresh & Clear Large Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
My puppy loves her drinking fountain. The first day we kept her old water dish out just in case she was afraid of the fountain but she was so excited about the fountain she drank out of it continuosly the first 2 days. I recommend a towel or something underneath because when my puppy drinks from the side she splatters water everywhere. Don't have to change water that often and not hard to clean and fill. Comes in handy...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dogit Fresh & Clear Large Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

PostedDecember 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Both my dogs medium and small love the fountain. I am very pleased with the product so far. It is very quiet. My bosoton terrier likes to wash his mouth out, so with this product it keeps his water fresh instead of it becoming stagnant.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dogit Fresh & Clear Large Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible Waterer Keeps My 3 Labs Happy

PostedSeptember 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Orting, WA
Tired of refilling the water bowl every 30 minutes? Tired of drinking fountains that become a wading pool for dirt, fur, and trash by the end of the day? If you have one or more dogs that drink water like it is going out of style, then this fountain is for you. The raised drinking area allows dogs to drink with their heads higher which helps reduce bloating and vomiting from drinking to fast. The surface area of where the dog drinks is small, which keeps the fountain much cleaner than other fountains. Combined with a huge reservoir tank, this fountain keeps water fresh and cool for days of drinking. Friends who have seen our dogs drinking from the Dogit Fountain always want to know where we got it and how do they get one for their own dogs. This fountain is well worth the money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dogit Fresh & Clear Large Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great waterer device

PostedAugust 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Milwaukee, WI
I have 2 larger dogs at home. 1 full time and my girlfriend's dog on weekends. Each at 50 lbs but my is still a growing pup and sill eventually reach 70 or so lbs.
I fill up the waterer about once every 1 1/2 weeks or so. I used to be constantly refilling the water bowls and the water would be slimy and nasty after just one or two drinks. The water is clean and the filter really traps the hair and slimy drool gunk well. Be sure to take the bottom and rinse that out as well when you refill the container. Remember to replace the charcoal filter once ion a while as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dogit Fresh & Clear Large Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good

PostedMarch 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn ,NY
Very good so far, but I wish it did not have open water exposure close to the but-tom because
dust, food other debris may clog the filter.
Little plastic on the top keeps getting unscrewed and floats in the water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dogit Fresh & Clear Large Dog Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I love the concept

PostedDecember 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
We have only had this product for 2 wks now and I love it. I have a weim and even though they are messy drinkers she really took to this dog fountain. The pump is quiet like a humming sound. Not bad. I hope this lasts.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.