petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PAWZ Dog Boots

PAWZ Dog Boots

Disposable, reusable waterproof dog bootsEasy for you and your pet - slips on and stays onMade with comfortable, stretchy natural rubberGreat for the beach, river, hot or cold ground, rain and snowEarth-conscious choice for your pet’s dog bootsComes in a pack of 12
Average Customer Rating:
3.648 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(108 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 108 reviews
5 stars
56
4 stars
13
3 stars
7
2 stars
9
1 star
23
73 out of 108(68%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for PAWZ Dog Boots
Review 1 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps paws cleans

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Max5
from Chicago
My dog has been using these for 5 years. It has kept my floors clean and my dog's paws clean. I do recommend them. I will add that some dogs cannot get used to wearing them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

They Stay ON !

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ansophia
from Saranac Lk , NY
Amazing simple and tough enough. I got them for the dewy early ADK mornings outings on the lawn.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not what I expected

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Puglover6
from Roscoe, IL
I will be returning these. They are just balloons and the opening is so narrow that I think it would cut off the circulation on my dogs legs! Her paw print matches the size on the box so I am sure I ordered the correct size.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Senior Dog Tip

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
TrinetteC
from bloomfield, nm
My 15 yr old Aussie, Dottie, is getting unsteady due to arthritis in her hips and slips on had floors. We tried the boots on her back paws and she felt more confident walking on linoleum and I wasn't so afraid she would fall. Dottie liked wearing them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

100% value as has saved on carpet cleaning.

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Luv2Drivewithdog
from Int'l Falls MN
We were hesitant about ordering these but my carpet and floors were becoming a total mess especially this spring and summer with all the rain. They are easy to put on and take off. I am now thinking of ordering some winter boots. My dog is a big dog so don't think that these are for small dogs only. We have ordered two more boxes and even gave some to my sister. This is now a must have in our house. Great quality for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog boots for heat

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
BorderCollieToo
from Desert, Southern California
Shipped fastest from three different venders I used that day. Discount online plus free shipping saved gas. Protects paws for quick trip from car across asphalt parking lots plus short sidewalks into bldgs in the So Cal desert area. Reusable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

effective

PostedMay 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
nickynella
from new jersey
you need these in NYC. even in the swankiest streets of the big apple, you have people vomiting, spitting, urinating and other nasty things that are stuck or dragged on the sidewalks and streets. if you won't walk barefoot in Manhattan, why would you have your dog walk 'barepaw'? lol. like all dog boots, and i mean all boots, these are not totally foolproof. you need to either tape or use rubber bands around the top to ensure that these won't slip off and carry a spare or 2 in case you lose a boot. in all, these keeps my dogs paws clean and healthy and takes out the hassle of a full cleaning their paws with a soak and soap. wiping doesn't do the job when your pet steps on spit, vomit or other dog waste... period. plus these will make your pet attract attention!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Traction for hardwood floors

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Blankielady
from Los Angeles
I bought these to give my senior dog traction on my hardwood floors. They really worked! She was panting in pain and slipping on my hardwood floors. She had gotten to the point where she was sliding on the floors and getting so tired that she couldn't get up.
She didn't like them for maybe 2 minutes.... Then she realized that she wasn't slipping and she is now so happy! They are a little hard to get on at first because my dog resisted me putting them on. I have finally gotten the hang of it. I let her lay on the bed and I stretch the top out and scrunch them up like a sock. I finally did it with out the help of a second person. I tried the hiking style boots, that cost and a leg. they were so difficult to get on, and wouldn't stay on her. Even though these shoes look a little funny, They seem to really work, plus I think she can feel the ground through the thin rubber.
I also used this product when my other dog had a paw infection and I had to keep his paw dry. You can use the paw prank in the back of the package to determine the size.
I really think this product, although not perfect, is the best thing out there for senior dogs on hardwood floors. I think they should sell them at the Veterinarians office for the thousands of people with the same problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great boots, Not for all.

PostedMay 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
LunaPoodle
from New York, NY
I purchased Pawz size X-Small (Orange) for my 12 Lb, 2 year old Miniature Poodle. The first time putting them on her was a bit of a struggle. After two times it gets easy for you and the pet. She couldn't walk in them at first but after 3 minutes of stomping her paws, she did her normal little prance walk thing she does.
Pros:
-No more washing/wiping her paws down after every walk.
-Her paws won't get cut or burned from hot pavements or snow salt.
-They look like little fashion dogs during their walks.
- biodegradable and easy to clean.
Cons:
-Annoying to put on and take off
-Can't wear them for a long time because dogs sweat through their paws and need to cool off.
-They are similar to balloons.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work for me

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Balle
from Columbus,Ohio
I purchased the X-small size -"Orange balloons" for my 11lbs Shih-Tzu according to the sizing guide. I expected them to stay on and protect her paws in snow salt and ice because the neck of the balloons are so tight. After a 20mins walk, we came home with one balloon missing and the other two have holes on her first wearing. It was a pain to get them on and off. Great concept but did not work for me.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Maloo
from Palos Heights, IL
The PAWZ dog boots stayed on my dog through long walks. At first, he wouldn't move. Picked him up and placed him outside. He would rather go for a walk than fight the boots.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pawz Dog Boots

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tracy11
from Huntington, NY
Paws down - the best invention ever! Reusable, they offer good protection, yet are light enough that the dogs adjust to them quickly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Had to cut them off of my dogs feet.

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
DesS
from Boise, ID
Our dog's paws are very dry so we needed to get something to make it so that she couldn't lick the medicine off of her feet. We were shown these boots by an employee, we got the size it said for a Lab and even used the paw measurement on the back before we put them on. Later we literally had to cut them off of her feet because her feet had swollen up so much. Petco was very good and gave us our money back but I would never recommend these to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
ACSmomma
from Chicago, IL
I just bought these for my two boys. We've been struggling through this ridiculous Chicago winter and getting serous cabin fever. I got a medium for my 33lb beagle, and a large for my 50lb golden mix. They both might have been able to go down a size, but my beagle still has his back dew claws so I wanted to make sure they fit over them. The boots stay on great and my dogs are THRILLED they are finally able to go for walks without the salt burning their paws. They were a bit challenging to put on the first time, but with a lot of cheese and positive reinforcement we made it work. Now they just stand there and let me put them on because they know it means we're going for a walk. Would absolutely recommend, gotta protect those paws!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
MorkieLove
from Litchfield, NH
I got these in size small (red) for my Morkie (20 lb) and ShihTzu (16 lb), we were heading to a friend's cabin up north and it was supposed to be snowing so I wanted something to protect their feet. The first time I put them on them they resisted a little and were walking like ducks in the house, they weren't really sure of them. As soon as they got outside in the snow and ice and figured out their paws weren't freezing they were so excited. They took off across the field running and running, jumping around, playing with each other and just generally having a blast. Now whenever I put the paws boots on they don't resist at all and absolutely love them! These boots are not just great when it is snowing, but they also protect against the icy puddles, salt and sand all over the roads and sidewalks. I am so happy to have found a product that we all love. And you can reuse them a few times - so for the price they are absolutely worth it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lifesaver!!

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
SSBMom
from Arlington, VA
I was getting so frustrated as my pup could not make it through our walks without continuous stops to wipe paws of icy, slushy mush or painful, pet-unfriendly ice-melt. Several times I had to carry him home as he couldn't even stand on his painful paws anymore -- at 33 lbs it wasn't easy either!! So I researched and asked around and it seemed the best chance for success (i.e. pup actually walking in them for the duration of our walk AND them staying on) was to get Pawz as they permit dogs to actually feel the ground through the booties giving them better traction, stability and sense of security. They are exactly as folks have described -- like a thick rubber latex balloon (they remind me of the galoshes my dad used to wear over his shoes back in the day - lol). Anyway, after a hilarious "indoor practice session" where he looked like he was walking slo mo in a pit of molasses, we ventured outside in the frigid, slushy mush. My pup (beagle mix) was walking "normally" within one minute and NO STOPS along the route and they all stayed on!! Even during his hopping and galloping through the snow, playing chase and playing fetch -- booties stayed on. I can't tell you how relieved and happy I am to have these booties!! So glad I didn't spend money on the expensive, fancy-schmancy booties out there!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love Pawz!

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
alk121
from Pittsburgh
I want to start off by saying that PAWZ is not meant to insulate or keep your dogs paws warm. If that is what you're looking for then you should look at other products. Like other reviews have stated, PAWZ is pretty much a balloon for you dogs feet.
That being said, they are meant to keep the elements off of their feet. I have a Whippet mix (medium size PAWZ works well for her) and her paws freeze very easily in the snow. She also has problems with getting excessive amounts of salt in her pads.
We looked at different dog shoe options, but she hated them, and often kicked them off her feet during walks (which isn't very productive, and is very frustrating). PAWZ was the ultimate solution! Keeps the elements off her feet and she tolerates them.
We are very happy with our purchase, and would definitely recommend them if you are having similar problems with the salt and snow.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Balloons

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
KimmieO
from Philadelphia
These "booties" are nothing more than balloons. They might be a tad thicker but basically the same thing. I was very disappointed and ended up taking them back to the store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for long walks with pad injuries

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
seam
from Rocky Point, NY
I have a large greyhound with large feet(almost 4inch paws) and a recovering pad injury. He loves to take long walks. NY wintery streets covered with sand and salt were tough. Pawz size large were perfect. With huge toenails I thought they would break. They did not and are truly reuseable! They are also easy to get on and off and he forgot it was even on. They do not slip or move around either.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Serves the purpose

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
huskywooer
from Morgan Hill, CA
I bought these for my elderly Siberian Husky so that he wouldn't slip on the hardwood floors and/or be able to get up from a prone position, giving him some traction. They work fine but are kind of big so that the rubber fold over in parts including underneath. They are difficult to get on but not impossible.
I ordered large per the guidelines but they are a bit too big. I've been taking them off around once a day so that he doesn't develop any bacterial infections due to the rubber.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>