petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Pro Plan Focus Canned Kitten Food

Pro Plan Focus Canned Kitten Food

Complete and balanced nutritionPromotes proper growth and development in your kittenPackaged in easy-open, flip-top cans
Average Customer Rating:
4.353 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
15 out of 17(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Pro Plan Focus Canned Kitten Food
Review 1 for Pro Plan Focus Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the best.

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Vineland, NJ
This is THE BEST kitten food on the market, hands down. It has a few drawbacks though, as follows. Its expensive, at 5$ more per case then most cat food. The variety is mandatory, if I go more then 5 days giving them just Chicken and Liver, they take a few bites and wander off. Of course the plate is ALWAYS empty eventually, but I like when they love it so much that eat at least half right away. Sooo you have to have the fish too, I do 4 to 1 chicken/fish. But the girls go crazy for it and we researched the heck out of it, its very healthy for our lil indoor kitties.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pro Plan Focus Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kitten Approved...mainly

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Boca Raton, FL
My kittens love the fish flavors (Salmon and Whitefish). The liver flavor...not so much. It's the highlight of their morning when I roll out of bed and open the can...can't keep 'em off the counter they are so eager to get to it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pro Plan Focus Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

What to feed our 2 kittens

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Boston,Ma
We choose Pro Plan for both canned and dry food. One of the kittens eats anything the other doesn't care for the flaked can food, but likes both the chicken and fish classic cans.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pro Plan Focus Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Severely Undernourished Rescue Kitten

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Florida
I rescued a kitten, Turbo, from a high-kill shelter in our area several months back. He was literally just skin in bones, but so full of life and energy--he really stole my heart. Of his entire litter, he was the only one left, and he was on his last day before being "moved out."
Since we first brought him home, we noticed a fairly BIG issue with Turbo--he was EXTREMELY piggy. At first I wrote it off to his body just needing to play catch-up and replenish his body's nutrient stores, so I gave him free eating of the food. This lasted about a day as he would gorge himself until the point where he would vomit, and his little belly would swell up so big it looked like he would pop. After getting him checked (and cleared) for worms, I tried "high-protein" food after food--canned, dry, mixed, homemade--literally anything that I could! I would feed him BOWLS of food 3 times throughout the day, and he would still be scavenging for food, but didn't seem to be growing as quickly (or consistently) as I remember our now 3-year-old cat doing.
On a whim, I headed to Petco determined to find a wet food specifically for kittens, and surprisingly, this was one of the only ones there (next to Blue, etc.) I gave it a shot, feeding him this in place of Fancy Feast in addition to 1/4 cup dry food in the morning and 1/2 cup at night, and within the few weeks that I have done this, I swear he has DOUBLED in size, and while he still scavenges (I think it may just be out of boredom), he will actually STOP eating now when he's full, which is absolutely wonderful as before he would never get full or just continue on gorging himself.
I will definitely keep Turbo on this food until he reaches one year!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pro Plan Focus Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kitten Food

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
Just like human children my kitten seems to have favorites, but overall enjoys the Pro Plan Kitten formula. My vet advised that I keep him on the kitten formula until one year of age due to the extra vitamins & health benefits. I would like to have more variety available, because he will not eat the same one repeatedly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pro Plan Focus Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

kittens

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from st.louis,mo
this is a great food to feed to kittens who have just been fix. plus he loves it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pro Plan Focus Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

8 week old kitten

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Port Saint Lucie, FL
I have an 8 week old kitten that LOVES this food!!! She's very picky but LOVES this!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pro Plan Focus Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kitten loves it.

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis
I have tried all the canned kitten food and this is definitely her favorite. She loves the ocean whitefish and Tuna. Science Diet gave her diarhea.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pro Plan Focus Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Kitten didn't like this food

PostedMarch 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
I tried the Salmon & Ocean Fish Entree for kittens. My kitten licked it a couple times then walked away. She meowed that she was hungry because she refused to eat that brand. She finally ate it hours later. The next day I gave her more, same thing happened. But she usually gobbles wet food down like crazy. Those days she settled for her dry food mostly. I didn't like the "Meat By Products" in it. I didn't read the ingredients before I bought it for my kitten, If I did I wouldnn't have bought it that day.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pro Plan Focus Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Unhealthy

PostedJanuary 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
Someone previously wrote they weren't sure how healthy this food is. This has meat-by-products and lots of fillers. This is JUNK. This is terrible for a growing kitten. If she doesn't eat the other, try a different food. I'd recommend Wellness, very healthy and palatable. My cats & my dog love it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pro Plan Focus Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Satisfies picky kittens

PostedOctober 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Eureka, CA
My only problem with this product is that it doesn't come in a larger size can. It's one of three brands that my well-cared-for (never spoiled) trio will eat with gusto.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pro Plan Focus Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

purina pro

PostedMay 20, 2006
Customer Avatar
from new jersey
my kitten loved this food but i got advices to change into science diet and he doesn't it...so i went back to this foodfor now...i am not sure how healthy this is for a growing kitten but he eats more with this
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.