petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Products Blue Gentle Leader Headcollars

PetSafe Products Blue Gentle Leader Headcollars

Adjustable nose loop for a custom fitGentle Leader collar will not come off over dog's headConverts to a regular collar and as easy to use as Gentle Leader harnessOffers unsurpassed quality
Average Customer Rating:
4.694 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
5 stars
27
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
34 out of 36(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Products Blue Gentle Leader Headcollars
Review 1 for PetSafe Products Blue Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

fitting and bruising

PostedMay 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from atx
I bought this because my trainer recommended it as a puppy, but as my dog grew and we began to go hiking it became a problem. it was a great fit at first but then I couldn't properly adjust and even went into a bigger size with the same problem. My 70 pounds Siberian has a thing for squirrels and even though the Gentle Leader is great at me correcting his behavior he seems to be bruising his nose from all the pulling. it was never a problem before when he was smaller, but now I need to find an alternative. He doesn't mind the head collar but the raised skin and loss of hair where the collar is looks painful. Three stars because it worked great for a puppy, but bad for him as a dog.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Products Blue Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stops Pulling

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Florida
I had a problem with my dog pulling during walks. Since I got this he no longer pulls and does much better when we go out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Products Blue Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best leash

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Houstontx
Great product. It actually works. Works instantly love your walk
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Products Blue Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Texas
This head collar is magic! It turned my leash-pulling puppy into a well-behaved dog on his walk. I only wish I had gotten this sooner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Products Blue Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more pulling!!

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
The Gentle Leader has allowed me to walk my dog again! He was like a mush dog and I was his sled. His pulling caused me to get tennis elbow from the constant strain. Now I can walk him with hardly a pull. I watched the video several times to make sure I had the lead on right. That is the most important thing. He is not getting hurt but is reminded to walk like a good dog. I am so happy and I think he is too now that he can go on walks again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Products Blue Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GENTLE LEADER

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from SAPULPA, OK
LOVE THIS PRODUCT! WE HAVE PIT BULL DOGS AND AND BLUE HEELERS AND THEY CAN WALK WITH NO PULL.
THANKS
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Products Blue Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am amazed how well it works.

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Franklin, TN
My 110 lb. akita used to pull horribly, and now my 10 yr old daughter can walk him with this head collar. It looks a bit flimsy, but it actually holds up, and my dog does not pull with this on him. It took almost no time for him to get used to it. Now, he even walks with his usual collar/leash better. I feel that it is very humane, and does not hurt him. He is just walking so much better now than before.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Products Blue Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gentle Leader

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Springville, UT
Petco's competitor only had this product in tan and grey. Blue was exactly the color I was looking for, thanks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Products Blue Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!!!

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Coalport, PA
My husband and I can finally enjoy taking our dogs for a walk! They both quickly adapted to these new headcollars and are much easier to control now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Products Blue Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gentle Leader Headcollars

PostedJune 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
Our dog is 5 years old and he has always had a problem with pulling during walks. No matter what we tried we just couldn't get him to behave during a walk until the walk back home and then it was only because he was tired. He is a 69lbs coonhound mix and so I was having a problem walking him without my husband since the dog is about half my weight. Our vet suggested this product and from the first time we put it on him it worked wonderfully! We love it! It will take him a while to get use to it but that's to be expected.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Products Blue Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Midwest Crate

PostedJune 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hobart, IN
I received the crate in no time at all. The crate was built well and the size I wanted. Easy to assemble also.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Products Blue Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PetSafe Products Blue Gentle Leader Headcollars

PostedMay 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Etowah, TN
This is the second headcollar of this same brand that I've purchased. It worked so well with my adult border collie/husky mix, that I got another for my young border collie. These dogs have a strong pulling instinct, especially the oldest one. It had gotten to the point that I could no longer safely walk him, his pulling having caused several falls for me. The very first time we put this headcollar on him, Moose was like a different dog, as far as the control we could maintain during walks. When the pup began showing the same tendencies, I got a smaller version for him. It's one of the most wonderful inventions ever for safety and security of both owner and pet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Products Blue Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i love this

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from South Dakota
My dog would pull so hard that she would choke when we walked her and this guy at the park told us about his little head halter, so we got one, i was amazed at how well it worked. My dog walks normal now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Products Blue Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good tool to help with training.

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from CT
The Gentle Leader has helped me train my 2 dogs to walk quietly, with no pulling using one leash connected to both dogs. I really enjoy walking with my team everyday.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Products Blue Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
This really helped my puppy not pull so much on the leash. I hated feeling like I was choking her with her collar. This comes with a DVD that is very helpful as well. The hardest thing was making sure that it was richter enough around the neck but the video explains why this is so important and why it doesn't hurt your dog. More people end to be educated about head collars and their benefits. When walking on the beach some people thought it was a muzzle and wouldn't approach my puppy. This is NOT a muzzle and your dog can still eat play pant and drink. Great buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Products Blue Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gentle leader

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Spain
I was very excited to recieve the Gentle leader pet collar. I have a Bichon Maltes . She is very small so i ordered the small one, which fits perfectly.
It works very well, the difference in our walks now is amazing.
However, the collar is pink, and when i remove it afer the walk, the colour has run into Poppys fur.
Being a pure white. Dog this is a problem. I cannot remove the dye from her coat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Products Blue Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gentle Leader Dog Collar

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Sioux Falls, SD
Check out a you tube video on how to use one before ordering. After you get it use plenty of treats while trying to get the nose strap on so it's a positive experience. It is the greatest invention of a dog collar! My dog walks right by my knee without any pulling or tugging, I use a "short leash" which I have found works best. After a short while if your dog is like mine he/she will sit when you take it out. This is the best collar I have ever used and does not hurt their neck and you have much better control over your dog when walking. I just can't praise it enough! Petco has the best price I have seen also and I have checked around. I've attached a photo but you can't see the neck strap because my dog's hair is too thick but it's attached right behind her ears.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Products Blue Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product - Highly Recommend

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
We adopted a 7 month old Lab/Hound/Pit Mix - and he pulls and pulls hard. I used a choke chain (or control collar) for the first 3 months - it worked for a bit but was encouraged to try the Gentle Leader Head Collar. I was very unsure of this collar but watched the video and gave it a try. Unbelievable difference. My 7 year old can even walk our dog now with no effort. He has his moments with his collar but I am being very patient and following the directions given on the DVD. He can open his mouth and eat or drink, just like the DVD says. I don't feel as if I am harming him when he does pull and the best part is he corrects himself. So far this collar has changed our walks from nightmares to fairy tales. I would recommend this collar over and over again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Products Blue Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love being the leader!

PostedMay 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Augusta, GA
We have a golden that loves being the leader. Because of shoulder issues I had stopped walking him. Saw someone with this and gave it a try. He is a changed dog, I am now the leader! It only took a few minutes for him to get the idea. We always said he was A.D.D., by drawing his attention to me, he has become the best walker we have ever had! He weighs 80lbs, but is now walking on a loose leash and feels like no weight. Seldom do I write reviews, but this is certainly worth 5 paws!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Products Blue Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Gentle Leader changed my life!

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis, MN
If you have a dog that pulls while you walk them, I highly recommend getting a gentle leader! I have 2 labs that I was using choke collars on before with not much affect. I was worried every time we would pass a dog that they would pull me down on the ice, but the gentle leader literally has taken my stressful walks thru ice and snow and made me into a confident dog walker with well-behaved big dogs. (They may not like it at first, but they get used to it.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>