petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries

Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries

Small wire sizeExterior access to seed/water cups and perchesDetaches from baseDeep base design accommodates multiple types of litterRemovable bottom grill Convenient carrying handlesEasy to assembleIncludes 2 seed/water cups with waste shields and perches
Average Customer Rating:
4.276 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
25 out of 29(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Review 1 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hagen Vision cage

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
dawghi
from Kailua, HI
I purchased 2 young parakeets from our local Petco on 2/1/13 and they are bonding to each other fabulously. I had a used cage at home but shortly decided to get a Hagen Vision cage after reading some reviews and liking the bottom feeding and clean up aspects of the cage, as well as how it is visually appealing to me. I found several Vision cages on sale at my Kaneohe store and decided on the M02 tall cage. It was not as easy as it claims to put together. Some sweat was involved. It is huge for 2 birds. Transitioning from long wooden perches to the short plastic green ones that come with the cage was a bit challenging for my birds. I added a few wooden perches and lots of toys. It took them a week to figure out the new food dishes were on the bottom, I placed 2 small silo type feeders with water & food up above for them. Overall, this cage is wonderful, my birds love it and I am happy with it. Parakeets are messy little birds but this cage contains more mess than a regular cage does. I like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Room to Spread wings and Fly

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
ClermontFilly
from Columbia Co, NY
My mother's canary had been hopping back and forth in a small cage for the past year. I purchased this cage so the little guy could use his wings instead of his legs to get around. After a day of getting to know the cage, Gabriel is happy to flit from perch to perch. He was skittish of the wire mesh on the bottom. We've placed paper over it to help him adjust.
Worth the price of admission to see the tiny orange canary learn to spread his wings and truly fly. Lots of vertical space and a variety of ways to access food and treat cups.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to clean

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
houseoffriends
from Apple Valley, CA
I would recommend this bird cage as it is very easy to clean. The bottom of the cage comes off so that cleaning is fast and easy. Has protection so that the bird cannot throw seed or water out of the cage. Rating 10/10.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries

PostedJune 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
2lovebirds
Needed to find a larger cage for my first Lovebird and found this cage at a Petco Store.
It went together quite easily.
It has perches and dishes included.
It has its own built in seed guard, so to speak.
Is quite easy to clean.
After an unsuccessful attempt to bring in another bird for companionship, I knew that I wanted to house my second bird in an identical cage!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Britter
from Colorado
I shopped around for a long time before deciding on this cage. I needed to dowsize (one of my lovebirds passed away) and so far this has been perfect for my lovebird. It is plenty big and would even have been big enough for both of my lovebirds. I love the fact that the whole bottom detaches, it makes cleaning a lot easier. The flaps that attach above the food bowls are amazing because they catch droppings before they reach the bowl. Excellent purchase that I would buy again. Oh and this cage is not flimsy, it is perfect for smaller birds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Flimsy!!!!

PostedMay 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Weslie
from Illinois
This cage was very flimsy. Wire clips on corners kept coming loose. The worst thing was in cleaning the cage. The entire top comes off the base, but then the wire floor grate also came off with the top. Birds could fly right out. The only thing I found good about the cage was the seed guards.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
lsgamegal
I have 2 Vision Cages. I Medium, & 1 Large Cage and thought I would like to take my 3 Parakeets from the Medium Cage and place them into the Medium Tall. When I took the parts from the carton everything seemed up to Vision Cages standard of quality. I was disappointed when it was put together how flimsy it seemed in comparision to the other Vision Cages I own. With 3 kitties in the house I couldn't take a chance, so I returned the cage to Petco.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not what I thought it would be

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
zuzupetals
This cage was not what it looked like in the pictures.. it is very flimsy and hard to clean. It says it is good for parrotlets but there is too much plastic on it and my parrotlets like to chew. I wish I had made a different decision.
As far as size goes that was OK.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great buy

PostedSeptember 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
englishbudgie
from Watertown, WI
I was a little disappointed as there was a few areas where things were chipped(the top part of the cage the clips that hold the wire cage part to the plastic top some of them were chipped so they didn't hold it as well but since I have bourke in to wasn't too worried) The great thing was it is a very nice set up and keeps the mess contained. If you have room for the large, the large one is the way to go as the medium doesn't really give enough room for a variety of perches and a some toys.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great "home"

PostedJuly 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
dianemarie1998
from Buffalo, ny
These are awesome because they are so easy to clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My babies love it!

PostedJune 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
sarac
I have two peachface lovebirds that had three babies. The cage they were in was initially intended for just the two because there definitely is not enough room for five. I purchased this cage because of how much taller and bigger it was, but also because of the seed guard at the bottom of the cage. It's been so useful! The babies like to splash in their water bowl and shake water everywhere that used to splatter on my walls. Now, it just splatters on the plastic inside the cage. It took me about twenty minutes to assemble and it's totally worth every penny. I would definitely recommend this to bird owners with small birds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My Breeder LOVES this cage

PostedMay 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tammy777
from Santa Ana, CA
My breeder recommended this cage to me for my parrotlet. She has one for her parrotlets and she absoulutley loves it. My bird fell in love with his new home instantly; however, the only thing I do not like about this cage is that even when you open the duble door it is a bit too small of an opening. Other than that, great buy! Great Price and free shipping!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

By far the best cage out there

PostedMay 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
flockleader
This cage is by far the best that I've seen in the market. It incorporates a lot of important features that birds love and cage manufacturers don't ever seem to think of like horizontal wires throughout, a base that effectively catches all those stray seeds and down feathers, dropping shields for the food and water dishes, a large door for taking your birds in and out without banging their heads, and a flat top that you can use to set up a cage-top playpen. The medium-sized cage is a good size for my parakeets and doesn't take up all the space in my apartment. The only downside is that the 15" depth of all the cage sizes isn't nearly enough for anything bigger than a parakeet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My birds Love it!

PostedApril 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Suefair
I was so glad I bought this cage for My Zebra Finches! It was carefully designed in a way that makes refilling the food and water containers and cleaning a snap! And after being in a small starter size cage for a few weeks, the birds seemed in awe of all the space they suddenly had! This cage is definately "for the birds!" Lol!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hage Cage Large

PostedApril 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
ChaosWolf
i bought Hagen Vision Bird cage for Canaries Large for my baby cockatiel he loves the going to the bottom and looking threw the see threw part he didn`t like the food dishes thought but this product is easy to clean and care for also i like how the sides open and the double doors that fold in side into a platform for its easy for him to come in and out of his cage and my bird loves going up and down the bars i plan on buying the next size for him for Christmas ^^
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage!

PostedFebruary 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
ljp03
from NY
I love this cage! Easy to clean, nice appearance. My parakeet loves it too. His old cage was a little larger, but he is more active in this one. It was fairly easy to assemble, with the exception of the corner clips - which were really hard to get to "click" on, and took two of us about 40 minutes total time. I would recommend this to anyone with a small bird.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works like advertised

PostedFebruary 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
ConstantlyBaffled
I have 3 of these cages: large tall, medium tall, and this small one. These were chosen because they were advertised as reducing the mess that birds make. I am happy with the results. I have 2 parakeets in the large, 5 finches in the medium, and the small is the isolation/hospital cage. As long as all food is below the bars it is contained within the cage. I took out the bottom grates and simply remove the newspaper from any door daily to maintain a clean cage. If my bird collection grows this is the cage I will buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value For $

PostedFebruary 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
jojo2
from Upstate NY
I recently purchased two other bird cages for $30 and $40. They were cheaply made, flimsey wire and plastic bottoms. One cracked badly when dropped. I was stunned and impressed with the quality and sturdiness of this much larger cage (M02 tall) for only $70 sale price. Extremely well made of excellent materials. Horizontal wires are appropriate for bird climbing. Even better than the quality of cages I saw in the 1950's when I first had birds. I wish now I had purchased this first. I can see where cleaning bottom might be a challenge, but then you cannot have everything in one package. Have ordered the cage cover separately also based on a good review. This is the kind of quality I grew up with when most things were made in USA.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best canary cage

PostedFebruary 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lelen
My canary can eat or take a bath.....everything stays in the cage. The compartments are really protected from the droppings by the inserts that come with the cage. A very well thought out product. I love, love, love this cage. And he does too....he does not stop singing.They should have made it a little bit wider though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hagen Vision Bird Cage for Canaries
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage

PostedFebruary 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Scale
Very nice bird cage. Many people probably think the one thing that would make it the best cage out there would be if it had a pull out tray. You don't need a tray and the wire over it. I use pine shavings on the bottom of my cages, you can spot clean once a week and the cage always looks clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>