petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box

CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box

Self cleaning litter box flushes cat waste out of the home and washes itself cleanOne cartridge lasts for 120 washingsSaniSolution formula helps eliminate germs and odorsClean, green and economical cat litter boxes14 and 24-hour settings accommodate single and multiple cat households
Average Customer Rating:
4.041 / 5
4
 / 
5
(97 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 97 reviews
5 stars
63
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
16
77 out of 97(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 62 Answers
Customer Reviews for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Review 1 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Satisfied customer

PostedFebruary 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Gas, Kansas
What a relief not to have to mess with cat litter boxes any more.
Our cat Drew watched the whole set up and cleaning process. He was so fascinated by everything. He kept running back and forth from the Cat Genie to the toilet every time it would drain.
I might add that the cleaning process is quite remarcable and thorough.
We had no trouble getting him to use it at all. In fact we had a hard time keeping him out of it until the cleaning process was finished.
Thanks for a wonderful product and I would reccomend to everyone who owns a cat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+32points
109of 186voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cattgenie 120

PostedJune 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from portland
It works like a dream. No more smelly cat box! And no more cleaning smelly cat bx.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

May return

PostedMay 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Knoxville, TN
Your glorious cat box arrives...and it's larger than a standard commode. Plenty of water hose length to work with, but you better hope to have an extension cord available...get it set up and the cat used it immediately. Yay! Cut to the next morning. There is plastic litter EVERYWHERE! I mean, there are little plastic toe landmines in rooms with closed doors that the cat couldn't possibly go into. Sweep, sweep, sweep. Finally time for breakfast. And who doesn't enjoy the aroma of cooking cat fecal bombs with their eggs?
If you don't mind watching the box through its entire cycle and pulling cat feces out by hand or sweeping 3x per day, this is the box for you.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
8of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

CatGenie

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from FL
I purchased this in expectation of getting two kittens next month. NOWHERE, ANYWHERE does the literature state that this cannot be used with kittens but only adult cats. I am very upset. By the time my kittens are old enough the return time will have long expired. Then if there is a problem it will be too late to return.
I cannot emphasize enough how disappointed I am in information describing this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Could be better

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Iowa
I have 3 cats, one is a baby. The baby kitty can't wait for it to clean so sometimes goes on the floor. Bought the sidewalls but doesn't help with the pellets being tracked everywhere. Those things are not so bad. Whenever it cleans it stinks the whole house up, I have checked to see if it's clogged and it's not. Don't know why it smells so bad?! Any suggestions? Also the supplies is not sold in stores, which is very inconvenient! Takes almost 2 weeks to get it in the mail.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

RUN FROM THIS MACHINE!!!

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Illinoiis
When it works, awesome. However, every few months, get ready to enter the sewer-like interior of the machine to fix its constant breakdowns.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
12of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat Genie

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Cooper City, Florida
Best thing I ever did. No odor anymore. I'm in heaven.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Started out like a dream!

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Buffalo, NY
When I first purchased the Cat Genie I thought it was THE best thing ever. I wanted to eliminate the litter smell from the apartment (small space, two cats) and have the box be clean and fresh every single day, even if I spent the weekend away. I loved that I could put it on cat-mode and just let it do its thing! But over the last few weeks, I've grown to hate it. It is SO LOUD. I live in an apartment and I'm constantly worried that it's bothering the neighbors because I know it's driving me nuts! The cleaning cycle takes 20 to 30 minutes and it is just obnoxiously loud, even with the bathroom door closed and the AC on, I hear every agonizing minute. On top of that, it sometimes doesn't get all the feces during the scooper round and wash round, so when the crystals are being blow-dried the scent of cooking feces fills my apartment. It is one of the most awful scents you will ever have the displeasure of smelling. I really, really wanted to keep loving this machine because it is a great idea- hygienic, easy, cost-effective, but some days I just don't think it's worth it. If they can eliminate the issues with sound and "cooked feces" I would recommend it in a heart beat. Until then, I'm unplugging it and switching back to standard litter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+68points
78of 88voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

When the cat genie works we love it.

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Missouri
This is our third cat genie. When it works, it is great, but it has a water sensor that has to be replaced every so often. If you replace every few months as a routine then you shouldn't have any problems. This one that we just bought came to us broken, but the customer service was very good and are sending us the replacement part.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+44points
50of 56voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I have purchased five catgenies

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Dayton, OH
We are care givers for 15 stray cats. They starting coming one at a time, some had kittens after they arrived. We have neutered them all. We build a room addition to the house for their cat trees, feeding stations and we had the plumbing installed for (5) of these CatGenies. The cats prefer regular litter boxes, but with lots of work, we have them using the CatGenies. It can be expensive to operate and maintain so many, but it's worth it to us.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+25points
27of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat Genie

PostedApril 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Gravois Mills, MO
The product works well. I just have not got my cats acclimated to using the Cat Genie yet. I've got a 20 lbs. cat that has a little trouble getting into the bowl. There has been some urination in the Cat Genie but they are still using the littler box to defecate in. I will be taking away the litter box during the day and seeing how that works. As I said the machine works perfectly. It was very easy to set up. So far I am happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst smell ever

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from ruther glen, va
Horrible smell, would write more but site keeps flagging
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+16points
41of 66voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Scattered Granules

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Milwaukee, WI
This comes with very clear installation instructions. The cat used it immediately. The plastic granules get scattered all over the floor. This is not because of kicking it out. It's because of tracking it when the cat jumps out of the box. Her furry feet are like magnets to those tiny pellets. I've subsequently ordered and installed the sidewalls. She just jumps over them. I put a piece of furniture on each side, so she'll walk through a mat that's made for catching granules. The mat doesn't catch much of the pellets and the floor in three rooms around are full of plastic.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+28points
31of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Boston Ma
Unless you want your whole house to smell of cat urine, do not buy this product. I live in a brand new house with previously well trained cats. I set this new litter box up and alls it did was confuse all 3 of my well litter trained cats whom never had an accident prior to me bringing this into my home. Yes it works great, clean and easy but my cats don't know wether to go in the new litter, the old litter or now on the floor. I am beside myself. I am returning this and going back to my previous kitty litter. Hopefully my cats will not continuing urinating all over my house. Nothing worse than the smell of cat urine. Not worth the chance or money. It is isn't broke. Do not try to fix it....
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
24of 56voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy this product

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
This is not a product you want to buy unless you are a professional plumber. Attachments to plumbing don't fit (at least didn't fit mine). It is the most complicated design. I couldn't even get to the stage of seeing how the product works because I could not figure out how to set it up.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-16points
21of 58voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I wish I had learned of this much sooner!

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from NC
I love this product. I love my furbabies, but I HATED and dreaded cleaning the cat boxes. I have two of them for my three fur babies and I have them set up to wash twice a day each at staggering times. They take about 30-35 minutes to run a cycle. I have the domes and sidewalls on them and had a bit of trouble getting one cat, the youngest one, to use it, but once I took the dome off she loved it.
If you get the scented sani-solution be aware that the scent is strong, but it has a really pleasant smell.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
24of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Turned cat into a chicken!

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Iowa
I love the concept of this liter box. Unfortunately after trying it for a month, my 6 year old cat still will not use it! He is terrified of it. I have tried everything to get him to switch but he has started going to the bathroom on the floor and on clothes so I'm going back to the old liter! Really bummed we couldn't keep it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
21of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best cat waste control system ever. Period.

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Saint Louis, MO
Let's just say this right off the bat -- THIS BOX IS AWESOME! It will be the last cat litter box I will ever buy. I decided to buy a second one only because even tho it says it can suit up to three cats it's better to have two of them. Sometimes one of my cats wants to go while the CatGenie is cleaning but can't so they go peee in the shower drain or sink or something.
Now onto the product review...
I've had cats all my life and have always dreaded going down to clean the litter box. The strong amonia smell and the stinky poos wreaked havoc on my nose (I have an overly sensitive sniffer my docs tell me so everything is magnified) and I wanted a better solution because for sure I wasn't going to get rid of my kitties!
Enter the CatGenie!
This litter bowl (not box, haha) does exactly what it says it will do. I don't remember the last time I've had to clean their litter box! The only time I've had to do anything with the litterbox is a)when we had to set it up, duh! and b)when we had to rinse off the water sensor a couple of times. That's it!
We have also had to add some more pellets to the bowl as our kitties paws do tend to track the lil things around the house...altho it's a lot less than I thought it would be and it helps that they are teeny tiny pellets, too. Since we bought the first one almost a year ago I've only bought one box of pellets and there's still half a box left. It may just depend on how big your cats paws are or if they are stickier than other cats' paws so who knows...I'm just telling you mine track the pellets very little.
I would like to note that I do have the SaniSolution cartridges on auto delivery and this makes it a lot easier since I don't have to remember to buy the cartridges. For three cats I have my auto delivery scheduled at one cartridge every two months which I think is awesome, I thought for sure the cartridges would only last a week or two given how many times the CatGenie runs a day! Altho every time it does run it is music to my ears :)
The CatGenie works as follow:
1. Your cat goes to the bathroom in it.
2. The CatGenie waits ten minutes and then starts running (if another cat goes in after the first cat the timer resets and waits another ten minutes).
3. First stage of cleaning it scoops out the solid waste (checks 3 times).
4. Second stage of cleaning it fills the bowl with the SaniSolution and scrubs the little pellets clean then drains (does this 3 times).
5. Third stage of cleaning it dries the pellets and the bowl (does this 3 times) -- this is also the stage where the "fresh scent" is predominently noticed.
6. CatGenie is ready to go for another round!
The fresh scent is pretty strong so if flowery-scented stuff makes you sick I would defnitely go with the unscented SaniSolution cartridges. I will say I don't like flowery-scented stuff but I don't mind this fresh scent, weird right?
If you're looking for a solution to your cat litter problems then the CatGenie is going to be your new best friend :) I've bought both of mine from Petco and if I ever have to buy another one (I've come to the realization that everything breaks eventually) I will buy it again from here.
Hope this review helps you make your choice!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+74points
79of 84voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A GOD SENT!!!!!!!!

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Port Huron
I bought this product almost a year ago now and have had no issues whats so ever. However, there is a few things i would like to mention, this product comes with instructions on how to introduce the new box to your cat, which i followed but it made things worse, I have 2 cats one of which is very timid and the other very social, the instructions says to introduce the box and have it run in front of them, which i did, well in my opinion do not do because my 1 cat was curious and the other was like "i'm getting the heck outta here!" so what I did was I followed in parts, introduce the box as they say with treats but i would suggest to leave it unplugged until they know its not going to hurt them, so dont run it in front of them. I also put them both in 1 at a time (unplugged) and petted them, then it also says to let the other box get dirty which i also did, it took my one cat (curious 1) to start using after about 2 months, and even after that I still left it unplugged and just ran it with the door shut in their room so they couldn't see (manually). So finally after about 4 months my timid cat started to use it, also my cats are big boys and I bought the lid to go with it and I dont use it because with the lid on the cats dont like it but no big deal, once in awhile it may leave little chuncks of poo but the next time it runs it ends up clearing it out, or the solution just dissolves it so not a big deal, the solution lasts a long time I have yet to replace it and I have yet to add to the litter so this is a money well spent...hope this helps anyone who is thinking about buying this, cause it makes very little mess (cat liter on the outside which is normal from the cats jumping out) and no smell at all..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+53points
53of 53voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for CatGenie 120 Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cat genie

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from austin in
i have 8 cats and did not thank this would work but i set it so i press the start button and it is great all my cats love it i may have to run it more than most but it is worth it no more odor and 4 litter boxes is down to 1 i tryed the cat mode but found that the kittens would play in it and it was running for no reason i would sugest this to all who have cats
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>