petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WARE Premium + Penthouse

WARE Premium + Penthouse

Deluxe multi-level premium rabbit hutchThis rabbit cage is made with the highest quality materials & craftsmanshipWaterproof shingled roofFeatures a full open roof top, locking door, slip-proof ramp, comfy nesting box & moreCan be used in covered areas outdoors, garage, patio or porch
Average Customer Rating:
4.095 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
19 out of 21(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for WARE Premium + Penthouse
Review 1 for WARE Premium + Penthouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So much room for bunny

PostedFebruary 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
peachykeen
from Greenville, SC
I have a dwarf 5 year old rabbit who had an average size cage for the past 5 years. I recently decided to upgrade her cage to something larger. I did research online and came across this product. I have had it for a couple of days now and couldn't wait to write a review.
Assembly was very easy and quick (even with 1 person). The only tool needed was a screwdriver and the directions were 1 page (easy to follow).
My rabbit is potty trained and uses a corner liter, so i am able to keep this penthouse inside. I keep her water, food, and liter on the top level (on a layer of carpet) and have the bottom floor filled with "toys" (also on a layer of carpet which i don't mind her scratching). If your bunny is litter trained this can be kept inside, if not I recommend this for outdoor use. Of course my bunny has chewed on a couple of locations (due to the material of cage-WOOD), but I don't see how real destruction can occur.
She is able to run up and down the ramp with ease. The only problem i have come across is kicking myself for not buying this 5 years ago. Do your bunny some justice and try this cage out. You won't be dissapointed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+43points
50of 57voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for WARE Premium + Penthouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It Works For Us.

PostedMay 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karebear85
from Texas
My rabbit loves it. His old cage was small and I can tell he is really enjoying the extra space with htis 2 story model. As for me, I think the material was a little cheap. When I was screwing the peices together the wood split in several places as the screw went through. They online description advertised that there was a plastic pull out pan for easy clean up... well there isnt. the 2nd floor is plastic linned, but there is no way to pull it out without taking the whole top floor apart. i was very dissapointed when I realized that. Even the box it came in said it had a plastic pull out pan, but sadly, it did not.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for WARE Premium + Penthouse
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy this!

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
UnhappyRabbitOwner
from West Palm Beach, FL
This cage is horrible. I purchased it even though there were bad reviews and soon after regretted it. There is NO wire to cover the litter pan so your rabbit will live in its own feces. Absolutely disgusting!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-17points
1of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for WARE Premium + Penthouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Hutch

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
kdrw
from MN
We bought this hutch for our new mini lop. It was in perfect condition when it arrived (very well boxed/padded etc) and VERY easy and quick to assemble, less than an hour. We have it inside, sitting on a water-proof pet protector meant for the car which seems to work well. Our bunny really likes the space. It is not as easy to clean as the little cage was he used to be in but well worth the extra effort so that he has all that extra room! We're really glad we bought this!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for WARE Premium + Penthouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rabbit Hutch

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
1wisepenny
from Canton, OH
Rabbit Hutch shipped very quickly. Was able to put it together in less than half an hour. The bunny seems quite content. Stays dry and plenty of room to play and exercise.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for WARE Premium + Penthouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made

PostedAugust 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heysuz
from Santa Paula, CA
We're using this as a daytime "rabbit condo" for our spoiled indoor bunny. Putting it together was easy enough. The design is actually very good and the product is well made. Overall a very well thought out plan.
Most importantly, our bunny loves it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for WARE Premium + Penthouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fantastic

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Waterlillyfalls
from Texas
I bought this cage for my two rabbits, a female lion head and a male lop ear, and they absolutely love it, as do I. They were running up and down the ramp within minutes of being placed in their hutch. The only problems I ran into were the hinge for the roof was split in multiple places, requiring wood glue. The ramp was a bit splintered and the nails they used didn't hold it together very well, but I just glued that too. There is so much room for my rabbits to lounge during the day. I place all their hay in the nesting area so it does not fall out onto the floor and I have their litter tray on the top level for easy access to clean up. Another downside is the fact that there's only one door on the bottom level, which makes catching my rabbits a little difficult. The wood that this hutch is made out of is kind of a cheap material and my rabbits did chew it a bit, but I placed chew sticks in their cage and purchased a bitterant spray for small animals. The bitterant spray is a must have when purchasing this cage. I spray once or twice on problem areas they chew in the cage and it keeps my rabbits from chewing. It sometimes requires respraying every couple of weeks. Overall, just have some wood glue ready and buy some bitterant spray and it will be perfect :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for WARE Premium + Penthouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

cute design

PostedJuly 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
lacelou
from louisiana
Very cute design. Our Rabbit seems to enjoy the space.. when it came in, there was a few broken pieces but easy to fix... the same day i put it up , we had a strong thunderstorm come through, and knocked the cage over... but it didn't break.. it seems its made to go more under a patio or carport than out in the yard..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for WARE Premium + Penthouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Cage

PostedJuly 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
MashedPotato
from Florida
My bunny (Mashed Potato) loves her new penthouse. She has been roaming my room freely for about 3 years now but because of new pets and safety I wanted to get her a cage for night time. Mashy is a mix between a lop and a dwarf so she's not that big. She has plenty of room to hop about the bottom of the penthouse even with her toys and small litter box inside. The only issue is that she will not climb the ladder. I think it's a bit to narrow for her liking. She will go down it from the 2nd level but I can't get her to go up it. The outside top of the penthouse is also a great TV stand or hamster cage stand. It's almost like a piece of furniture. I think it's a great cage and it was super easy to build. I even painted the outside to match the furniture in my room. The only other thing besides the narrow ladder is the chewing. My rabbit loves to chew the inside of the cage but I don't think there is any way around that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for WARE Premium + Penthouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Quality

PostedMay 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
willirj
from Winchester, Ca
Luckily I am capable of repairing just about anything. The unit arrived in a box needing assembly, that is no big deal, but multiple pieces were broken, so I had to do some repair work on cracked wood boards in the structure, and fix a broken wire mesh panel. It will work just fine, but very fragile in quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for WARE Premium + Penthouse
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Buy This Product

PostedApril 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
RIBunnies
from RI
Purchased this hutch online. Upon opening it, discovered that any corner piece that had a screw in it had split. Some wood glue and a few screws later, I had it mostly repaired, but as I put it together, other pieces kept splitting apart. For instance, the lip on the doors that keeps them from opening in toward the rabbit instantly broke off when I touched them.
Yes, it's easy to put together, but this is not a product that will last. Considering the price, it's definitely NOT worth it. It's got to made of the cheapest wood I've ever seen. The rabbits will have this chewed apart within a year.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
13of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for WARE Premium + Penthouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality Furniture for Pet and Home

PostedApril 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
BHShaman
from Maine, USA
Purchased this for an indoor rabbit.
Assembly was extremely easy. I loved that the screws were in paper sorter sleeve. It really helped in seeing which screws to use. All screw holes had pilots drilled or wood holes drilled.
It would have received 5 stars, but one of the corners had a screw (pre-assembled) sunk too deep and it had split the corner considerably. Some wood glue and a clamp and the issue was taken care of without returning the hutch. This stuff happens, and it did not cause a return, so only -1.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for WARE Premium + Penthouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Bunnies

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bronsmom
from Orange County, CA
Our two Holland Lops love this cage! They eat,drink and hang out in it. These two have the run of the house but they always come back to their safe place. My husband put this together in about 30 min. It is light enough for me to pick up but it is cumbersome. The only con is the inevitable cleaning which takes a little time. Also, it arrived with a heavy scent of varnish so we left it outside for a couple of days to vent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for WARE Premium + Penthouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rabbit Cage

PostedJanuary 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
ElaineS
I bought this Penthouse cage for my rabbit and I was really pleased with it. Very easy to put together and my rabbit loves it. She can go up and down using the ladder, and having the bottom enclosed with the cage, gives her more freedom. I love the fact that it has a separate living area that is enclosed where she sleeps at night.I also like the fact that you can open the top making it easy to feed her, but it does have other doors. I would recommend this cage to anyone looking for one for their rabbit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for WARE Premium + Penthouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WONDERFUL!!!!!!

PostedJune 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
AnimalLuver123
from Seattle, Washington
This cage is wonderful!! My Mini rex buck LOVES it, he runs up and down the ramp all day!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for WARE Premium + Penthouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice, but a minor crack on it.

PostedJune 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
JeffF
The product was easy to install. Very nice material. When we took it out it was cracked from one corner. In fact one of the corners was not screwed correctly. The packaging it was in could have been better to prevent this problem. It seemed more of a hassle to send it back and wait for a new, so my husband put some glue on the small cracks and screwed the corner a bit better. It was fast to assemble and turned out nice. The rabbits we have (2) seem to love it. They figured out how to use the down ramp to get to bottom. They have privacy in the cubby hole they go into...
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for WARE Premium + Penthouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Rabbit Hutch

PostedJune 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Courthaus
from Tampa, Florida
Very nice to look at. Quality is ok. Will be interesting to see how long it holds up. Seems a little flimsy. Doesn't have a pull out try to catch droppings up top. Fine if your rabbits are smart enough to use the bottom as their bathroom. Mine.... not so much. Have to clean top out by hand. Can't beat price and asthetics.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for WARE Premium + Penthouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Product

PostedJune 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
threedognight
from Cedarburg,WI
Love the rabbit penthouse and so does my rabbit. It was very easy to put together, requiring only a screwdriver. Well written instructions with diagrams and all pre-drilled holes-What a treat!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for WARE Premium + Penthouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A+++

PostedMay 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
bunnykeeper2
This is a must for anyone who has a bunny. My two love running up and down the ramp and hiding in the cubby. I leave it on the patio. The only problem is that they chew on the inside wood, but that is what bunnies do. I try to give them extra pieces of wood and paper towel rolls to chew on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for WARE Premium + Penthouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome!

PostedApril 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
petpetcutie
i got this for my guinea pig and he loves it i see him on the top a lot but he does like the bottom to i put some treats and bedding in there to make it more comfortable and water...you should get this if you have a bunny, or guinea pig
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>