petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PAWZ Dog Boots

PAWZ Dog Boots

Disposable, reusable, waterproof dog bootsSlips on, stays onComfortable, stretchy natural rubber
Average Customer Rating:
3.586 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(99 Reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 99 reviews
5 stars
50
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
9
1 star
22
65 out of 99(66%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for PAWZ Dog Boots
Review 1 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work for me

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Balle
from Columbus,Ohio
I purchased the X-small size -"Orange balloons" for my 11lbs Shih-Tzu according to the sizing guide. I expected them to stay on and protect her paws in snow salt and ice because the neck of the balloons are so tight. After a 20mins walk, we came home with one balloon missing and the other two have holes on her first wearing. It was a pain to get them on and off. Great concept but did not work for me.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Maloo
from Palos Heights, IL
The PAWZ dog boots stayed on my dog through long walks. At first, he wouldn't move. Picked him up and placed him outside. He would rather go for a walk than fight the boots.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pawz Dog Boots

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tracy11
from Huntington, NY
Paws down - the best invention ever! Reusable, they offer good protection, yet are light enough that the dogs adjust to them quickly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Had to cut them off of my dogs feet.

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
DesS
from Boise, ID
Our dog's paws are very dry so we needed to get something to make it so that she couldn't lick the medicine off of her feet. We were shown these boots by an employee, we got the size it said for a Lab and even used the paw measurement on the back before we put them on. Later we literally had to cut them off of her feet because her feet had swollen up so much. Petco was very good and gave us our money back but I would never recommend these to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
ACSmomma
from Chicago, IL
I just bought these for my two boys. We've been struggling through this ridiculous Chicago winter and getting serous cabin fever. I got a medium for my 33lb beagle, and a large for my 50lb golden mix. They both might have been able to go down a size, but my beagle still has his back dew claws so I wanted to make sure they fit over them. The boots stay on great and my dogs are THRILLED they are finally able to go for walks without the salt burning their paws. They were a bit challenging to put on the first time, but with a lot of cheese and positive reinforcement we made it work. Now they just stand there and let me put them on because they know it means we're going for a walk. Would absolutely recommend, gotta protect those paws!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
MorkieLove
from Litchfield, NH
I got these in size small (red) for my Morkie (20 lb) and ShihTzu (16 lb), we were heading to a friend's cabin up north and it was supposed to be snowing so I wanted something to protect their feet. The first time I put them on them they resisted a little and were walking like ducks in the house, they weren't really sure of them. As soon as they got outside in the snow and ice and figured out their paws weren't freezing they were so excited. They took off across the field running and running, jumping around, playing with each other and just generally having a blast. Now whenever I put the paws boots on they don't resist at all and absolutely love them! These boots are not just great when it is snowing, but they also protect against the icy puddles, salt and sand all over the roads and sidewalks. I am so happy to have found a product that we all love. And you can reuse them a few times - so for the price they are absolutely worth it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lifesaver!!

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
SSBMom
from Arlington, VA
I was getting so frustrated as my pup could not make it through our walks without continuous stops to wipe paws of icy, slushy mush or painful, pet-unfriendly ice-melt. Several times I had to carry him home as he couldn't even stand on his painful paws anymore -- at 33 lbs it wasn't easy either!! So I researched and asked around and it seemed the best chance for success (i.e. pup actually walking in them for the duration of our walk AND them staying on) was to get Pawz as they permit dogs to actually feel the ground through the booties giving them better traction, stability and sense of security. They are exactly as folks have described -- like a thick rubber latex balloon (they remind me of the galoshes my dad used to wear over his shoes back in the day - lol). Anyway, after a hilarious "indoor practice session" where he looked like he was walking slo mo in a pit of molasses, we ventured outside in the frigid, slushy mush. My pup (beagle mix) was walking "normally" within one minute and NO STOPS along the route and they all stayed on!! Even during his hopping and galloping through the snow, playing chase and playing fetch -- booties stayed on. I can't tell you how relieved and happy I am to have these booties!! So glad I didn't spend money on the expensive, fancy-schmancy booties out there!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love Pawz!

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
alk121
from Pittsburgh
I want to start off by saying that PAWZ is not meant to insulate or keep your dogs paws warm. If that is what you're looking for then you should look at other products. Like other reviews have stated, PAWZ is pretty much a balloon for you dogs feet.
That being said, they are meant to keep the elements off of their feet. I have a Whippet mix (medium size PAWZ works well for her) and her paws freeze very easily in the snow. She also has problems with getting excessive amounts of salt in her pads.
We looked at different dog shoe options, but she hated them, and often kicked them off her feet during walks (which isn't very productive, and is very frustrating). PAWZ was the ultimate solution! Keeps the elements off her feet and she tolerates them.
We are very happy with our purchase, and would definitely recommend them if you are having similar problems with the salt and snow.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Balloons

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
KimmieO
from Philadelphia
These "booties" are nothing more than balloons. They might be a tad thicker but basically the same thing. I was very disappointed and ended up taking them back to the store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for long walks with pad injuries

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
seam
from Rocky Point, NY
I have a large greyhound with large feet(almost 4inch paws) and a recovering pad injury. He loves to take long walks. NY wintery streets covered with sand and salt were tough. Pawz size large were perfect. With huge toenails I thought they would break. They did not and are truly reuseable! They are also easy to get on and off and he forgot it was even on. They do not slip or move around either.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Serves the purpose

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
huskywooer
from Morgan Hill, CA
I bought these for my elderly Siberian Husky so that he wouldn't slip on the hardwood floors and/or be able to get up from a prone position, giving him some traction. They work fine but are kind of big so that the rubber fold over in parts including underneath. They are difficult to get on but not impossible.
I ordered large per the guidelines but they are a bit too big. I've been taking them off around once a day so that he doesn't develop any bacterial infections due to the rubber.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pawz dog boots

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Iluvmybeagle
from Penn Yan, NY
I was not able to get these over my dogs paws. I couldn't stretch the opening wide enough to get them on her plus she wouldn't stay still for me to keep trying. I'm going to have to return them, but they do look like they would be very sturdy. I have seen others dogs with them on and thought it would be worth a try.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple and effective

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
NCHusky
from NC
They are exactly what they say they are, rubber balloons for dogs feet. Size is true.
Takes a bit to figure out how to get on and a little practice but anyone who has used dog boots won't complain. The best part is these stay on until removed. They are not insulated, they are meant to keep feet dry, our dogs feet were cool but not wet and cold after use.
Our Husky is from the south and even in deep snow and ice during Jan 14 snow storms his feet were dry and they stayed on.
He doesn't like anything on his feet but these are so lite he doesn't mind them. I poked one of his nails through one a few days ago but still doesn't leak.
For those that complain about these I say: You didn't read the reviews and do your homework. They are exactly what they say they are.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple, but Incredible!

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Firewalk1
from Cincinnati, OH
We had purchased a standard set of boots for our Pomeranian puppy and they were somewhat clumsy to get on. Our pooch wasn't sure of what to do, which we had expected. We remembered seeing the PAWZ dog boots, but thought that they were basically balloons to put on the feet. We went back the second day thinking that they might not be a bad idea. It was easy with both of us putting them on and we encountered no resistance whatsoever! Our Pom was ready to go out and brave the sub zero temperatures with us. It gave her spectacular paw protection, and she is able to run as if she were "barefoot"! A wonderful answer for snow, ice and freezing temperatures!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Sauce!!!

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
STLMOmma
from STL, MO
Thank GOD for these PAWZ Dog Boots. I have a sweet little Shih-Tzu girl named Elly...and here, in STL, we have had a terrible winter storm with temps below zero and even worse wind chill temps. I could not get Elly to 'do her business', it was like the ground was painful for her to walk on it. Today, I braved the weather and went to Petco in search of these boots. I measured her foot before I left, and it was right at 1.5". I got a packet of XX Small (up to 1.5") and a packet of X Small (up to 2.0''). The XX Small fit, but Elly didn't seem to like them and was walking funny. The X Small were definitely roomier - allowing her pads to spread apart, I guess, as she walks. She left them on, and my husband took her around the block. She didn't limp, or run for home, even one time, even though it was -2* outside....and he said she finally did her business!!! It is a banner day in the frozen tundra of STL. We are soooo thankful for these little booties. She came running in from outside and seemed really excited. She didn't want to take them off right away....she was running all over the first floor, like crazy....chasing toys and playing with my daughter. I think she was happy to finally have some traction on our wood floors! These are awesome...and I'm SOOOO THANKFUL to PAWZ for making them!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LIFE-CHANGING!

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
LMSTerrill
from Boston, MA
These booties are absolutely fantastic! I was getting discouraged that my corgi-basenji mix Siena would never be able to enjoy the snow (which is doubly sad considering how much of the year involves snow here in New England), since every bootie we bought ended up being kicked off within 2 minutes, and her poor feet would hurt so much that she would limp and stop walking altogether.
I tried XS first, which is the size I've bought for her in the past, and what appeared to be her size on the box diagram—way too small! The smalls fit perfectly. I'd advise going a size up.
These have completely halted the limping and kicking, since it keeps out the cold and wet, while still allowing her to feel the ground she's walking on. We even spent all morning today playing in the snow at the Common! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Large Size Pawz boots

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
jacksgoldenmom
from middletown, nj
Best protection for snow, ice and salt EVER! I have tried the expensive, designer brands and my Golden Retriever hated them, nor did they stay on his paws. These stay on and he doesn't seem to notice he is wearing them. No more snowballs or salt burns on his paw pads! We are both thrilled!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pawz

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Luvmydogjacoby
from Taunton, MA
These things are great, but they were really hard to get on. Assuming so that they will stay on. Get one size bigger than you think you'll need.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Simplistic design

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
DackelMom
from Colona, IL
A little hard for one person to put on, but effective
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PAWZ Dog Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boots to keep the salt off paws!

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Taurus25
from Milwaukee, WI
We have tried three different types of boots and these are the best. We tried an expensive pair, a true boot. But, with expensive boots you always have to be worried you are going to lose one or all. We tried dogsled boots and they cut into our dogs feet. (We run 5-6 times a week in the WI snow and salt.) These boots definitely stay on. They do wear down after two-four wears. (Or one very energetic trip to the dog park.) But, for the price they are the best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>