petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Precision Pet Extreme Outback Log Cabin Dog Houses

Precision Pet Extreme Outback Log Cabin Dog Houses

Weatherproof, asphalt shingle roofRaised floor to keep your dog drySolid wood constructionAssembles in three simple stepsSlant roof design to protect your dog from the elements
Average Customer Rating:
2.889 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
5 out of 9(56%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Precision Pet Extreme Outback Log Cabin Dog Houses
Review 1 for Precision Pet Extreme Outback Log Cabin Dog Houses
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poor quality

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
NerdZ
from Los Angeles, CA
Petco has probably the best offer on this dog house online, which has drawn me to purchase this here. Unfortunately, the very poor quality of the materials and built of this dog house has disappointed me. The images are very impressive but that's all aesthetics. I bought the large size and and its rated up to 94lbs. I have a 90lb. doberman and the flooring started to crack the first time he step into the dog house. The wood panels of the walls are very thin and not going to protect your pet from the elements. The flooring has more than quarter inch gaps between panels, which makes it even more susceptible to cold. Aside from its very cheaply made quality, I do not recommend this to be an outdoor dog house unless its under an awning or roof. Wood imperfection can been seen all over the wood they used. I saw chipped off wood grains, cracked panels, and poorly finished surface. For $50 more you can get 10x better quality than this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Precision Pet Extreme Outback Log Cabin Dog Houses
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
scandal
We bought this dog house and a month later the floor was broken and the front wall was missing it is a cheaply made piece of Junk. they could have used a little thicker lumber on this thing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Precision Pet Extreme Outback Log Cabin Dog Houses
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Durability

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Weimaraner
from Laurens, SC
I have an active Weimaraner approx 90lbs. This house was easy to put together however was very thin and light duty. Within the first week I had to rebuild the floor. Since then my dog has chewed this dog house to the ground.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Precision Pet Extreme Outback Log Cabin Dog Houses
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good product but....

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
erinn
from fieldon, IL
I love the look of the dog house. we water sealed ours. the stain already on dog house could be better and the floor feels a little weak we put a piece of plywood down on floor to make it more strudy. we have only had it a week so overall it is good right now
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Precision Pet Extreme Outback Log Cabin Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

To easy

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
aussiedaz
from Tucson,AZ
This is an easy product to assemble, no missing pieces & nothing broken. I had it together in about 15 minutes & alls well, the dogs don't know yet , but I'm sure once they get use to it they'll be fine. I have put rubber mats on the floor so it will be more comfortable for them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Precision Pet Extreme Outback Log Cabin Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Large fits 2 Dogs comfortably

PostedApril 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
TifKona
from Long Beach, CA
This dog house is great. My lab hates those irritating igloos because they are so enclosed. This was perfect. They love the wood smell.
I bought this same house 2 years ago and my dogs play in it. It lasted for about 1.5 years before we pulled the front off to open it up. The screws started coming loose too, but that is only because my dogs rough house inside it. It has held up amazingly and I am buying it again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Precision Pet Extreme Outback Log Cabin Dog Houses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

love it

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
ladiekali
I assembled this dog house in about 20 minutes. very very easy. the floor is a little thin. but i like that it's elevated and very easy to move. the off center door leaves room to get out of wind or sun. I have a 55 pound american bull dog mix and she has plenty of room to lay down and stretch out. I used a patio chair cover for a cushion for bedding just because she's spoiled.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Precision Pet Extreme Outback Log Cabin Dog Houses
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Impressed

PostedJune 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kdmyterko
from Wahoo, NE
Although it does look exactly like the picture. The quality of this Outback Log Cabin Dog House is very poor. It is very cheaply made and I don't expect to last long at all!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Precision Pet Extreme Outback Log Cabin Dog Houses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

it's good

PostedDecember 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
DaneLady
The house was rather simple to assemble (although the box weighed 64 lbs and I had to drag it to the back yard). There was some damage to parts of the wood, I would guess from shipping.
The house is sturdy and big enough for my Saint puppy (80 lbs now). He walked in and said it was a wonderful house, then came back out side and lay down in the snow!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.