petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Stainless Steel Thermometer

Petco Stainless Steel Thermometer

Accurate and easy to read temperature measurement for fresh or saltwaterSafety zone indicator for instant monitoring of safe temperatures for most tropical fish
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Stainless Steel Thermometer
Review 1 for Petco Stainless Steel Thermometer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

accurate but poor fit

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
USMC1
from us
have 2 of these and both accurate but neither fits the rim of the tank (29 gal and 55 gal). The lip of the metal rim is not long enough to fit over frame of tanks. I used spare suction cups from broken heaters and installed them inside the tank..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Stainless Steel Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good thermometer, great price

PostedApril 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
lunawatsername
from vallejo ca
this is a really durable, easy to read thermometer that easily fits on the side of my betta tank (2 gallons). i choose not to leave it on the tank, however, because i dont particularly like the look of it and the only way that i would be able to see it is if i put it pretty much right in front as i have my tank in a nook in the wall, and it would obstruct the view. but i do regular tank temp checks to make sure the temp is acceptable, and the thermometer is perfect for the job, and at a terrific price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Stainless Steel Thermometer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Useful

PostedApril 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shopper101
from New Jersey
The thermometer measures the water temperature very well and the thermometer stays in place. The green zone helps me find the temperature very easily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Stainless Steel Thermometer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

shame

PostedNovember 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
momd
The glass top is too high up on the metal holder. On 2 diff. tanks I could not hook the thermometer over the tank edge because it would smash the glass top against the tank's rim and break it. I was able to bend the metal top and get it to barely hang on with the tank's hood holding it in place.
It's not a defect - I ordered 3 and they are all the same.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Stainless Steel Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Thermometer

PostedNovember 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hilo
The green "safe zone" makes checking the temperature a breeze - I know at a glance if the mercury is in that "zone" the temp is fine for my betta
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Stainless Steel Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stainless Steel Thermometer

PostedSeptember 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Earthdragon
from Maryland
I love my thermometer! I can insert it into my half gallon betta tank, check the temperature, rinse it off, and then use it again on my 1 gallon betta tank. The temperature markings are easy to read, much better than the stick-on thermometer panel that you place to the side of only one tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Stainless Steel Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great choice

PostedJune 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
LBern
This thermometer works well and is very sturdy. My turtles have knocked it down and the thermometer has suffered no damage. I'm very happy with this purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Stainless Steel Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!

PostedJune 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
LAbayoubaby
I'm positive this thermometer would be great for smaller aquariums, if you fit in this category, buy it! Ok, be prepared, the review gets weird now... Uh, I didn't think about the fact that I had a 30 gallon tank with wider plastic molding, and that this wouldn't be submerged enough to get an accurate reading even if it fit. HOWEVER, if you're extremely careful with the glass, the metal is easily bendable. Hear me out! I simply flattened the top-out and used a suction cup and fishing twine to mount it. It took maybe 3 minutes to do. Now I have an easy to read, accurate thermometer that my turtles can't destroy, and I didn't have to go back to the store to exchange it. Don't judge me, haven't you ever jimmy-rigged anything before?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Stainless Steel Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice little thermometer

PostedOctober 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
BettaParent
This is a nice little thermometer to monitor my betta tank. It is easy to read and small enough not to clutter my tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.