petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SeaClear Rectangular 50 Gallon Aquarium Combos

SeaClear Rectangular 50 Gallon Aquarium Combos

Acrylic aquarium is nearly break-proofSeams are molecularly bonded to prevent leaks50 gallon fish tank is less than half the weight of a comparably sized glass tankSafe for fresh or saltwater useIncludes fluorescent fixture (bulb sold separately)
Average Customer Rating:
4.367 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
27 out of 30(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for SeaClear Rectangular 50 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Review 1 for SeaClear Rectangular 50 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Everything was there but...

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
The tank arrived as scheduled, all the pieces were there. However the lighting fixture was broken. The clips that hold the fixture to the plastic hood were snapped in half and made the light unusable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SeaClear Rectangular 50 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another great SeaClear tank

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
This is the second SeaClear that I have owned and just like the first one, this one is fantastic. Great craftsmanship, packaged well and looks great. The light that comes with the tank is not high quality but for the price and quality of the tank, that can be over looked.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SeaClear Rectangular 50 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Tank

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Silver Spring, MD
Great tank, very highly recommend. First acrylic that I have owned, and will never go back to glass. Just beautiful!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SeaClear Rectangular 50 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SeaClear 50 Gallon

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
Beautiful aquarium, showcases fish very well. Brighter than glass, the light is poorly made so I do not use it. I have two Aquatic Life plant strip lights on mine!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SeaClear Rectangular 50 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My Fish Like It!

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco, CA
This acrylic aquarium came well packed and is well built. The seams look well made and the finish quality seems very good. The thickness seems a bit thin, but so far so good. The clarity is great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SeaClear Rectangular 50 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pros and Cons

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chesapeake, VA
I have had various tanks for over 30 years. Some acrylic and some glass, from 5 gal. to 55 gal. This 50g rectangle acrylic tank arrived yesterday. It took 18 days from date of purchase to arrive. The light fixture's fluorescent strip was not attached to the inside of the hood, the plastic attaching rivets were broken. I called Petco and they will send a new hood. I am planning a planted tank so am purchasing the Marineland Aquatic Plant LED Light System - 36 to 48 in. anyway. Tank was well packed with no scratches or issues. I will need to find or make an acrylic cover for the 2 large openings. I will use the bottom section of the hood as a template. Heading out to hardware store to purchase sheets now. Will try to remember to update the tank status over time so the review means more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SeaClear Rectangular 50 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just what i needed

PostedOctober 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from goodman.ms
the aquarium fits perfectly in my den and the clarity is awesome. my grandkids can't get enough of watching the fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SeaClear Rectangular 50 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It!

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis, MN
I've never had such an easy time setting up a turtle tank before. This material is light, durable, and looks great. I'm so glad I bought this instead of a glass aquarium.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SeaClear Rectangular 50 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This aquarium is beautiful set up.

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Kiowa,KS
This is lighter than glass aquarium and is much easier to handle. The only problem I have is that they did not mention that no bulb was included with the light. That was an extra purchase. My student really enjoy seeing the fish in in. Thank you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SeaClear Rectangular 50 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

beautiful tank

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Nashville, Tn.
The acrylic tank was great, I had only glass tanks for the last 40 years. Everybody that sees it likes the tank. I was very happy with the shipping and whole process of getting the tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SeaClear Rectangular 50 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

crystal clear

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from vacaville ca
this tank is amazing with an aqua clear 70 filter the water has stayed crystal clear. my red devil loves it
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SeaClear Rectangular 50 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful and perfect tank

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas, NV
I bought this for a saltwater setup and show tank in living room that would not be too giant and it has been perfect. Petco does a great job at shipping safely and packaged this item perfect, it is lighter that a standard glass tank and clear as a bell. It is literally a window to the ocean in your living room and you will not find a better price for the same quality. You will have to buy a bulb for the light fixture which is a 24" bulb but you have lighting options and with the LED systems out there you could shop for those. I love it and the kids especially love it, just hide the fish food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SeaClear Rectangular 50 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks really nice!

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Kissimmee, FL
Waiting to the weekend to set this new aquarium up. It looks so nice. I can't wait to see my 10 inch long goldfish (Huey, Dewy and Louie) in it! They are so beautiful and they will really enjoy this really big tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SeaClear Rectangular 50 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almost Perfect

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Wilmington, DE
This tank was so light I was able to carry it up to a 3rd floor condo. It was packed perfectly and looked great. I measured it so it would fit on top of my bio fuel fireplace. It looks fantastic, the only contructive comment I will make is that this acrylic tank had a top cemented on with access holes for the heater, the filter and 2 large squares for the light to sit in. I had to cut the top a little to get the main stone in, I also ordered another florescent fixture to put in the hood as a 20 watt bulb does not suffice. With that being said I am thrilled with my purchase and considering the aforementioned comments I would recoomend this tank to my friends.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SeaClear Rectangular 50 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Product does not last

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from cassadga, ny
I have owned the product for 3+ years it has developed a star fracture from the inside on the front and stress fractures at the back seams. also the top is sagging in at the middle bar and you can see that the front is starting to bow out. I am going to have to fork over big money again to replace this tank so that i do not come home to fine my fish and fifty gallons of water all over my floor one day soon
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
22of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SeaClear Rectangular 50 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gorgeous Aquarium Oustanding Clarity

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from CT
Having kept fish for over 35 years my tanks have always been glass. Some of my show tanks have Star Fire glass which I thought was a major improvement, but a very expensive option.
On a lark I ordered the SeaClear 50 gallon and am now completley sold on acrylic aquariums. The rounded and seamless edges, the pristine clarity is unsurpassed. It's as if the water is suspended on it's own. Build quality is superb - I've ordered another one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SeaClear Rectangular 50 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Aquarium

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Lafayette, IN
I bought this tank about a year ago. It's lightweight and I can handle moving it by myself. I love the curved edges on the front. Not too long and pretty deep. Not enough space on the top for equipment, but I've worked around it and everything is manageable. I will be ordering another one soon for our bedroom. Absolutely love this tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SeaClear Rectangular 50 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Tank (50 gallon Sea Clear Tank)

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Beausejour,Manitoba,Canada
Just received this tank and was very impressed. It surpassed my expectations. The tank cover was bonded to the tank for added strength and of course pre cut for heater, filter etc. The light fixture was well wrapped and placed inside the tank. Tank was wrapped in plastic, then had a layer of cardboard around it. Then bubble wrap around that. Also had foam inserts at all corners, so it arrived without a scratch. The price was great (got it on sale). To top it off shipping was free!!!! If you are Canadian have tank shipped to a border location closest to you and pick it up from there. (trust me it is worth it to get free shipping) (shipping to Canada for this item is over $150.00)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SeaClear Rectangular 50 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

SeaClear 50 gal

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Orlando, Fl
So far, I'm happy with this product. But like the others have mentioned. Not enough space on top to get items into the tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SeaClear Rectangular 50 Gallon Aquarium Combos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is the main attraction in my apartment!

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New York City
This tank is gorgeous. I will no longer buy glass aquariums. Acrylic is so much better. The clarity is amazing. My favorite thing about it would be the curved edges. I would recommend upgrading to a better light fixture. I purchased the Marine land double led light. Fits like a glove.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>