petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box

CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box

Self cleaning litter box flushes cat waste out of the home and washes itself cleanOne cartridge lasts for 120 washingsSaniSolution formula helps eliminate germs and odorsClean, green and economical cat litter boxes14 and 24-hour settings accommodate single and multiple cat households
Average Customer Rating:
4.11 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(91 Reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 91 reviews
5 stars
61
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
14
74 out of 91(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 62 Answers
Customer Reviews for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Review 21 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat Genie

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
babsy
from Houston
AMAZING I HAVE HAD THIS MACHINE FOR 2 YRS NO PROBLEMS WHATSOEVER.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more SMELL

PostedMay 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
itsmedjm
from Myrtle Beach, SC
I had a littermate for years but decided to get a cat genie when we moved into our new house. What a great idea. No longer do I have to empty the waste. The cat genie does it for me. No more smell. This is the best buy I ever made. To bad I cant get my dogs to go in it.
It is larger than I expected but I found a good place for it. Putting it together was not hard.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Smell/noise/multi-cat issues

PostedApril 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Paws9
from Long Beach, CA
Although I started with the scented cartridge, the smell is just unbearable. The cats were even put off by it. After the 1/2 hr. it takes to clean and dry, they still would avoid it for another 1/2 hr. Three accidents on a rug and the breaking point was when my cat ran around screaming one early morning and then tried to use my leather sofa. I happened to be watching, but what if I wasn't?
Also, the arm that controls the scooping is very loud and we live in close quarters with our neighbors, so we couldn't run it overnite until after 7:00 am, which contributed to the above problem.
There is not enough litter to cover. The next cat goes is put off and the overnite thing was a nightmare. (not being able to turn it on because of the noise).
Also, we had to hook up to a toilet (no laundry in our unit) That bathroom was lost.
Overall, the smell was the worst thing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+16points
29of 42voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shockingly terrific product!

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stormalong
from San Francisco, CA
I have tried every other cat box alternative. They were messy, marginally helpful and all were expensive, particularly the ones with supplies. I was very skeptical about the Cat Genie, but I was getting desperate and the money back guarantee set my mind at ease. What I was not expecting is that the Cat Genie is even better than advertised. I have three cats and I am still on the first bottle of solution, even though it's been seven weeks so far. At first I was worried that the cats were not using it, because it was always so clean. After seeing the cats use it, I began to accept that it was working as promised. I used to have to scoop the box two or three times a day. Now I can totally ignore the cat box issue entirely. I am totally satisfied. I just wish I had tried it a long time ago. This is a great present for any cat owner. They may laugh when they get it, but in a few weeks, they will be thanking you profusely.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
21of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

CatGenie 120 - as advertised

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
CatManDoToo
from Cincinnati, OH
Though it took a little bit of effort to boost his interest in using the new litter box, my cat did respond - just as the instruction manual said it would. I don't like to scoop or smell the litter box, and this CatGenie 120 is absolutely self-sufficient (it's almost human, I think). So if you're patient, and want to free yourself from the old litter box, give this one a shot. With a 90-day trial, you won't regret the purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC!!!

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Aaronnflorida
from Orlando, FL
Ordered this with trepidation. Having seen others' reviews. So hooked it up in minutes. Ran the cycle, got Bugsy Segal Kitty to use it. The rest is history. The only drawback is the fact that solution does not go as far as claimed, but really who cares! I never have to scoop, rinse, scrub, or deodorize again! As far as the litter granules getting tracked out, no biggie, I just vacuum them up. Many complaints here are from people who want perfection from everything allowing for no mistakes. This thing WORKS!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+29points
33of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dont waste your money!

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lisa10e2
I thought I had found the perfect litter box, it was great. Or so it seemed. Until after a few days the little plastic granules are everywhere! The cats track them all over the house and they fly out during the cleaning cycle. So annoying, so I bought the side walls. Another waste of money because it does not help at all.
Then it happened, the first time the scooper missed a piece of feces.(actually happens quite often now, probably atleast once a day) The dryer turns it in to cooked poo. This is by far the worst smell I have ever smelled in my life. It reeks thoughout the entire house! I have never smelled anything like it, imagine cooking poo, yeah gross. Then I have to scoop the tiny pieces of cooked poo out, kinda defeats the purpose of a self cleaning litter box.And the sani solutions really do not last as long as they say. Also since litter gets lost around the house, you'll be replacing that fairly often too. Really better off using a scoopable/flushable litter. Dont bother with this!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
39of 86voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best invention EVER !!

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
hottmomma81
from texas
I don't normaly write reviews, but I can't resist. The catgenie litter box is life changing. I have no complaints. I couldn't be happier! I waited 4 months to write a review....just in case something would happen to change my mind. The only thing that changed was the way my house would smelled after my cat took a poo! :) God bless the makers of the cat genie.. One life changed and many more to follow!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Lazy Man's Litter Box

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
LazyHusband
from WPB, FL
My wife and I have split responsibliities at home and our children are too young for chores. Cleaning and keeping the kitty litter trays fresh is one of my responsiblities. BECAUSE I AM LAZY in cleaning the pan and after I read about this machine and told my wife, who always wanted a cleaner smelling laundry room, I pulled the trigger and bought the CatGenie.
From the moment it arrived I set it up for the use of our TWO cats (SETUP was easy, just needed a wrench). I think I was more interested in it than my cats. It sat for three days while my cats continued to use the old litter pan, then on the forth day one of the cats used it. I was unsure which one, so I placed the cats in the utility room with the CatGenie and removed the old pan. This proved to be the catalyst to transition the cats to the new pan. They now use it without reservations. Also, I would put the machine on the "mode" of starting a cycle based on cat use, INSTEAD of a certain amount of times a day.
The only FOUR items that I would mention/recommend to someone purchasing this product would be: 1) purchase the side walls and dome to keep more of the pellets inside the machine, its worth the extra cost (use a cat mat at the entrance); 2) if your cats currently utilize a NON-powered litter pan, the cleaning & washing cycle (ABOUT 10 minutes long) might scare the cats at first, but sit with your animals like my wife did (and manufacturer recommends) until the cats realize it won't hurt them; 3) The pellets are much easier on the feet if you are barefoot compared to the crystals that we had been utilizing; 4) Overall cleaning cycle (ABOUT 30 MINTUES FROM START TO FINISH) can be a problem if you have more than one cat who needs to go because they have to wait. My cats are old enough to hold it until ready, but just wanted to throw that out there.
Its worth the price in the long-run !!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+25points
35of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cat genie 120

PostedSeptember 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
citymac
from davenport
did just as the insrtuctions said and all 3 cats adjusted perectloy. this is a great product, house smells wonderful and dont have to clean cat litter box any more
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heather52788
from Augusta, GA
i have only had the catgenie for about 5 days and my cat started using it almost right away... All I had to do was set it up and show him where it was. So far it is working great. And it cleans everytime my cat goes to the bathroom.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-8points
11of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cat Genie

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lilliy
from NJ
This product was recommended to me by a customer at Petco. She has 3 cats and loves it. I looked at the reviews and, although read some negative ones,decided to purchase it as most people seemed satisfied with it..When it arrived (very quickly after ordering) my husband set it up (very simple) and we performed a test run. It worked beautifully and I was excited about never having to scoop out and empty the litter again. Not long after the test run, the cat used it to urinate and it again, did it's thing. Day 2, however was different. The cat left a stool in the cat genie. Unfortunately, the cat genie did not get up all of the stool (even after 3 scoops). It then went through the wash cycle and then the dry cycle. The scent of baked cat stool filled my house (cat genie installed in laundry/furnace room which vents to entire house). The odor took a while to dissipate and was more awful than dealing with llitter scooping. I looked on computer to see if this had happened to anyone else. It had and to some people 1-2 times a month. I could not stand it more than 1 time and decided then and there, I could not live with that happening again. I returned it to the store and am back to Yesterday's News Litter which works quite well, does not track and is dust free. Great idea and I was very hopeful but this is a side effect of the product I cannot live with
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+31points
35of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best investment for my cats!

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Woods
from New York
I love this product! You should know before you buy: Pros: No more scooping and inhaling ammonia, litter dust, and fecal matter particulates.. The costs to maintain are roughly the same as maintaining a atandard litter box. In my two cat home, I was able to downgrade from two boxes to one as the cats were more willing to share a "clean" box. It makes it easier for others to take care of your cats when you are away. My friends noted the lack of "cat smell" in my home after I switched. Considerations: This cat box will take up a good deal of space, requires electricity and either a toilet or waste pipe to empty in to. The cat genie uses a large granule litter. It took my 14 year old a few days to get used to this. The cleaning cycle lasts around a half hour per cycle depending on your chosen program. Recommendations: Read the owner's manual cover to cover before set-up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
21of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Product!

PostedJuly 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
KT112233
from NC
The CatGenie is an incredible product that I highly recommend to every cat owner! It has completely eliminated the need for nasty, dusty litter boxes that require manual cleaning. My Genie is set up to automatically clean the litter at designated times throughout the day, so the only work involved is flushing the toilet and adding more granules when they begin to run low! It took my cats about 2 weeks to fully transition from the old litter to the Genie, so be patient during this process. It may take some time, but they will eventually catch on and it is WELL worth the wait! The product comes with a great instruction booklet on how to successfully transition the cats from the old litter box to the Genie. I have had great results with this product and highly recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work for me - YMMV

PostedMay 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
MoCats99
from Kernersville, NC
This product worked well for a month. After that, there were problems with the cleaning cycle. Frist, the cleaning cycles would stop with the bowl full of water.The cats would not use it and I had to follow the instuctions for disassembly for the monthly cleaning which was not a simple or pleasant task. Because the cleaning cycle stopped midway, the feces never flushed therefore there were wet feces at the bottom of the hopper.
Second, when the cycle did complete, there was still feces in the bowl, so the cats wouldn't use it.
I did call catgenie customer service and they did try to help -they sent a replacement hopper with a rubber ball for the hopper, and walked me through replacing it, however, nothing worked and I am back to regular litterboxes.
This was a very expensive experiment. I would not recommend this product to a friend.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+31points
32of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best ever!!!

PostedApril 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
8catmama
from NJ
This is truly the best littler system ever. No more buying litter...and no more mess! I own 2 of these (one covered and one not). I have 8 cats and all of them use the boxes. They very quickly acclimated to it and now I don't have to buy litter. I need to fill the cartridge and some of the pellets every 3 months. This is a truly wonderful product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't know what to say

PostedApril 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
aimaoz
from Statesboro, GA
I bought CatGenie and found out it will not following 14 hours sleep and 10hour cycle. I called CatGenie and got replacement unit which will not be activated after my cat using CatGenie. I returned the 1st replacement unit and got second replacement unit which will blink forever after my cat used CatGenie, but will not start cleaning. Each time I change the replacement, I have to go through disconnect water line which is not a simple job. I called CatGenie again and they said that I have tempered with CatGenie and my warranty is void. I was so frustrated. I don’t know what to do. I still have my original unit. What I sent back is a replacement unit which might be tempered by themselves and now blame me for it. I ended up with no warranty and no place to explain, but to write this review.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
38of 63voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat Genie 120

PostedApril 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
RayGC
from Tempe, AZ
Easy setup, works great, no bad smells, the best thing is no more dealing with dirty smelly cat litter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Save my life

PostedApril 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Fishball
from Chicago, IL
i have cats in my life already 15 yrs. the most frustrated thing i need to do everyday is cleaning the litter box.
i tried other automated litter box, however they cant really clean it, at least it cant reach my satisfy level.
Finally i found this CatGenie!!!
Its pricy, but i can 100% tell u, its worth the price. one time paid, save ur time.
the only thing i want to complain about is the litter really easy to follow the cats out from the litter box, i just order the sidewalls, hopefully it can work out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedMarch 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
wolfcat87
from Great Falls, MT
I've had one for over 6 months now and it works great and customer service was wonderful the one time we called them to figure something out. Just watch out if the litter gets too low and your cat gets the runs because it won't all wash out unless you add litter and it will dry it out covered in feces and your house will smell like bake cat feces! We have ours hooked up in the laundry room but we need to build a door to keep the dogs out, I wish we could put it in the cat room, but we'll rig something this thing is so AWESOME! Totally worth it and the cost of upkeep is the same as a regular litter box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
16of 19voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>