petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Sisal & Carpet Cat Scratch Post with Toy

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco Sisal & Carpet Cat Scratch Post with Toy

100% scratchable surface - combination of sisal rope and plush carpetColorful pompom attached to the top of the cat post with a spring coilEssential for healthy and natural scratching behaviorDurable, low profile cat scratching postAvailable in assorted colors
Average Customer Rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
24 out of 29(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Sisal & Carpet Cat Scratch Post with Toy
Review 1 for Petco Sisal & Carpet Cat Scratch Post with Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

One cat loves it!

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA
I have two cats, one that is very playful and another that is very shy. The first cat thinks this scratching post is the best thing since catnip! He loves playing with the ball on top (it's on a spring, so he can play with it by himself or with me). However, the shy cat is scared of the ball on top when I hit it back and forth (granted, I just bought the post today, so he may get used to it). Overall, I'm very happy with the purchase!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Sisal & Carpet Cat Scratch Post with Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Quality

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix
This is a very high quality scratching post. Love it. Worth double the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Sisal & Carpet Cat Scratch Post with Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice for the price

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Carson, CA
I find the toys on these scratching posts useless; my cats NEVER use them, but maybe some do. The scratching post itself is sisal, which all of my cats have always preferred, so I like that. I do prefer a taller scratcher, because ones of this height are made more for kittens, I think, than for full-grown cats. My cat uses this, but she still prefers the regular scratching pads that are flat on the ground.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Sisal & Carpet Cat Scratch Post with Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my cats loved this

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from san diego
I bought this scratching post for them and they loved it. even when the one cat had kittens the kittens played with it too. its not to expensive and its small enough to put in your room without taking up much space. also even when the cats get bigger they can still scratch it so its good for any size cats. i would recommend this to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Sisal & Carpet Cat Scratch Post with Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Florida
I recently rescued a kitten, and unlike my 2-year-old cat, she did not want to use the floor scratching posts I had. She wanted to stretch upwards and was scratching my couch. I decided to try this and she loves it! Only downside: she has already torn off about half of the ball on top. I have little red fuzzies everywhere!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Sisal & Carpet Cat Scratch Post with Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Kitty Scratcher

PostedMay 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Little Rock, AR
My kitties love this scratcher. In fact, within 5 minutes the soft ball on top was shredded to pieces. The product itself was not defected...the kitties were so excited to get a new scratching post they went crazy.
Thanks Petco for offering this and at such a great price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Sisal & Carpet Cat Scratch Post with Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for My Cat

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Memphis, TN
I took this item at the nice clerks request. I was desperate to stop cat from scratching furniture. He suggested I put some catnip at the base but I couldn't find it at home. My cat has used it once but he still likes the cheaper version. This one also slides and cat can't get a good grip. I'll try the catnip and see what happens. I'm glad I didn't remove the old one yet.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Sisal & Carpet Cat Scratch Post with Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Small Scratcher

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from El Monte, CA
My cats use this scratcher very little. It is about one foot high, and they use a similar scratcher more often.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Sisal & Carpet Cat Scratch Post with Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible for younger cats!

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from York, Pa
We bought this scratching post for our 3 young cats. Within the first 10 minutes of them playing with it, they had the fluff on the ball torn off. We do not recommend this toy at all! We are afraid that one of our cats is sick from eating the fluff.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Sisal & Carpet Cat Scratch Post with Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good product for the price

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Bangor, ME
My cat took to this toy within a couple of days and uses it at least a few times each day now. We've had one of these scratch posts from petco before and it holds up for several months before the rope slowly comes off the post. I would say that, for the price, it is worthwhile.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Sisal & Carpet Cat Scratch Post with Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our cats Love this product

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Yuba City, CA
We have a lot of cats that use posts all day long.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Sisal & Carpet Cat Scratch Post with Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love This Positive Product

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Antonio, Tx
I have two Cats (An Adult & a Kitten). The Kitten has been a constant problem stratching my boots & to solve the problem, I got this Cat stratch Post to help stop the problem of messing with my Boots. The Kitten LOVES IT! Thank You for this Product!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Sisal & Carpet Cat Scratch Post with Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Marvin and Kat Share

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from holyoke, ma
My cat Marvin loves to rip up anything in sight. He even destroyed the old post. He and my roommate's cat, Kat, share the wonderful toy. My only problem is the toy. It ripped instantly off. Don't buy if you plan on keeping the toy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Sisal & Carpet Cat Scratch Post with Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Spring on top very dangerous

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from florida
The spring on this product is very dangerous to the cat's claws . He or she can get his or her claw caught in the spring and cause it to bleed. I have had cats for 40 years I love each of them very much. I watch one of them play with and get it's claw caught it was very painful to him. If they would put something different in place of the spring it would be ok. I would not buy this product again if you care about your pet
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Sisal & Carpet Cat Scratch Post with Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

hopefully saving my carpet

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
I recently put this out for my cat and he immediately got the "crazy full black eyes" and attacked the red poof on top.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Sisal & Carpet Cat Scratch Post with Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

okay scratching post

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
We purchased this scratching post when adopting our first cat, not knowing how much she would use it. She ignored it at first, but we eventually trained her to scratch it, instead of the furniture and carpet, using treats. She liked having a place to scratch, but ignored the pompom completely and scratched only in the rope area. We decided to get her a taller post that is all rope, which she prefers. She will still use this one sometimes, and it has held up fairly well to several months of use. The rope is frayed but by no means falling apart.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Sisal & Carpet Cat Scratch Post with Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Product

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Stillwater , Ok
Our cats absolutely love this post! We've had the product over a year now and they still use it several times a day! It almost immediately go them to stop scratching up our carpets. Definitely money well spent!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Sisal & Carpet Cat Scratch Post with Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cats use them

PostedApril 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Vancouver, WA
I purchased 2 of these scratching posts. My 2 cats use these posts, even though they won't use the 2 other posts I have. I think they like the rope on the posts. I was concerned that the rope would come loose very quickly but they are holding up well. I may purchase more of these for other rooms in the house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Sisal & Carpet Cat Scratch Post with Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

6 cats and not one of them has used it

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Denver
I read the reviews and bought 3 of these as I have 6 cats. None of them has shown any interest. The product itself seems well made. I don't understand it myself, but so far its a no go.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Sisal & Carpet Cat Scratch Post with Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great entertainment for great value

PostedMarch 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
from ny, ny
This is a simple and inexpensive scratching post that is very effective. The ball on top entices my 2 cats to use it. They were reluctant at first, but after a few days they started using it, and that is now their favorite hang out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>