petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Purina ONE Special Care Urinary Tract Health Formula Cat Food

Purina ONE Special Care Urinary Tract Health Formula Cat Food

Complete and balanced nutrition specially formulated to support urinary tract health in adult cats by reducing urinary pH and providing low dietary magnesium
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(84 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 84 reviews
5 stars
68
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
6
74 out of 82(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Purina ONE Special Care Urinary Tract Health Formula Cat Food
Review 1 for Purina ONE Special Care Urinary Tract Health Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One For All

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
3KrazyKats
from Iowa
I can use this food for all the cats. They all eat it with gusto and we have not since had any urinary issues.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Purina ONE Special Care Urinary Tract Health Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
furrychildgrandma
from Florida
I have a female cat who kept getting UT infections. After several, of course expensive, vet visits, he said we should go ahead and put her on food that is meant to help combat UT's. I told him I could not afford the food that he carries out in the waiting area but that I saw at PetCo Purina's brand and could afford it. The other 5 of my cats have to use it also, can't just feed her, she'd go for the others food. At first they did not like it LOL. Even with me mixing a little of the old food in and, adding a little less each time. But the Purina One UT worked and is still working, for about a year now. I have mixed it with some of the outdoor brand food also so the other cats would like it a little more now that her issues are under control. So yes, if your cat is having UT's, give it a try first.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Purina ONE Special Care Urinary Tract Health Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sassycirce
from Jamestown, ND
I am happy to be able to receive the type of food our cats eat by ordering online...including free shipping. I also love the cat climber (although it's not put completely together). Our cats are already climbing on what part is!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Purina ONE Special Care Urinary Tract Health Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent service and fast delivery. Exactly as advertised.

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
jpdreams
from Climax Springs, MO
This product was recommended to us by our vet because our cat had a urinary infection. The cat seems to like this food just as well as his previous food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Purina ONE Special Care Urinary Tract Health Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat's love it

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
gardenlady29
from MI
My kittens went from kitten food to the Purina One Urinary tract food. They love it. No problems with switching them over from the kitten food.
This helps prevent urinary tract issues, my vet recommended it for my other cat after he had urinary issues and almost died.
I will always be using this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Purina ONE Special Care Urinary Tract Health Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lifesaver

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pixelcat13
from Grand Rapids, MI
My cats ate Royal Canin SO for years until the price became unmanageable. My vet tech friend recommended I make the switch to Purina. The Purina works just as well for their urinary tract issues and my kitty who used to vomit undigested food regularly very rarely has issues anymore. So happy I made the switch- wonderful food!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Purina ONE Special Care Urinary Tract Health Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Changed my cat's behavior for the (much) better

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
AC444
from Chicago, IL
My 4 year old cat has always been a trouble maker--getting into drawers and cabinets, chewing cords, destroying flip flops and anything made of rubber, etc. Turned out that he was actually having urinary tract issues, and I think he was acting out and being destructive because he didn't feel well.
After switching to this food, he has become a MUCH more well behaved cat. He is still very boisterous and a curious cat who gets into things, but has become much less destructive. This is the ONLY brand of food that causes him to calm down. I ran out of the Purina and fed him a sample of the vet's brand for a few days, and sure enough, his old bad behavior returned. He calmed down once we got him back on the Purina.
My cat will be eating this food for the rest of his life. I can't say it will work for every cat, but it definitely has helped mine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Purina ONE Special Care Urinary Tract Health Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purina ONE Urinary Tract

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
taloola
from St. Louis, MO
Been feeding this to my cat who has urinary tract problems with no more health problems. My cat is 11 1/2 yrs old.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Purina ONE Special Care Urinary Tract Health Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product for Cat

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ratsycats
from Austin, TX
My male cat has urinary tract issues and this brand has proved to not only help his condition but make his quality of life good! The cost and convenience of this product is awesome too
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Purina ONE Special Care Urinary Tract Health Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps my cats away friom the vet

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
bcalnyc
from New York
My older cat had urinary tract issues so the vet recommended a special diet. This seems to be the last of the "normal" brands to offer that benefit. Gus has had no issues in his decade or so of eating it and I've never had an issue with my younger cat.
I highly recommend this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Purina ONE Special Care Urinary Tract Health Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My cat refuses to eat it.

PostedAugust 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Effie
from Ocala, FL
The vet recommended it for his crystals. After three days I had to go get the prescription. I have tried adding in a few of the Purina One bits to get him used to it, but he pushes it aside. Any suggestions?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Purina ONE Special Care Urinary Tract Health Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thumbs up.

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
nicholee
from MA
My cat has been on prescription cat food for years and I was paying +$50 a bag for it. This has nearly the same ingredients. She is tolerating it just fine and has had no UTI symptoms. It's much cheaper and she seems to like it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Purina ONE Special Care Urinary Tract Health Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purina ONE Special Care Urinary Tract Health Formula Cat Food

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bitzel
from Florida
I have to give my cats Urinary Tract food and I can trust Purina as I know their product are made in the USA with products that are safe for my pets. I can't get the larger bags at my local grocer but I can get them at Petco and with my rewards membership I get an extra discount.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Purina ONE Special Care Urinary Tract Health Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Same as expensive brand

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
jokats
from New York, NY
Some honest vets recommend this brand just as highly as they tout the more expensive Prescription brand for UTI. My little girl has been UTI free for over a year now (knock wood) for either one of two reasons or a combination of both, this food or Tinkle Tonic. Certainly not the frequent, stressful and costly visits to the vet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Purina ONE Special Care Urinary Tract Health Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purina ONE Special Care Urinary Tract Health Formula Cat Food

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
AnimalFarmFamily
from Santa Rosa Beach, FL
My cat has done so much better now that he is on this food. He is a high-risk for urinary tract infections but now that he eats this food he is doing great. He also loves the food!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Purina ONE Special Care Urinary Tract Health Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the only cat food I'll buy

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
PugMom1
from Indianapolis, IN
my male cat was diagnosed with urinary crystals. the vet put him on super expensive prescription cat food. we stayed on that for a year, then switched back to his regular food. he started peeing on everything again. so we tried purina one urinary tract health. it was night and day- no more peeing outside the litterbox. this food is a good price and he likes it and most importantly, it works!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Purina ONE Special Care Urinary Tract Health Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Problems go Away

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lovergurl
from Seattle, WA
My Male cat has had accidents in our house for many years. Because my father thought it was a "personality" problem, He just ignored it & blamed it on a animal who doesn't know any better. He doesn't believe there was a health problem with our poor cat. The constant peeing on everything stopped for many years probably thanks to a bunch of diet changes because of price & because he kept throwing up everything we gave him. Mother blamed that part on the food when it was the amount she was giving him that made him sick. (Note: I lived in a messed up house).
Finally i was able to take charge & get him the care he needed. I knew about the PH lvls in cat food that causes irritation that leads to accidents so i bought this product. This food works. He hasn't peed on anything yet & its been over a month. But the sad news is, he dislikes the taste. BUT he is doing fine. I recommend this product for people with similar problems like my cat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Purina ONE Special Care Urinary Tract Health Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product keeps my beautiful cat healthy

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vinny7
from Pittsburgh, PA
My cat, Charles, almost died a few years ago from an urinary infection. Purina ONE Urinary Tract Food has kept him healthy and the cost of this food is so much cheaper than the special food the vet tries to hook you on for the life of your cat after they develop a chronic urinary tract problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Purina ONE Special Care Urinary Tract Health Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This food has kept us healthy, and saved money.

PostedJune 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
catmomof2
from Sacramento, CA.
Have 1 adult male,1 female in my house. I believe that the Special Care Urinary Tract Health Formula. (cat food) can help both male and female cats. It has greatly helped our male for I have not had to worry about him having severe Urinary tract issues which in the past with another family cat required hudge vet bills due to major surgery. I have since learned that foods with any kind of seafood are high in ash and chemicals not friendly to the males systems. These can also come about in females but research is more focused with the male. Staying away from foods, snacks and anything else that has to do with fish or is high in ash, mag. Can greatly improve your families quality of life. This will lesson or have zero impact of crystals forming on the inside walls of the urinary tract wall which can cause painful bleeding from the scraping of the crystals.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Purina ONE Special Care Urinary Tract Health Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

picky kitten loved it.

PostedMay 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
TMTMTMTM
from Saratoga
I have to tell people who have picky eatiers with FLUTD. Purina one won my cat's heart (so did mine). As soon as I put the package on the floor, he was all over, trying to open it. I understand he's hungry, but I never saw him did that to any other brand.
My cat is a 2-yr-old, and he's neutered and eats mostly dry food.
I've tried Hills dry food (I think there's only one flavor), wet foods, and Royal Canin wet foods. Sold by prescription only.
He didn't touch Hills dry food, so I fed him his regular Natural Balance dry food mixed with it. Gradually, I increased the amount of Hills in his plate. Not very successful.
He didn't touch Hills wet food at all. He sniffed, and left. Royal, just a bit, then, left most of it uneaten.
Before I ordered Purina, I've read other people's reviews, and I did see someone's cat didn't approve it. In fact, I never bought Purina brand regularly due to their byproduct usage, but in general, cats like Purina. I have a friend who rescues kittens, and she feeds Purina. Since I trust her, I took my chance.
Having FLUTD is NOT the end of the world (Back then, it felt like it). It might repeat, but it should be preventive. Good luck.
Did I mention it smelled good?
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>