petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box

CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box

Self cleaning litter box flushes cat waste out of the home and washes itself cleanOne cartridge lasts for 120 washingsSaniSolution formula helps eliminate germs and odorsClean, green and economical cat litter boxes14 and 24-hour settings accommodate single and multiple cat households
Average Customer Rating:
4.041 / 5
4
 / 
5
(97 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 97 reviews
5 stars
63
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
16
77 out of 97(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 62 Answers
Customer Reviews for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Review 21 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cat Genie & Dome

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from WIndsor, CO
It has only been a few days since installing, though thus far the kitties have been successful in using the Cat Genie. Today is the first day without another litter box and I already love that I don't have to change it. The 'litter' does get stuck to their feet quite a bit and many pieces go down the drain so I am already going to buy another box of litter and another container of the sanitizer as the Genie doesn't work without it. So far so good!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good with the Bad

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Raleigh, NC
So I got my cat genie about 5 days ago. My cat is very adaptable and we were able to cut the traditional box cold turkey. This was fantastic, as some reviews (and Li Na's Vet) said their cat wouldn't use the genie or it took a long period of time to get used to it. I wouldn't recommend this method of acclimation to other cat owners though.
I really love not having to scoop litter or smell ammonia. I am babysitting a friend's cat now (and this Maine Coon uses the traditional clumping) and I am so GLAD I don't have to deal with that anymore.
While I do LOVE my Cat Genie. It is by no means perfect.
- the granules do get out. I purchased a (rubber? plastic?) mat from petco though with little circular divets in it and I am going to say about 95% of the granules that do make it outside stay on that mat. So make sure that mat is in your checkout cart when you purchase this thing.
- I had my first incident with "baked brownies" last night. I have been running the thing on manual since my cat just likes to hop in and out of the litter box causing 5+ cleanings a day on cat activation. I believe my mistake was starting the machine right after Li Na's "business", preventing her "presents" from fully solidifying. Therefore if you purchase the genie you need to make sure that 1.) it runs once the "presents" have solidified and 2.) your cat eats high quality food.
HIGH QUALITY FOOD IS KEY!!!! I cannot stress that enough with the use of the genie.
The genie CANNOT handle any "present" form other than fully solid, unless you want "baked brownies"
Let's discuss the smell of "baked brownies" - It is absolutely rancid. Luckily my laundry room is contained and the smell can't get out. It would be better though if the cat genie was in the bathroom though so I could run the fan. "baked brownie" smell cannot be extinguished with air freshener or ozium (super concentrated odor eater). It takes half a day for the smell to go away. And in the mean time you'll have to manually pick out all the pea sized "presents" that caused this death of a smell.
While this review does sound mostly negative rest assure that I LOVE my genie. Once I take the extra steps to prevent "baked brownies" I am sure I will love it even more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+32points
33of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm Luvin' It

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Phelps NY
GREAT product! I have recommended it to many cat lovers already. I have two cats and I'd say it took about a week for them to get totally used to it: A 12 year old female Siamese mix (somewhat medium to long hair) and a 6 year old Bombay male. I haven't had to buy and lug litter since the middle of May! I have done routine maintenance (cleaning cartridge, add more crystals that got kicked out and detg cartridge) but that is it. I should add that I have soft water so not much worry about calcium build up etc. I did purchase the side walls and hood since my cats were used to a hooded litter box.
One tiny rare downside is that if the scoop arm doesn't get a small piece of feces, it washes and dries it therefore making an unpleasant odor (which I simply vent outside with a small window fan). Otherwise the detg has a fresh clean smell (you can get unscented as well)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful Customer Service

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta
Hi Everyone,
So - we initially loved our Cat Genie. You do have to clean it manually, and pretty thoroughly, every 3-4 months. It can be a little bit of a dirty process, but, for only having to do this once every 3-4 months vs once a day to once a week (depending on the alternative cat litter option you are using), we found it in our favor.
However, we've had to call Cat Genie on multiple occasions. Every single time, their customer service and technical support has left a HUGE amount to be desired. Simply put - they don't care. They also had a silent update to the Cat Genie 120 without any notifications. The older cat automatic mode runs for 12/14 hours and then is off for 12 hours - the updated version goes for 24 hours. There is no way to tell which one you are getting unless you order directly from them. There is no trade-out program. Today, the water pump stopped working for us on our cat genie (it's almost two years old now, just shy of two years). We thoroughly cleaned it, just incase - still, no pump. I called Cat Genie, and during the phone call, the representative literally hung up on me. Again, leaving much to be desired (and still a broken cat genie).
The product works ok - takes a fair amount of maintenance, and the customer service with Cat Genie just isn't up to par. I suggest passing before you invest hundreds into this system. I wish there was an alternative - I love the idea of the product, just not the company that makes it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+47points
51of 55voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous Cat Box

PostedJune 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Washington, DC
Fabulous machine...it smells while you are running it, but it doesn't as soon as it is done! It works well. It was relatively easy to hook up. I would suggest getting the dome to cover it and the fresh scent sanitizer spray so it smells extra nice for your kitty. It is kind of loud. So run it when you are not trying to sleep in a small apartment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product waste of money

PostedJune 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Hobart,In
We bought two cat genies thinking this will be an end to constant cat box cleaning. We have 4 cats. One cat actually used it for a short time. The others would not. We followed instructions on letting the old box get used so they would go in this one instead. Didn't work they would just go outside the box. the granduals get all over the house. Never had such a waste of money. It also gets clogged at times too, retains water,, your cat definitely won't get in it then. what happens when your out of town and it does that???? I don't suggest this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+14points
35of 56voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat Genie

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Houston
AMAZING I HAVE HAD THIS MACHINE FOR 2 YRS NO PROBLEMS WHATSOEVER.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more SMELL

PostedMay 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Myrtle Beach, SC
I had a littermate for years but decided to get a cat genie when we moved into our new house. What a great idea. No longer do I have to empty the waste. The cat genie does it for me. No more smell. This is the best buy I ever made. To bad I cant get my dogs to go in it.
It is larger than I expected but I found a good place for it. Putting it together was not hard.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Smell/noise/multi-cat issues

PostedApril 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Long Beach, CA
Although I started with the scented cartridge, the smell is just unbearable. The cats were even put off by it. After the 1/2 hr. it takes to clean and dry, they still would avoid it for another 1/2 hr. Three accidents on a rug and the breaking point was when my cat ran around screaming one early morning and then tried to use my leather sofa. I happened to be watching, but what if I wasn't?
Also, the arm that controls the scooping is very loud and we live in close quarters with our neighbors, so we couldn't run it overnite until after 7:00 am, which contributed to the above problem.
There is not enough litter to cover. The next cat goes is put off and the overnite thing was a nightmare. (not being able to turn it on because of the noise).
Also, we had to hook up to a toilet (no laundry in our unit) That bathroom was lost.
Overall, the smell was the worst thing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+17points
31of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shockingly terrific product!

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco, CA
I have tried every other cat box alternative. They were messy, marginally helpful and all were expensive, particularly the ones with supplies. I was very skeptical about the Cat Genie, but I was getting desperate and the money back guarantee set my mind at ease. What I was not expecting is that the Cat Genie is even better than advertised. I have three cats and I am still on the first bottle of solution, even though it's been seven weeks so far. At first I was worried that the cats were not using it, because it was always so clean. After seeing the cats use it, I began to accept that it was working as promised. I used to have to scoop the box two or three times a day. Now I can totally ignore the cat box issue entirely. I am totally satisfied. I just wish I had tried it a long time ago. This is a great present for any cat owner. They may laugh when they get it, but in a few weeks, they will be thanking you profusely.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
23of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

CatGenie 120 - as advertised

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Cincinnati, OH
Though it took a little bit of effort to boost his interest in using the new litter box, my cat did respond - just as the instruction manual said it would. I don't like to scoop or smell the litter box, and this CatGenie 120 is absolutely self-sufficient (it's almost human, I think). So if you're patient, and want to free yourself from the old litter box, give this one a shot. With a 90-day trial, you won't regret the purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC!!!

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Orlando, FL
Ordered this with trepidation. Having seen others' reviews. So hooked it up in minutes. Ran the cycle, got Bugsy Segal Kitty to use it. The rest is history. The only drawback is the fact that solution does not go as far as claimed, but really who cares! I never have to scoop, rinse, scrub, or deodorize again! As far as the litter granules getting tracked out, no biggie, I just vacuum them up. Many complaints here are from people who want perfection from everything allowing for no mistakes. This thing WORKS!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+30points
34of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dont waste your money!

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
I thought I had found the perfect litter box, it was great. Or so it seemed. Until after a few days the little plastic granules are everywhere! The cats track them all over the house and they fly out during the cleaning cycle. So annoying, so I bought the side walls. Another waste of money because it does not help at all.
Then it happened, the first time the scooper missed a piece of feces.(actually happens quite often now, probably atleast once a day) The dryer turns it in to cooked poo. This is by far the worst smell I have ever smelled in my life. It reeks thoughout the entire house! I have never smelled anything like it, imagine cooking poo, yeah gross. Then I have to scoop the tiny pieces of cooked poo out, kinda defeats the purpose of a self cleaning litter box.And the sani solutions really do not last as long as they say. Also since litter gets lost around the house, you'll be replacing that fairly often too. Really better off using a scoopable/flushable litter. Dont bother with this!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
41of 89voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best invention EVER !!

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
from texas
I don't normaly write reviews, but I can't resist. The catgenie litter box is life changing. I have no complaints. I couldn't be happier! I waited 4 months to write a review....just in case something would happen to change my mind. The only thing that changed was the way my house would smelled after my cat took a poo! :) God bless the makers of the cat genie.. One life changed and many more to follow!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Lazy Man's Litter Box

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
from WPB, FL
My wife and I have split responsibliities at home and our children are too young for chores. Cleaning and keeping the kitty litter trays fresh is one of my responsiblities. BECAUSE I AM LAZY in cleaning the pan and after I read about this machine and told my wife, who always wanted a cleaner smelling laundry room, I pulled the trigger and bought the CatGenie.
From the moment it arrived I set it up for the use of our TWO cats (SETUP was easy, just needed a wrench). I think I was more interested in it than my cats. It sat for three days while my cats continued to use the old litter pan, then on the forth day one of the cats used it. I was unsure which one, so I placed the cats in the utility room with the CatGenie and removed the old pan. This proved to be the catalyst to transition the cats to the new pan. They now use it without reservations. Also, I would put the machine on the "mode" of starting a cycle based on cat use, INSTEAD of a certain amount of times a day.
The only FOUR items that I would mention/recommend to someone purchasing this product would be: 1) purchase the side walls and dome to keep more of the pellets inside the machine, its worth the extra cost (use a cat mat at the entrance); 2) if your cats currently utilize a NON-powered litter pan, the cleaning & washing cycle (ABOUT 10 minutes long) might scare the cats at first, but sit with your animals like my wife did (and manufacturer recommends) until the cats realize it won't hurt them; 3) The pellets are much easier on the feet if you are barefoot compared to the crystals that we had been utilizing; 4) Overall cleaning cycle (ABOUT 30 MINTUES FROM START TO FINISH) can be a problem if you have more than one cat who needs to go because they have to wait. My cats are old enough to hold it until ready, but just wanted to throw that out there.
Its worth the price in the long-run !!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+26points
36of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cat genie 120

PostedSeptember 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
from davenport
did just as the insrtuctions said and all 3 cats adjusted perectloy. this is a great product, house smells wonderful and dont have to clean cat litter box any more
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Augusta, GA
i have only had the catgenie for about 5 days and my cat started using it almost right away... All I had to do was set it up and show him where it was. So far it is working great. And it cleans everytime my cat goes to the bathroom.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-8points
11of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cat Genie

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
from NJ
This product was recommended to me by a customer at Petco. She has 3 cats and loves it. I looked at the reviews and, although read some negative ones,decided to purchase it as most people seemed satisfied with it..When it arrived (very quickly after ordering) my husband set it up (very simple) and we performed a test run. It worked beautifully and I was excited about never having to scoop out and empty the litter again. Not long after the test run, the cat used it to urinate and it again, did it's thing. Day 2, however was different. The cat left a stool in the cat genie. Unfortunately, the cat genie did not get up all of the stool (even after 3 scoops). It then went through the wash cycle and then the dry cycle. The scent of baked cat stool filled my house (cat genie installed in laundry/furnace room which vents to entire house). The odor took a while to dissipate and was more awful than dealing with llitter scooping. I looked on computer to see if this had happened to anyone else. It had and to some people 1-2 times a month. I could not stand it more than 1 time and decided then and there, I could not live with that happening again. I returned it to the store and am back to Yesterday's News Litter which works quite well, does not track and is dust free. Great idea and I was very hopeful but this is a side effect of the product I cannot live with
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+31points
37of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best investment for my cats!

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
from New York
I love this product! You should know before you buy: Pros: No more scooping and inhaling ammonia, litter dust, and fecal matter particulates.. The costs to maintain are roughly the same as maintaining a atandard litter box. In my two cat home, I was able to downgrade from two boxes to one as the cats were more willing to share a "clean" box. It makes it easier for others to take care of your cats when you are away. My friends noted the lack of "cat smell" in my home after I switched. Considerations: This cat box will take up a good deal of space, requires electricity and either a toilet or waste pipe to empty in to. The cat genie uses a large granule litter. It took my 14 year old a few days to get used to this. The cleaning cycle lasts around a half hour per cycle depending on your chosen program. Recommendations: Read the owner's manual cover to cover before set-up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
21of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Product!

PostedJuly 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
from NC
The CatGenie is an incredible product that I highly recommend to every cat owner! It has completely eliminated the need for nasty, dusty litter boxes that require manual cleaning. My Genie is set up to automatically clean the litter at designated times throughout the day, so the only work involved is flushing the toilet and adding more granules when they begin to run low! It took my cats about 2 weeks to fully transition from the old litter to the Genie, so be patient during this process. It may take some time, but they will eventually catch on and it is WELL worth the wait! The product comes with a great instruction booklet on how to successfully transition the cats from the old litter box to the Genie. I have had great results with this product and highly recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>