petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box

CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box

Self cleaning litter box flushes cat waste out of the home and washes itself cleanOne cartridge lasts for 120 washingsSaniSolution formula helps eliminate germs and odorsClean, green and economical cat litter boxes14 and 24-hour settings accommodate single and multiple cat households
Average Customer Rating:
4.144 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(90 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 90 reviews
5 stars
61
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
13
74 out of 90(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 62 Answers
Customer Reviews for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Review 1 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Satisfied customer

PostedFebruary 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bepo
from Gas, Kansas
What a relief not to have to mess with cat litter boxes any more.
Our cat Drew watched the whole set up and cleaning process. He was so fascinated by everything. He kept running back and forth from the Cat Genie to the toilet every time it would drain.
I might add that the cleaning process is quite remarcable and thorough.
We had no trouble getting him to use it at all. In fact we had a hard time keeping him out of it until the cleaning process was finished.
Thanks for a wonderful product and I would reccomend to everyone who owns a cat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
88of 159voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

When the cat genie works we love it.

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Chickenhawk
from Missouri
This is our third cat genie. When it works, it is great, but it has a water sensor that has to be replaced every so often. If you replace every few months as a routine then you shouldn't have any problems. This one that we just bought came to us broken, but the customer service was very good and are sending us the replacement part.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I have purchased five catgenies

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
2manykats
from Dayton, OH
We are care givers for 15 stray cats. They starting coming one at a time, some had kittens after they arrived. We have neutered them all. We build a room addition to the house for their cat trees, feeding stations and we had the plumbing installed for (5) of these CatGenies. The cats prefer regular litter boxes, but with lots of work, we have them using the CatGenies. It can be expensive to operate and maintain so many, but it's worth it to us.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat Genie

PostedApril 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Grrf
from Gravois Mills, MO
The product works well. I just have not got my cats acclimated to using the Cat Genie yet. I've got a 20 lbs. cat that has a little trouble getting into the bowl. There has been some urination in the Cat Genie but they are still using the littler box to defecate in. I will be taking away the litter box during the day and seeing how that works. As I said the machine works perfectly. It was very easy to set up. So far I am happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst smell ever

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
wishitworked
from ruther glen, va
Horrible smell, would write more but site keeps flagging
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
22of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Scattered Granules

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
RagdollLover
from Milwaukee, WI
This comes with very clear installation instructions. The cat used it immediately. The plastic granules get scattered all over the floor. This is not because of kicking it out. It's because of tracking it when the cat jumps out of the box. Her furry feet are like magnets to those tiny pellets. I've subsequently ordered and installed the sidewalls. She just jumps over them. I put a piece of furniture on each side, so she'll walk through a mat that's made for catching granules. The mat doesn't catch much of the pellets and the floor in three rooms around are full of plastic.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shell636363
from Boston Ma
Unless you want your whole house to smell of cat urine, do not buy this product. I live in a brand new house with previously well trained cats. I set this new litter box up and alls it did was confuse all 3 of my well litter trained cats whom never had an accident prior to me bringing this into my home. Yes it works great, clean and easy but my cats don't know wether to go in the new litter, the old litter or now on the floor. I am beside myself. I am returning this and going back to my previous kitty litter. Hopefully my cats will not continuing urinating all over my house. Nothing worse than the smell of cat urine. Not worth the chance or money. It is isn't broke. Do not try to fix it....
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
12of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy this product

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
zaki
from Los Angeles
This is not a product you want to buy unless you are a professional plumber. Attachments to plumbing don't fit (at least didn't fit mine). It is the most complicated design. I couldn't even get to the stage of seeing how the product works because I could not figure out how to set it up.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
10of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I wish I had learned of this much sooner!

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
DanielleNC
from NC
I love this product. I love my furbabies, but I HATED and dreaded cleaning the cat boxes. I have two of them for my three fur babies and I have them set up to wash twice a day each at staggering times. They take about 30-35 minutes to run a cycle. I have the domes and sidewalls on them and had a bit of trouble getting one cat, the youngest one, to use it, but once I took the dome off she loved it.
If you get the scented sani-solution be aware that the scent is strong, but it has a really pleasant smell.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
18of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Turned cat into a chicken!

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
StaceyT
from Iowa
I love the concept of this liter box. Unfortunately after trying it for a month, my 6 year old cat still will not use it! He is terrified of it. I have tried everything to get him to switch but he has started going to the bathroom on the floor and on clothes so I'm going back to the old liter! Really bummed we couldn't keep it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best cat waste control system ever. Period.

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
silveropal3
from Saint Louis, MO
Let's just say this right off the bat -- THIS BOX IS AWESOME! It will be the last cat litter box I will ever buy. I decided to buy a second one only because even tho it says it can suit up to three cats it's better to have two of them. Sometimes one of my cats wants to go while the CatGenie is cleaning but can't so they go peee in the shower drain or sink or something.
Now onto the product review...
I've had cats all my life and have always dreaded going down to clean the litter box. The strong amonia smell and the stinky poos wreaked havoc on my nose (I have an overly sensitive sniffer my docs tell me so everything is magnified) and I wanted a better solution because for sure I wasn't going to get rid of my kitties!
Enter the CatGenie!
This litter bowl (not box, haha) does exactly what it says it will do. I don't remember the last time I've had to clean their litter box! The only time I've had to do anything with the litterbox is a)when we had to set it up, duh! and b)when we had to rinse off the water sensor a couple of times. That's it!
We have also had to add some more pellets to the bowl as our kitties paws do tend to track the lil things around the house...altho it's a lot less than I thought it would be and it helps that they are teeny tiny pellets, too. Since we bought the first one almost a year ago I've only bought one box of pellets and there's still half a box left. It may just depend on how big your cats paws are or if they are stickier than other cats' paws so who knows...I'm just telling you mine track the pellets very little.
I would like to note that I do have the SaniSolution cartridges on auto delivery and this makes it a lot easier since I don't have to remember to buy the cartridges. For three cats I have my auto delivery scheduled at one cartridge every two months which I think is awesome, I thought for sure the cartridges would only last a week or two given how many times the CatGenie runs a day! Altho every time it does run it is music to my ears :)
The CatGenie works as follow:
1. Your cat goes to the bathroom in it.
2. The CatGenie waits ten minutes and then starts running (if another cat goes in after the first cat the timer resets and waits another ten minutes).
3. First stage of cleaning it scoops out the solid waste (checks 3 times).
4. Second stage of cleaning it fills the bowl with the SaniSolution and scrubs the little pellets clean then drains (does this 3 times).
5. Third stage of cleaning it dries the pellets and the bowl (does this 3 times) -- this is also the stage where the "fresh scent" is predominently noticed.
6. CatGenie is ready to go for another round!
The fresh scent is pretty strong so if flowery-scented stuff makes you sick I would defnitely go with the unscented SaniSolution cartridges. I will say I don't like flowery-scented stuff but I don't mind this fresh scent, weird right?
If you're looking for a solution to your cat litter problems then the CatGenie is going to be your new best friend :) I've bought both of mine from Petco and if I ever have to buy another one (I've come to the realization that everything breaks eventually) I will buy it again from here.
Hope this review helps you make your choice!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+55points
59of 63voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A GOD SENT!!!!!!!!

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
steve2204
from Port Huron
I bought this product almost a year ago now and have had no issues whats so ever. However, there is a few things i would like to mention, this product comes with instructions on how to introduce the new box to your cat, which i followed but it made things worse, I have 2 cats one of which is very timid and the other very social, the instructions says to introduce the box and have it run in front of them, which i did, well in my opinion do not do because my 1 cat was curious and the other was like "i'm getting the heck outta here!" so what I did was I followed in parts, introduce the box as they say with treats but i would suggest to leave it unplugged until they know its not going to hurt them, so dont run it in front of them. I also put them both in 1 at a time (unplugged) and petted them, then it also says to let the other box get dirty which i also did, it took my one cat (curious 1) to start using after about 2 months, and even after that I still left it unplugged and just ran it with the door shut in their room so they couldn't see (manually). So finally after about 4 months my timid cat started to use it, also my cats are big boys and I bought the lid to go with it and I dont use it because with the lid on the cats dont like it but no big deal, once in awhile it may leave little chuncks of poo but the next time it runs it ends up clearing it out, or the solution just dissolves it so not a big deal, the solution lasts a long time I have yet to replace it and I have yet to add to the litter so this is a money well spent...hope this helps anyone who is thinking about buying this, cause it makes very little mess (cat liter on the outside which is normal from the cats jumping out) and no smell at all..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+45points
45of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cat genie

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
worpath
from austin in
i have 8 cats and did not thank this would work but i set it so i press the start button and it is great all my cats love it i may have to run it more than most but it is worth it no more odor and 4 litter boxes is down to 1 i tryed the cat mode but found that the kittens would play in it and it was running for no reason i would sugest this to all who have cats
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cat Genie & Dome

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
LongsShorts
from WIndsor, CO
It has only been a few days since installing, though thus far the kitties have been successful in using the Cat Genie. Today is the first day without another litter box and I already love that I don't have to change it. The 'litter' does get stuck to their feet quite a bit and many pieces go down the drain so I am already going to buy another box of litter and another container of the sanitizer as the Genie doesn't work without it. So far so good!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good with the Bad

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
LiNasMommy
from Raleigh, NC
So I got my cat genie about 5 days ago. My cat is very adaptable and we were able to cut the traditional box cold turkey. This was fantastic, as some reviews (and Li Na's Vet) said their cat wouldn't use the genie or it took a long period of time to get used to it. I wouldn't recommend this method of acclimation to other cat owners though.
I really love not having to scoop litter or smell ammonia. I am babysitting a friend's cat now (and this Maine Coon uses the traditional clumping) and I am so GLAD I don't have to deal with that anymore.
While I do LOVE my Cat Genie. It is by no means perfect.
- the granules do get out. I purchased a (rubber? plastic?) mat from petco though with little circular divets in it and I am going to say about 95% of the granules that do make it outside stay on that mat. So make sure that mat is in your checkout cart when you purchase this thing.
- I had my first incident with "baked brownies" last night. I have been running the thing on manual since my cat just likes to hop in and out of the litter box causing 5+ cleanings a day on cat activation. I believe my mistake was starting the machine right after Li Na's "business", preventing her "presents" from fully solidifying. Therefore if you purchase the genie you need to make sure that 1.) it runs once the "presents" have solidified and 2.) your cat eats high quality food.
HIGH QUALITY FOOD IS KEY!!!! I cannot stress that enough with the use of the genie.
The genie CANNOT handle any "present" form other than fully solid, unless you want "baked brownies"
Let's discuss the smell of "baked brownies" - It is absolutely rancid. Luckily my laundry room is contained and the smell can't get out. It would be better though if the cat genie was in the bathroom though so I could run the fan. "baked brownie" smell cannot be extinguished with air freshener or ozium (super concentrated odor eater). It takes half a day for the smell to go away. And in the mean time you'll have to manually pick out all the pea sized "presents" that caused this death of a smell.
While this review does sound mostly negative rest assure that I LOVE my genie. Once I take the extra steps to prevent "baked brownies" I am sure I will love it even more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+24points
25of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm Luvin' It

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
phelpschick
from Phelps NY
GREAT product! I have recommended it to many cat lovers already. I have two cats and I'd say it took about a week for them to get totally used to it: A 12 year old female Siamese mix (somewhat medium to long hair) and a 6 year old Bombay male. I haven't had to buy and lug litter since the middle of May! I have done routine maintenance (cleaning cartridge, add more crystals that got kicked out and detg cartridge) but that is it. I should add that I have soft water so not much worry about calcium build up etc. I did purchase the side walls and hood since my cats were used to a hooded litter box.
One tiny rare downside is that if the scoop arm doesn't get a small piece of feces, it washes and dries it therefore making an unpleasant odor (which I simply vent outside with a small window fan). Otherwise the detg has a fresh clean smell (you can get unscented as well)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
13of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful Customer Service

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
CatGenieOwner
from Atlanta
Hi Everyone,
So - we initially loved our Cat Genie. You do have to clean it manually, and pretty thoroughly, every 3-4 months. It can be a little bit of a dirty process, but, for only having to do this once every 3-4 months vs once a day to once a week (depending on the alternative cat litter option you are using), we found it in our favor.
However, we've had to call Cat Genie on multiple occasions. Every single time, their customer service and technical support has left a HUGE amount to be desired. Simply put - they don't care. They also had a silent update to the Cat Genie 120 without any notifications. The older cat automatic mode runs for 12/14 hours and then is off for 12 hours - the updated version goes for 24 hours. There is no way to tell which one you are getting unless you order directly from them. There is no trade-out program. Today, the water pump stopped working for us on our cat genie (it's almost two years old now, just shy of two years). We thoroughly cleaned it, just incase - still, no pump. I called Cat Genie, and during the phone call, the representative literally hung up on me. Again, leaving much to be desired (and still a broken cat genie).
The product works ok - takes a fair amount of maintenance, and the customer service with Cat Genie just isn't up to par. I suggest passing before you invest hundreds into this system. I wish there was an alternative - I love the idea of the product, just not the company that makes it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+40points
43of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous Cat Box

PostedJune 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fabulosity
from Washington, DC
Fabulous machine...it smells while you are running it, but it doesn't as soon as it is done! It works well. It was relatively easy to hook up. I would suggest getting the dome to cover it and the fresh scent sanitizer spray so it smells extra nice for your kitty. It is kind of loud. So run it when you are not trying to sleep in a small apartment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product waste of money

PostedJune 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
clonedana
from Hobart,In
We bought two cat genies thinking this will be an end to constant cat box cleaning. We have 4 cats. One cat actually used it for a short time. The others would not. We followed instructions on letting the old box get used so they would go in this one instead. Didn't work they would just go outside the box. the granduals get all over the house. Never had such a waste of money. It also gets clogged at times too, retains water,, your cat definitely won't get in it then. what happens when your out of town and it does that???? I don't suggest this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
30of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat Genie

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
babsy
from Houston
AMAZING I HAVE HAD THIS MACHINE FOR 2 YRS NO PROBLEMS WHATSOEVER.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>