petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wellness CORE Canned Cat Food

Wellness CORE Canned Cat Food

Increased protein levels – 20% more protein than traditional Wellness canned diets to support lean muscle massFresh cranberries in each can of canned cat food and controlled magnesium levels support urinary tract healthGrain free – five protein sourcesWellness canned cat food does not contain meat by-products, rendered animal fats, artificial flavors, artificial colors or preservativesMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.62 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
5 stars
40
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
46 out of 50(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wellness CORE Canned Cat Food
Review 1 for Wellness CORE Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

CORE Wellnes cans

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from SF Bay area
Same as with CORE Wellness dry food:
no grain ! cats love it and they look great - takes less to keep them healthy too because concentrated.
Usually canned cat food smells icky, but CORE does not. (I prefer the chicken/duck/turkey mix so cats' breath doesn't smell fishy or meaty) Mix 1 Tablespoon dry + 1 Tablespoon canned per cat per meal = healthy, happy cats !
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wellness CORE Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for all cats

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Newtown CT
I was all set to alter my two's diets to an even healthier level. I am very careful after losing my beloved Emily to diabetes directly caused by dry cat food. The chemicals and grains literally killed her. She survived for 2 years on insulin and then her pancreas, having sustained too hard a hit during the onset of the diabetes, finally gave out. She did transform while on an all wet food, into a happy, healthier kitty.
So, I thought, wow. Nope. My male, Albert has been trying to bury this stuff for days now. He will not eat and he is my champ at food. Abigail is only slightly more tolerant. She fortifies herself with needed morsels to get by but won't eat it either. They both sniff and walk away. I can't have that with growing younger almost adults, so Wellness leaves. The other canned food has to stay. It will be more expensive but I won't have hungry animals with food sitting in front of them that they won't touch.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wellness CORE Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fairbanks, AK
We've been feeding Wellness Core to our 17 year old cat for about two and a half months now and have seen wonderful results. His coat used to look dull and now it's really shiny and very soft. He's usually pretty picky so we were worried he wouldn't eat but he gobbles it down pretty quick. We'll definetly continue buying it from Petco. Have had great customer service from this folks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wellness CORE Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Canned Food

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Denver, Co
My cat is allergy to just about everything including chicken, beef, pork. So finding a canned food that did not list any of these items was hard. After looking at all the canned products I found this Core Whitefish food only has fish - what an amazing thing. As an added Bonus he actually likes the taste!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wellness CORE Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wellness CORE

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
My vet recommended Wellness CORE because of the high amount of protein that the wet food has. My cats love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wellness CORE Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Healthy cat food for diabetes

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Waltham, MA
This cat food saved my cat! She was 14 and recently diagnosed with diabetes. She was on insulin 2x daily. The vet recommended a change in diet. After doing much research, I decided the wellness core canned cat food seemed like the best option. After about 4 months on the food, my cat no longer needed the insulin. My cat is now 17 and still loving wellness core cat food :) I tried to give this 5 stars but the computer wouldn't let me???
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wellness CORE Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Food Allergies

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MN
My vet used applied kinesology to test for foods my older cat w/ allergies could eat. This came up best. Her coat and health have never been better, going on 16 yrs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wellness CORE Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A bit pricey but superb quality

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
I had to switch my 4-year old girl to a wet food after she had a series of urinary tract issues. She also has allergies/sensitivities to both fish (severe) and chicken (mild) so finding a canned food without either was a challenge. Wellness Core was recommended to me by my vet and my cat LOVES the turkey and duck flavor (with no fish or chicken ingredients in sight!). The fact of no grains is an added bonus. It's more expensive than I would usually like to pay for cat food, but I really think you're paying for the excellent quality. Since she's been on it, my girl has had zero urinary problems and also no vomiting (which she would occasionally experience with other foods, both wet and dry).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wellness CORE Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wellness Core

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
My dog is on wellness core so I thought I'd give it a try with my newly rescued kitten. I am sure it is a high-quality food but too bad my kitten hates it. I use the word hate because he was a street cat and ate everything, dry or canned, I gave him until wellness core.... I am still giving it four stars because of the high-quality, but will be looking for another brand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wellness CORE Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just like people food

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Potomac Falls, VA
My cats love this food. It smells good. So good in fact that you could probably put it on a cracker and give it to people.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wellness CORE Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Minimal Ingredients and My Cat Likes It

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
I adopted a shelter kitty - she was almost two years old, but is tiny thing. She was finicky eater and unenthusiastic eater till I found this food. She loves it. I've tried the chicken, the duck and the beef. She is not very enthusiastic about the beef and it seems drier than the other two. The food has certainly helped her coat though she is still struggling with dandruff, and dry and itchy skin.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wellness CORE Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wellness Core (canned)

PostedApril 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Prescott, Arizona
I have a diabetic cat and because of this wonderful cat food after five years with the disease and minimal insulin he is very healthy!
Orch1d
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wellness CORE Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Core Canned Cat Food Delivery At Home

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Indianapolis, IN
Dependable savings delivered to doorstep in a reasonable amount of time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wellness CORE Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Finally my sick cat is eating

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Detroit
I WAS SO HAPPY THAT FINALLY MY SICK CAT HAS BEEN EATING.I WISS I KNEW ABOUT YOUR PRODUCT.I TRIED OTHER CAT FOOD BUT HE LIKES ONLY YOUR GRAIN FREE ONE.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wellness CORE Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almost Died

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Great Falls, MT
My 7 year old Domestic Shorthair pound kitty, George had been eating IAMS dry kitten food, then switched to IAMS adult food.
I never switched his food until a few weeks ago when the commissary was out of IAMS adult indoor formula. I thought Hills Science Diet Indoor Adult formula would be good after all his Vet sells it.
Boy was I wrong and poor Gerogie almost paid with his life.
He was sicker than a dog, he was throwing up several times a day and having runny diahrrea all over the place. I stopped the Hill's and bought the IAMS he started to throw that up as well.
He was lethargic, would not play, just getting up to throw up or have diahrrea took every ounce of energy he had.
I started doing research about canned cat food, I high tailed it to PetCo and bought three cans of canned food Wellness Core, Instincts, and Spots Stew. He picked at the Instinicts, ate the Spot Stew but absoutely devoured the Wellness Core. Since then that is all I have been feeding him. I bought all flavors there is not one he has not gone crazy over.
He is happy, healthy, and back to being George my little love bug.
Please do not feed your cats anythig but a grain free product, in wet food. Dry food is so bad for them grain free or not. It does nothing for them but dehydrate them, and make them ill. I will never go back to feeding him dry food. Wellness Core is the only thing he will eat from now on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wellness CORE Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy cat

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Milford CT
My cat has been eating Wellness Core since I adopted her at 11 months old. That was 2 years ago, In August I switched from dry to canned. She loves the canned CORE. She is a very healthy, happy cat. She is a great mouser but doesn't eat them because she gets all her nutritional needs from CORE.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wellness CORE Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats love it - Their coats are beautiful

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
I feed my two cats Wellness CORE Canned in the evening and Wellness CORE Dry in the morning. They really like both products but go crazy for the canned food. I purchase two different 'flavors' in each order and switch them daily. One day they'll get a fish based can and the other a meat based can.
I've noticed a significant improvement in their coats. They're much more shinny.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wellness CORE Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally a cat food my 3 cats love to eat!

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Newark, DE
I have 3 older cats; Lily, Safari and Meow Meow. All are above 10 yrs old. I was feeding them dry food, natural, grain free. But all of my cats would throw up, whole bits or other, on occasion. So I began a search for canned food. I went through a lot of brands before finding CORE. My cats love it. I have had them on this for a month now and no problems with throwing up! Their bathroom results are normal as well. But they only like 2 flavors. I think I can live with that! I used the Petco online ordering by the case and was so happy with the free shipping! I will be ordering again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wellness CORE Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wellness Core Grain Free Cat Food (canned)

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Charlotte, NC
I am thrilled to say that my 10 year old, previously very overweight, prediabetic cat has had a total turnaround on a Wellness Core Grain Free diet. He has lost weight, has more energy, and his blood sugar has normalized. The variety of "flavors" available in Wellness Core Grain Free canned foods means my cat still enjoys his food, even though it's good for him!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wellness CORE Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wow!

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Lompoc, CA
Our cat didn't like this brand as much as other ones she's had, but the ingredients are awesome, and made her coat VERY noticeably shinier and softer compared to the other brand wet food we feed her. Definitely recommend it, and will continue trying to feed our cat this brand occasionally.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>