petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Universal Small Animal Water Bottle

Petco Universal Small Animal Water Bottle

Innovative design for optimum drinking actionFits in most habitatsNo bottle holder requiredBPA Free
Average Customer Rating:
4.138 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
24 out of 29(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Petco Universal Small Animal Water Bottle
Review 1 for Petco Universal Small Animal Water Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cute

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
laanimal
A cute water bottle for gerbils. The wire can be bent to get ideal hanging length. Saw my gerbil drinking from it, no problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Universal Small Animal Water Bottle
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not good for Gerbils

PostedMay 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jess520
from Philadelphia, PA
I recently redid my Gerbil's home, mostly because I was tired of him eating it. I got a glass home and was told that this water bottle would be great to have. It hangs from the wire lid and doesn't leak. That's the good part. Bad part, he turned it into a toy that he would bang against the glass. The metal clip that comes with it, isn't strong enough to hold the bottle when it was full. Once he figured out how to get the bottle off the metal clip, he then chewed the living daylights out of the bottle. It was completely destroyed and water all over his cage. It lasted me two months. If you have a Gerbil, get something that is metal or ceramic because they will just destroy this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Universal Small Animal Water Bottle
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not the best bottle...

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
IheartAK
from holyoke, ma
When I had 3 mice, they used to have this. I didn't feel they were getting enough water out of it. Sometimes I would see them roll on their backs just to get water. I soon saw that the water was gradually emptying and I thought they had finally gotten some of it. I eventually learned that the water leaked HORRIBLY into the bedding. I had to buy a normal bottle!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Universal Small Animal Water Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Waterer hunt!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Esqtobe
from Brooklyn, new york
This bottle is one of the best. I would also like to recommend that if you have a chinchilla that likes to make holes, get the glass waterer by Petco.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Universal Small Animal Water Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great water bottle for my Gerbils

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
SmileyFace
from Tulsa, OK
I read reviews about this water bottle before I purchased it and was worried about it leaking. When I saw it in the store, I liked the rounded design and thick plastic to prevent chewing, so I bought it. When I brought it home, I tested it to see if it dripped. I filled it up as far as it would go then put the lid on. I tapped the metal ball in the spout to let some water out to form the vacuum. It dripped about 3 times, but after that it completely held all the water. It hasn't dripped at all in my gerbil's tank, and all 3 of them are able to get water from it. Two of the gerbils are only 5 weeks, so I'm surprised they can get water from it. I got the 10 oz bottle and it's worked great. I recomment this bottle mainly because it is crew-proof, holds water well, and does what you expect a water bottle to do - water you small pet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Universal Small Animal Water Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It was empty in 3 hours

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
CandisNLuke
from Idaho
We filled the bottle, set it up and it had completely drained within 3 hours. (Our gerbils, Sterling and Topaz weren't /that/ thirsty). Very disappointed with this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Universal Small Animal Water Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No leak, little drippage. Works and looks great!!!

PostedJune 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rodentlover96
from rochester,NY
I purchased the 5 ounce one for my dwarf hamster. She looovvves it and so do i. it is easy to fill and it doesnt leak very much at all. when i first put it in her cage it does but once she drinks out of it, the drip stops
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Universal Small Animal Water Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good bottle especially for lab style cage

PostedJune 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
HamsterRadio
from Reston, VA
I like these bottles for the lab-style cages I use. The only caveat is that, when cleaning the bottle, it's advisable to remove the rubber gasket and clean it separately, then reassemble. This gasket is challenging to remove (I use tweezers), but you don't want it growing mold and/or bacteria for lack of thorough cleaning.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Universal Small Animal Water Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's great :D

PostedMay 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
futuremrsbieber
from poway, ca
This water bottle is great! I just got a new hammy and when she drinks on it, it's kinda noisy but it's still great. And when I got it, it did not come with a paper clip and I have an aquarium so we had to buy some paper clips and clip it on there but overall, this water bottle is great! Oh, and I forgot to mention, it holds a lot of water!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Universal Small Animal Water Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous Water Bottles!

PostedMarch 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
StinaUIUC
from Allentown, PA
I absolutely love these bottles! The large ones fit perfectly into the holes of large plastic breeder boxes (faunarium/lee's). I rarely have any sort of leaking problems...if you have one that leaks from day one its a faulty bottle and you should return it...you won't have any problems doing so. The only times I've had any problems with leaking was when I tried to fill a bottle less than halfway, or if the rubber seal got dry...most of the time if the bottle is leaking, if you just wet the rubber seal it'll stop!
I've also used this in aquariums with no issues, you just use the wire to hang them from the screen.
Even the most aggressive chewers shouldnt' be able to chew through these! I have rodents that have destroyed several regular bottles...within a week...after the regular bottles were replaced with one of this style, no more chewing! They've had this style for months now with no issues :)
The only time I ever use another style of bottle is if I am using a cage that the bottle has to be attached from the outside (solid lid with a hole in the side for the nozzle of a bottle). I keep and breed several species of rodents and these are by far my favorite style of water bottle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Universal Small Animal Water Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dripped constantly

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chante
from Salt Lake City, UT
I read all the previous reviews before buying, and so I was disappointed with how this dripped from the first moment I put water in it. I made sure the lid was lined up (per someone's suggestion) and even just held it for a while, hoping it would stop. It continued dripping. It promptly went into the recycle bin.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Universal Small Animal Water Bottle
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not so universal

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
dogs2mice3
was not great for an aquarium set up.returned it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Universal Small Animal Water Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Water Bottle Ever

PostedJanuary 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
CavalierCavies
from Cavalier Cavies of Michigan
I have a small caviary and have tested out many different bottles...ALL of them would leak, constantly soaking the bedding and costing me more money in new bedding than they were worth. This is the BEST bottle ever. I have been using them for over a year now and my original purchased bottles are still in great shape and never leak. Easy to keep clean as well. I just ordered several of the smaller ones to use in the carriers when I take my cavies to shows. I highly recommend this product for use with any small animal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Universal Small Animal Water Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bottle!

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
BunBunOwner
from New York, NY
I bought this bottle for my Holland Lop rabbit and it works great. The bottle doesn't leak and I'm very happy with it. Must have!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Universal Small Animal Water Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

PostedDecember 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Roxann
It seems like thin plastic, but so far it's held up very well. It's easy to hang, and it doesn't dribble when the hamster isn't drinking, like some tend to do. I would have given it a 5 if it were a little thicker, but maybe it's okay to be thin, guess I'll find out. So far it's worked really well though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Universal Small Animal Water Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No Drips!

PostedNovember 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
CarolineK
from Oakland, CA
I have gone through two other water bottles for my chinchilla and this is the only one that doesn't drip all over the cage! The 10oz is a perfect size and my chinchilla adjusted to it from the angled bottle with no problems. This is the least expensive bottle I have purchased (by far), and it's the best!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Universal Small Animal Water Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works very well

PostedNovember 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Snakeman721
from Minneapolis, MN
These bottles work very well if you need something that hangs over the top edge of the cage by just a wire. I had no leaks. For those that have had leaks, I suggest they look closely at the O-ring gasket to make sure it is seated fully and properly in the groove on the sipper piece.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Universal Small Animal Water Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedOctober 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
PiggiesMommy
from Illinois
This water bottle works great for my mice. It has never leaked, it's easy to clean and it fits great in the cage. Definately a great buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Universal Small Animal Water Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

leaked

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
deedeelite714
I was looking for a bottle that i could hang from a tank mesh cover since I was converting a older larger tank to house my new baby hedgehog, Theodore. I found this and ordered the larger one online. I thought it would be perfect I filled it up for the first time and hung it in the tank. I came back no more than 30 mins later and found that half the water was no longer in the bottle but was on the cage floor thats when I noticed that the water was seeping through the end where the ball was supposedly be holding the water in the bottle.
It doesn't function and I am sadly dissapointed
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Universal Small Animal Water Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good bottle

PostedJuly 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Milena
Easy to put on a side of the cage.It does not leak.Loooove it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>