petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Unscented Clumping Cat Litter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Unscented Clumping Cat Litter

Extra-strength litter provides advanced odor controlDestroys odors instantlyUnscentedIdeal for multi-cat households
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
11 out of 15(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Unscented Clumping Cat Litter
Review 1 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Unscented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is not what it seems.

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cat1950
from Portland, Oregon
The first time I bought this product at a store, I really liked it. It had larger granules and was not very dusty. So I had it shipped to my home and purchased it over the internet. I am REALLY disappointed in the product that I have received after the first order. The granules are much finer and very dusty; and on top of that, it is scented. Cats do not like changes in things like their litter and will let you know how unhappy they are by peeing elsewhere. I'm not sure what happened to the product but I am very sorry that it's not what it used to be when I first purchased it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Unscented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
theparrotletdude
Odor control could be better, but clumps well. A bit dusty. Not too bad, though, and served its purpose.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Unscented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kitty Litter

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
eweb2
from Illinois
This litter does clump well. I have had to use paper litter in the past and my cats enjoy digging in this litter better. Sometimes the odor control could work better, but over all I would recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Unscented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dusty litter

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Duckb12
from Oak lawn, il
As a rule I like arm and hammer products, my mother liked this litter, so I tried it. It was very dusty and left more residue on my floor than I cared to have. My one cat kept sneezing when ever she used the box. I changed the litter, sneezing got better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Unscented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats love this litter

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Zonula
from New York, NY
my two cats happily use this litter. And their owners love it because it contains the odors.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Unscented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wouldn't use anything else!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
hear
from detroit, Mi
I have had cats for over 40 yrs. This littler is the only one I would use - clumps the bests, minimizes odors!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Unscented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Out There

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Zoma
from NYC
I have had one or more cats for 40+ years and have used Arm and Hammer for as long as I can remember. Anytime I've been forced to use something else, I have a smelly mess on my hands! The scented versions don't appeal to me or the cats (they smell worse than the waste!), so I only use the unscented. I've found that the only time the boxes smell is when I've inadvertently fed my cats a food with fish in it. Whether canned or dry, fish does something to their system and the results are putrid. I clean every day without fail and my house never smells. I only wish there were less dust (although they are better than some) and tracking. I would also like to have Multi-Cat and Ultra in a scentless formula!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Unscented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is good stuff.

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from San Francisco, CA
I got a big box of it after I moved here to San Francisco, where my neighbors are only one wall or hallway away. He loves it, my in home support service assistant's allergies don't get set off by the scent (as the scented version did) and literally, my neighbors did not know I had a cat.
There's no smell. I don't have the world's greatest nose, but when the lady across the hall visits and didn't realize I even had a cat, that's good stuff!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Unscented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best litter I have EVER used

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Onecatcabin
from alaska
before i tried this litter, i tried a brand that was specifically for litter boxes in "small spaces", it was the worst cat litter i have ever used. the DAY AFTER i switched to arm&hammer's multi cat litter, the horrible smell that permiated my small cabin vanished. standing in front of the cat box, you can not even tell its there. it is amazing! this litter is also low tracking. before, i was vacuuming my house DAILY there was so much litter coming out of the cat box, not with arm@hammer! also it ACTUALLY clumps. before, the clumps were wet and sticky. arm&hammer is far far superior than any litter marketed as being for "small spaces". I am really happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Unscented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dust

PostedFebruary 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brickboy
from Virginia
If you don't want dust all over your house like almost all litters even though they say dust free. Buy Arm & Hammer. Its not perfect but a lot better than anything else we have tried in the last 10 years.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Unscented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Better than Super Scoop

PostedOctober 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
BlueTongueSkink
from Broomfield, CO
All my friends tell me that Arm and Hammer is the brand to use, and after failing with the Super Scoop I went to Multi-Cats even though I only have one cat. This works much better than the super scoop, such as is scoops up better and doesn't cement to the bottom on the box like the super scoop. This helps block the odor much better than the super scoop, but my house does smell stinky whenever my cat uses his box...I'm not that satisfied, but it's WAY better than Super scoop. I'm going to try the Dual Duty type next.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Unscented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Never Disappoints Me

PostedAugust 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
AtlantasMom
Every time I try another litter -- whether another clay brand or a different type -- I end up regretting the purchase. My cat and I are both happiest with Arm & Hammer. I use this with my automatic litter box and have fewer problems with odor, clumps breaking apart into un-scoopable pieces, and smears on the litter box. I know some people prefer "fresh scents" but I think they smell fake. If you want to scent your home, use a candle potpourri, or spray, not a box full of cat feces!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Unscented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Look again!

PostedMay 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
casey451
from Vermont
This is one of the best clumping litters out there. I'm pretty sure it's been low-rated here because the animals using it were small kittens. It takes a while for kittens to learn how to use litter, and to be able to tell they've done a good job before leaving the litter box. Also, it seems the humans were too anxious to clean the litter box, giving the clumps no time to form and set. The clumps will crumble under those circumstances. Best to clean only every 24 hours or so. If the kittens have not covered their offerings well enough, cover them yourself, and then just relax for a few hours. It will not smell bad. And the offerings will have time to harden and dry out a bit, making the chore somewhat more pleasant, if that's the right word. My cats and I prefer unscented. Fewer chemicals floating around the house. Also, I've known cats to stop using the box altogether if the litter is suddenly changed to scented. Move carefully. If you want to change the litter, do it gradually.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Unscented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Contender for Worst Litter in the World

PostedApril 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
KittenNewbie
Well, I wish I had read the previous person's review before I bought this litter in the store. I rescued two kittens and didn't know what to get. So I asked someone in the store. She claimed it was the best and that she had tried for her 3 cat home. This litter is so small that the urine clumps start to break up when you try to scoop. The worst is that it does nothing to cut back on the odor despite scooping twice a day. I will never buy this product again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Arm & Hammer Multi-Cat Extra Strength Unscented Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

smells terrible!

PostedMarch 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
2IrishKitties
from Pittsburgh PA
I bought this litter to use with my 2 6 mo kittens. One would always sneeze after using the litterbox so I was advised to try an unscented version. This litter smells bad right out of the box and has no odor elimination qualities after the cats used it. I clean my 2 litterboxes daily but with this litter I had to clean multiple times a day due to the smell. I am back to using fresh scented litter now... you could almost use sand and get the same effect as this litter!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.