petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box

CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box

Self cleaning litter box flushes cat waste out of the home and washes itself cleanOne cartridge lasts for 120 washingsSaniSolution formula helps eliminate germs and odorsClean, green and economical cat litter boxes14 and 24-hour settings accommodate single and multiple cat households
Average Customer Rating:
4.11 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(91 Reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 91 reviews
5 stars
61
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
14
74 out of 91(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 62 Answers
Customer Reviews for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Review 41 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth it

PostedMarch 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
pflegersr
from Texas
I love this litter box! You don't have to mess with it at all. The only complaint that I have with it is that it is so big that it wouldn't fit under any of the cabinets except my kitchen. It was too big to set next to the toilets and my washer and drier are out in the garage. If it had been a few inches smaller it would have fit. Other than that I would have rated it a 5 paws.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mega Box!!!!

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dolli
from California
I am not easily amazed by a product, but this one is just that. Amazing! I love the Catgenie! My two cats were curious about it the first day, and were using it the next. I use to dread dealing with the old litter box and the icky task of keeping it clean. This box is worth every pretty penny! However, I do feel that at that at this price point, the hood should come with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great if your cat is willing to use it!

PostedJanuary 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
smf73
I gave this litterbox my all. It really does work, but only if your cats want to use it. After a month of trying different ideas, my cats started to urinate and defecate everywhere but the Catgenie. One would defecate beside it every time and the other would try and find a blanket or rug if the machine was running when she wanted to go. As soon as I went back to the old litter box, the cats used it and the bad habits have seemed to stop. It is very loud during the cleaning process and the plastic litter does smell like hot urine when the machine is drying. You will find this plastic litter everywhere as it wants to cling to your cats paws. Make sure you buy this where you can return it if your cats don't like it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+19points
30of 41voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Neffies
Great with cleaning itself and options on how you want it set up. Scares the cats a little bit and doesn't smell like a litter but once they get use to it, its great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Choice

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
PHKaja
from Delancey, NY
We received this as a wedding gift and it was one of the best things we got! The cats took to it almost immediately and had stopped using their old litter box within the first week we had the cat genie. I would recommend buying the dome sides if you have a cat who likes to dig, otherwise the granules get all over the place. We installed this in October and have just now run out of cleaning solution in January and we have two cats. I'd recommend this to anyone who HATES scooping the litter box but loves their cats!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far, so good

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
vlm4869
from Prospect, OH
I just purchased a CatGenie a couple weeks ago and so far, it has performed to expectations. We have 3 cats, ages 9, 9 and 3. The 3 year old is highly intelligent and took to it almost immediately, the two 9 year olds took a few days. I had 3 litter boxes, so when the CatGenie first arrived, I took one box away and replaced it with the CatGenie. Set up was easy and done is less then 15 minutes. After several days, I took litter box number 2 away and left just one regular litter box and the CatGenie. Then I did not clean the regular litter box. I had 1 cat the was resistant to using the CatGenie and he actually went on one of my rugs. I just picked him up and I put him in the CatGenie, took his front paws and raked them through the litter pellets. He stayed in it a minute or two and climbed out. I praised him and gave him a treat. Then I took my other two cats and did the same thing. I continued to work with all three for about half an hour putting them in, praising them and giving them treats. I've had no problems since. They are even used to the sounds of the cleaning cycle and pretty much ignore it. I enjoy not having to clean 3 litter boxes every day and the smell of the SaniSolution is nice and clean. I also notice my laundry room stays much cleaner since the litter in the CatGenie isn't dusty. I do find that the CatGenie litter seems to track out worse than regular litter. I have a litter mat in front of the box to catch tracked litter, but it still seems to get tracked out beyond the mat worse than regular litter. I just sweep it up (tiled floor) with a dust pan, and put it back in the CatGenie. Small price to pay for the convenience. As long as it continues to perform as it does now, I would recommend this product, especially for anyone who has multiple cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely Satisfied

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
jasonh
WOW!!!! Thats the best I can say to discribe this litter box. I have had no issues with it, the cats have adapted to already. Its truly is a pleasure to not have to scoop litter. It has lessoned the arguments between me and my wife on my forgetfullness of cleaning the litter. I now own two of these litter boxes and I highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedNovember 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
automotive2007
I got this for my wife and I love it we dont have a problem with it and my wife loves it now I dont have to scopp any more and thats great and cats love it and I would buy it all over again if i could but I am trying to sell it to other people who have cats as well so but it you wont go wrong!!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

no regrets

PostedOctober 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
hurlyburlygirlie
the cat genie is an excellent appliance for those with a cat. there is no litter dust to effect the litter changers respiratory system, the kitty's paws are not greyed from litter, no more grey paw prints on clothing and all is sanitized. installing is simple, and cleanup occurs at the touch of a button. transitioning from litter box to cat genie for the cat is not a huge leap, unlike toilet training.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase

PostedOctober 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
PunkinandJake
from Baton Rouge,LA
A neighbor told me about the cat genie. She said her cat liked it and she loved not having to clean a littler box. I checked out the cat genie out online. Like the concept but thought was a little pricey. Decided to order one and see if my 2 cats would like it. Surprising enough they do. Seem to like a clean littler box everytime they use it. I Love not having a smelly dirty littler box!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greatest Invention Ever

PostedOctober 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
tedglesmom
I purchased this machine 8 mos ago, at the encouragement of my daughter, who has had one for 5 years. I'm retired, and money is an issue. But also, I had heart surgery and was unable to carry the huge bags of litter for my two cats, I just adopted.
I never have to deal with anymore, and all I do is replace the cartridges. As far as cleaning, I take it outside, and hose it down, and scrup it with a toilet brush. It only takes 15 minutes, and we are good to go again. I do this about every 2-3 months.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

can't believe it!

PostedOctober 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
ksnow
i never write reviews. but this one, i just had to. this product actually does what it says!!! i have had it a couple of weeks and it has absolutely changed our lives. it is a little noisy (but is does have a night mode). but we actually were going to have to find our finicky cat a new home. now we get to keep her! she loves it. we have three cats and one didn't want to ever share the litter box...even though it was cleaned twice a day. this has solved the problem. i never smell anything! actually, it smells fresh and clean whenever i go into my laundry room. it was easy to hook up to the laundry plumbing and has taken care of itself ever since. i really didn't want to spend the money for it, but it has allowed me to keep my finicky cat and as made our lives soooo much easier. it is almost like not even having a litter box. this product does what it says! buy it....you won't be sorry!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat Genie awesome

PostedSeptember 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
KarmasLaugh
I have to say that it set up easy and has been running great. I have three cats and the two youngest thing it is awesome, they watch while it cleans. I just kept giving treats while it was running. My third cat is not so happy just yet, he is 18 years old and very stubborn. I know everyone tells you to accommodate for the space needed but I really didn't realize how big it is. My husband joked we could take it camping and use it for our toilet! Anyways, so far so good I know there are mixed reviews so I recommend doing what I did which is registering it as soon as you get it, follow all the directions for cleaning and maintenance, and keep one old litter box and litter just in case. But I took the chance and so far I am pretty happy, although I do need to get a new toilet seat that won't crush the hose.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat owners need this

PostedSeptember 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Musiclady
The Catgenie is a self-cleaning litter box. You never have to clean up your cat's potty ever again. The Catgenie flushes all of the waste away automatically. Definitely well worth the initial expense.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Esinedbech
very easy to install, I have 2 genies because I have 7 indoor cats. I have the Cat Genies in the basement hooked up to the washing machine plumbing. All adapted to the genie with no problem at all. The greatest invention ever! I love that I don't have to lug heavy cat litter anymore. I especially love that I don't have to scoop up litter and dispose of it any longer!
Worth every penny spent on the Cat Genie!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
3catlady
Love, love, love the cat genie. I was so tired of always cleaning our cat box. We have three cats and had a cat box in our bathroom. We replaced it with the cat genie and I will probably get another one for our laundry room. I have wanted one of these for a long time and really wish I had gotten one sooner!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING

PostedJuly 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Fina
I have had this litter box for about 2 weeks and it is AMAZING. I hooked it up to my toilet and it does exactly what it says. Instructions are very easy to follow. I have 2 cats, one is very picky, and they both started using it immediately. I have it set on "cat" so it cleans each time they do something. I don't know why I didn't purchase this earlier. I am never cleaning a litter box again! Definately worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!!!

PostedJuly 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
nanner40
from Minneapolis, Mn.
This is amazing! Never touch cat litter again, it cleans itself (you program how often) and there's no trace of the smell of a litterbox.
Our cats took to it right away, in fact,when it cleans itself, they line up to watch.
We recently went on vacation, and didn't have to ask our cat sitters to scoop the catbox.
LOVE, LOVE LOVE it!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

After a few years...

PostedJune 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
qwiksilver
from Los Angeles, CA
...I'm starting to look elsewhere. I want my bathroom back. I want to live without plastic pellets EVERYWHERE. Even in the dog's poo. I found litter at work! (How the?) Sweep twice a day and it is still out of control. I get error message for clogs after the unit has finished a complete cycle and shut off. I have litter everywhere. I have a nasty litter box I must clean in the bathtub because the hopper gets gunked up. It stinks so bad while cleaning that my neighbor whose living room window is across the way from my bathroom window asked what I ate for dinner the night before. This is normal. I never run the thing if I am expecting company within a couple of hours. I get litter stuck to the bottom of my feet in the middle of the night. It is god awful noisy. I will probably never get rid of those little plastic pellets as long as I live.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+16points
23of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The ideal litter box

PostedMay 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
littledarling
I just got mine and haven't had it but about a week but so far it's the best thing ever invented. I don't come home to a litter box smell anymore. I don't have to scoop litter or change the litter anymore. Thanks Petco!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>