petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries

Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries

Small wire sizeExterior access to seed/water cups and perchesDetaches from baseDeep base design accommodates multiple types of litterRemovable bottom grill Convenient carrying handlesEasy to assembleIncludes 2 seed/water cups with waste shields and perches
Average Customer Rating:
4.323 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
27 out of 31(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Review 1 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to Clean, Plenty of Room

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore County, MD
SKU # 1288784
Found a featherless, eyes closed, infant common grackle on the ground the end of May, either fell or was pushed out from the nest, which was at the very top of our pine tree in the back yard, too high to put him back.
We fed him around the clock and after 3 months he is full grown, molted once, has beautiful new wings to fly around the house with for exercise, he eats at the table and lands on our head or shoulders, this little guy is a real joy, and part of the family now!
"Chuck" out grew his smaller cage, and this product has worked out nicely for the past two weeks. It only took a few days for him to adjust from the old wood perches to the plastic green ones that are included, which he now enjoys very much, they act as a spring board to jump from level to level until he reaches the top to sleep on the "Mac's Creations Manzanita Perch" also bought from Petco! SKU #504394
The bowls securely attach to hold food on one side and water on the other, and he has not yet been able to remove them. I'm quite impressed since he is so strong and prides himself on figuring things out and lifting much more than he weighs!
The bird cage was at a great price being on sale, plus Pals rewards and Free shipping, they even included a toy at no cost, so cute! It's an affordable home for our bird to roam!
Grackles measure 28 to 34 cm in length with a wing span of 36–46 cm across, and live to be 20 years old, so this is plenty big to keep him happy, the possibilities to add toys and change things up are endless!
We're also using Healthy Pet Critter Care paper bedding/litter. It’s completely safe and natural to line the bottom of the cage with. A 6.0 liter bag will last 5 complete change outs, only about a dollar in cost to line the entire bottom 2 inches thick!! The design is ingenious! It's super easy to unclip, empty waste and rinse out. 5 Star Rating!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So much cleaner

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seattle
We love our canary; he brings so much delight to our home with his greetings when we enter the room and his beautiful songs throughout the day. However, there is not getting around the inherent messiness of any size bird. Our little canary is no exception, there was constantly a 4 foot radius around his cage with husks, seeds, pieces of fruit and veggies and water. Even with a twice a day clean up schedule the mess was always there. Even the cage skirts and creative use of liner paper was not much help and often times created more work.
At just a little more than you would pay for a standard cage this bird home delivers on all fronts. The design is clever and it is obvious that both the bird and bird parent where considered in its function and features. It is attractive enough to merge with the decor in our home without looking like a mini prison in odd colors and boxy shapes. We originally decided on this cage because we wanted to provide a healthy environment for our bird to fly and interact with his toys safely, that also looked nice in our home, with a price we could afford. We received the cage within a week; it was out of the box and was fully assembled within 15 minutes, no metal hardware, tooling, or engineering degree required.
The external access to the food and water is simple and not disturbing to the bird. The covers over the food and water mean not as much waste because he is not soiling it from above. The perches are little works of art that are good for his foot development and he seems to prefer them to his natural branch perches. ( I wish it came with one or two more)
The cage is light for its size yet very sturdy with a low center of gravity and I love the rubber feet on the bottom that keep the cage in place on a counter top or stand. One time, our dog, out of curiosity pushed the old cage off the stand on to the floor; the little bird flew out because the traditional doors slid up and fully open. The canary was not hurt and I do not want to think of what would have happened if our dog had had interest in trying to catch our little canary. This mishap simply would not have happened with this cage, once it is placed on a surface it does not slide. Another thoughtful design element that I love is the doors and how they secure and move. They click shut and adjust to become an additional perch inside the cage if we wanted to let him out to fly. When both doors are open there is plenty of room to work inside the cage, if you have adult sized hands that is a blessing.
The best part about this cage is the cleanliness factor. The difference is drastic; everything is contained in the bottom. The little hoods over the cups not only keep unwanted debris from falling to the food and water they also help reject a lot of the flying particles from jumping up and out as my little guy shells seeds and shakes strawberries apart.
The drawbacks are the way the feed and water cups connect to the bottom creates a bit of a challenge with lining the cage, experimenting with configurations and might try a bird cage litter or something. The manufacturer sells liners but the price for a box of two while understandable considering it is specifically designed for the cage and nothing else, it is just not practical for us. Also the entire cage must be lifted off the base to clean, it is not heavy I am just worried that he will fly out the bottom during this operation; it would be a non issue with a hand tame bird. This model requires some space to clean as the cage must be lifted and set aside safely but the cleared table or floor is fine. Also because the cup is basically sitting on the floor of the cage they require more involved washing, but this is minimal and should be done anyway.
This cage does not contain 100% of food debris and if your bird is like mine and seems to be a little annoyed if his food is not flying everywhere (I think he does it for attention, does Cesar Milan work with naughty birds too?) there is going to be some clean up around the cage but with this cage it is not so frequent and is never the unsightly mess that comes with other cages. I am a little concerned about long term use and ware and tare the with all the plastic parts because access points that secure with a system reliant on plastic ridges that can ware down over time. If those parts ware down and become unreliable and if compromised, those points could fall open and allowing a bird to escape without supervision. So keep an eye on the access point security and function over time. Currently I am not worried about that as all levers and latches are tight and give a satisfying “click” when properly secured.
All in all this is a great cage that has considered the bird and the owner’s health, safety and enjoyment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hagen Vision cage

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Kailua, HI
I purchased 2 young parakeets from our local Petco on 2/1/13 and they are bonding to each other fabulously. I had a used cage at home but shortly decided to get a Hagen Vision cage after reading some reviews and liking the bottom feeding and clean up aspects of the cage, as well as how it is visually appealing to me. I found several Vision cages on sale at my Kaneohe store and decided on the M02 tall cage. It was not as easy as it claims to put together. Some sweat was involved. It is huge for 2 birds. Transitioning from long wooden perches to the short plastic green ones that come with the cage was a bit challenging for my birds. I added a few wooden perches and lots of toys. It took them a week to figure out the new food dishes were on the bottom, I placed 2 small silo type feeders with water & food up above for them. Overall, this cage is wonderful, my birds love it and I am happy with it. Parakeets are messy little birds but this cage contains more mess than a regular cage does. I like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Room to Spread wings and Fly

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Columbia Co, NY
My mother's canary had been hopping back and forth in a small cage for the past year. I purchased this cage so the little guy could use his wings instead of his legs to get around. After a day of getting to know the cage, Gabriel is happy to flit from perch to perch. He was skittish of the wire mesh on the bottom. We've placed paper over it to help him adjust.
Worth the price of admission to see the tiny orange canary learn to spread his wings and truly fly. Lots of vertical space and a variety of ways to access food and treat cups.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to clean

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Apple Valley, CA
I would recommend this bird cage as it is very easy to clean. The bottom of the cage comes off so that cleaning is fast and easy. Has protection so that the bird cannot throw seed or water out of the cage. Rating 10/10.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries

PostedJune 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Needed to find a larger cage for my first Lovebird and found this cage at a Petco Store.
It went together quite easily.
It has perches and dishes included.
It has its own built in seed guard, so to speak.
Is quite easy to clean.
After an unsuccessful attempt to bring in another bird for companionship, I knew that I wanted to house my second bird in an identical cage!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Colorado
I shopped around for a long time before deciding on this cage. I needed to dowsize (one of my lovebirds passed away) and so far this has been perfect for my lovebird. It is plenty big and would even have been big enough for both of my lovebirds. I love the fact that the whole bottom detaches, it makes cleaning a lot easier. The flaps that attach above the food bowls are amazing because they catch droppings before they reach the bowl. Excellent purchase that I would buy again. Oh and this cage is not flimsy, it is perfect for smaller birds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Flimsy!!!!

PostedMay 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
This cage was very flimsy. Wire clips on corners kept coming loose. The worst thing was in cleaning the cage. The entire top comes off the base, but then the wire floor grate also came off with the top. Birds could fly right out. The only thing I found good about the cage was the seed guards.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
I have 2 Vision Cages. I Medium, & 1 Large Cage and thought I would like to take my 3 Parakeets from the Medium Cage and place them into the Medium Tall. When I took the parts from the carton everything seemed up to Vision Cages standard of quality. I was disappointed when it was put together how flimsy it seemed in comparision to the other Vision Cages I own. With 3 kitties in the house I couldn't take a chance, so I returned the cage to Petco.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not what I thought it would be

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
This cage was not what it looked like in the pictures.. it is very flimsy and hard to clean. It says it is good for parrotlets but there is too much plastic on it and my parrotlets like to chew. I wish I had made a different decision.
As far as size goes that was OK.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great buy

PostedSeptember 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Watertown, WI
I was a little disappointed as there was a few areas where things were chipped(the top part of the cage the clips that hold the wire cage part to the plastic top some of them were chipped so they didn't hold it as well but since I have bourke in to wasn't too worried) The great thing was it is a very nice set up and keeps the mess contained. If you have room for the large, the large one is the way to go as the medium doesn't really give enough room for a variety of perches and a some toys.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great "home"

PostedJuly 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Buffalo, ny
These are awesome because they are so easy to clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My babies love it!

PostedJune 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
I have two peachface lovebirds that had three babies. The cage they were in was initially intended for just the two because there definitely is not enough room for five. I purchased this cage because of how much taller and bigger it was, but also because of the seed guard at the bottom of the cage. It's been so useful! The babies like to splash in their water bowl and shake water everywhere that used to splatter on my walls. Now, it just splatters on the plastic inside the cage. It took me about twenty minutes to assemble and it's totally worth every penny. I would definitely recommend this to bird owners with small birds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My Breeder LOVES this cage

PostedMay 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Santa Ana, CA
My breeder recommended this cage to me for my parrotlet. She has one for her parrotlets and she absoulutley loves it. My bird fell in love with his new home instantly; however, the only thing I do not like about this cage is that even when you open the duble door it is a bit too small of an opening. Other than that, great buy! Great Price and free shipping!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

By far the best cage out there

PostedMay 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
This cage is by far the best that I've seen in the market. It incorporates a lot of important features that birds love and cage manufacturers don't ever seem to think of like horizontal wires throughout, a base that effectively catches all those stray seeds and down feathers, dropping shields for the food and water dishes, a large door for taking your birds in and out without banging their heads, and a flat top that you can use to set up a cage-top playpen. The medium-sized cage is a good size for my parakeets and doesn't take up all the space in my apartment. The only downside is that the 15" depth of all the cage sizes isn't nearly enough for anything bigger than a parakeet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My birds Love it!

PostedApril 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
I was so glad I bought this cage for My Zebra Finches! It was carefully designed in a way that makes refilling the food and water containers and cleaning a snap! And after being in a small starter size cage for a few weeks, the birds seemed in awe of all the space they suddenly had! This cage is definately "for the birds!" Lol!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hage Cage Large

PostedApril 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
i bought Hagen Vision Bird cage for Canaries Large for my baby cockatiel he loves the going to the bottom and looking threw the see threw part he didn`t like the food dishes thought but this product is easy to clean and care for also i like how the sides open and the double doors that fold in side into a platform for its easy for him to come in and out of his cage and my bird loves going up and down the bars i plan on buying the next size for him for Christmas ^^
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage!

PostedFebruary 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
from NY
I love this cage! Easy to clean, nice appearance. My parakeet loves it too. His old cage was a little larger, but he is more active in this one. It was fairly easy to assemble, with the exception of the corner clips - which were really hard to get to "click" on, and took two of us about 40 minutes total time. I would recommend this to anyone with a small bird.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works like advertised

PostedFebruary 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
I have 3 of these cages: large tall, medium tall, and this small one. These were chosen because they were advertised as reducing the mess that birds make. I am happy with the results. I have 2 parakeets in the large, 5 finches in the medium, and the small is the isolation/hospital cage. As long as all food is below the bars it is contained within the cage. I took out the bottom grates and simply remove the newspaper from any door daily to maintain a clean cage. If my bird collection grows this is the cage I will buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value For $

PostedFebruary 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Upstate NY
I recently purchased two other bird cages for $30 and $40. They were cheaply made, flimsey wire and plastic bottoms. One cracked badly when dropped. I was stunned and impressed with the quality and sturdiness of this much larger cage (M02 tall) for only $70 sale price. Extremely well made of excellent materials. Horizontal wires are appropriate for bird climbing. Even better than the quality of cages I saw in the 1950's when I first had birds. I wish now I had purchased this first. I can see where cleaning bottom might be a challenge, but then you cannot have everything in one package. Have ordered the cage cover separately also based on a good review. This is the kind of quality I grew up with when most things were made in USA.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>